AFFO of $157.1M in 2026Q2 covered dividends 3.4x, but excluding the one-time gain, coverage appears closer to 0.3x, while operating cash flow swung from -$9.3M to $43.6M in recent quarters, reflecting timing and tenant issues.
Alexander's, Inc. (ALX) cash flow statement — 30-year operating, investing & financing cash flows
| Metric | TTM | Dec'25 | Dec'24 | Dec'23 | Dec'22 | Dec'21 | Dec'20 | Dec'19 | Dec'18 | Dec'17 | Dec'16 | Dec'15 | Dec'14 | Dec'13 | Dec'12 | Dec'11 | Dec'10 | Dec'09 | Dec'08 | Dec'07 | Dec'06 | Dec'05 | Dec'04 | Dec'03 | Dec'02 | Dec'01 | Dec'00 | Dec'99 | Dec'98 | Dec'97 | Dec'96 |
|---|
| Cash from Operations | 27.16M | 73.44M | 54.11M | 109.11M | 102.55M | 118.47M | 78.07M | 126.07M | 73.54M | 123.43M | 130.82M | 106.2M | 49.49M | 73.88M | 109.71M | 92.51M | 76.02M | 39.58M | 9.26M | 26.29M | 56.84M | -6.12M | 27.85M | 7.02M | 7.64M | 9.84M | 10.74M | 9.8M | 5.5M | -1.5M | 8.6M |
| Operating CF Growth % | -250.61% | 35.74% | -50.41% | 6.4% | -13.44% | 51.75% | -38.08% | 71.44% | -40.42% | -5.65% | 23.18% | 114.6% | -33.02% | -32.65% | 18.58% | 21.69% | 92.08% | 327.47% | -64.78% | -53.75% | 1028.98% | -121.97% | 296.6% | -8.11% | -22.32% | -8.4% | 9.6% | 78.18% | 466.67% | -117.44% | 125.9% |
| Operating CF / Revenue % | 12.65% | 34.45% | 23.9% | 48.5% | 49.83% | 57.47% | 39.2% | 55.7% | 31.59% | 53.53% | 57.65% | 51.08% | 24.64% | 37.61% | 57.34% | 49.94% | 43.64% | 23.51% | 4% | 15.47% | 31.65% | -4.4% | 26.1% | 9.31% | 13.78% | 14.23% | 24.6% | 20.5% | 24.44% | -6.94% | 34.13% |
| Net Income | 169.82M | 28.22M | 43.44M | 102.41M | 57.63M | 132.93M | 41.94M | 60.08M | 32.84M | 80.51M | 86.48M | 76.91M | 67.92M | 56.91M | 674.99M | 81.05M | 67.44M | 132.94M | 76.29M | 114.34M | -74.98M | 82.24M | -33.47M | -18.95M | 13.32M | 27.39M | 5.2M | 5.5M | -6.1M | 7.5M | 13.1M |
| Depreciation & Amortization | 37.05M | 38.74M | 37.9M | 34.47M | 31.45M | 34.59M | 35.12M | 36.52M | 38.5M | 38.68M | 36.37M | 33.67M | 31.92M | 31.39M | 36.36M | 37.09M | 34.85M | 30.45M | 26.72M | 24.99M | 24.46M | 22.84M | 18.82M | 11.31M | 8.97M | 7.97M | 8.05M | 7.5M | 5.7M | 4.5M | 4.1M |
| Stock-Based Compensation | 394K | 394K | 450K | 450K | 450K | 450K | 600K | 394K | 394K | 394K | 450K | 600K | 394K | 394K | 300K | 300K | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 148.61M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Other Non-Cash Items | 15.01M | 11.59M | 20.09M | -44.97M | 5.03M | 9.82M | 33.61M | 11.17M | 5.92M | 4.3M | 2.35M | -1.42M | -2.54M | -3.71M | -4.47M | -15.17M | -19.06M | -98.24M | -29.28M | -57.82M | 132.53M | -139.08M | -44.14M | -6.74M | -3.3M | -20.62M | -3.51M | 1.5M | 6.9M | -11.1M | -5.2M |
| Working Capital Changes | -45.86M | -5.51M | -47.78M | 16.75M | 7.98M | 16.46M | -33.2M | 17.92M | -16.11M | -455K | 5.17M | -3.56M | -47.79M | -10.91M | 2.15M | -10.75M | -7.21M | -25.56M | -64.47M | -55.22M | -633K | 27.88M | 86.64M | 21.4M | -11.34M | -4.9M | 1M | -4.7M | -1M | -2.4M | -3.4M |
| Cash from Investing | 390.61M | -20.79M | -13.22M | 321.81M | -279.27M | 75.46M | -32.46M | -9.45M | -1.14M | -201.97M | -15.95M | -25.83M | -81.52M | -7.32M | 710.08M | 383K | -19.39M | -201.28M | -131.64M | -111.61M | -9.61M | 337.52M | -138.94M | -218.6M | -114.03M | -23M | -65.64M | -47.6M | -40.2M | -16.9M | -21M |
| Acquisitions (Net) | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | -25M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Purchase of Investments | -10.83M | 0 | 0 | -4.68M | -364.24M | -19.52M | 0 | 0 | -3.97M | -203.43M | 25M | 25M | -25M | 0 | 0 | -5M | -23M | -55M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Sale of Investments | 205.82M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 99.36M | 13.11M | 0 | 0 | 2.83M | 1.46M | 0 | 25M | 0 | 0 | 5M | 23M | 40M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Other Investing | 202.1M | -20.79M | -13.22M | 326.49M | -14.39M | 81.87M | -32.46M | -9.45M | 2.83M | -198.54M | -25.44M | -705K | 5.44M | 351K | -1.63M | -3.2M | 5.92M | -71.43M | 2.92M | -1.3M | -918K | 448M | 7.29M | -3.45M | 19.22M | 25.5M | 12.29M | -11.3M | -20.8M | 3.7M | 11.3M |
