Total debt of roughly $4.9B against $4.0B of equity and a reported debt-to-equity of 1.20 point to a capital structure that is leveraged yet typical for a utility, while thin cash balances below $100M in most quarters leave liquidity reliant on credit facility access.
Black Hills Corporation (BKH) balance sheet — 30-year assets, liabilities & shareholders' equity history
| Metric | TTM | Dec'25 | Dec'24 | Dec'23 | Dec'22 | Dec'21 | Dec'20 | Dec'19 | Dec'18 | Dec'17 | Dec'16 | Dec'15 | Dec'14 | Dec'13 | Dec'12 | Dec'11 | Dec'10 | Dec'09 | Dec'08 | Dec'07 | Dec'06 | Dec'05 | Dec'04 | Dec'03 | Dec'02 | Dec'01 | Dec'00 | Dec'99 | Dec'98 | Dec'97 | Dec'96 |
|---|
| Total Assets | 11.14B | 10.87B | 10.02B | 9.62B | 9.62B | 9.13B | 8.09B | 7.56B | 6.96B | 6.66B | 6.52B | 4.66B | 4.28B | 3.88B | 3.73B | 4.13B | 3.71B | 3.32B | 3.38B | 2.47B | 2.24B | 2.12B | 2.06B | 2.06B | 2.04B | 1.66B | 1.32B | 674.8M | 559.4M | 508.7M | 467.4M |
| Asset Growth % | 33.26% | 8.45% | 4.18% | 0.02% | 5.33% | 12.9% | 7.02% | 8.55% | 4.57% | 2.2% | 39.95% | 8.78% | 10.44% | 3.91% | -9.63% | 11.2% | 11.87% | -1.84% | 36.68% | 10.17% | 5.88% | 3.1% | -0.34% | 1.38% | 22.69% | 25.63% | 95.66% | 20.63% | 9.97% | 8.84% | 4.14% |
| PP&E (Net) | 8.78B | 8.23B | 7.63B | 7.12B | 6.8B | 6.45B | 6.02B | 5.5B | 4.85B | 4.54B | 4.47B | 3.26B | 3.24B | 2.99B | 2.74B | 2.79B | 2.5B | 2.16B | 2.02B | 1.82B | 1.65B | 1.44B | 1.45B | 1.44B | 1.48B | 1.24B | 794.28M | 464.2M | 389.6M | 401.1M | 400.4M |
| PP&E / Total Assets % | 78.81% | 75.75% | 76.13% | 74% | 70.68% | 70.62% | 74.42% | 72.81% | 69.72% | 68.2% | 68.59% | 70.01% | 75.69% | 77.17% | 73.54% | 67.59% | 67.23% | 65.13% | 59.83% | 73.74% | 73.35% | 67.71% | 70.31% | 69.91% | 72.54% | 74.65% | 60.16% | 68.79% | 69.65% | 78.85% | 85.67% |
| Total Current Assets | 694.3M | 995.9M | 742.3M | 826.6M | 1.07B | 808.13M | 493.29M | 473.18M | 503.83M | 570.78M | 466.81M | 822.15M | 454.04M | 345.29M | 405.11M | 758.92M | 670.87M | 624.87M | 799.51M | 530.9M | 474.5M | 541.97M | 480.31M | 483.75M | 400.31M | 220.35M | 419.01M | 181.2M | 140.5M | 84M | 51M |
| Cash & Equivalents | 18.2M | 182.8M | 16.1M | 86.6M | 21.4M | 8.92M | 6.36M | 9.78M | 20.78M | 15.42M | 13.58M | 456.54M | 21.22M | 7.84M | 15.46M | 21.63M | 32.44M | 112.9M | 168.49M | 86.4M | 36.94M | 34.2M | 64.51M | 172.77M | 79.81M | 29.67M | 24.91M | 16.5M | 14.8M | 16.8M | 13.3M |
| Receivables | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K |
| Inventory | 186.3M | 172.4M | 153.9M | 160.9M | 207.4M | 150.98M | 117.4M | 117.17M | 117.3M | 113.28M | 107.21M | 86.94M | 91.19M | 88.48M | 77.64M | 84.06M | 139.68M | 123.32M | 118.02M | 95.97M | 92.56M | 126.75M | 89.73M | 44.9M | 24.72M | 0 | 16.55M | 14.3M | 9.7M | 8.6M | 7.9M |
| Other Current Assets | 233M | 228.4M | 201.3M | 210.3M | 317.1M | 308.56M | 84.13M | 73.98M | 83.63M | 193.75M | 90.38M | 129.12M | 149.58M | 69.94M | 148.3M | 459.27M | 309.62M | 56.88M | 62.26M | 57.34M | 81.89M | 130.01M | 69.56M | 64.09M | 86.64M | 73.43M | 77.83M | 10.4M | 26M | 15.6M | 14.1M |
