The balance sheet is expanding, with total assets up 8.0% year-over-year to $12.2B, but investment securities concentration at $10.8B (88% of assets) may amplify duration risk if rates rise, while equity-to-assets remains stable at 12%.
OFG Bancorp (OFG) balance sheet — 30-year assets, liabilities & shareholders' equity history
| Metric | TTM | Dec'25 | Dec'24 | Dec'23 | Dec'22 | Dec'21 | Dec'20 | Dec'19 | Dec'18 | Dec'17 | Dec'16 | Dec'15 | Dec'14 | Dec'13 | Dec'12 | Dec'11 | Dec'10 | Dec'09 | Dec'08 | Dec'07 | Dec'06 | Dec'05 | Jun'05 | Jun'04 | Jun'03 | Jun'02 | Jun'01 | Jun'00 | Jun'99 | Jun'98 | Jun'97 |
|---|
| Cash & Short Term Investments | 7.95B | 1.04B | 2.93B | 2.85B | 1.96B | 2.53B | 2.6B | 1.93B | 1.29B | 1.13B | 1.26B | 1.51B | 1.79B | 2.21B | 3.06B | 3.55B | 448.95M | 277.27M | 14.37M | 22.86M | 20.34M | 0 | 44.89M | 11.29M | 11.51M | 9.28M | 5.42M | 10.32M | 8.1M | 15.6M | 26M |
| Cash & Due from Banks | 745.71M | 1.04B | 591.14M | 748.17M | 550.31M | 2.02B | 2.15B | 851.31M | 450.06M | 488.23M | 513.47M | 540.06M | 573.43M | 621.27M | 869.01M | 591.49M | 448.95M | 277.12M | 14.37M | 22.86M | 20.34M | 0 | 44.89M | 11.29M | 11.51M | 9.28M | 5.42M | 10.32M | 8.1M | 15.6M | 26M |
| Short Term Investments | 2.7B | 23K | 2.34B | 2.1B | 1.41B | 510.71M | 446.44M | 1.07B | 841.86M | 645.8M | 751.48M | 974.61M | 1.22B | 1.59B | 2.19B | 2.96B | 0 | 150K | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Total Investments | 10.81B | 2.84B | 10.35B | 10.09B | 8.69B | 7.23B | 6.96B | 7.72B | 5.7B | 5.21B | 5.5B | 6.03B | 6.21B | 6.63B | 7.37B | 5.52B | 6.2B | 6.11B | 5.16B | 5.81B | 4.21B | 0 | 4.08B | 3.23B | 2.71B | 2.38B | 1.63B | 1.7B | 1.48B | 1.09B | 938.1M |
| Investments Growth % | -58.83% | -72.54% | 2.63% | 16.03% | 20.34% | 3.81% | -9.81% | 35.41% | 9.4% | -5.3% | -8.81% | -2.93% | -6.25% | -10.11% | 33.6% | -10.99% | 1.51% | 18.28% | -11.1% | 37.96% | - | -100% | 26.26% | 19.04% | 13.82% | 45.83% | -4.1% | 14.83% | 36.6% | 15.85% | 15.87% |
| Long-Term Investments | 30.1B | 2.84B | 8.02B | 7.99B | 7.28B | 6.71B | 6.51B | 6.64B | 4.86B | 4.56B | 4.75B | 5.06B | 5B | 5.04B | 5.18B | 2.56B | 6.2B | 6.11B | 5.16B | 5.81B | 4.21B | 0 | 4.08B | 3.23B | 2.71B | 2.38B | 1.63B | 1.7B | 1.48B | 1.09B | 938.1M |
| Accounts Receivables | 175.06M | 161.97M | 71.67M | 71.4M | 62.4M | 56.56M | 65.55M | 37.12M | 34.25M | 49.97M | 20.23M | 20.64M | 21.34M | 18.73M | 14.65M | 20.18M | 28.72M | 33.66M | 43.91M | 52.31M | 27.94M | 0 | 23.73M | 19.34M | 17.26M | 15.7M | 16.76M | 13.48M | 15.5M | 13.4M | 12.4M |