| Cash from Financing | -275.43M | -254.27M | -200.03M | -92.42M | -92.31M | -160.29M | 90.29M | -92.14M | -176.19M | 97.15M | -85.29M | -48.84M | -87.87M | -72.24M | -973.01M | 16.5M | -72.14M | 58.5M | 78.09M | 30.04M | -10.13M | 118.14M | 218.63M | 187.68M | 16.37M | 146.14M | 31.11M | 48.5M | 47.4M | 15.5M | 9.5M |
| Dividends Paid | -115.56M | -92.42M | -92.38M | -92.32M | -92.26M | -92.22M | -92.17M | -92.12M | -92.1M | -86.96M | -81.82M | -71.57M | -66.44M | -56.2M | -699.79M | -61.28M | -38.3M | 0 | -35.57M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Common Dividends | -115.56M | -92.42M | -92.38M | -92.32M | -92.26M | -92.22M | -92.17M | -92.12M | -92.1M | -86.96M | -81.82M | -71.57M | -66.44M | -56.2M | -699.79M | -61.28M | -38.3M | 0 | -35.57M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Debt Issuance (Net) | -2M | -1000K | -1000K | 0 | 0 | -1000K | 1000K | 0 | -1000K | 1000K | -1000K | 1000K | -1000K | -1000K | -1000K | 1000K | -1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | -1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K |
| Share Repurchases | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Other Financing | 173.3M | -1.8M | -7.65M | -104K | -46K | -74K | -7.25M | -15K | 0 | -12.19M | -30K | -4.08M | 0 | -87K | -8.2M | -6.74M | 0 | 934K | 2.6M | 0 | 0 | -9.52M | -3.33M | 0 | -11.11M | -5.21M | -577K | -3.6M | -3.4M | -300K | 100K |
| Net Change in Cash | 142.34M | -201.61M | -159.14M | 338.5M | -269.03M | 33.63M | 135.9M | 24.48M | -103.78M | 18.6M | 29.58M | 31.53M | -119.9M | -5.68M | -153.22M | 109.4M | -15.51M | -103.21M | -44.29M | -55.28M | 37.11M | 449.53M | 107.54M | -23.9M | -90.02M | 132.99M | -23.78M | 10.7M | 12.7M | -2.8M | -3M |
| Exchange Rate Effect | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 100K | -100K |
| Cash at Beginning | 377.64M | 393.84M | 552.98M | 214.48M | 483.5M | 449.88M | 313.98M | 289.5M | 393.28M | 374.68M | 259.35M | 227.81M | 347.72M | 353.4M | 506.62M | 397.22M | 412.73M | 515.94M | 560.23M | 615.52M | 578.41M | 128.87M | 21.34M | 45.24M | 135.26M | 2.27M | 26.05M | 15.4M | 2.7M | 5.5M | 8.5M |
| Cash at End | 758.24M | 192.22M | 393.84M | 552.98M | 214.48M | 483.5M | 449.88M | 313.98M | 289.5M | 393.28M | 288.93M | 259.35M | 227.81M | 347.72M | 353.4M | 506.62M | 397.22M | 412.73M | 515.94M | 560.23M | 615.52M | 578.41M | 128.87M | 21.34M | 45.24M | 135.26M | 2.27M | 26.1M | 15.4M | 2.7M | 5.5M |
| Free Cash Flow | 20.68M | 73.44M | 54.11M | 109.11M | 102.55M | 118.47M | 78.07M | 126.07M | 69.57M | 119.99M | 115.31M | 56.08M | -12.48M | 66.21M | 816.41M | 78.1M | 33.71M | -35.28M | -125.3M | -84.02M | 48.15M | -116.6M | -118.38M | -208.13M | -125.61M | -38.65M | -67.19M | -26.5M | -13.9M | -22.1M | -23.7M |
| FCF Growth % | -75.69% | 35.74% | -50.41% | 6.4% | -13.44% | 51.75% | -38.08% | 81.21% | -42.02% | 4.06% | 105.62% | 549.47% | -118.84% | -91.89% | 945.35% | 131.67% | 195.57% | 71.85% | -49.13% | -274.47% | 141.3% | 1.5% | 43.12% | -65.7% | -224.98% | 42.48% | -153.55% | -90.65% | 37.1% | 6.75% | 70.04% |
| FCF / Revenue % | 9.63% | 34.45% | 23.9% | 48.5% | 49.83% | 57.47% | 39.2% | 55.7% | 29.88% | 52.04% | 50.81% | 26.97% | -6.21% | 33.7% | 426.74% | 42.16% | 19.35% | -20.95% | -54.16% | -49.42% | 26.82% | -83.78% | -110.93% | -275.84% | -226.39% | -55.9% | -153.88% | -55.44% | -61.78% | -102.31% | -94.05% |
Quick answers to the most common questions about buying ALX stock.
