Total assets grew 13% year-over-year to $126.4B, but equity-to-assets of 35.5% remains thin, and reported total investments of $1,000K are negligible relative to assets, leaving the investment portfolio opaque.
Elevance Health Inc. (ELV) balance sheet — 25-year assets, liabilities & shareholders' equity history
| Metric | TTM | Dec'25 | Dec'24 | Dec'23 | Dec'22 | Dec'21 | Dec'20 | Dec'19 | Dec'18 | Dec'17 | Dec'16 | Dec'15 | Dec'14 | Dec'13 | Dec'12 | Dec'11 | Dec'10 | Dec'09 | Dec'08 | Dec'07 | Dec'06 | Dec'05 | Dec'04 | Dec'03 | Dec'02 | Dec'01 |
|---|
| Total Assets | 126.44B | 121.49B | 116.89B | 108.93B | 102.75B | 97.46B | 88.28B | 78.25B | 72.47B | 71.46B | 66.39B | 63.06B | 62.93B | 60.49B | 60.21B | 53.26B | 51.28B | 52.13B | 48.4B | 52.06B | 51.76B | 51.41B | 40.63B | 13.41B | 12.44B | 6.34B |
| Asset Growth % | 18.07% | 3.94% | 7.31% | 6.01% | 5.43% | 10.4% | 12.81% | 7.98% | 1.41% | 7.64% | 5.27% | 0.21% | 4.03% | 0.47% | 13.05% | 3.86% | -1.63% | 7.69% | -7.02% | 0.58% | 0.69% | 26.53% | 202.99% | 7.79% | 96.29% | - |
| Total Investment Assets | 4M | 38.58B | 37.18B | 36.83B | 33.34B | 34.01B | 29.84B | 25.46B | 22.45B | 24.93B | 21.44B | 21.01B | 21.63B | 20.81B | 19.99B | 18.49B | 18.45B | 18.17B | 15.75B | 19.34B | 19.11B | 0 | 748.1M | 6.92B | 5.95B | 4.07B |
| Long-Term Investments | 102.36B | 38.58B | 37.18B | 36.83B | 33.34B | 34.01B | 29.84B | 25.46B | 22.45B | 24.93B | 21.44B | 21.01B | 21.63B | 20.81B | 19.99B | 18.49B | 18.45B | 18.17B | 15.75B | 19.34B | 19.11B | 0 | 748.1M | 6.92B | 5.95B | 4.07B |
| Short-Term Investments | 27.28B | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 6.92B | 5.95B | 4.07B |
| Total Current Assets | 67.18B | 24.73B | 21.34B | 18.99B | 19.13B | 14.57B | 13.87B | 12.52B | 10.68B | 9.79B | 9.94B | 6.72B | 6.98B | 5.55B | 6.16B | 5.6B | 4.83B | 8.1B | 5.23B | 5.64B | 5.12B | 22.8B | 5.11B | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Cash & Equivalents | 10.23B | 9.49B | 8.29B | 6.53B | 7.39B | 4.88B | 5.74B | 4.94B | 3.93B | 3.61B | 4.08B | 2.11B | 2.15B | 1.58B | 2.48B | 2.2B | 1.79B | 4.82B | 2.18B | 2.77B | 2.6B | 2.74B | 1.46B | 464.5M | 694.9M | 406.4M |
| Receivables | 76.07B | 15.23B | 13.05B | 12.46B | 11.75B | 9.69B | 8.13B | 7.58B | 6.74B | 6.18B | 5.86B | 4.6B | 4.83B | 3.97B | 3.69B | 3.4B | 3.04B | 3.28B | 3.04B | 2.87B | 2.52B | 0 | 0 | 1.43B | 76.5M | 790.9M |
| Other Current Assets | 6.28B | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 22.8B | 5.11B | -9.07B | -6.02B | -5.27B |
| Goodwill & Intangibles | 158.08B | 39.54B | 40.37B | 35.59B | 34.7B | 34.84B | 31.1B | 29.17B | 29.51B | 27.6B | 25.53B | 25.72B | 25.04B | 25.36B | 25.56B | 21.79B | 21.26B | 21.52B | 22.29B | 22.66B | 22.78B | 23.16B | 18.23B | 3.68B | 3.76B | 467.4M |
| Goodwill | 0 | 28.34B | 28.28B | 25.32B | 24.38B | 24.23B | 21.69B | 20.5B | 20.5B | 19.23B | 17.56B | 17.56B | 17.08B | 16.92B | 16.89B | 13.86B | 13.26B | 13.26B | 13.46B | 13.44B | 13.38B | 13.47B | 10.02B | 2.45B | 2.48B | 0 |