| Goodwill & Intangibles | 92.13M | 94.1M | 169.46M | 154.46M | 162.75M | 171.13M | 179.26M | 193.81M | 100.15M | 100.58M | 102.09M | 101.36M | 109.8M | 111.78M | 111.35M | 14.34M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 2.01M | 23.73M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Goodwill | 84.24M | 84.24M | 84.24M | 84.24M | 84.24M | 86.07M | 86.07M | 86.07M | 86.07M | 86.07M | 86.07M | 86.07M | 86.07M | 86.07M | 86.07M | 2.7M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 2.01M | 23.73M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Intangible Assets | 7.88M | 9.86M | 85.22M | 70.21M | 78.51M | 85.07M | 93.19M | 107.74M | 14.09M | 14.51M | 16.02M | 15.29M | 23.73M | 25.71M | 25.29M | 11.64M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| PP&E (Net) | 95.6M | 93.55M | 123.71M | 125.83M | 132.18M | 120.97M | 115.17M | 120.22M | 68.89M | 67.86M | 70.41M | 74.59M | 80.6M | 82.9M | 85M | 21.52M | 23.94M | 19.77M | 21.18M | 21.78M | 20.15M | 14.83M | 15.27M | 18.5M | 17.95M | 17.99M | 21.44M | 21.71M | 21.7M | 19.5M | 19.4M |
| Other Assets | 93.38M | 8.11B | 112.33M | 88.26M | 106.02M | 142.35M | 128.09M | 149.05M | 108.65M | 135.58M | 151.29M | 169.87M | 303.91M | 533.21M | 588.79M | 461.42M | 577.79M | 79.74M | 961.33M | 93.38M | 92.64M | -31.73M | 84.07M | 64.59M | 45.17M | 62.04M | 69.49M | 99.95M | 50.82M | 67.2M | 72.7M |
| Total Current Assets | 3.64B | 1.22B | 3.07B | 2.98B | 2.08B | 2.65B | 2.73B | 2.02B | 1.34B | 1.19B | 1.3B | 1.55B | 1.85B | 2.25B | 3.12B | 3.61B | 477.66M | 310.93M | 58.28M | 75.17M | 48.28M | 118.91M | 68.63M | 30.63M | 28.76M | 24.98M | 22.18M | 23.81M | 23.56M | 29M | 38.4M |
| Total Non-Current Assets | 8.51B | 11.24B | 8.43B | 8.36B | 7.74B | 7.25B | 7.1B | 7.28B | 5.25B | 4.99B | 5.2B | 5.55B | 5.6B | 5.91B | 6.09B | 3.09B | 6.83B | 6.24B | 6.15B | 5.92B | 4.32B | 0 | 4.18B | 3.31B | 2.78B | 2.46B | 1.73B | 1.83B | 1.56B | 1.17B | 1.03B |
| Total Assets | 12.15B | 12.47B | 11.5B | 11.34B | 9.82B | 9.9B | 9.83B | 9.3B | 6.58B | 6.19B | 6.5B | 7.1B | 7.45B | 8.14B | 9.19B | 6.69B | 7.31B | 6.55B | 6.21B | 6B | 4.37B | 4.53B | 4.25B | 3.34B | 2.81B | 2.49B | 1.75B | 1.85B | 1.59B | 1.2B | 1.07B |
| Asset Growth % | 17.18% | 8.39% | 1.38% | 15.54% | -0.82% | 0.75% | 5.68% | 41.23% | 6.37% | -4.81% | -8.41% | -4.7% | -8.48% | -11.47% | 37.35% | -8.47% | 11.63% | 5.56% | 3.43% | 37.18% | -3.55% | 6.68% | 27.1% | 19.2% | 12.71% | 42.4% | -5.53% | 16.56% | 32% | 12.53% | 21.79% |
| Return on Assets (ROA) | 1.8% | 1.71% | 1.73% | 1.72% | 1.69% | 1.48% | 0.78% | 0.68% | 1.32% | 0.83% | 0.87% | -0.03% | 1.09% | 1.14% | 0.31% | 0.49% | 0.14% | 0.36% | 0.44% | 0.8% | -0.11% | 0.77% | 1.57% | 1.94% | 1.94% | 1.81% | 0.47% | 1.14% | 1.91% | 1.88% | 1.71% |
| Accounts Payable | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 115K | 22.95M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 1.98M | 2.08M | 1.62M | 4.28M | 4.83M | 5.66M | 0 | 0 |
