Total assets grew 9.1% YoY to $7.2B, but the mix shifted heavily toward investment securities ($6.8B, 94% of assets) while cash fell to $64.2M, with equity/assets at 10.7% and debt-to-equity at 0.24%.
Lakeland Financial Corporation (LKFN) balance sheet — 30-year assets, liabilities & shareholders' equity history
| Metric | TTM | Dec'25 | Dec'24 | Dec'23 | Dec'22 | Dec'21 | Dec'20 | Dec'19 | Dec'18 | Dec'17 | Dec'16 | Dec'15 | Dec'14 | Dec'13 | Dec'12 | Dec'11 | Dec'10 | Dec'09 | Dec'08 | Dec'07 | Dec'06 | Dec'05 | Dec'04 | Dec'03 | Dec'02 | Dec'01 | Dec'00 | Dec'99 | Dec'98 | Dec'97 | Dec'96 |
|---|
| Cash & Short Term Investments | 915.82M | 141.32M | 591.05M | 1.2B | 1.32B | 2.08B | 984.77M | 707.61M | 802.47M | 714.67M | 671.47M | 558.75M | 566.55M | 532.07M | 699.26M | 571.98M | 60.14M | 55.98M | 64.01M | 56.28M | 65.25M | 77.39M | 81.14M | 52.3M | 74.15M | 70.22M | 84.68M | 59.32M | 61.5M | 49.8M | 44.88M |
| Cash & Due from Banks | 64.2M | 57.14M | 168.21M | 151.82M | 130.28M | 683.24M | 249.93M | 99.38M | 216.92M | 176.18M | 167.28M | 80.67M | 90.64M | 63.1M | 232.24M | 104.58M | 60.14M | 48.96M | 57.15M | 56.28M | 65.25M | 77.39M | 81.14M | 52.3M | 74.15M | 70.22M | 84.68M | 59.32M | 61.5M | 49.8M | 44.88M |
| Short Term Investments | 3.57M | 84.18M | 422.85M | 1.05B | 1.19B | 1.4B | 734.85M | 608.23M | 585.55M | 538.49M | 504.19M | 478.07M | 475.91M | 468.97M | 467.02M | 467.39M | 0 | 7.02M | 6.86M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Total Investments | 6.83B | 5.39B | 6.16B | 6.03B | 5.95B | 5.63B | 5.33B | 4.63B | 4.45B | 4.31B | 3.94B | 3.52B | 3.19B | 2.96B | 2.68B | 2.65B | 2.49B | 2.4B | 2.21B | 1.85B | 1.69B | 1.48B | 1.3B | 1.15B | 1.1B | 1.01B | 1.01B | 922.58M | 860.7M | 701.5M | 584.97M |
| Investments Growth % | 5.85% | -12.44% | 2.15% | 1.27% | 5.79% | 5.48% | 15.25% | 3.9% | 3.27% | 9.55% | 11.9% | 10.18% | 8% | 10.23% | 1.2% | 6.32% | 3.95% | 8.59% | 19.55% | 9.19% | 14.09% | 13.67% | 13.74% | 4.26% | 8.85% | 0.1% | 9.46% | 7.19% | 22.69% | 19.92% | 12.86% |
| Long-Term Investments | 24.7B | 5.31B | 5.73B | 4.98B | 4.77B | 4.23B | 4.6B | 4.02B | 3.87B | 3.77B | 3.43B | 3.04B | 2.72B | 2.49B | 2.22B | 2.18B | 2.49B | 2.39B | 2.2B | 1.85B | 1.69B | 1.48B | 1.3B | 1.15B | 1.1B | 1.01B | 1.01B | 922.58M | 860.7M | 701.5M | 584.97M |
| Accounts Receivables | 0 | 29M | 28.45M | 30.01M | 27.99M | 17.67M | 18.76M | 15.39M | 15.52M | 14.09M | 11.69M | 9.46M | 8.66M | 8.58M | 8.48M | 9.61M | 9.07M | 8.6M | 8.6M | 9.13M | 8.72M | 7.42M | 5.76M | 5.01M | 5M | 5.44M | 6.74M | 5.42M | 5.7M | 4.9M | 4.25M |
