Operating cash flow turned negative in 2026Q1 at -$8.6M, but FFO averaged $31.5M per quarter with dividends paid of $12.7M, implying a payout ratio near 40%, and zero reported capex reflects the triple-net structure.
Safehold Inc. (SAFE) cash flow statement — 30-year operating, investing & financing cash flows
| Metric | TTM | Dec'25 | Dec'24 | Dec'23 | Dec'22 | Dec'21 | Dec'20 | Dec'19 | Dec'18 | Dec'17 | Dec'16 | Dec'15 | Dec'14 | Dec'13 | Dec'12 | Dec'11 | Dec'10 | Dec'09 | Dec'08 | Dec'07 | Dec'06 | Dec'05 | Dec'04 | Dec'03 | Dec'02 | Dec'01 | Dec'00 | Dec'99 | Dec'98 | Dec'97 | Dec'96 |
|---|
| Cash from Operations | 36.95M | 47.81M | 37.85M | 15.39M | 64.85M | 26.92M | 61.76M | -1.96M | -24.13M | 80.21M | 5.48M | 5.03M | -10.34M | -180.47M | -191.93M | -31.79M | -47.4M | 76.28M | 418.53M | 561.34M | 434.44M | 515.92M | 363.13M | 338.26M | 348.79M | 264.83M | 192.47M | 122.5M | 54.9M | 3.2M | -200K |
| Operating CF Growth % | -233.97% | 26.31% | 145.96% | -76.27% | 140.93% | -56.41% | 3246.05% | 91.86% | -130.08% | 1363.72% | 9.05% | 148.59% | 94.27% | 5.97% | -503.84% | 32.94% | -162.14% | -81.78% | -25.44% | 29.21% | -15.79% | 42.07% | 7.35% | -3.02% | 31.7% | 37.6% | 57.12% | 123.13% | 1615.63% | 1700% | 0% |
| Operating CF / Revenue % | 8.94% | 12.4% | 10.35% | 4.37% | 23.99% | 14.39% | 38.91% | -2.1% | -48.52% | 11.81% | 25.2% | 27.07% | -2.24% | -46.18% | -47.93% | -36.12% | -8.73% | 7.95% | 145.64% | 67.84% | 77.2% | 105.62% | 77.87% | 83.06% | 102.11% | 84.02% | 63.97% | 70.56% | 65.83% | 168.42% | -100% |
| Net Income | 116.17M | 114.63M | 105.76M | -54.56M | 144.68M | 73.36M | -116.64M | 33.73M | -18.33M | 56.79M | 6.62M | 5.72M | 15.77M | -133.47M | -268.69M | -25.69M | 80.21M | -769.85M | -196.79M | 238.96M | 374.83M | 287.91M | 260.45M | 292.16M | 215.27M | 229.91M | 218.29M | 38.9M | 59.9M | 0 | -600K |
| Depreciation & Amortization | 8.6M | 10.86M | 10.45M | 12.24M | 11.92M | 11.99M | 7.33M | 11.89M | 58.7M | 49.93M | 3.14M | 3.47M | 73.57M | 71.53M | 70.79M | 63.93M | 70.77M | 99.29M | 104.45M | -107.99M | 33.78M | 39.08M | 39.21M | 28.46M | 38.42M | 14.98M | 20.34M | -9.6M | -10.1M | 0 | 0 |
| Stock-Based Compensation | 2.87M | 12.55M | 13.76M | 23.23M | 1.55M | 1.75M | 0 | 1.58M | 873K | 18.81M | 10.89M | 12.01M | 13.31M | 19.26M | 15.29M | 29.7M | 19.36M | 23.59M | 19.7M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Other Non-Cash Items | -77M | -100.68M | -105.44M | 27.37M | -124.41M | -42.66M | 180.6M | -25.13M | -52.75M | -14.48M | -3.96M | -2.9M | -34.3M | -45.03M | -92.39M | -108.29M | 33.3M | 722.79M | 509.19M | 412.4M | 70.68M | 146.69M | 59.12M | 31.31M | 57.35M | -1.93M | -3.69M | 98.3M | 8.7M | 1.5M | 200K |
| Working Capital Changes | -13.75M | 10.46M | 13.33M | 7.11M | 31.12M | -11.6M | -9.53M | -24.03M | -29.31M | -7.08M | -317K | -1.26M | 10.42M | -14.76M | 14.33M | 22.3M | -51.35M | -3.32M | -24.06M | 16.64M | -43.07M | 42.24M | 4.36M | -13.66M | 37.75M | 21.88M | -42.47M | -5.1M | -3.6M | 1.7M | 200K |