| Total Debt | 577.99M | 580.46M | 422.56M | 224.8M | 54.4M | 95.07M | 134.92M | 345.4M | 570.42M | 328.75M | 795.35M | 1.37B | 1.42B | 1.71B | 2.49B | 3.49B | 3.92B | 4.03B | 3.8B | 4.26B | 2.78B | 2.83B | 2.82B | 1.99B | 1.6B | 1.31B | 926.3M | 972.99M | 771.13M | 549.7M | 452.7M |
| Net Debt | -167.72M | -459.87M | -168.57M | -523.37M | -495.9M | -1.93B | -2.02B | -505.91M | 123.39M | -156.46M | 284.92M | 834.83M | 846.58M | 1.09B | 1.62B | 2.89B | 3.47B | 3.75B | 3.78B | 4.23B | 2.76B | 2.83B | 2.77B | 1.98B | 1.59B | 1.3B | 920.88M | 962.67M | 763.07M | 534.1M | 426.7M |
| Long-Term Debt | 0 | 456.59M | 325.95M | 200.77M | 27.03M | 64.57M | 102.35M | 115.29M | 114.92M | 135.88M | 141.6M | 436.84M | 439.92M | 439.82M | 699.21M | 429.67M | 281.75M | 281.75M | 36.08M | 36.08M | 233.57M | 162.17M | 387.17M | 87.17M | 50M | 50M | 80M | 86.5M | 106.5M | 114.8M | 115M |
| Short-Term Debt | 556.62M | 100.71M | 75.22M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 190.27M | 455.51M | 192.87M | 653.76M | 934.69M | 980.09M | 1.27B | 1.79B | 3.06B | 3.64B | 3.75B | 3.76B | 4.22B | 2.55B | 2.67B | 2.43B | 1.91B | 1.55B | 1.26B | 846.3M | 886.49M | 664.63M | 434.9M | 337.7M |
| Other Liabilities | 185.57M | 0 | 178.3M | 141.56M | 28.61M | 36.13M | 35.06M | 22.51M | 17.27M | 28.93M | 26.2M | 20.74M | 29.21M | 37.98M | 53.26M | 47.31M | 64K | 413.36M | 361.71M | 137.12M | 19.51M | -164.84M | -161.02M | 48.84M | 61.87M | 42.6M | 44.35M | 35.69M | 37.48M | 20.4M | 29M |
| Total Current Liabilities | 10.54B | 10.6B | 9.68B | 9.76B | 8.69B | 8.7B | 8.57B | 8.07B | 5.45B | 5.08B | 5.41B | 5.74B | 6.04B | 6.8B | 7.6B | 5.52B | 6.3B | 5.53B | 5.55B | 5.47B | 3.78B | 2.91B | 3.68B | 2.98B | 2.5B | 2.23B | 1.51B | 1.61B | 1.32B | 966M | 835.2M |
| Total Non-Current Liabilities | 207.56M | 479.75M | 566.36M | 388.8M | 83.01M | 131.2M | 169.98M | 177.64M | 132.19M | 164.8M | 167.8M | 457.59M | 469.13M | 477.8M | 752.46M | 476.98M | 281.75M | 695.11M | 397.8M | 173.21M | 253.08M | 0 | 226.15M | 136.01M | 111.87M | 92.6M | 124.35M | 122.19M | 143.98M | 135.2M | 144M |
| Total Liabilities | 10.75B | 11.08B | 10.25B | 10.15B | 8.78B | 8.83B | 8.74B | 8.25B | 5.58B | 5.24B | 5.58B | 6.2B | 6.51B | 7.25B | 8.33B | 6B | 6.58B | 6.22B | 5.94B | 5.64B | 4.04B | 4.19B | 3.91B | 3.12B | 2.61B | 2.32B | 1.64B | 1.73B | 1.46B | 1.1B | 979.2M |
| Total Equity | 1.41B | 1.39B | 1.25B | 1.19B | 1.04B | 1.07B | 1.09B | 1.05B | 999.88M | 945.11M | 920.41M | 897.08M | 942.2M | 884.91M | 863.61M | 695.55M | 732.33M | 330.17M | 261.32M | 359.46M | 336.43M | 341.79M | 341.17M | 223.52M | 193.58M | 166.43M | 110.11M | 117.87M | 116.3M | 101.3M | 89.4M |
