Total assets grew 12.7% year-over-year to $517.3B with equity-to-assets stable at 10%, but unrealized losses on held-to-maturity securities likely understate economic capital and constrain regulatory flexibility, despite cash balances strengthening to $51.6B.
The Charles Schwab Corporation (SCHW) balance sheet — 30-year assets, liabilities & shareholders' equity history
| Metric | TTM | Dec'25 | Dec'24 | Dec'23 | Dec'22 | Dec'21 | Dec'20 | Dec'19 | Dec'18 | Dec'17 | Dec'16 | Dec'15 | Dec'14 | Dec'13 | Dec'12 | Dec'11 | Dec'10 | Dec'09 | Dec'08 | Dec'07 | Dec'06 | Dec'05 | Dec'04 | Dec'03 | Dec'02 | Dec'01 | Dec'00 | Dec'99 | Dec'98 | Dec'97 | Dec'96 |
|---|
| Cash & Short Term Investments | 317.53B | 108.11B | 124.7B | 149.25B | 188.03B | 453.03B | 377.75B | 90.72B | 94.52B | 64.21B | 88.19B | 77.62B | 66.15B | 59.35B | 58.79B | 8.68B | 4.93B | 26.61B | 20.13B | 6.76B | 4.51B | 2.33B | 2.78B | 2.83B | 3.11B | 4.41B | 3.3B | 2.08B | 1.16B | 797.4M | 633.3M |
| Cash & Due from Banks | 36.7B | 46.03B | 42.08B | 43.34B | 40.2B | 62.98B | 40.35B | 29.34B | 27.94B | 14.22B | 10.83B | 11.98B | 11.36B | 7.73B | 12.66B | 8.68B | 4.93B | 26.61B | 5.44B | 6.76B | 4.51B | 1.91B | 2.78B | 2.83B | 3.11B | 4.41B | 4.88B | 2.61B | 1.16B | 797.4M | 633.3M |
| Short Term Investments | 31.8B | 62.08B | 82.62B | 105.91B | 147.83B | 390.05B | 337.4B | 61.42B | 66.58B | 49.99B | 77.36B | 65.65B | 54.78B | 51.62B | 46.12B | 0 | 0 | 0 | 14.69B | 0 | 0 | 425M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 11B | 8.83B | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Total Investments | 289.7B | 258.21B | 272.85B | 305.64B | 359.99B | 427.8B | 362.95B | 215.71B | 228.22B | 221.83B | 168.69B | 130.73B | 103.2B | 94.98B | 75.79B | 49.67B | 42.09B | 37.37B | 36.1B | 11.7B | 8.75B | 21.78B | 31.22B | 31.13B | 27.28B | 5.75B | 15.76B | 12.85B | 242.1M | 282.6M | 127.9M |
| Investments Growth % | 35.22% | -5.37% | -10.73% | -15.1% | -15.85% | 17.87% | 68.26% | -5.48% | 2.88% | 31.5% | 29.04% | 26.68% | 8.66% | 25.31% | 52.61% | 17.99% | 12.63% | 3.51% | 208.72% | 33.6% | -59.8% | -30.25% | 0.3% | 14.13% | 374.7% | -63.55% | 22.69% | 5206.9% | -14.33% | 120.95% | 12.69% |
| Long-Term Investments | 985.19B | 196.13B | 190.23B | 199.69B | 212.09B | 37.75B | 25.55B | 197.48B | 161.64B | 171.84B | 91.32B | 65.08B | 48.42B | 43.36B | 29.67B | 49.67B | 42.09B | 37.37B | 21.42B | 11.7B | 8.75B | 21.35B | 31.22B | 31.13B | 27.28B | 5.75B | 1.6B | 4.02B | 242.1M | 282.6M | 127.9M |
| Accounts Receivables | 155.3B | 107.55B | 88.02B | 71.8B | 69.07B | 92.82B | 66.2B | 22.91B | 0 | 21.45B | 17.93B | 17.94B | 16.21B | 14.45B | 14.03B | 11.54B | 0 | 0 | 7.89B | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 9.14B | 7.07B | 10.07B | 16.68B | 17.54B | 9.98B | 8.02B | 5.24B |