| Long-Term Investments | 2M | 2M | 2.2M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 21.93M | 41.01M | 13.09M | 12.56M | 11.98M | 17.29M | 16.7M | 16.4M | 17.26M | 17.78M | 18.52M | 23M | 19M | 24M | 28M | 24.44M | 27.35M | -6.02M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Goodwill | 1.3B | 1.3B | 1.3B | 1.3B | 1.3B | 1.3B | 1.3B | 1.3B | 1.3B | 1.3B | 1.3B | 359.76M | 353.4M | 353.4M | 353.4M | 353.4M | 354.83M | 353.73M | 359.29M | 29.58M | 30.56M | 31.54M | 30.14M | 30.14M | 33.69M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Intangible Assets | 5.4M | 6.4M | 7.6M | 8.4M | 9.6M | 10.77M | 11.94M | 13.27M | 14.34M | 7.56M | 8.39M | 3.38M | 3.18M | 3.4M | 3.62M | 3.84M | 4.07M | 4.31M | 4.88M | 21.03M | 24.43M | 27.83M | 36.75M | 40.07M | 78.09M | 117.26M | 299.72M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Other Assets | 362.3M | 331.8M | 341.1M | 366.6M | 439.4M | 564.36M | 264.38M | 247.44M | -61.52M | -109.93M | -276.37M | -251.45M | -311.19M | 98.14M | -177.71M | 167.14M | 151.41M | 151.01M | 330.93M | 27.09M | 43.6M | 53.79M | 38.22M | 35.26M | 46.82M | 85.11M | 4.13M | 29.4M | 29.3M | 23.6M | 16M |
| Total Liabilities | 7.11B | 6.96B | 6.44B | 6.31B | 6.53B | 6.24B | 5.43B | 5.09B | 4.68B | 4.84B | 4.79B | 3.19B | 2.9B | 2.57B | 2.5B | 2.92B | 2.61B | 2.23B | 2.33B | 1.5B | 1.45B | 1.38B | 1.32B | 1.35B | 1.49B | 1.12B | 1B | 458.2M | 352.7M | 303.3M | 274.2M |
| Total Debt | 4.87B | 4.7B | 4.38B | 4.4B | 4.67B | 4.55B | 3.77B | 3.5B | 3.14B | 3.33B | 3.31B | 1.94B | 1.62B | 1.48B | 1.32B | 1.63B | 1.44B | 1.22B | 1.21B | 744.55M | 790.95M | 736.96M | 773.75M | 886.12M | 642.31M | 812.94M | 532.73M | 259.6M | 168.4M | 164.8M | 166.4M |
| Net Debt | 4.85B | 4.52B | 4.37B | 4.31B | 4.65B | 4.54B | 3.76B | 3.49B | 3.12B | 3.31B | 3.3B | 1.49B | 1.6B | 1.47B | 1.3B | 1.61B | 1.41B | 1.1B | 1.04B | 658.15M | 754.01M | 702.77M | 709.24M | 713.35M | 562.5M | 783.28M | 507.82M | 243.1M | 153.6M | 148M | 153.1M |
| Long-Term Debt | 4B | 4.7B | 4.25B | 3.8B | 3.61B | 4.13B | 3.53B | 3.14B | 2.95B | 3.11B | 3.21B | 1.87B | 1.27B | 1.4B | 938.88M | 1.28B | 1.19B | 1.02B | 501.25M | 503.3M | 628.34M | 670.19M | 733.58M | 868.46M | 540.96M | 415.8M | 307.09M | 160.7M | 162M | 163.4M | 164.7M |
| Short-Term Borrowings | 870.3M | 0 | 133.8M | 600M | 1.06B | 420.18M | 242.48M | 355.24M | 191.36M | 217.04M | 102.34M | 76.8M | 350M | 82.5M | 380.97M | 347.47M | 254.18M | 199.75M | 705.88M | 167.33M | 162.61M | 66.77M | 40.17M | 17.66M | 23.45M | 396.35M | 225.64M | 98.91M | 6.4M | 1.4M | 1.7M |
| Capital Lease Obligations | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Total Current Liabilities | 1.47B | 740M | 763.4M | 1.19B | 1.67B | 901.71M | 696.53M | 811.29M | 648.23M | 649.1M | 527.93M | 422.03M | 651.28M | 378.39M | 734.89M | 878.07M | 787.44M | 644.86M | 1.25B | 580.96M | 528.98M | 470.62M | 357.75M | 286.26M | 671.3M | 583.06M | 588.86M | 205.4M | 102.6M | 53.8M | 28.1M |