| Equity Growth % | 26.14% | 10.81% | 5.1% | 14.49% | -2.5% | -1.55% | 3.87% | 4.56% | 5.8% | 2.68% | 2.6% | -4.79% | 6.47% | 2.47% | 24.16% | -5.02% | 121.81% | 26.35% | -27.3% | 6.85% | -1.57% | 0.18% | 52.64% | 15.47% | 16.31% | 51.15% | -6.59% | 1.35% | 14.81% | 13.31% | 11.89% |
| Equity / Assets (Capital Ratio) | 11.58% | 11.15% | 10.91% | 10.52% | 10.62% | 10.8% | 11.05% | 11.24% | 15.19% | 15.27% | 14.16% | 12.64% | 12.65% | 10.87% | 9.39% | 10.39% | 10.01% | 5.04% | 4.21% | 5.99% | 7.69% | 7.54% | 8.03% | 6.68% | 6.9% | 6.69% | 6.3% | 6.37% | 7.33% | 8.42% | 8.37% |
| Return on Equity (ROE) | 15.92% | 15.51% | 16.19% | 16.27% | 15.75% | 13.56% | 6.97% | 5.26% | 8.68% | 5.64% | 6.51% | -0.27% | 9.32% | 11.26% | 3.15% | 4.83% | 1.85% | 7.76% | 8.63% | 11.86% | -1.51% | 9.91% | 21.13% | 28.63% | 28.51% | 27.81% | 7.43% | 16.71% | 24.45% | 22.44% | 19.61% |
| Book Value per Share | 33.19 | 29.35 | 26.74 | 25.10 | 21.52 | 20.81 | 21.06 | 20.21 | 19.47 | 18.50 | 18.02 | 17.43 | 18.01 | 16.69 | 19.06 | 15.62 | 19.89 | 13.58 | 10.70 | 14.75 | 13.64 | 13.61 | 13.29 | 8.49 | 7.05 | 7.64 | 5.24 | 5.38 | 5.31 | 4.63 | 4.08 |
| Tangible BV per Share | 31.02 | 27.36 | 23.13 | 21.85 | 18.16 | 17.48 | 17.59 | 16.47 | 17.52 | 16.53 | 16.02 | 15.46 | 15.91 | 14.58 | 16.60 | 15.30 | 19.89 | 13.58 | 10.70 | 14.75 | 13.64 | 13.53 | 12.36 | 8.49 | 7.05 | 7.64 | 5.24 | 5.38 | 5.31 | 4.63 | 4.08 |
| Common Stock | 59.88M | 59.88M | 59.88M | 59.88M | 59.88M | 59.88M | 59.88M | 59.88M | 59.88M | 52.63M | 52.63M | 52.63M | 52.63M | 52.71M | 52.67M | 47.81M | 47.81M | 25.74M | 25.74M | 25.56M | 25.43M | 25.35M | 25.1M | 20.03M | 19.32M | 15.3M | 13.81M | 13.8M | 13.74M | 0 | 0 |
| Additional Paid-in Capital | 642.02M | 642.97M | 639.79M | 638.67M | 636.79M | 637.06M | 622.65M | 621.51M | 619.38M | 541.6M | 540.95M | 540.51M | 539.31M | 538.07M | 537.45M | 499.1M | 544.77M | 258.72M | 212.63M | 210.07M | 209.03M | 208.45M | 206.8M | 73.03M | 54.26M | 52.67M | 23.8M | 23.79M | 23.31M | 0 | 0 |
| Retained Earnings | 976.95M | 904.63M | 771.99M | 639.32M | 516.37M | 399.95M | 300.1M | 279.65M | 253.04M | 200.88M | 177.81M | 149.27M | 181.15M | 133.63M | 70.73M | 68.15M | 51.5M | 77.58M | 51.23M | 45.3M | 63.02M | 52.34M | 80.6M | 79.93M | 87.88M | 75.81M | 77.38M | 79.81M | 72.19M | 56.9M | 49.7M |
| Accumulated OCI | -38.95M | -16.91M | 79.7M | 83.95M | 40.49M | 122.84M | 114.29M | 94.77M | 79.2M | 78.5M | 77.89M | 84.05M | 90.18M | 65.15M | 108.03M | 87.31M | 36.99M | -82.74M | -79.17M | 27.56M | -16.1M | -2.02M | -38.38M | -13M | 33.23M | 22.83M | -9.21M | -5.92M | -3.04M | 4.8M | 900K |
| Treasury Stock | -432.06M | -389.07M | -296.99M | -228.35M | -211.13M | -150.57M | -102.95M | -102.34M | -103.63M | -104.5M | -104.86M | -105.38M | -97.07M | -80.64M | -81.28M | -74.81M | -16.73M | -17.14M | -17.11M | -17.02M | -12.96M | -10.33M | -3.37M | -4.47M | -34.62M | -33.67M | -29.18M | -27.12M | -23.4M | 0 | 0 |
