Total debt fell to $856.6M from $1.2B a year earlier, reducing D/E to 3.83, but equity jumped to $223.6M largely due to a non-recurring gain, and the portfolio remains 100% concentrated in NYC with a single tenant (Bloomberg LP) representing disproportionate value.
Alexander's, Inc. (ALX) balance sheet — 30-year assets, liabilities & shareholders' equity history
| Metric | TTM | Dec'25 | Dec'24 | Dec'23 | Dec'22 | Dec'21 | Dec'20 | Dec'19 | Dec'18 | Dec'17 | Dec'16 | Dec'15 | Dec'14 | Dec'13 | Dec'12 | Dec'11 | Dec'10 | Dec'09 | Dec'08 | Dec'07 | Dec'06 | Dec'05 | Dec'04 | Dec'03 | Dec'02 | Dec'01 | Dec'00 | Dec'99 | Dec'98 | Dec'97 | Dec'96 |
|---|
| Total Assets | 1.2B | 1.11B | 1.34B | 1.4B | 1.4B | 1.39B | 1.4B | 1.27B | 1.48B | 1.63B | 1.45B | 1.45B | 1.42B | 1.46B | 1.48B | 1.77B | 1.68B | 1.7B | 1.6B | 1.53B | 1.45B | 1.4B | 1.24B | 921M | 664.91M | 583.34M | 403.31M | 366.5M | 317M | 235.1M | 211.6M |
| Asset Growth % | -48.89% | -17.19% | -4.44% | 0.42% | 0.42% | -0.87% | 10.95% | -14.57% | -9.26% | 12.48% | 0.24% | 1.73% | -2.37% | -1.63% | -16.34% | 5.48% | -1.44% | 6.25% | 4.64% | 5.88% | 3.13% | 12.73% | 35.16% | 38.51% | 13.98% | 44.64% | 10.04% | 15.62% | 34.84% | 11.11% | 6.6% |
| Real Estate & Other Assets | 163.4M | 805.3M | 830.6M | 719.76M | 784.13M | 766.62M | 794.85M | 750.25M | 776.86M | 792.86M | 818.65M | 27.46M | 30.45M | 42.39M | 48.99M | 384.8M | -893.06M | -892.85M | -853.74M | -738.9M | -611.61M | -610.16M | -881.08M | -773.08M | -541.47M | -380.36M | -341.49M | -271.8M | -239.2M | -191.7M | -181M |
| PP&E (Net) | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 730.27M | 754.32M | 780.81M | 803.94M | 783.9M | 734.2M | 750.97M | 877.34M | 893.06M | 892.85M | 853.74M | 738.9M | 611.61M | 610.16M | 881.08M | 773.08M | 541.47M | 380.36M | 341.49M | 271.8M | 239.2M | 191.7M | 181M |
| Investment Securities | 1000K | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Total Current Assets | 470.99M | 305.41M | 510.7M | 683.92M | 613.64M | 625.35M | 609.29M | 500.85M | 681.23M | 804.38M | 594.66M | 573.22M | 564.21M | 649.61M | 650.64M | 509.17M | 600.12M | 615.39M | 659.64M | 696.93M | 734.14M | 681.66M | 204.49M | 51.85M | 68.42M | 155.03M | 19.08M | 41M | 31.7M | 26.3M | 11.7M |
| Cash & Equivalents | 358.35M | 128.17M | 338.53M | 531.86M | 194.93M | 463.54M | 428.71M | 298.06M | 283.06M | 307.54M | 288.93M | 259.35M | 227.81M | 347.72M | 353.4M | 506.62M | 397.22M | 412.73M | 515.94M | 560.23M | 615.52M | 578.41M | 128.87M | 21.34M | 45.24M | 135.26M | 2.27M | 26.1M | 15.4M | 2.7M | 5.5M |
| Receivables | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K |
| Other Current Assets | 0 | 64.06M | 55.3M | 21.12M | 19.55M | 19.97M | 21.17M | 15.91M | 6.44M | 284.28M | 85.75M | 85.31M | 84.6M | 90.04M | 90.39M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Intangible Assets | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Total Liabilities | 979.44M | 1B | 1.16B | 1.17B | 1.16B | 1.14B | 1.2B | 1.01B | 1.2B | 1.29B | 1.1B | 1.09B | 1.07B | 1.12B | 1.15B | 1.41B | 1.34B | 1.39B | 1.42B | 1.39B | 1.42B | 1.3B | 1.23B | 870.07M | 596.25M | 538.26M | 385.61M | 354M | 310M | 221.5M | 205.4M |