| Accounts Payable | 198.4M | 311.7M | 229.1M | 186.4M | 310M | 217.76M | 183.34M | 193.52M | 210.61M | 160.89M | 152.13M | 89.79M | 124.14M | 130.42M | 84.42M | 104.75M | 146.56M | 229.35M | 288.91M | 239.18M | 224.01M | 202.64M | 196.02M | 162.71M | 168.25M | 96.22M | 247.6M | 80.36M | 74.1M | 32.6M | 7.3M |
| Accrued Expenses | 647.4M | 116M | 106.4M | 89.8M | 80.5M | 70.68M | 66.52M | 64.66M | 170.44M | 173.49M | 54.55M | 43.34M | 143.97M | 151.28M | 154.39M | 151.32M | 150.99M | 151.5M | 134.94M | 232.43M | 142.36M | 204.58M | 122.48M | 108.78M | 202.41M | 90.73M | 115.62M | 31.25M | 0 | 19.8M | 19.1M |
| Deferred Revenue | 0 | 59M | 55.6M | 76M | 47.7M | 48.81M | 52.19M | 54.73M | 43.57M | 44.42M | 51.63M | 53.5M | 170.12M | 151.28M | 159.32M | 151.32M | 171.08M | 151.5M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 22.2M | 0 | 0 |
| Other Current Liabilities | 100.8M | 198.5M | 183.8M | 180.2M | 115.5M | 93.4M | 104.91M | 98.6M | 75.82M | 97.68M | 206.35M | 196.42M | 7.03M | 14.2M | 110.17M | 274.53M | 235.71M | 64.26M | 123.95M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 332.38M | 0 | 0 | 0 | -100K | 0 | 0 |
| Deferred Taxes | 2.93B | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K |
| Other Liabilities | 889.3M | 825.1M | 798.7M | 780.3M | 745.4M | 750.75M | 792.88M | 782.28M | 765.51M | 743.67M | 1.05B | 436.98M | 461.2M | 792.09M | 437.29M | 759.27M | 360.61M | 310.06M | -724.86M | -711.04M | -802.67M | -807.78M | -893.2M | -993.5M | -673.23M | -491.2M | -372.3M | -222.8M | -220.6M | -220.4M | -217.5M |
| Total Equity | 4.03B | 3.91B | 3.59B | 3.31B | 3.09B | 2.89B | 2.66B | 2.46B | 2.29B | 1.82B | 1.73B | 1.47B | 1.38B | 1.31B | 1.23B | 1.21B | 1.1B | 1.08B | 1.05B | 975.02M | 795.2M | 743.8M | 740.6M | 714.44M | 541.62M | 534.7M | 320.31M | 216.6M | 206.7M | 205.4M | 193.2M |
| Equity Growth % | 30.17% | 8.94% | 8.45% | 6.99% | 7.02% | 8.43% | 8.06% | 7.72% | 25.67% | 5.21% | 18.03% | 6.53% | 5.22% | 6.1% | 1.92% | 9.91% | 1.42% | 3.27% | 7.74% | 22.61% | 6.91% | 0.43% | 3.66% | 31.91% | 1.29% | 66.93% | 47.88% | 4.79% | 0.63% | 6.31% | 5.98% |
| Shareholders Equity | 3.95B | 3.82B | 3.5B | 3.22B | 2.99B | 2.79B | 2.56B | 2.36B | 2.18B | 1.71B | 1.61B | 1.47B | 1.38B | 1.31B | 1.23B | 1.21B | 1.1B | 1.08B | 1.05B | 969.86M | 790.04M | 738.88M | 735.76M | 709.75M | 535.16M | 515.16M | 282.35M | 216.6M | 206.7M | 205.4M | 193.2M |
| Minority Interest | 79.6M | 82.1M | 83.7M | 90.5M | 95M | 100.03M | 101.26M | 101.95M | 105.83M | 111.23M | 115.5M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 5.17M | 5.16M | 4.92M | 4.83M | 4.69M | 6.45M | 19.53M | 37.96M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Common Stock | 76.6M | 75.5M | 71.7M | 68.3M | 66.1M | 64.79M | 62.83M | 61.48M | 60.05M | 53.58M | 53.4M | 51.23M | 44.71M | 44.55M | 44.28M | 43.96M | 39.28M | 38.98M | 38.68M | 37.84M | 33.41M | 33.22M | 32.59M | 32.45M | 27.1M | 26.89M | 23.3M | 21.7M | 21.7M | 21.7M | 14.5M |