| Preferred Stock | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 92M | 92M | 92M | 176M | 176M | 176M | 176M | 176M | 176M | 68M | 68M | 68M | 68M | 68M | 68M | 68M | 68M | 68M | 33.5M | 33.5M | 33.5M | 33.5M | 33.5M | 0 | 0 |
Quick answers to the most common questions about buying OFG stock.
As of 2025, OFG Bancorp (OFG) had total assets of $12.47B including $1.22B in current assets.
OFG Bancorp (OFG) carries total debt of $580.5M. Comparing total debt to cash helps evaluate the company's debt burden and net leverage.
OFG Bancorp (OFG) has total shareholders' equity (book value) of $1.39B ($29.35 book value per share). Book value represents the net worth of the company belonging to common stock holders.
OFG Bancorp (OFG) reported a current ratio of 0.12x. A current ratio above 1.0x indicates that the company has more current assets than current liabilities, suggesting sufficient short-term liquidity.
Key Metrics
Top Statement Risk
Rate cut margin compression
Metrics are mathematically derived from official filings.
Asset Growth Accelerates on Loan Expansion
Total assets grew 8.0% year-over-year to $12.2B in Q2 2026, according to OFG's balance sheet, driven by loan growth while securities remained stable.
The balance sheet expanded from $11.3B in Q2 2024 to $12.2B in Q2 2026, a compound quarterly growth rate of approximately 1.9%. This growth appears organic, as investment securities held steady around $10.8B, suggesting the incremental assets are being deployed into higher-yielding loans rather than parked in the securities portfolio. The consistent equity-to-assets ratio of 0.11-0.12 indicates the expansion is funded primarily through deposit growth rather than leverage, which supports the quality of the asset build.
Low-Cost Deposit Base Anchors NIM
OFG's loan-to-deposit ratio remained undisclosed, but stable NIM at 1.3% for five consecutive quarters, per reported data, suggests a sticky, low-cost deposit franchise.
The stability of net interest margin at 1.3% despite a rising rate environment implies that deposit costs are not repricing as aggressively as loan yields, a characteristic consistent with the Puerto Rican market's less price-sensitive depositors. The efficiency ratio improved to 44.8% in Q2 2026 from 41.0% in Q4 2024, indicating that operating expenses are growing slower than revenue, which may reflect the benefits of digital adoption and scale from past acquisitions. Investors should monitor whether this deposit beta advantage persists if the Fed cuts rates, as it could compress margins if loan yields fall faster than deposit costs.