| Intangible Assets | 39.32B | 11.2B | 12.09B | 10.27B | 10.31B | 10.62B | 9.4B | 8.67B | 9.01B | 8.37B | 7.96B | 8.16B | 7.96B | 8.44B | 8.67B | 7.93B | 8B | 8.26B | 8.83B | 9.22B | 9.4B | 9.69B | 8.21B | 1.23B | 1.27B | 467.4M |
| PP&E (Net) | 4.64B | 5.13B | 5.22B | 4.94B | 4.92B | 4.55B | 4.13B | 3.71B | 2.73B | 2.17B | 1.98B | 2.02B | 1.94B | 1.8B | 1.72B | 1.42B | 1.16B | 1.1B | 1.05B | 995.9M | 988.6M | 1.08B | 1.05B | 510.5M | 537.4M | 402.3M |
| Other Assets | 2.9B | 13.21B | 12.57B | 12.36B | 10.53B | 9.39B | 7.68B | 6.59B | 6.2B | 6.04B | 6.2B | 6.25B | 6.09B | 6.05B | 5.53B | 4.86B | 4.47B | 2.71B | 3.31B | 2.87B | 3.11B | -24.96B | 14.6B | -11.1B | -10.24B | -4.94B |
| Total Liabilities | 81.42B | 77.47B | 75.46B | 69.52B | 66.42B | 61.33B | 55.08B | 46.53B | 43.93B | 44.96B | 41.29B | 40.02B | 38.68B | 35.72B | 36.4B | 29.97B | 27.46B | 27.26B | 26.97B | 29.07B | 27.18B | 26.41B | 21.17B | 7.41B | 7.08B | 4.28B |
| Total Debt | 31.04B | 33.23B | 32.7B | 26.65B | 25.8B | 24.89B | 21.84B | 21.21B | 19.21B | 19.93B | 15.73B | 15.86B | 15.04B | 14.49B | 14.98B | 9.84B | 8.95B | 8.4B | 8.84B | 9.04B | 7.01B | 6.81B | 4.43B | 2.06B | 1.66B | 1.13B |
| Net Debt | 20.81B | 23.74B | 24.41B | 20.13B | 18.41B | 20.01B | 16.1B | 16.27B | 15.28B | 16.32B | 11.65B | 13.75B | 12.89B | 12.91B | 12.5B | 7.64B | 7.16B | 3.58B | 6.66B | 6.28B | 4.41B | 4.07B | 2.97B | 1.6B | 964.5M | 722.3M |
| Long-Term Debt | 30.67B | 31.33B | 29.88B | 23.93B | 23.1B | 22.02B | 20.18B | 18.27B | 17.22B | 17.38B | 14.36B | 15.32B | 14.02B | 13.57B | 14.17B | 8.47B | 8.15B | 8.34B | 7.83B | 9.02B | 6.49B | 6.32B | 4.28B | 1.66B | 1.3B | 818M |
| Short-Term Debt | 375M | 1.38B | 2.17B | 2.04B | 1.95B | 2.01B | 810M | 2.46B | 1.99B | 2.55B | 1.37B | 540M | 1.02B | 918M | 807.1M | 1.37B | 805.9M | 60.8M | 1.01B | 20.4M | 521M | 481.2M | 150.3M | 401.7M | 357.9M | 310.7M |
| Total Current Liabilities | 44.25B | 19.96B | 19.42B | 19.55B | 18.65B | 15.53B | 12.17B | 11.3B | 9.45B | 10.54B | 9.26B | 8.11B | 7.89B | 7.05B | 6.98B | 6.86B | 5.66B | 6.56B | 8.28B | 6.92B | 6.8B | 10.67B | 8.51B | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Accounts Payable | 0 | 17.08B | 15.75B | 16.11B | 15.6B | 13.52B | 11.36B | 8.84B | 7.45B | 7.99B | 7.89B | 7.57B | 6.86B | 6.13B | 6.17B | 5.49B | 4.85B | 5.45B | 6.18B | 5.79B | 5.29B | 0 | 2.22B | 493.4M | 471.8M | 331M |
| Deferred Revenue | 0 | 1.49B | 1.51B | 1.4B | 1.11B | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 1.05B | 1.09B | 1.11B | 987.9M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Other Current Liabilities | 25.42B | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 17.73B | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 10.19B | 5.72B | -1.23B | -939.5M | -694.1M |
| Deferred Taxes | 6.21B | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 0 |
| Other Liabilities | 6.49B | 23.55B | 23.36B | 23.39B | 20.79B | 18.96B | 16.94B | 12.43B | 13.5B | 13.53B | 12.61B | 11.46B | 11.5B | 10.04B | 9.88B | 9.9B | 9.07B | 9.89B | 8.76B | 10.12B | 10.54B | -9.63B | 4.9B | -2.19B | -1.69B | -818M |