| Cash from Investing | -151.77M | -237.18M | -212.37M | -576.57M | -1.15B | -1.29B | -8.2M | -1.52B | 778.86M | 269.49M | -7.97M | 184.03M | 159.79M | 893.45M | 1.27B | 1.47B | 3.74B | 726.22M | -27.94M | -4.75B | -2.53B | -1.41B | -465.43M | -974.35M | -1.15B | -321.1M | -176.65M | -143.9M | -1.27B | -6M | 1.3M |
| Acquisitions (Net) | 162.44M | -28.88M | -10.05M | -149.94M | -7K | -39.45M | 496K | -127.97M | 13.61M | -224.22M | 43.94M | -11.53M | 0 | 220.28M | 0 | 0 | 3.69B | 64.57M | 993.83M | -1.89B | -31.72M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Purchase of Investments | -304.27M | -182.53M | -304.28M | -316.75M | -1.28B | -2.08M | -260.12M | -1.36B | -94.58M | -224.22M | -58.2M | -11.53M | -781.85M | -270.38M | -67.99M | -61.82M | -100.35M | -31.54M | -32.07M | -2.93B | -3.7B | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | -1.02B | -31.3M | -19.8M |
| Sale of Investments | 4.35M | 6.34M | 45.17M | 9.19M | 0 | 111.43M | 428.72M | 250K | 189.04M | 887.66M | 43.94M | 169.74M | 0 | 220.28M | 0 | 0 | 213.34M | 27.06M | 51.41M | 311.43M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 21.6M | 21M |
| Other Investing | -14.29M | -32.1M | 56.79M | -119.07M | 134.71M | -109.9M | -120.54M | 1.34B | 859.83M | -11.27M | 135.97M | 207.09M | 1.08B | 935.04M | 1.42B | 1.6B | -17.91M | 686.88M | -938.21M | -191M | 1.2B | -1.35B | -443.46M | -965.74M | -1.14B | -295.72M | -167.64M | -118.9M | -247.6M | 3.7M | 100K |
| Cash from Financing | 117.99M | 202.98M | 144.89M | 559.53M | 1.09B | 1.2B | -255.47M | 1.55B | -457.94M | -20.73M | 2.47M | -5M | -190.96M | -455.76M | -1.18B | -1.59B | -3.41B | -1.07B | 1.44M | 4.18B | 2.09B | 917.15M | 110.63M | 700.25M | 800.54M | 49.18M | -27.47M | 45.7M | 1.23B | 3M | 0 |
| Dividends Paid | -38.08M | -50.92M | -50.59M | -46.04M | -42.19M | -35.95M | -56.16M | -16.62M | -10.93M | -48.44M | -51.32M | -51.32M | -51.32M | -49.02M | -42.32M | -42.32M | -42.32M | -42.32M | -317.75M | -477.23M | -411.76M | -381.57M | -358.72M | -306.64M | -268.07M | -301.11M | -238.97M | -110.6M | -38.6M | 0 | 0 |
| Common Dividends | -38.08M | -50.92M | -50.59M | -46.04M | -42.19M | -35.95M | 0 | -16.62M | -10.93M | -2.85M | -51.32M | -51.32M | -51.32M | -49.02M | -42.32M | -42.32M | -42.32M | -42.32M | -317.75M | -467.8M | -403.08M | -373.32M | -352.65M | -306.64M | -268.07M | -301.11M | -238.97M | -110.6M | -38.6M | 0 | 0 |