| Total Debt | 856.6M | 943.07M | 1.1B | 1.09B | 1.09B | 1.09B | 1.16B | 970.96M | 1.16B | 1.24B | 1.05B | 1.05B | 1.03B | 1.05B | 1.07B | 1.33B | 1.25B | 1.28B | 1.22B | 1.11B | 1.07B | 1.08B | 952.53M | 731.49M | 543.81M | 515.83M | 367.79M | 333M | 282.9M | 208.1M | 192.3M |
| Net Debt | 498.25M | 814.9M | 764.61M | 560.7M | 896.12M | 626.07M | 727.46M | 672.9M | 878.48M | 932.69M | 763.43M | 793.91M | 804.97M | 702.24M | 712.52M | 824.31M | 849.19M | 866.23M | 705.32M | 549.97M | 452.98M | 501.06M | 823.65M | 710.15M | 498.57M | 380.57M | 365.52M | 306.9M | 267.5M | 205.4M | 186.8M |
| Long-Term Debt | 834.57M | 829.45M | 988.02M | 1.09B | 1.09B | 1.09B | 1.16B | 970.96M | 965.83M | 1.24B | 1.05B | 1.05B | 1.03B | 1.05B | 987.67M | 1.33B | 0 | 1.28B | 1.22B | 1.11B | 1.07B | 1.08B | 952.53M | 731.49M | 543.81M | 515.83M | 367.79M | 333M | 282.9M | 208.1M | 192.3M |
| Short-Term Borrowings | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 3.9M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Capital Lease Obligations | 362.88M | 113.62M | 115.12M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Total Current Liabilities | 29.12M | 36.67M | 39.9M | 52.47M | 49.59M | 45.56M | 36.86M | 33.18M | 31.6M | 45.32M | 43.1M | 38.71M | 39.05M | 70.76M | 80.07M | 81.6M | 92.5M | 112.5M | 203.2M | 287.1M | 351.6M | 222.5M | 273.9M | 138.6M | 52.4M | 22.5M | 17.8M | 24.8M | 33M | 13.9M | 13.7M |
| Accounts Payable | 28.08M | 36.54M | 38.74M | 51.75M | 48.78M | 44.68M | 35.34M | 31.76M | 30.89M | 42.83M | 42.2M | 30.16M | 35.13M | 27.45M | 33.62M | 34.58M | 43.78M | 56.67M | 44.09M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Deferred Revenue | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | -965.83M | -1.24B | -1.05B | 0 | 0 | 0 | 3.67M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Other Liabilities | 93.72M | 21.81M | 21.4M | 21.01M | 20.64M | 4.2M | 7.88M | 7.85M | 3.03M | 2.9M | 2.93M | 2.96M | 7.81M | 3.43M | 81.92M | -1.33B | 0 | -1.28B | -1.22B | -1.11B | -1.07B | -1.08B | -28K | -731.49M | -7K | -515.83M | -367.79M | -3.8M | -282.9M | -208.1M | -192.3M |
| Total Equity | 223.62M | 109.16M | 176.86M | 237.66M | 236.5M | 252.59M | 203.23M | 253.51M | 961.42M | 1.19B | 1.03B | 352.88M | 348.4M | 333.58M | 332.15M | 363.25M | 343.78M | 314.63M | 180.75M | 137.43M | 28.34M | 103.57M | 18.37M | 50.92M | 68.67M | 45.08M | 17.7M | 12.5M | 7M | 13.6M | 6.2M |
| Equity Growth % | -61.61% | -38.28% | -25.58% | 0.49% | -6.37% | 24.29% | -19.84% | -73.63% | -19.27% | 15.56% | 192.03% | 1.29% | 4.44% | 0.43% | -8.56% | 5.66% | 9.26% | 74.07% | 31.53% | 384.97% | -72.64% | 463.88% | -63.93% | -25.84% | 52.31% | 154.77% | 41.56% | 78.57% | -48.53% | 119.35% | 133.51% |
| Shareholders Equity | 223.62M | 109.16M | 176.86M | 237.66M | 236.5M | 252.59M | 203.23M | 253.51M | 285.09M | 343.95M | 352.85M | 352.88M | 348.4M | 333.58M | 332.15M | 358.8M | 340.35M | 312.22M | 179.1M | 135.1M | 27.18M | 101.32M | 18.37M | 50.92M | 68.67M | 45.08M | 17.7M | 12.5M | 7M | 13M | 5.6M |