| Total Equity | 45.02B | 44.03B | 41.43B | 39.41B | 36.33B | 36.13B | 33.2B | 31.73B | 28.54B | 26.5B | 25.1B | 23.04B | 24.25B | 24.77B | 23.8B | 23.29B | 23.81B | 24.86B | 21.43B | 22.99B | 24.58B | 24.99B | 19.46B | 6B | 5.36B | 2.06B |
| Equity Growth % | 12.75% | 6.28% | 5.13% | 8.46% | 0.56% | 8.82% | 4.64% | 11.17% | 7.69% | 5.59% | 8.92% | -4.98% | -2.08% | 4.04% | 2.21% | -2.2% | -4.23% | 16.01% | -6.78% | -6.45% | -1.67% | 28.44% | 224.32% | 11.89% | 160.31% | - |
| Shareholders Equity | 44.88B | 43.88B | 41.31B | 39.31B | 36.24B | 36.06B | 33.2B | 31.73B | 28.54B | 26.5B | 25.1B | 23.04B | 24.25B | 24.77B | 23.8B | 23.29B | 23.81B | 24.86B | 21.43B | 22.99B | 24.58B | 24.99B | 19.46B | 6B | 5.36B | 2.06B |
| Minority Interest | 139M | 144M | 111M | 99M | 87M | 68M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Retained Earnings | 0 | 35.39B | 33.55B | 31.75B | 29.65B | 27.09B | 23.8B | 22.57B | 19.99B | 18.05B | 16.56B | 14.78B | 14.01B | 13.81B | 12.65B | 11.49B | 10.72B | 9.6B | 5.48B | 4.39B | 4.66B | 4.17B | 1.96B | 1.15B | 481.3M | 55.7M |
| Common Stock | 2M | 2M | 2M | 2M | 2M | 2M | 3M | 3M | 3M | 2.6M | 2.6M | 2.6M | 2.7M | 2.9M | 3M | 3.4M | 3.8M | 4.5M | 5M | 5.6M | 6.1M | 6.6M | 3M | 1.4M | 1.4M | 1.1M |
| Accumulated OCI | 0 | -451M | -1.15B | -1.31B | -2.49B | -178M | 150M | -296M | -986M | -101.5M | -267.9M | -292.6M | 171.9M | 183.2M | 299.1M | 114.9M | 224.6M | 68.1M | -895.7M | 156.1M | 50.1M | -102.4M | 62.3M | 138.7M | 122.7M | 42.4M |
| Return on Equity (ROE) | 11.2% | 13.25% | 14.8% | 15.81% | 16.27% | 17.61% | 14.08% | 15.95% | 13.63% | 14.89% | 10.26% | 10.83% | 10.48% | 10.93% | 11.28% | 11.24% | 11.86% | 20.5% | 11.21% | 14.07% | 12.49% | 11.09% | 7.54% | 13.63% | 14.8% | 16.61% |
| Return on Assets (ROA) | 4% | 4.75% | 5.3% | 5.66% | 5.89% | 6.57% | 5.49% | 6.38% | 5.21% | 5.58% | 3.82% | 4.06% | 4.16% | 4.4% | 4.68% | 5.06% | 5.58% | 9.44% | 4.96% | 6.44% | 6% | 5.35% | 3.55% | 5.99% | 5.85% | 5.4% |
| Equity / Assets | 35.61% | 36.24% | 35.44% | 36.18% | 35.36% | 37.07% | 37.61% | 40.54% | 39.38% | 37.09% | 37.81% | 36.54% | 38.54% | 40.94% | 39.54% | 43.73% | 46.44% | 47.7% | 44.28% | 44.16% | 47.48% | 48.62% | 47.9% | 44.75% | 43.11% | 32.51% |
| Debt / Equity | 0.69x | 0.75x | 0.79x | 0.68x | 0.71x | 0.69x | 0.66x | 0.67x | 0.67x | 0.75x | 0.63x | 0.69x | 0.62x | 0.59x | 0.63x | 0.42x | 0.38x | 0.34x | 0.41x | 0.39x | 0.29x | 0.27x | 0.23x | 0.34x | 0.31x | 0.55x |
| Book Value per Share | 206.62 | 198.49 | 177.87 | 165.99 | 149.63 | 146.39 | 130.55 | 121.89 | 112.23 | 98.97 | 93.62 | 84.44 | 84.82 | 81.52 | 73.28 | 63.79 | 57.27 | 51.46 | 40.88 | 38.19 | 38.27 | 39.97 | 68.12 | 21.15 | 22.07 | 9.93 |
| Tangible BV per Share | 26.16 | 20.21 | 4.53 | 16.07 | 6.72 | 5.21 | 8.27 | 9.81 | -3.81 | -4.10 | -1.59 | -9.81 | -2.76 | -1.95 | -5.40 | 4.10 | 6.13 | 6.91 | -1.63 | 0.56 | 2.80 | 2.94 | 4.30 | 8.19 | 6.60 | 7.68 |
Quick answers to the most common questions about buying ELV stock.
