Total assets grew 6% YoY to $8.8B, with securities dominating at $7.7B, while equity-to-assets held at 10% and tangible book value per share reached $22.78, indicating a solid capital base but potential unrealized losses in the securities portfolio.
Southside Bancshares, Inc. (SBSI) balance sheet — 30-year assets, liabilities & shareholders' equity history
| Metric | TTM | Dec'25 | Dec'24 | Dec'23 | Dec'22 | Dec'21 | Dec'20 | Dec'19 | Dec'18 | Dec'17 | Dec'16 | Dec'15 | Dec'14 | Dec'13 | Dec'12 | Dec'11 | Dec'10 | Dec'09 | Dec'08 | Dec'07 | Dec'06 | Dec'05 | Dec'04 | Dec'03 | Dec'02 | Dec'01 | Dec'00 | Dec'99 | Dec'98 | Dec'97 | Dec'96 |
|---|
| Cash & Short Term Investments | 5.17B | 1.65B | 1.48B | 1.81B | 1.41B | 2.97B | 2.7B | 2.49B | 2.12B | 1.73B | 1.64B | 1.54B | 391.36M | 391.86M | 768.34M | 326.19M | 79.07M | 52.17M | 66.77M | 75.45M | 55.01M | 51.83M | 49.83M | 47.22M | 49.61M | 52.68M | 38.8M | 41.1M | 41.4M | 36.59M | 31.65M |
| Cash & Due from Banks | 397.26M | 383.99M | 373.35M | 513.74M | 115.42M | 201.75M | 108.41M | 130.7M | 126.5M | 190.71M | 161.61M | 80.97M | 84.66M | 54.43M | 150.63M | 43.24M | 79.07M | 52.17M | 66.77M | 75.45M | 55.01M | 51.83M | 49.83M | 47.22M | 49.61M | 52.68M | 38.8M | 41.1M | 41.4M | 36.59M | 31.65M |
| Short Term Investments | 1.57B | 1.26B | 1.11B | 1.3B | 1.3B | 2.76B | 2.59B | 2.36B | 1.99B | 1.54B | 1.48B | 1.46B | 306.71M | 337.43M | 617.71M | 282.96M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Total Investments | 7.74B | 7.49B | 7.44B | 7.11B | 6.75B | 6.48B | 6.32B | 6.05B | 5.45B | 5.73B | 4.97B | 4.67B | 4.27B | 3.18B | 2.92B | 3.09B | 2.53B | 2.55B | 2.47B | 1.98B | 852.26M | 1.62B | 1.5B | 1.35B | 1.24B | 1.17B | 1.07B | 931.5M | 804.2M | 509.17M | 429.32M |
| Investments Growth % | 18.93% | 0.62% | 4.72% | 5.29% | 4.17% | 2.5% | 4.48% | 10.98% | -4.87% | 15.31% | 6.49% | 9.39% | 34.17% | 8.93% | -5.49% | 22.07% | -0.92% | 3.3% | 24.53% | 132.89% | -47.44% | 7.97% | 11.61% | 8.6% | 6.24% | 8.97% | 14.89% | 15.83% | 57.94% | 18.6% | 6.29% |
| Long-Term Investments | 26.77B | 6.23B | 6.33B | 5.81B | 5.45B | 3.71B | 3.73B | 3.69B | 3.46B | 4.19B | 3.49B | 3.21B | 3.96B | 2.84B | 2.3B | 2.81B | 2.53B | 2.55B | 2.47B | 1.98B | 852.26M | 1.62B | 1.5B | 1.35B | 1.24B | 1.17B | 1.07B | 931.5M | 804.2M | 509.17M | 429.32M |
| Accounts Receivables | 43.39M | 41.81M | 46.72M | 50.49M | 49.35M | 39.15M | 38.71M | 28.45M | 27.29M | 28.49M | 25.18M | 22.7M | 22.44M | 21.97M | 18.94M | 19.43M | 18.03M | 18.48M | 16.35M | 11.78M | 10.11M | 9.3M | 8.55M | 8.43M | 8.93M | 8.62M | 9.12M | 7.6M | 6.1M | 3.92M | 3.3M |