| Goodwill & Intangibles | 19.43B | 19.18B | 19.69B | 20.21B | 20.74B | 21.33B | 21.94B | 1.35B | 1.38B | 1.33B | 1.37B | 1.41B | 1.45B | 1.49B | 1.55B | 1.49B | 631M | 528M | 528M | 525M | 419M | 952M | 10.32B | 9.14B | 7.07B | 10.07B | 16.68B | 17.54B | 9.98B | 8.02B | 5.24B |
| Goodwill | 12.29B | 11.95B | 11.95B | 11.95B | 11.95B | 11.95B | 11.95B | 1.23B | 1.23B | 1.23B | 1.23B | 1.23B | 1.23B | 1.23B | 1.23B | 1.16B | 631M | 528M | 528M | 525M | 419M | 809M | 10.32B | 9.14B | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Intangible Assets | 7.14B | 7.23B | 7.74B | 8.26B | 8.79B | 9.38B | 9.99B | 128M | 152M | 108M | 144M | 181M | 227M | 266M | 319M | 326M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 143M | 0 | 0 | 7.07B | 10.07B | 16.68B | 17.54B | 9.98B | 8.02B | 5.24B |
| PP&E (Net) | 0 | 3.8B | 3.93B | 4.32B | 4.61B | 4.28B | 3.82B | 2.71B | 1.77B | 1.47B | 1.3B | 1.15B | 1.04B | 790M | 675M | 685M | 624M | 641M | 661M | 617M | 602M | 699M | 903M | 956M | 868M | 1.06B | 1.13B | 597.8M | 396.2M | 342.3M | 315.4M |
| Other Assets | 19.57B | 54.26B | 47.08B | 40.04B | 49.7B | 55.59B | 52B | -21.45B | 13.96B | -17.88B | 22.3B | 19.82B | 20.8B | 23.61B | 28.49B | 1.88B | 19.98B | -37.37B | 1.05B | 9.65B | 22.73B | 11.38B | 942M | 831M | 777M | 18.56B | 2.36B | 676.1M | 200.6M | 210.9M | 153.6M |
| Total Current Assets | 223.8B | 215.65B | 215.38B | 224.62B | 259.27B | 548.32B | 445.69B | 113.87B | 117.74B | 86.44B | 106.94B | 96.25B | 82.93B | 74.39B | 73.26B | 42.97B | 16.58B | 35.8B | 28.02B | 41.68B | 48.39B | 46.42B | 45.27B | 43.93B | 38.23B | 38.78B | 36.51B | 28.98B | 21.82B | 16.08B | 13.39B |
| Total Non-Current Assets | 296.9B | 275.34B | 264.47B | 268.56B | 292.51B | 118.95B | 103.31B | 180.09B | 178.75B | 156.84B | 116.44B | 87.46B | 71.71B | 69.25B | 60.38B | 53.98B | 63.32B | 1.17B | 23.66B | 22.48B | 32.91B | 33.85B | 34.03B | 33.9B | 29.52B | 25.99B | 5.6B | 5.34B | 885.2M | 891.7M | 665.8M |
| Total Assets | 520.7B | 491B | 479.84B | 493.18B | 551.77B | 667.27B | 549.01B | 294B | 296.48B | 243.27B | 223.38B | 183.72B | 154.64B | 143.64B | 133.64B | 108.79B | 92.57B | 75.43B | 51.67B | 42.37B | 48.99B | 47.18B | 47.13B | 45.87B | 39.7B | 40.46B | 38.15B | 29.3B | 22.26B | 16.48B | 13.78B |
| Asset Growth % | 33.53% | 2.32% | -2.7% | -10.62% | -17.31% | 21.54% | 86.73% | -0.84% | 21.87% | 8.9% | 21.59% | 18.8% | 7.66% | 7.49% | 22.84% | 17.53% | 22.72% | 45.97% | 21.96% | -13.51% | 3.84% | 0.1% | 2.76% | 15.52% | -1.88% | 6.05% | 30.22% | 31.6% | 35.09% | 19.62% | 30.58% |
| Return on Assets (ROA) | 2.11% | 1.82% | 1.22% | 0.97% | 1.18% | 0.96% | 0.78% | 1.25% | 1.3% | 1.01% | 0.93% | 0.86% | 0.89% | 0.77% | 0.77% | 0.86% | 0.54% | 1.24% | 2.58% | 5.27% | 2.55% | 1.54% | 0.62% | 1.1% | 0.27% | 0.51% | 2.13% | 2.58% | 1.8% | 1.79% | 1.92% |