| Debt Issuance (Net) | 2M | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | -1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 0 | 0 | -1000K | -1000K | -1000K | -1000K | -1000K | -1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Share Repurchases | -16.05M | 0 | -5.1M | 0 | 0 | 0 | -54.56M | 0 | -8.3M | -285.93M | -99.33M | -79.32M | 0 | -20.98M | -4.63M | -78.85M | -7.48M | -29.86M | -63.94M | -30.95M | 0 | 0 | -165M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Other Financing | -256.89M | -234.43M | -63M | 26.63M | -998K | -22.71M | -26.45M | 217.58M | -1.39M | 5.65M | 2.47M | -5M | 1.31M | -22.19M | 2.35M | 1.21M | 1.6M | 118.49M | -138.58M | 15.09M | 19.85M | 20.82M | -2.24M | 1.01B | 1.07B | 350.29M | 211.5M | 156.3M | 1.26B | 3M | 0 |
| Net Change in Cash | 3.17M | 13.62M | -29.62M | -1.65M | 9.87M | -57.95M | -208.54M | 22.36M | 296.81M | 328.94M | 328.72M | -472.04M | -41.51M | 257.22M | -100.48M | -148.04M | 280.23M | -271.9M | 392.03M | -1.44M | -9.42M | 26.95M | 8.33M | 64.16M | 264K | -7.08M | -11.66M | 24.3M | 9.8M | 200K | 1.1M |
| Exchange Rate Effect | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | -124K | -6.63M | 0 | 19K | -28K | 7K | 478K | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Cash at Beginning | 28.12M | 17.12M | 46.74M | 48.39M | 38.52M | 96.47M | 307.17M | 24.43M | 677.73M | 328.74M | 22K | 472.06M | 513.57M | 256.34M | 356.83M | 504.87M | 224.63M | 496.54M | 104.51M | 105.95M | 115.37M | 88.42M | 80.09M | 15.93M | 15.67M | 22.75M | 34.41M | 10.1M | 300K | 100K | 900K |
| Cash at End | 26.1M | 30.74M | 17.12M | 46.74M | 48.39M | 38.52M | 98.63M | 46.78M | 974.54M | 657.69M | 328.74M | 22K | 472.06M | 513.57M | 256.34M | 356.83M | 504.87M | 224.63M | 496.54M | 104.51M | 105.95M | 115.37M | 88.42M | 80.09M | 15.93M | 15.67M | 22.75M | 34.4M | 10.1M | 300K | 2M |
| Free Cash Flow | 36.95M | 47.81M | 37.85M | 15.39M | 64.85M | -1.22B | 5M | -1.37B | -213.17M | -78.25M | -168.14M | -164.72M | -153.13M | -392.23M | -275M | -95.95M | -90.26M | 55.52M | 315.64M | 516.51M | 434.44M | 460M | 341.16M | 329.65M | 341.3M | 239.45M | 183.46M | 97.5M | 54.9M | 3.2M | -200K |
| FCF Growth % | -30.37% | 26.31% | 145.96% | -76.27% | 105.31% | -24496.86% | 100.37% | -541.12% | -172.4% | 53.46% | -2.07% | -7.57% | 60.96% | -42.63% | -186.6% | -6.31% | -262.56% | -82.41% | -38.89% | 18.89% | -5.56% | 34.83% | 3.49% | -3.41% | 42.53% | 30.52% | 88.16% | 77.6% | 1615.63% | 1700% | 0% |
| FCF / Revenue % | 8.94% | 12.4% | 10.35% | 4.37% | 23.99% | -652.93% | 3.15% | -1463.28% | -428.7% | -11.52% | -773.29% | -887.26% | -33.14% | -100.37% | -68.67% | -109.04% | -16.63% | 5.79% | 109.83% | 62.42% | 77.2% | 94.17% | 73.16% | 80.94% | 99.92% | 75.97% | 60.97% | 56.16% | 65.83% | 168.42% | -100% |
Quick answers to the most common questions about buying SAFE stock.
Safehold Inc. (SAFE) generated $47.8M in net cash from operating activities in 2025. This reflects the cash generated directly from core business operations.
Safehold Inc. (SAFE) generated $47.8M in free cash flow in 2025. Free cash flow is the cash left over after capital expenditures, which can be used to pay dividends, repurchase shares, or pay down debt.