| Goodwill & Intangibles | 201.88M | 202.13M | 202.87M | 204.04M | 205.74M | 208.01M | 210.86M | 214.48M | 218.9M | 224.24M | 96.13M | 98.07M | 100.22M | 22.21M | 22.36M | 22.56M | 22.81M | 23.13M | 23.51M | 23.56M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Goodwill | 201.12M | 201.12M | 201.12M | 201.12M | 201.12M | 201.12M | 201.12M | 201.12M | 201.12M | 201.25M | 91.52M | 91.52M | 91.37M | 22.03M | 22.03M | 22.03M | 22.03M | 22.03M | 22.03M | 21.64M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Intangible Assets | 759K | 1.01M | 1.75M | 2.92M | 4.62M | 6.89M | 9.74M | 13.36M | 17.78M | 22.99M | 4.61M | 6.55M | 8.84M | 178K | 324K | 522K | 777K | 1.1M | 1.48M | 1.93M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| PP&E (Net) | 156.88M | 164.69M | 155.51M | 153.79M | 156.57M | 157.58M | 159.64M | 153.67M | 135.97M | 133.64M | 106M | 107.93M | 112.86M | 52.06M | 50.08M | 50.59M | 50.14M | 46.48M | 42.72M | 40.25M | 32.64M | 33.61M | 30.32M | 30.63M | 30.1M | 27.75M | 25.48M | 21.3M | 19.2M | 17.99M | 13.97M |
| Other Assets | 197.32M | 207.42M | 263.25M | 226.66M | 248.1M | 174.59M | 169.94M | 172.04M | 154.23M | 179.15M | 177.09M | 166.34M | 208.69M | 97.15M | 72.61M | 79.73M | 293.01M | 329.15M | 76.36M | 60.44M | 932.28M | 67.29M | 29.21M | 23.12M | 21.59M | 21.53M | 8.33M | 11.1M | 5.4M | 3.01M | 3.99M |
| Total Current Assets | 2.01B | 1.69B | 1.53B | 1.86B | 1.46B | 3.01B | 2.73B | 2.52B | 2.14B | 1.76B | 1.67B | 1.56B | 413.8M | 413.83M | 787.27M | 345.62M | 97.11M | 70.65M | 83.13M | 87.24M | 65.12M | 60.58M | 58.38M | 55.66M | 58.54M | 61.3M | 47.92M | 48.7M | 47.5M | 40.51M | 34.95M |
| Total Non-Current Assets | 6.75B | 6.83B | 6.99B | 6.42B | 6.09B | 4.25B | 4.27B | 4.23B | 3.98B | 4.74B | 3.9B | 3.6B | 4.39B | 3.03B | 2.45B | 2.96B | 2.9B | 2.95B | 2.62B | 2.11B | 1.83B | 1.72B | 1.56B | 1.4B | 1.29B | 1.22B | 1.1B | 963.9M | 828.8M | 530.63M | 447.74M |
| Total Assets | 8.76B | 8.51B | 8.52B | 8.28B | 7.56B | 7.26B | 7.01B | 6.75B | 6.12B | 6.5B | 5.56B | 5.16B | 4.81B | 3.45B | 3.24B | 3.3B | 3B | 3.02B | 2.7B | 2.2B | 1.89B | 1.78B | 1.62B | 1.45B | 1.35B | 1.28B | 1.15B | 1.01B | 876.3M | 571.14M | 482.69M |
| Asset Growth % | 10.8% | -0.03% | 2.81% | 9.61% | 4.12% | 3.59% | 3.84% | 10.21% | -5.76% | 16.79% | 7.78% | 7.38% | 39.52% | 6.43% | -2.01% | 10.14% | -0.82% | 12% | 22.94% | 16.15% | 6.03% | 10.11% | 11.32% | 7.84% | 5.67% | 10.84% | 13.75% | 15.55% | 53.43% | 18.32% | 7.58% |
| Return on Assets (ROA) | 0.88% | 0.81% | 1.05% | 1.09% | 1.42% | 1.59% | 1.19% | 1.16% | 1.17% | 0.9% | 0.92% | 0.88% | 0.5% | 1.23% | 1.06% | 1.24% | 1.3% | 1.55% | 1.25% | 0.82% | 0.82% | 0.86% | 1.05% | 0.97% | 1.01% | 0.97% | 0.91% | 0.84% | 0.75% | 0.95% | 0.9% |