| Minority Interest | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 676.33M | 846.94M | 677.68M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 4.45M | 3.42M | 2.41M | 1.66M | 2.32M | 1.16M | 2.25M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 600K | 600K |
| Common Stock | 5.17M | 5.17M | 5.17M | 5.17M | 5.17M | 5.17M | 5.17M | 5.17M | 5.17M | 5.17M | 5.17M | 5.17M | 5.17M | 5.17M | 5.17M | 5.17M | 5.17M | 5.17M | 5.17M | 5.17M | 5.17M | 5.17M | 5.17M | 5.17M | 5.17M | 5.17M | 5.17M | 5.2M | 5.2M | 5.2M | 5.2M |
| Additional Paid-in Capital | 35.81M | 35.16M | 34.77M | 34.31M | 33.87M | 33.41M | 32.97M | 32.37M | 31.97M | 31.58M | 31.19M | 30.74M | 30.14M | 29.75M | 29.35M | 31.8M | 31.5M | 31.5M | 30.65M | 27.64M | 27.12M | 26.34M | 25.68M | 24.84M | 24.84M | 24.84M | 24.84M | 24.8M | 24.8M | 24.8M | 24.8M |
| Retained Earnings | 183M | 69.2M | 133.4M | 182.34M | 172.24M | 206.88M | 166.16M | 216.39M | 248.44M | 302.54M | 309M | 304.34M | 299M | 297.51M | 296.8M | 322.2M | 304.06M | 275.92M | 143.73M | 103.01M | -4.34M | 70.64M | -11.6M | 21.87M | 39.61M | 16.02M | -11.36M | -16.6M | -22.1M | -16M | -23.5M |
| Preferred Stock | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 248.44M | 302.54M | 309M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Return on Assets (ROA) | 14.43% | 2.3% | 3.17% | 7.31% | 4.13% | 9.51% | 3.14% | 1.54% | 2.11% | 5.22% | 5.97% | 5.36% | 4.72% | 3.87% | 41.46% | 4.6% | 3.93% | 7.99% | 4.87% | 7.67% | -5.26% | 6.21% | -2.73% | -2.24% | 3.78% | 5.55% | 1.35% | 1.61% | -2.21% | 3.36% | 12.05% |
| Return on Equity (ROE) | 123.09% | 19.74% | 20.96% | 43.2% | 23.57% | 58.33% | 18.36% | 3.49% | 3.05% | 7.25% | 12.5% | 21.93% | 19.92% | 17.1% | 193.96% | 22.47% | 20.18% | 53.37% | 47.95% | 137.96% | -113.69% | 134.89% | -85.46% | -29.67% | 41.47% | 87.25% | 34.42% | 56.41% | -59.22% | 75.76% | 398.39% |
| Debt / Assets | 71.2% | 84.91% | 82.24% | 77.83% | 78.06% | 78.28% | 82.34% | 76.72% | 78.42% | 75.98% | 72.52% | 72.75% | 72.57% | 72.03% | 71.93% | 75.14% | 74.22% | 75.07% | 76.16% | 72.45% | 73.83% | 76.92% | 76.52% | 79.42% | 81.79% | 88.43% | 91.19% | 90.86% | 89.24% | 88.52% | 90.88% |
| Debt / Equity | 3.83x | 8.64x | 6.24x | 4.60x | 4.61x | 4.31x | 5.69x | 3.83x | 1.21x | 1.04x | 1.02x | 2.98x | 2.96x | 3.15x | 3.21x | 3.66x | 3.63x | 4.07x | 6.76x | 8.08x | 37.71x | 10.42x | 51.86x | 14.36x | 7.92x | 11.44x | 20.78x | 26.64x | 40.41x | 15.30x | 31.02x |
| Net Debt / EBITDA | 5.14x | 8.13x | 6.39x | 3.73x | 8.08x | 5.65x | 5.56x | 4.95x | 6.57x | 6.48x | 5.48x | 6.16x | 6.26x | 5.45x | 5.40x | 4.91x | 5.37x | 4.70x | 4.66x | 3.08x | - | 5.40x | 32.09x | 97.83x | 8.99x | 6.58x | 10.54x | 10.03x | 18.20x | 8.09x | 4.37x |
| Book Value per Share | 43.53 | 21.26 | 34.46 | 46.34 | 46.14 | 49.30 | 39.69 | 49.53 | 187.89 | 232.78 | 201.51 | 69.03 | 68.17 | 65.29 | 65.03 | 71.13 | 67.33 | 61.63 | 35.45 | 26.97 | 5.64 | 20.38 | 3.67 | 10.19 | 13.74 | 9.01 | 3.53 | 2.49 | 1.39 | 2.70 | 1.24 |
Quick answers to the most common questions about buying ALX stock.
As of 2025, Alexander's, Inc. (ALX) had total assets of $1.11B including $305.4M in current assets.
Alexander's, Inc. (ALX) carries total debt of $943.1M. Comparing total debt to cash helps evaluate the company's debt burden and net leverage.