Safehold Inc. (SAFE) spent $0.0M on capital expenditures in 2025. CapEx represents the cash invested in physical assets like property, plant, and equipment to maintain or grow the business.
In 2025, Safehold Inc. (SAFE) returned $50.9M to shareholders via cash dividends. This shows the company's commitment to returning capital to its equity investors.
Key Metrics
Top Statement Risk
Interest rate sensitivity
Metrics are mathematically derived from official filings.
FFO Conversion Volatility
FFO exceeded operating cash flow in most quarters, with FFO/NI averaging 0.44 over the last year, but 2026Q1 saw a negative OCF of -$8.6M, per the cash flow statement, indicating timing mismatches.
The wide swings in operating cash flow relative to FFO, from -$8.6M in 2026Q1 to $34.6M in 2026Q2, suggest that working capital movements, likely related to lease receivables or originations, create significant quarter-to-quarter noise. Investors should focus on FFO as the more stable earnings measure, but the negative OCF quarters warrant monitoring for potential collection issues or funding of new investments.
Dividend Coverage Appears Adequate
Dividends paid averaged $12.7M per quarter, while FFO averaged $31.5M, implying a payout ratio near 40%, as reported in the cash flow data, leaving a substantial retained cash buffer.
With FFO consistently above dividends, the company retains roughly 60% of FFO to fund growth, which is typical for a growth-oriented REIT. However, AFFO is not disclosed, and if recurring capex were significant, the true distributable cash flow could be lower. The absence of AFFO data limits full assessment, but the current FFO coverage appears strong.
Minimal Maintenance Capex
CapEx is reported as zero across all quarters, as per the cash flow statement, reflecting the triple-net structure where tenants bear property-level capital costs, leaving SAFE with negligible maintenance obligations.
The zero capex is consistent with the ground lease model, where the company does not own buildings and thus has no direct maintenance or tenant improvement costs. This enhances FFO quality, as nearly all FFO is distributable. However, investors should note that the company's growth capex, such as new ground lease originations, is not captured in this line item and is funded through other means.
Working Capital Swings
Operating cash flow turned negative in 2026Q1 and 2025Q3, per the cash flow statement, suggesting timing differences in rent collections or originations, though no explicit receivable build-up is disclosed.
The negative OCF quarters are likely due to timing of cash receipts from ground lease payments or changes in other working capital items. Given the contractual nature of the leases, these swings may not indicate collection risk, but they do create volatility in reported FCF. Investors should monitor the straight-line rent receivable balance, which is not disclosed here, to assess the quality of earnings.
Capital Markets Dependency
With dividends covered by FFO and no significant capex, the company's growth appears funded by external capital, as evidenced by a debt-to-equity ratio of 1.84, per the balance sheet, indicating reliance on debt issuance.
The high leverage suggests that new ground lease originations are financed with debt, which amplifies interest rate sensitivity. The company's ability to continue growing depends on its access to capital markets at favorable rates. The recent internalization of management may reduce costs, but the funding model remains a key risk in a rising rate environment.
Depreciation Minimal Impact
Net income and FFO are closely aligned, with FFO/NI averaging 0.44 over the last year, as per the cash flow data, indicating that depreciation charges are relatively small, but the true economic value lies in land appreciation.
Unlike traditional REITs, SAFE's assets are land, which is not depreciated, so the gap between net income and FFO is narrow. However, the company's economic value is heavily influenced by unrealized capital appreciation of the land, which is not captured in either metric. Investors should consider this off-balance-sheet value when assessing the company's true earnings power.
Hidden Cash Obligations
The cash flow statement shows zero capex and no AFFO disclosure, but the company's growth model likely requires significant cash outlays for new ground leases, which may be classified as investing activities, per the cash flow statement.
While maintenance capex is minimal, the company's primary use of cash is likely the acquisition of land for new ground leases, which would appear as investing cash outflows. These outflows are not visible in the provided data, but they are essential for growth. Additionally, the company's joint ventures and off-balance-sheet obligations could create future cash demands not reflected in the current cash flow statement. Investors should scrutinize the investing section of the cash flow statement for a complete picture.