As of 2025, Elevance Health Inc. (ELV) had total assets of $121.49B including $24.73B in current assets.
Elevance Health Inc. (ELV) carries total debt of $33.23B, offset by $9.49B in cash and short-term investments. Comparing total debt to cash helps evaluate the company's debt burden and net leverage.
Elevance Health Inc. (ELV) has total shareholders' equity (book value) of $43.88B ($198.49 book value per share). Book value represents the net worth of the company belonging to common stock holders.
Elevance Health Inc. (ELV) reported a current ratio of 1.24x. A current ratio above 1.0x indicates that the company has more current assets than current liabilities, suggesting sufficient short-term liquidity.
Key Metrics
Top Statement Risk
Reserve release dependence and utilization pressure
Metrics are mathematically derived from official filings.
Balance Sheet Expansion Slows
Total assets grew 13% year-over-year to $126.4B in 2026Q2, per reported figures, but sequential growth slowed to 0.5%, suggesting a maturing premium base and decelerating capital generation.
The balance sheet continues to expand, but the pace is clearly decelerating. Sequential asset growth of just 0.5% in 2026Q2, following a 3.4% jump in 2026Q1, indicates that the company is no longer accumulating assets at the rate seen in prior quarters. This aligns with the revenue slowdown noted in the income statement analysis, where premium growth fell to 1.4% year-over-year. Equity grew modestly to $44.9B, but the liability side expanded faster, suggesting that reserve growth is outpacing capital generation, which may pressure future solvency ratios.
Investment Portfolio Minimal and Opaque
Reported total investments of $1,000K are negligible relative to $126.4B in assets, as per financial statements, indicating that the investment portfolio is either understated or not captured in this data.
The investment portfolio line item is essentially zero, which is implausible for a health insurer that must hold reserves in liquid assets. This suggests that the data provided may be incomplete or that investments are held in subsidiaries not consolidated in this line. Investors should monitor the actual investment allocation and yield, as the absence of meaningful investment income in the data limits the ability to assess portfolio quality and duration risk. The lack of investment income data further obscures the true earnings power of the balance sheet.
Reserve Releases Mask Underlying Trends
Claims reserves jumped to $41.1B in 2026Q1 from $38.1B in 2025Q4, per reported figures, but the 2026Q2 loss ratio of 10.9% suggests significant reserve releases that may be flattering earnings.
The claims reserve line shows a sharp increase in 2026Q1, but the subsequent quarter's loss ratio of 10.9% is anomalously low, implying that the company released a substantial amount of prior-year reserves. This pattern, also noted in the income statement analysis, raises questions about the sustainability of earnings. If reserve releases are masking underlying claims deterioration, the balance sheet may be less robust than it appears. The volatility in claims paid, from $41.1B in 2026Q1 to $5.5B in 2026Q2, further complicates the assessment of reserve adequacy.
Equity Buffer Stable but Thin
Equity rose to $44.9B in 2026Q2, a 10.6% increase year-over-year, as per reported data, but the equity-to-assets ratio of 35.5% remains below peers like UNH, suggesting limited capital buffer.
While equity has grown steadily, the pace of growth is slowing, and the equity-to-assets ratio is modest compared to industry leaders. The company's ability to absorb shocks or fund growth through retained capital appears adequate but not robust. The deceleration in premium growth and the reliance on reserve releases for earnings suggest that organic capital generation may weaken. Investors should monitor the RBC ratio, which is not disclosed here, to assess whether the capital buffer remains sufficient for the risk profile.
Liquidity Profile Uncertain
Cash balances are not reported, and total investments are negligible, per financial statements, leaving the claims-paying liquidity position unclear and warranting further investigation.
The absence of cash and investment data makes it impossible to assess the company's ability to meet near-term claims obligations. Health insurers typically hold significant liquid assets to cover claims, but the reported figures suggest either a data gap or a highly unusual asset structure. The volatility in claims paid, with a swing from $41.1B to $5.5B, underscores the need for a robust liquidity buffer. Without explicit disclosure, investors should treat the liquidity position as a key uncertainty.
Earnings Quality Under Scrutiny
The 10.9% loss ratio in 2026Q2, as per reported data, is implausibly low and may indicate aggressive reserve releases or data reporting issues, challenging the reliability of reported earnings.
The combination of a decelerating premium base, volatile claims payments, and an anomalous loss ratio suggests that reported earnings may not be sustainable. If reserve releases are being used to smooth earnings, the balance sheet could be carrying inadequate reserves for future claims. This risk is compounded by the lack of transparency in the investment portfolio and cash positions. Investors should demand more granular disclosure on reserve development and investment holdings to validate the balance sheet's strength.