| Accounts Payable | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Total Debt | 1.64B | 734.09M | 976.45M | 893.32M | 550.52M | 542.73M | 1.13B | 1.2B | 914.53M | 1.18B | 2.34B | 1.21B | 957.73M | 633.11M | 580.61M | 683.07M | 625.53M | 931.27M | 957.67M | 509.87M | 485.19M | 543.48M | 561.19M | 467.9M | 437.14M | 440.24M | 372.84M | 380.7M | 299.7M | 63.08M | 13.9M |
| Net Debt | 1.24B | 350.1M | 603.09M | 379.58M | 435.1M | 340.97M | 1.02B | 1.07B | 788.03M | 985.14M | 2.18B | 1.13B | 873.08M | 578.67M | 429.98M | 639.83M | 546.46M | 879.1M | 890.9M | 434.42M | 430.18M | 491.65M | 511.36M | 420.68M | 387.53M | 387.56M | 334.04M | 339.6M | 258.3M | 26.48M | -17.76M |
| Long-Term Debt | 207.87M | 300.61M | 884.23M | 876.62M | 533.45M | 526.05M | 1.11B | 1.16B | 877.72M | 1.18B | 1.47B | 562.51M | 660.36M | 559.66M | 429.41M | 321.04M | 622.88M | 915.18M | 945.18M | 146.56M | 150M | 229.03M | 351.29M | 272.69M | 265.37M | 297.66M | 216.59M | 194.7M | 176M | 28.55M | 9.1M |
| Short-Term Debt | 1.42B | 419.14M | 76.44M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 28.36M | 36.81M | 9.5M | 873.62M | 645.41M | 301.61M | 74.3M | 151.2M | 362.03M | 6.5M | 16.09M | 12.49M | 363.31M | 335.2M | 314.44M | 209.9M | 198.73M | 171.77M | 142.58M | 156.24M | 186M | 123.7M | 34.53M | 4.8M |
| Other Liabilities | 74.22M | 67.73M | 74.81M | 68.63M | 64.1M | 64.57M | 55.12M | 38.28M | 52.65M | 43.16M | -829.18M | 52.18M | 45.63M | 24.37M | 46.15M | 33.75M | 20.38M | 20.35M | 25.35M | 23.13M | 12.7M | 17.48M | 12.77M | 10.61M | 15.4M | 9.96M | 6.74M | 6.7M | 15.2M | 5.36M | 6.24M |
| Total Current Liabilities | 7.59B | 7.28B | 6.73B | 6.55B | 6.2B | 5.72B | 4.93B | 4.73B | 4.46B | 4.52B | 4.41B | 4.1B | 3.68B | 2.6B | 2.5B | 2.69B | 2.14B | 1.89B | 1.57B | 1.89B | 1.62B | 1.43B | 1.15B | 1.07B | 986.26M | 900.53M | 876.85M | 773.5M | 638.7M | 497.2M | 430.75M |
| Total Non-Current Liabilities | 296.22M | 382.68M | 974.82M | 961.95M | 614.62M | 625.1M | 1.2B | 1.21B | 930.36M | 1.22B | 638.8M | 614.69M | 706M | 584.03M | 475.56M | 358.24M | 643.26M | 935.53M | 970.53M | 169.69M | 162.7M | 246.51M | 364.06M | 283.31M | 280.76M | 307.62M | 223.34M | 201.4M | 191.2M | 33.91M | 15.34M |
| Total Liabilities | 7.88B | 7.67B | 7.71B | 7.51B | 6.81B | 6.35B | 6.13B | 5.94B | 5.39B | 5.74B | 5.05B | 4.72B | 4.38B | 3.19B | 2.98B | 3.04B | 2.78B | 2.82B | 2.54B | 2.06B | 1.78B | 1.67B | 1.51B | 1.35B | 1.27B | 1.21B | 1.1B | 974.9M | 829.9M | 531.11M | 446.09M |
| Total Equity | 882.46M | 847.62M | 811.94M | 773.29M | 746M | 912.17M | 875.3M | 804.58M | 731.29M | 754.14M | 518.27M | 444.06M | 425.24M | 259.52M | 257.76M | 258.93M | 215.44M | 202.25M | 161.09M | 132.83M | 110.6M | 109.29M | 104.7M | 100.39M | 82.17M | 68.58M | 51.7M | 37.7M | 46.4M | 40.03M | 36.6M |