Alexander's, Inc. (ALX) generated $73.4M in net cash from operating activities in 2025. This reflects the cash generated directly from core business operations.
Alexander's, Inc. (ALX) generated $73.4M in free cash flow in 2025. Free cash flow is the cash left over after capital expenditures, which can be used to pay dividends, repurchase shares, or pay down debt.
Alexander's, Inc. (ALX) spent $0.0M on capital expenditures in 2025. CapEx represents the cash invested in physical assets like property, plant, and equipment to maintain or grow the business.
In 2025, Alexander's, Inc. (ALX) returned $92.4M to shareholders via cash dividends. This shows the company's commitment to returning capital to its equity investors.
Key Metrics
Top Statement Risk
Bloomberg lease concentration
Metrics are mathematically derived from official filings.
AFFO Coverage Hinges on One-Time Gain
In 2026Q2, AFFO of $157.1M covered dividends 3.4x, but excluding a likely non-recurring gain, coverage appears closer to 0.3x, per reported figures.
The reported AFFO for 2026Q2 is $157.1M, which is more than three times the $46.2M dividend paid, but this AFFO is inflated by a one-time gain that also boosted net income to $155.4M. Excluding that gain, underlying AFFO is likely around $13-15M, similar to prior quarters, which would cover the quarterly dividend of $23.1M only partially. This suggests that the dividend is not fully covered by recurring AFFO, and investors should monitor whether the company will rely on additional one-time gains or external funding to sustain distributions.
Depreciation and Gains Distort GAAP Earnings
GAAP net income of $155.4M in 2026Q2 is inflated by a non-cash gain, while FFO of $163.6M reflects that distortion; depreciation on NYC properties likely understates economic depreciation, per financial statements.
The wide gap between net income and operating cash flow in 2026Q2 (net income of $155.4M vs OCF of $6.2M) highlights the impact of non-cash items, including a likely gain on asset sale or revaluation. FFO, which adds back depreciation, is also elevated at $163.6M, but this is not indicative of recurring cash generation. Historically, FFO has ranged from $12M to $26M per quarter, so the 2026Q2 figure is an outlier. This distortion underscores the need to focus on normalized FFO and AFFO when assessing the company's ability to pay dividends.
Working Capital Swings Reflect Timing and Tenant Issues
Operating cash flow swung from -$9.3M in 2025Q3 to $43.6M in 2025Q2, suggesting timing of rent collections and working capital changes; straight-line rent adjustments may inflate revenue, per reported data.
The volatility in operating cash flow, with negative quarters in 2025Q3 and 2024Q3, indicates that working capital items such as tenant receivables and payables can cause significant swings. Given the revenue decline of 5.8% YoY, there may be tenant rent concessions or slower collections, which could be reflected in receivable build-ups. Straight-line rent accounting, which averages lease payments over the term, may also inflate reported revenue relative to cash received, so investors should monitor the gap between revenue and cash collections.
No External Funding Needed for Dividends
With no share ATM or debt issuance evident in the data, dividends appear funded by operating cash flow and cash reserves; the $128M cash balance provides a buffer, per financial statements.
The company has not reported any external financing activity in the provided quarters, and dividends have been paid consistently. However, in quarters where operating cash flow was negative (e.g., 2025Q3), the company likely used its cash reserves to cover the dividend. The high cash balance of $128M suggests a liquidity cushion, but it also indicates that management is not deploying capital for growth, possibly due to anticipated capex or debt maturities. This conservative approach may limit upside but supports dividend stability in the near term.
What the Cash Flow Statement Hides
Capitalized maintenance costs and straight-line rent adjustments may overstate cash flow; the 2026Q2 FFO spike is non-recurring, and related-party management fees to Vornado could obscure true profitability, per reported figures.
The cash flow statement shows zero capex in most quarters, which is unusual for a REIT with aging retail assets; this suggests that maintenance capital expenditures may be capitalized or not separately disclosed, potentially overstating FCF. Additionally, straight-line rent adjustments can inflate revenue and AFFO, masking actual cash collections. The 2026Q2 FFO of $163.6M is clearly non-recurring, and investors should adjust for that when evaluating the sustainability of distributions. Furthermore, management fees paid to Vornado are related-party transactions that may not reflect arm's-length costs, warranting scrutiny.