Alexander's, Inc. (ALX) has total shareholders' equity (book value) of $109.2M ($21.26 book value per share). Book value represents the net worth of the company belonging to common stock holders.
Alexander's, Inc. (ALX) reported a current ratio of 8.33x. A current ratio above 1.0x indicates that the company has more current assets than current liabilities, suggesting sufficient short-term liquidity.
Key Metrics
Top Statement Risk
Bloomberg lease concentration
Metrics are mathematically derived from official filings.
Balance Sheet Deleveraging Amid Revenue Decline
Total debt fell from $1.2B to $856.6M over the past year, while cash rose to $358.3M, reducing D/E to 3.83, per reported quarterly figures.
The 28% reduction in total debt and a corresponding surge in cash suggest a deliberate deleveraging posture, possibly ahead of refinancing or to bolster liquidity. However, this occurred alongside a 5.8% revenue decline, indicating that the balance sheet strengthening is defensive rather than growth-oriented. The equity base expanded to $223.6M, but this is partly due to a non-recurring gain in FFO, which may not be sustainable.
Concentrated NYC Portfolio Faces Retail Headwinds
With 100% geographic concentration in NYC and a seven-property portfolio, retail tenant churn is pressuring revenue, as evidenced by a 5.8% YoY decline, per financial statements.
The portfolio's irreplaceable land parcels, including the Bloomberg Tower, provide a moat, but the retail assets in Rego Park and Flushing are likely driving the revenue decline. The absence of PPE data suggests the company may not separately report property-level details, but the high fixed-cost structure implies that any vacancy in major retail anchors could compress margins further. Investors should monitor occupancy trends and lease expirations, especially given the lack of geographic diversification.
Leverage Drops to Multi-Year Low
Debt-to-equity fell to 3.83 in 2026Q2 from 4.75 a year earlier, with total debt down to $856.6M, indicating a conservative leverage profile, as reported in quarterly data.
The sharp decline in D/E, coupled with a cash balance of $358.3M, suggests that management is prioritizing balance sheet strength over growth. However, the maturity ladder and interest rate exposure are not disclosed, so the true refinancing risk remains unclear. The 8.64% D/E reported in 2025Q4 appears to be an anomaly, but the current level is still higher than peers like SLG (1.83) and VNO (1.16), reflecting the asset-heavy nature of NYC real estate.
Equity Base Bolstered by Non-Recurring Gains
Equity jumped to $223.6M in 2026Q2 from $90.7M in 2026Q1, largely due to a one-time FFO gain of $163.6M, as per reported figures, masking underlying equity trends.
The 146% sequential increase in equity is not organic; it stems from a non-recurring gain that inflated FFO and net income. Excluding this, equity would have remained relatively flat, suggesting that retained earnings are not consistently building equity. The high cash balance of $358.3M may be earmarked for debt repayment or capex, but without deployment, it could drag on ROE, which spiked to 98.8% in 2026Q2 but is likely unsustainable.
Liquidity Strengthens with Cash Hoard
Cash surged to $358.3M in 2026Q2, up from $128.2M in 2025Q4, providing ample coverage for near-term obligations, though the source of this cash is unclear, per financial statements.
The liquidity position appears robust, with cash covering 42% of total debt, but this may indicate a lack of investment opportunities or a precautionary stance ahead of debt maturities. The absence of a disclosed revolver or fixed charge coverage ratio limits the assessment of covenant headroom. Given the revenue decline, the cash pile could be a buffer against further operational deterioration, but it also suggests management is not pursuing growth, consistent with a harvest strategy.
Lease Expirations and Bloomberg Risk Loom
With a single tenant, Bloomberg LP, representing a disproportionate share of value, lease expiration risk is the key forward-looking concern, as noted in company intelligence.
The portfolio's WALT is not disclosed, but the concentration in a few assets means that any major lease expiration could significantly impact revenue. The -5.8% revenue growth suggests that retail lease expirations are already pressuring income, while office escalations may be insufficient to offset. Investors should monitor the timing of Bloomberg's lease renewal and any mark-to-market opportunities, as the lack of development pipeline means growth is entirely dependent on existing asset performance.
Related-Party and One-Time Gain Distortions
The 2026Q2 FFO spike to $163.6M appears non-recurring, and related-party management fees to Vornado may obscure true profitability, as reported in financial statements.
The balance sheet's apparent health is partly an artifact of a one-time gain, which inflated equity and cash. Excluding this, the company's underlying leverage and liquidity would be less favorable. Additionally, the management agreement with Vornado introduces related-party transactions that could affect cost structures and capital allocation decisions. The high cash balance may be a result of Vornado's influence, potentially positioning Alexander's as a liquidity source for the parent, which warrants close monitoring.