| Equity Growth % | 22.08% | 4.39% | 5% | 3.66% | -18.22% | 4.21% | 8.79% | 10.02% | -3.03% | 45.51% | 16.71% | 4.43% | 63.86% | 0.68% | -0.45% | 20.19% | 6.52% | 25.55% | 21.28% | 20.09% | 1.2% | 4.39% | 4.29% | 22.17% | 19.8% | 32.67% | 37.12% | -18.75% | 15.91% | 9.36% | 9.75% |
| Equity / Assets (Capital Ratio) | 10.07% | 9.95% | 9.53% | 9.33% | 9.87% | 12.57% | 12.49% | 11.92% | 11.94% | 11.61% | 9.32% | 8.6% | 8.85% | 7.53% | 7.96% | 7.84% | 7.18% | 6.69% | 5.97% | 6.05% | 5.85% | 6.13% | 6.46% | 6.9% | 6.09% | 5.37% | 4.49% | 3.72% | 5.29% | 7.01% | 7.58% |
| Return on Equity (ROE) | 8.89% | 8.34% | 11.16% | 11.41% | 12.67% | 12.69% | 9.78% | 9.71% | 9.98% | 8.54% | 10.26% | 10.12% | 6.08% | 15.93% | 13.43% | 16.5% | 18.72% | 24.44% | 20.89% | 13.71% | 13.64% | 13.64% | 15.7% | 14.86% | 17.68% | 19.51% | 21.98% | 18.79% | 12.5% | 13.06% | 12.02% |
| Book Value per Share | 29.54 | 28.04 | 26.74 | 25.14 | 23.13 | 27.90 | 26.30 | 23.74 | 20.83 | 25.10 | 19.02 | 16.22 | 19.63 | 12.21 | 11.93 | 12.03 | 9.95 | 9.35 | 7.49 | 6.21 | 5.20 | 5.18 | 4.91 | 4.91 | 4.07 | 3.46 | 2.91 | 2.13 | 2.42 | 2.10 | 1.97 |
| Tangible BV per Share | 22.78 | 21.36 | 20.06 | 18.51 | 16.75 | 21.54 | 19.96 | 17.41 | 14.59 | 17.64 | 15.49 | 12.64 | 15.00 | 11.16 | 10.90 | 10.98 | 8.90 | 8.28 | 6.40 | 5.11 | 5.20 | 5.18 | 4.91 | 4.91 | 4.07 | 3.46 | 2.91 | 2.13 | 2.42 | 2.10 | 1.97 |
| Common Stock | 47.66M | 47.64M | 47.6M | 47.55M | 47.5M | 47.46M | 47.42M | 47.36M | 47.31M | 47.25M | 39.32M | 34.83M | 33.22M | 25.48M | 24.31M | 23.15M | 22.07M | 20.93M | 19.7M | 18.58M | 17.59M | 16.63M | 15.61M | 14.72M | 11.95M | 10.92M | 10.27M | 9.7M | 0 | 8.74M | 8.29M |
| Additional Paid-in Capital | 797.34M | 795.76M | 793.59M | 788.84M | 784.54M | 780.5M | 771.51M | 766.72M | 762.47M | 757.44M | 535.24M | 424.08M | 389.89M | 214.09M | 195.6M | 176.79M | 162.88M | 146.36M | 131.11M | 115.25M | 100.74M | 87.96M | 75.27M | 63.14M | 44.05M | 35.2M | 30.23M | 27.5M | 0 | 21.29M | 18.5M |
| Retained Earnings | 380.76M | 352.19M | 326.79M | 282.36M | 239.61M | 179.81M | 111.21M | 80.27M | 64.8M | 32.85M | 30.1M | 41.53M | 55.4M | 78.67M | 70.71M | 72.65M | 64.57M | 53.81M | 34.02M | 26.19M | 29.65M | 32.05M | 33.72M | 32.98M | 29.8M | 25.13M | 19.89M | 14.6M | 11.4M | 10.41M | 9.63M |
| Accumulated OCI | -92.07M | -95.62M | -124.9M | -113.46M | -137.46M | 59.7M | 69.08M | 4.24M | -50.23M | -36.3M | -38.49M | -18.68M | -15.57M | -21.04M | 2.94M | 14.72M | -6.82M | 4.23M | -1.1M | -4.71M | -14.52M | -4.51M | -2.04M | 6.08M | 9.08M | 5.85M | -3.33M | -9.6M | 0 | 1.41M | 962K |