| Additional Paid-in Capital | 2.49B | 2.42B | 2.19B | 2.01B | 1.88B | 1.78B | 1.66B | 1.55B | 1.45B | 1.15B | 1.14B | 953.04M | 748.84M | 742.34M | 733.1M | 722.62M | 598.8M | 591.39M | 584.58M | 560.48M | 409.83M | 404.04M | 384.44M | 379.27M | 247M | 240.45M | 73.44M | 40.66M | 40.3M | 40M | 46.8M |
| Retained Earnings | 1.39B | 1.34B | 1.25B | 1.16B | 1.06B | 962.46M | 870.74M | 778.78M | 700.4M | 548.62M | 457.93M | 472.53M | 599.39M | 540.24M | 492.87M | 476.6M | 486.07M | 473.86M | 447.45M | 397.39M | 348.25M | 313.22M | 322.01M | 304.57M | 280.63M | 250.51M | 191.48M | 162.2M | 147.8M | 143.7M | 131.9M |
| Accumulated OCI | -6.5M | -9.7M | -9.4M | -14.8M | -15.6M | -20.08M | -27.35M | -30.66M | -26.92M | -41.2M | -34.88M | -9.05M | -15.04M | -17.42M | -35.49M | -32.88M | -23.58M | -19.16M | -18.78M | -24.51M | -515K | -9.83M | -7.61M | -11.12M | -21.19M | -3.74M | -813K | -246.3M | -229.9M | -197.2M | -181.1M |
| Return on Assets (ROA) | 2.87% | 2.79% | 2.78% | 2.73% | 2.76% | 2.75% | 2.91% | 2.74% | 3.79% | 2.69% | 1.31% | -0.72% | 3.21% | 3.09% | 2.61% | 1.27% | 1.95% | 2.44% | 3.59% | 4.19% | 3.71% | 1.6% | 2.81% | 2.99% | 3.33% | 5.91% | 5.3% | 6.01% | 4.83% | 6.64% | 6.61% |
| Return on Equity (ROE) | 7.88% | 7.79% | 7.93% | 8.2% | 8.65% | 8.53% | 8.88% | 8.39% | 12.58% | 9.97% | 4.57% | -2.26% | 9.75% | 9.25% | 8.39% | 4.31% | 6.29% | 7.64% | 10.38% | 11.16% | 10.53% | 4.5% | 7.97% | 9.75% | 11.42% | 20.6% | 19.69% | 17.53% | 12.52% | 16.26% | 16.14% |
| Debt / Equity | 1.21x | 1.20x | 1.22x | 1.33x | 1.51x | 1.57x | 1.42x | 1.42x | 1.37x | 1.83x | 1.92x | 1.33x | 1.18x | 1.13x | 1.07x | 1.35x | 1.31x | 1.12x | 1.15x | 0.76x | 0.99x | 0.99x | 1.04x | 1.24x | 1.19x | 1.52x | 1.66x | 1.20x | 0.81x | 0.80x | 0.86x |
| Debt / Assets | 43.66% | 43.25% | 43.74% | 45.75% | 48.53% | 49.79% | 46.61% | 46.24% | 45.13% | 49.95% | 50.86% | 41.75% | 37.8% | 38.18% | 35.39% | 39.44% | 38.8% | 36.64% | 35.72% | 30.11% | 35.24% | 34.76% | 37.63% | 42.95% | 31.56% | 49.01% | 40.35% | 38.47% | 30.1% | 32.4% | 35.6% |
| Net Debt / EBITDA | 5.60x | 5.50x | 5.65x | 5.91x | 6.58x | 7.03x | 5.77x | 5.67x | 5.26x | 5.47x | 6.45x | 3.48x | 3.91x | 3.71x | 3.09x | 4.99x | 4.54x | 4.44x | 6.37x | 2.92x | 3.84x | 4.13x | 3.28x | 3.37x | 3.19x | 4.02x | 3.44x | 2.80x | 2.09x | 1.82x | 1.99x |
| Book Value per Share | 52.78 | 53.36 | 51.29 | 49.27 | 47.52 | 45.59 | 42.64 | 40.53 | 41.21 | 33.03 | 32.46 | 28.63 | 30.8 | 29.44 | 27.97 | 30.17 | 28.15 | 28.04 | 27.51 | 26.06 | 23.7 | 22.34 | 22.5 | 23.04 | 19.99 | 20.89 | 14.38 | 10.1 | 9.53 | 9.45 | 8.93 |
Quick answers to the most common questions about buying BKH stock.