Provision Volatility Signals Credit Watch
Loan loss provisions swung from zero in Q4 2025 to $13.0M in Q2 2026, based on OFG's quarterly data, suggesting credit costs are becoming less predictable.
The provision for credit losses has been lumpy, ranging from $0 to $30.2M over the past ten quarters, with no clear trend. The Q2 2026 provision of $13.0M, while lower than the $22.5M in Q1 2026, indicates that credit quality may be stabilizing but remains elevated compared to the $15.1M in Q1 2024. This volatility could reflect the impact of CECL modeling on Puerto Rico's economic forecasts, which may differ from mainland trends. The absence of a disclosed NPL ratio or charge-off data limits deeper analysis, but the provision pattern warrants close monitoring for any deterioration in the auto or commercial portfolios.
Capital Ratios Stable, Deployment Optionality
Equity-to-assets held at 12% in Q2 2026, according to OFG's balance sheet, with ROE improving to 4.2%, indicating stable capital generation.
The equity-to-assets ratio has remained consistently between 11% and 12% over the past ten quarters, suggesting a disciplined capital position that supports organic growth and shareholder returns. ROE improved to 4.2% in Q2 2026 from 3.9% in Q1 2026, reflecting the earnings beat and stable equity base. While CET1 is not disclosed in the provided data, the stable equity ratio and positive earnings retention imply a buffer for potential buybacks or M&A, though management's capital deployment strategy remains an analytical inference. The lack of explicit capital ratio disclosures limits a full assessment of regulatory adequacy, but the trend appears healthy.
Liquidity Position Strengthens with Cash Build
Cash and bank balances rose to $745.7M in Q2 2026 from $636.5M in Q1, per OFG's balance sheet, while securities remained stable, supporting liquidity.
The increase in cash holdings to $745.7M, up 17.2% quarter-over-quarter, suggests a deliberate build-up of liquidity buffers, possibly in anticipation of loan growth or to meet regulatory requirements. Investment securities remained stable at $10.8B, indicating that the bank is not relying on securities sales to fund operations. The loan-to-deposit ratio is not disclosed, but the stable deposit base inferred from the cash flow analysis suggests that OFG is not overly reliant on wholesale funding. This liquidity profile appears adequate for an island-based bank, though the concentration of assets in securities (approximately 88% of total assets) warrants monitoring for interest rate sensitivity.
Rate Sensitivity Poses NIM Risk
With NIM at 1.3% and deposit costs contained, OFG's forward earnings appear sensitive to Fed rate cuts, as reported in Q2 2026 data.
The stability of NIM at 1.3% over the past five quarters masks the underlying repricing dynamics. If the Fed begins cutting rates, OFG's loan yields may reprice downward faster than its deposit costs, potentially compressing NIM. The bank's high proportion of floating-rate loans, typical of consumer and auto portfolios, could accelerate this pressure. Conversely, the low deposit beta observed historically may provide a cushion, as Puerto Rican depositors are less likely to shift to higher-yielding alternatives. Investors should monitor management commentary on deposit betas and loan repricing in upcoming quarters to gauge the magnitude of this risk.
Securities Concentration Masks Duration Risk
Investment securities comprise roughly 88% of total assets at $10.8B, per OFG's balance sheet, a concentration that may amplify unrealized losses if rates rise.
The heavy allocation to investment securities, which have remained near $10.8B across the past ten quarters, suggests that OFG's balance sheet is more exposed to duration risk than a typical regional bank. While the stable NIM implies limited repricing pressure, the securities portfolio's market value could be sensitive to rate movements, potentially affecting AOCI and regulatory capital. The lack of disclosed duration or yield data on the securities book limits a full assessment, but the concentration warrants scrutiny, especially if the Fed's rate path diverges from market expectations. Investors should monitor the composition of the securities portfolio and any unrealized losses in upcoming disclosures.