| Accounts Payable | 0 | 142.03B | 114.89B | 91.43B | 97.44B | 125.67B | 104.2B | 39.22B | 32.73B | 32.53B | 38.3B | 35.77B | 36.31B | 36.8B | 41.4B | 36.59B | 32.25B | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Total Debt | 40B | 30.95B | 45.13B | 59.08B | 37.88B | 23.77B | 13.63B | 7.43B | 6.88B | 19.75B | 2.88B | 2.89B | 1.9B | 1.9B | 1.63B | 2B | 2.01B | 1.51B | 883M | 899M | 388M | 1.13B | 1.25B | 1.77B | 1.15B | 1.31B | 1.11B | 455M | 351M | 361M | 508.9M |
| Net Debt | 3.3B | -15.08B | 3.05B | 15.74B | -2.32B | -39.21B | -26.72B | -21.91B | -21.06B | 5.54B | -7.95B | -9.09B | -9.46B | -5.83B | -11.03B | -6.68B | -2.92B | -25.1B | -4.56B | -5.87B | -4.12B | -1.14B | -1.53B | -1.06B | -1.96B | -3.1B | -3.77B | -1.62B | -804.9M | -436.4M | -124.4M |
| Long-Term Debt | 23.8B | 22.15B | 22.39B | 26.04B | 20.76B | 18.82B | 13.63B | 7.43B | 6.83B | 4.69B | 2.88B | 2.81B | 1.82B | 1.81B | 1.54B | 1.9B | 2.01B | 1.51B | 883M | 899M | 388M | 462M | 585M | 772M | 642M | 730M | 770M | 455M | 351M | 361M | 508.9M |
| Short-Term Debt | 16.2B | 8.76B | 22.7B | 32.95B | 17.05B | 4.86B | 0 | 0 | 0 | 15B | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 672M | 663M | 996M | 508M | 578M | 339M | 141M | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Other Liabilities | 429.2B | 12.84B | 12.32B | 11.75B | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 268.93B | 205B | 204.09B | -6M | 140.94B | 131.36B | 0 | 6M | 0 | 28.62B | 21.36B | 23.83B | 32.58B | 34.8B | 30.38B | 31.33B | 29.31B | 29.55B | 28.61B | 26.95B | 20.48B | 14.98B | 12.42B |
| Total Current Liabilities | 16.2B | 406.54B | 396.71B | 414.34B | 494.34B | 592.1B | 479.32B | 264.83B | 268.93B | 220B | 204.09B | 167.43B | 140.94B | 131.36B | 122.42B | 98.84B | 84.34B | 40.23B | 25.38B | 13.82B | 11.02B | 7.64B | 11.78B | 40.63B | 35.05B | 35.57B | 33.15B | 4.35B | 20.48B | 14.98B | 12.64B |
| Total Non-Current Liabilities | 453B | 35.03B | 34.75B | 37.88B | 20.83B | 18.91B | 13.63B | 7.43B | 275.81B | 209.75B | 206.96B | 2.88B | 142.84B | 133.26B | 1.63B | 2B | 2.01B | 30.13B | 22.24B | 24.73B | 32.96B | 35.26B | 30.97B | 32.1B | 29.95B | 30.27B | 29.38B | 27.4B | 20.84B | 15.34B | 12.92B |
| Total Liabilities | 469.2B | 441.57B | 431.47B | 452.22B | 515.16B | 611.01B | 492.95B | 272.26B | 275.81B | 224.75B | 206.96B | 170.32B | 142.84B | 133.26B | 124.05B | 100.84B | 86.34B | 70.36B | 47.61B | 38.55B | 43.98B | 42.9B | 42.75B | 41.41B | 35.69B | 36.3B | 33.92B | 31.75B | 20.84B | 15.34B | 12.92B |
| Total Equity | 51.4B | 49.42B | 48.38B | 40.96B | 36.61B | 56.26B | 56.06B | 21.75B | 20.67B | 18.52B | 16.42B | 13.4B | 11.8B | 10.38B | 9.59B | 7.71B | 6.23B | 5.07B | 4.06B | 3.73B | 5.01B | 4.45B | 4.39B | 4.46B | 4.01B | 4.16B | 4.23B | 2.27B | 1.43B | 1.15B | 854.6M |
| Equity Growth % | 6.57% | 2.17% | 18.11% | 11.88% | -34.93% | 0.36% | 157.81% | 5.2% | 11.58% | 12.81% | 22.53% | 13.55% | 13.7% | 8.26% | 24.31% | 23.9% | 22.73% | 24.92% | 8.82% | -25.48% | 12.54% | 1.46% | -1.68% | 11.22% | -3.65% | -1.58% | 86.02% | 59.17% | 24.76% | 33.99% | 35.03% |