| Treasury Stock | -251.23M | -252.36M | -231.14M | -232M | -188.2M | -155.31M | -123.92M | -94.01M | -93.06M | -47.1M | -47.89M | -37.69M | -37.69M | -37.69M | -35.79M | -28.38M | -28.38M | -23.55M | -23.11M | -22.98M | -22.85M | -22.85M | -17.85M | -16.54M | -12.71M | -8.51M | -5.36M | -4.5M | 0 | -1.82M | -777K |
| Preferred Stock | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
Quick answers to the most common questions about buying SBSI stock.
As of 2025, Southside Bancshares, Inc. (SBSI) had total assets of $8.51B including $1.69B in current assets.
Southside Bancshares, Inc. (SBSI) carries total debt of $734.1M. Comparing total debt to cash helps evaluate the company's debt burden and net leverage.
Southside Bancshares, Inc. (SBSI) has total shareholders' equity (book value) of $847.6M ($28.04 book value per share). Book value represents the net worth of the company belonging to common stock holders.
Southside Bancshares, Inc. (SBSI) reported a current ratio of 0.23x. A current ratio above 1.0x indicates that the company has more current assets than current liabilities, suggesting sufficient short-term liquidity.
Key Metrics
Top Statement Risk
Securities duration and deposit migration
Metrics are mathematically derived from official filings.
Asset Growth Steady, Mix Shifts
Total assets grew 6% YoY to $8.8B in Q2 2026, per SBSI's balance sheet, but securities dominate at $7.7B, indicating limited loan growth and a bond-heavy posture.
The balance sheet expanded modestly from $8.3B to $8.8B over the past year, but the composition remains heavily weighted toward investment securities, which constitute roughly 87% of assets. Loan growth appears subdued, as the loan-to-deposit ratio is not disclosed, but the persistent securities concentration suggests the bank is not aggressively pivoting to higher-yielding loans. This trajectory implies a stable but low-return asset base, with growth driven by reinvestment in securities rather than organic lending expansion.
Core Deposits Underpin Low Funding Costs
SBSI's deposit franchise appears sticky, with cash levels fluctuating but no significant outflows reported; the low debt-to-equity ratio of 0.87% indicates minimal reliance on wholesale funding, per balance sheet data.
The bank's funding base is predominantly core deposits, as evidenced by the absence of material FHLB advances or other borrowings in the data. Cash and bank balances swung from $73M in Q1 2026 to $397M in Q2 2026, suggesting liquidity management rather than deposit stress. The stability of this franchise is critical because it allows the bank to maintain a low cost of funds, even as the securities portfolio yields remain modest. However, the lack of disclosed non-interest-bearing deposit details limits visibility into potential migration risk.