As of 2025, Black Hills Corporation (BKH) had total assets of $10.87B including $995.9M in current assets.
Black Hills Corporation (BKH) carries total debt of $4.70B. Comparing total debt to cash helps evaluate the company's debt burden and net leverage.
Black Hills Corporation (BKH) has total shareholders' equity (book value) of $3.82B ($53.36 book value per share). Book value represents the net worth of the company belonging to common stock holders.
Black Hills Corporation (BKH) reported a current ratio of 1.35x. A current ratio above 1.0x indicates that the company has more current assets than current liabilities, suggesting sufficient short-term liquidity.
Key Metrics
Top Statement Risk
External financing dependence for CAPEX
Metrics are mathematically derived from official filings.
Rate Base Growth Outpacing Equity Build
Based on EDBL's reported figures, net PPE rose from $7.4B to $8.8B over ten quarters, a roughly 19% expansion that signals the regulated asset base is compounding faster than the equity cushion supporting it.
The steady climb in net PPE indicates that capital deployed into utility plant is being added to the rate base, which is the primary earnings engine under a regulated model. However, total equity grew from about $3.4B to $4.0B over the same window, a slower pace, which suggests that a growing share of the asset base is being financed with debt and outside capital rather than retained earnings. Investors should monitor whether regulatory recovery timelines keep pace with this build-out, since lag between spending and rate recognition may compress returns on the incremental assets.
Reported Leverage Conflicts With Profile
As reported in the provided balance sheet, the debt-to-equity ratio sits near 1.20 with total debt of roughly $4.9B against $4.0B equity, a leverage level that is more consistent with a typical utility than the anomalously low figure flagged elsewhere in the data set.
Taking the reported total debt and equity figures at face value, leverage has hovered between 1.12 and 1.41 across the period, which is within the range commonly seen for regulated utilities carrying heavy rate base investment. The earlier debt-to-equity reading of 1.20 in the context flags is therefore consistent with the balance sheet components, though the discrepancy should still be reconciled before drawing firm conclusions. Authorized versus actual capital structure and rate case leverage headroom are not disclosed in the provided data, so regulatory capital positioning cannot be assessed here and warrants further investigation.
Thin Cash Buffer Against Construction Needs
Based on reported figures, cash balances were mostly under $100M across the ten quarters, with the current ratio swinging between 0.52 and 1.35, suggesting short-term liquidity depends heavily on timing of receivables and credit facility access.
Cash held at period end was $18.2M in the latest quarter and was negligible in most other quarters, indicating the company operates with minimal idle liquidity against a capital program that consistently exceeds operating cash generation. A current ratio below 1.0 in most quarters suggests short-term obligations frequently exceed current assets, which is common for utilities with commercial paper programs but places weight on maintaining revolver capacity. Facility size, commercial paper capacity, and short-term rates are not included in the provided data, so the adequacy of this liquidity position cannot be fully confirmed.
Equity Quality Supports Dividend Continuity
As reported in the quarterly series, equity/assets held near 0.36 while return on equity ranged from 0.7% to 3.7%, indicating that the equity base is stable but earning modest returns relative to its size.
The equity ratio has been remarkably steady, suggesting that growth in book equity has largely tracked growth in total assets rather than being diluted or inflated by unusual issuance. Quarterly ROE figures in the low single digits, however, imply that accrued earnings are converting to shareholder value only slowly, which may reflect interest burden and regulatory lag. Given the prior cash flow findings that dividend coverage is thin, the equity base appears to be supporting payouts primarily through operating cash rather than surplus earnings, a pattern investors should continue to monitor.
Coal Asset Recovery Risk Underweighted
Based on the provided company intelligence, Colorado decarbonization pressure could accelerate depreciation of coal-fired assets, a risk not visible in the reported balance sheet figures but one that may affect the rate base recovery assumed in current PPE values.
Net PPE of roughly $8.8B is carried at book value, and if coal generation is retired early under state mandates, some portion of that base could face recovery disallowance or accelerated write-down, which would reduce equity directly given the already modest equity cushion. The current balance sheet does not disclose stranded asset exposure, regulatory asset balances, or environmental reserves, so the magnitude of this risk cannot be quantified from the data provided. Investors should monitor Colorado commission proceedings and any disclosure of recovery mechanisms for remaining coal book value, as these would materially alter the asset-quality reading.