| Equity / Assets (Capital Ratio) | 9.87% | 10.07% | 10.08% | 8.3% | 6.63% | 8.43% | 10.21% | 7.4% | 6.97% | 7.61% | 7.35% | 7.29% | 7.63% | 7.23% | 7.18% | 7.09% | 6.73% | 6.73% | 7.86% | 8.81% | 10.22% | 9.43% | 9.31% | 9.73% | 10.1% | 10.29% | 11.09% | 7.76% | 6.42% | 6.95% | 6.2% |
| Return on Equity (ROE) | 21.29% | 18.1% | 13.3% | 13.06% | 15.47% | 10.43% | 8.48% | 17.47% | 17.9% | 13.47% | 12.67% | 11.48% | 11.91% | 10.73% | 10.73% | 12.4% | 8.04% | 17.23% | 31.1% | 55.08% | 25.95% | 16.41% | 6.47% | 11.14% | 2.67% | 4.74% | 22.08% | 35.98% | 27.08% | 27.03% | 31.44% |
| Book Value per Share | 29.66 | 27.81 | 26.38 | 22.37 | 19.33 | 29.66 | 39.07 | 16.47 | 15.19 | 13.69 | 12.31 | 10.10 | 8.98 | 8.03 | 7.52 | 6.28 | 5.21 | 4.37 | 3.51 | 3.05 | 3.89 | 3.40 | 3.22 | 3.27 | 2.92 | 2.98 | 3.00 | 1.66 | 1.16 | 0.93 | 0.69 |
| Tangible BV per Share | 18.45 | 17.02 | 15.64 | 11.33 | 8.38 | 18.41 | 23.77 | 15.45 | 14.17 | 12.71 | 11.28 | 9.04 | 7.87 | 6.87 | 6.31 | 5.07 | 4.69 | 3.92 | 3.05 | 2.62 | 3.57 | 2.67 | -4.36 | -3.43 | -2.22 | -4.22 | -8.84 | -11.12 | -6.93 | -5.60 | -3.57 |
| Common Stock | 21M | 21M | 21M | 21M | 21M | 21M | 21M | 15M | 15M | 15M | 15M | 15M | 15M | 15M | 15M | 15M | 14M | 14M | 14M | 14M | 14M | 14M | 14M | 14M | 14M | 14M | 13.86M | 8.2M | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Additional Paid-in Capital | 0 | 28B | 27.64B | 27.33B | 27.07B | 26.74B | 26.52B | 4.66B | 4.5B | 4.35B | 4.27B | 4.15B | 4.05B | 3.95B | 3.88B | 3.83B | 3.03B | 2.3B | 2.21B | 2.11B | 1.87B | 1.83B | 1.77B | 1.75B | 1.74B | 1.73B | 1.59B | 595M | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Retained Earnings | 50.31B | 44.06B | 37.57B | 33.9B | 31.07B | 25.99B | 21.98B | 19.96B | 17.33B | 14.41B | 12.65B | 11.25B | 10.2B | 9.25B | 8.55B | 7.98B | 7.41B | 7.24B | 6.74B | 5.78B | 4.9B | 3.85B | 3.26B | 3.13B | 2.77B | 2.79B | 2.71B | 2.15B | 1.25B | 955.5M | 723.1M |
| Accumulated OCI | -11.21B | -10.98B | -14.85B | -18.13B | -22.62B | -1.11B | 5.39B | 88M | -252M | -152M | -163M | -134M | 165M | 9M | 298M | 8M | 16M | -191M | -553M | -17M | -36M | -114M | -64M | -108M | -51M | -76M | -86M | -81M | 1.3M | 900K | 0 |
| Treasury Stock | 0 | -18.44B | -11.2B | -11.35B | -8.64B | -5.34B | -5.58B | -5.77B | -3.71B | -2.89B | -3.13B | -3.34B | -3.5B | -3.72B | -4.02B | -4.11B | -4.25B | -4.29B | -4.35B | -4.15B | -1.74B | -1.12B | -591M | -319M | -465M | -295M | 0 | -97M | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Preferred Stock | 6.21B | 6.76B | 9.19B | 9.19B | 9.71B | 9.95B | 7.73B | 2.79B | 2.79B | 2.79B | 2.78B | 1.46B | 872M | 869M | 865M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
Quick answers to the most common questions about buying SCHW stock.