Credit Quality Remains Benign
Loan loss provisions were minimal at $83K in Q2 2026, down from $622K a year earlier, per SBSI's financials, indicating stable credit conditions and low charge-offs.
The provision for loan losses has been consistently low across the past ten quarters, with the only spike occurring in Q3 2025 at $45.9M, which appears anomalous and may reflect a specific reserve build. Excluding that quarter, provisions have averaged under $1M, suggesting that the loan book, though small relative to securities, is performing well. The bank's municipal lending niche likely contributes to this stability, as these loans historically exhibit negligible losses. Investors should monitor the expansion into DFW and Austin, where credit risk may differ from the core East Texas market.
Capital Ratios Stable, Tangible Leverage Low
Equity-to-assets ratio held at 10% in Q2 2026, per SBSI's balance sheet, while return on tangible common equity reached 16.09%, indicating a solid capital position despite modest GAAP ROE.
The equity-to-assets ratio has remained consistently around 10% over the past ten quarters, reflecting a conservative capital structure. The wide gap between reported ROE (3.1%) and return on tangible common equity (16.09%) suggests significant goodwill and intangibles, which may limit capital flexibility. However, the bank's low leverage and consistent dividend payments indicate a strong capacity to absorb potential losses. The maintained guidance and EPS beat in Q2 2026 suggest management sees stable capital generation ahead, though the intangible-heavy balance sheet warrants monitoring for impairment risk.
Liquidity Ample, Securities Heavy
Cash and bank balances rose to $397M in Q2 2026 from $73M in Q1, per SBSI's balance sheet, while the securities portfolio provides additional liquidity, though with potential unrealized losses.
The bank's liquidity profile is robust, with cash levels representing about 4.5% of assets and a large securities portfolio that can be pledged or sold. However, the heavy concentration in securities, likely municipal bonds, introduces duration risk; in a rising rate environment, these holdings may have unrealized losses that could constrain liquidity if the bank needs to sell them. The low debt-to-equity ratio and stable deposit base reduce reliance on wholesale funding, but the bank's ability to access contingent funding sources like FHLB advances is not disclosed. Overall, liquidity appears adequate, but the quality of the securities portfolio is a key variable.
Rate Sensitivity Creates NIM Uncertainty
Net interest margin remained at 0.7% in Q2 2026, unchanged from prior quarters, per SBSI's financials, but the bank's bond-heavy balance sheet suggests sensitivity to rate movements.
The stable NIM of 0.7% masks the underlying pressure from rising funding costs and a securities portfolio that may be repricing slower than liabilities. With revenue down 8.1% YoY, the bank appears to be experiencing margin compression, though the Q3 2025 NIM spike to 1.8% suggests some volatility. The bank's deposit beta and the duration of its securities are critical to forecasting NIM; if rates remain elevated, the bank may continue to face headwinds. However, the low-cost deposit franchise could provide a cushion, as deposit costs may lag market rates. Investors should monitor management's commentary on deposit betas and securities reinvestment yields.
Unrealized Losses Loom in Securities
The securities portfolio of $7.7B, per SBSI's balance sheet, may carry significant unrealized losses given the rate environment, potentially pressuring tangible book value and capital ratios.
The bank's heavy allocation to investment securities, likely municipal bonds, exposes it to interest rate risk. In the current high-rate environment, the market value of these fixed-rate securities has likely declined, creating unrealized losses in the available-for-sale portfolio that reduce tangible common equity. While these losses do not affect net income unless realized, they could constrain capital flexibility and increase the effective leverage of the bank. The wide gap between reported ROE and return on tangible common equity hints at this issue. If the bank is forced to sell securities to fund deposit outflows or loan growth, it could realize these losses, impacting earnings and capital. This risk warrants close monitoring, especially as the bank expands into new markets.