As of 2025, The Charles Schwab Corporation (SCHW) had total assets of $491.00B including $215.65B in current assets.
The Charles Schwab Corporation (SCHW) carries total debt of $30.95B. Comparing total debt to cash helps evaluate the company's debt burden and net leverage.
The Charles Schwab Corporation (SCHW) has total shareholders' equity (book value) of $49.42B ($27.81 book value per share). Book value represents the net worth of the company belonging to common stock holders.
The Charles Schwab Corporation (SCHW) reported a current ratio of 0.53x. A current ratio above 1.0x indicates that the company has more current assets than current liabilities, suggesting sufficient short-term liquidity.
Key Metrics
Top Statement Risk
Unrealized HTM losses and cash sorting
Metrics are mathematically derived from official filings.
Asset Growth Accelerates on Client Inflows
Total assets expanded 12.7% year-over-year to $517.3B in 2Q26, driven by $120B in core net new assets, according to reported figures, signaling robust organic expansion.
The balance sheet grew from $458.9B in 2Q25 to $517.3B in 2Q26, with cash and bank balances nearly doubling from $32.2B to $51.6B. This growth appears fueled by strong client acquisition momentum, as 1.4 million new brokerage accounts were added in 2Q26. The increase in cash holdings suggests clients are parking funds in sweep accounts, which may support future net interest income if rates remain elevated.
Deposit Base Stability Amid Cash Sorting
Client cash sorting persists as higher-for-longer rates push funds from low-yield sweep accounts, yet total assets grew 12.7% year-over-year, per reported data, indicating deposit retention remains resilient.
The loan-to-deposit ratio is not disclosed, but the surge in cash and bank balances to $51.6B in 2Q26 suggests clients are maintaining liquidity within the platform. The cost of funding appears to be stabilizing, as net interest income rose 35.2% year-over-year to $3.8B, implying deposit betas may be moderating. However, the persistent cash sorting trend warrants monitoring, as it could pressure the low-cost funding advantage that underpins the franchise.
Credit Provision Spike Signals Shift
A $830M provision for loan losses in 2Q26, after eight consecutive quarters of zero provisions, per financial statements, marks a potential inflection in credit quality that investors should monitor.
The sudden provision, which was absent from 2Q24 through 1Q26, suggests either a specific deterioration in the loan book or a more conservative forward-looking stance. Given the loan-to-deposit ratio is not disclosed, the scale of the loan portfolio relative to deposits remains unclear. This provision, combined with the EPS miss, may indicate that credit costs are emerging as a new headwind, though the absolute level remains modest relative to the $49.9B equity base.
Capital Ratios Stable but Flexibility Limited
Equity-to-assets held steady at 10% in 2Q26, per reported figures, yet unrealized losses on held-to-maturity securities likely constrain regulatory capital flexibility and share repurchase capacity.
Equity grew to $49.9B from $49.5B a year earlier, but the ratio remained flat at 0.10, indicating that asset growth is being matched by retained earnings. The pause in buybacks during 2024 and the resumption in 2025, with $3.1B spent in 2Q26, suggests management is balancing capital return with rebuilding buffers. However, the AOCI overhang from HTM securities, which is not reflected in the equity ratio, may limit the CET1 ratio and could force a continued conservative approach to capital deployment.
Liquidity Strengthens with Cash Buffer
Cash and bank balances rose to $51.6B in 2Q26 from $32.2B a year earlier, per reported data, enhancing the liquidity profile despite ongoing cash sorting dynamics.
The increase in cash holdings, alongside a reduction in investment securities from $252.3B to $282.1B, suggests a shift toward more liquid assets. This may reflect a deliberate strategy to manage duration risk and meet potential client withdrawals. The reliance on client cash as a funding source remains a key vulnerability, but the current cash buffer provides a cushion against sudden outflows. Investors should monitor whether this liquidity build is a temporary response to rate volatility or a structural change in asset allocation.
Unrealized Losses Loom Over Capital
Held-to-maturity securities carry significant unrealized losses that are not reflected in reported equity, per company intelligence, potentially understating economic capital and constraining future flexibility.
The investment securities portfolio, totaling $282.1B in 2Q26, likely includes long-duration bonds purchased before the 2022-2023 rate hikes. These unrealized losses, while not impacting the income statement, reduce the economic value of equity and may limit the ability to sell securities without realizing losses. This overhang, combined with the recent provision spike, suggests that the balance sheet is more fragile than headline ratios indicate. Investors should closely track AOCI and any changes in the HTM portfolio composition.