| Goodwill & Intangibles | 4.97M | 4.97M | 4.97M | 4.97M | 4.97M | 4.97M | 4.97M | 4.97M | 4.97M | 4.97M | 4.97M | 4.97M | 4.97M | 4.97M | 5.02M | 5.07M | 5.12M | 5.18M | 5.38M | 9.13M | 8.72M | 7.42M | 6.21M | 5.01M | 5M | 5.44M | 6.74M | 5.42M | 5.7M | 4.9M | 0 |
| Goodwill | 4.97M | 4.97M | 4.97M | 4.97M | 4.97M | 4.97M | 4.97M | 4.97M | 4.97M | 4.97M | 4.97M | 4.97M | 4.97M | 4.97M | 4.97M | 4.97M | 4.97M | 4.97M | 4.97M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 4.97M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Intangible Assets | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 47K | 99K | 153K | 207K | 413K | 9.13M | 8.72M | 7.42M | 1.25M | 5.01M | 5M | 5.44M | 6.74M | 5.42M | 5.7M | 4.9M | 0 |
| PP&E (Net) | 69.5M | 65.54M | 60.49M | 57.9M | 58.1M | 59.31M | 59.3M | 60.37M | 58.1M | 56.47M | 52.09M | 46.68M | 41.98M | 39.34M | 34.84M | 34.74M | 30.41M | 29.58M | 30.52M | 27.52M | 25.18M | 24.56M | 25.06M | 26.16M | 24.77M | 24.25M | 27.3M | 27.81M | 26.4M | 23.1M | 16.01M |
| Other Assets | 238.58M | 1.44B | 259.58M | 251.96M | 259.11M | 166.03M | 163.67M | 138.7M | 125.61M | 118.09M | 116.68M | 105.81M | 103.48M | 102.73M | 101.02M | 85.03M | 84M | 80.68M | 67.03M | 42.99M | 39.58M | 36.1M | 30.19M | 34.36M | 37.61M | 20.82M | 10.96M | 14.19M | 13.11M | 7.6M | 6.43M |
| Total Current Assets | 97.28M | 170.31M | 619.5M | 1.23B | 1.34B | 2.1B | 1B | 723M | 817.99M | 728.77M | 683.16M | 568.21M | 575.21M | 540.65M | 707.74M | 581.59M | 69.22M | 64.58M | 72.61M | 65.4M | 73.97M | 84.8M | 86.91M | 57.31M | 79.15M | 75.66M | 91.43M | 64.74M | 67.2M | 54.7M | 49.13M |
| Total Non-Current Assets | 7.14B | 6.82B | 6.06B | 5.29B | 5.09B | 4.46B | 4.83B | 4.22B | 4.06B | 3.95B | 3.61B | 3.2B | 2.87B | 2.64B | 2.36B | 2.31B | 2.61B | 2.51B | 2.3B | 1.92B | 1.76B | 1.55B | 1.37B | 1.21B | 1.17B | 1.06B | 1.06B | 975.1M | 911.71M | 741.8M | 607.42M |
| Total Assets | 7.24B | 6.99B | 6.68B | 6.52B | 6.43B | 6.56B | 5.83B | 4.95B | 4.88B | 4.68B | 4.29B | 3.77B | 3.44B | 3.18B | 3.06B | 2.89B | 2.68B | 2.57B | 2.38B | 1.99B | 1.84B | 1.63B | 1.45B | 1.27B | 1.25B | 1.14B | 1.15B | 1.04B | 978.9M | 796.5M | 656.55M |
| Asset Growth % | 15.74% | 4.67% | 2.37% | 1.42% | -1.91% | 12.47% | 17.86% | 1.47% | 4.11% | 9.16% | 13.91% | 9.38% | 8.42% | 3.64% | 6.04% | 7.75% | 4.29% | 8.16% | 19.52% | 8.3% | 12.36% | 12.49% | 14.29% | 1.89% | 9.68% | -1% | 10.51% | 6.23% | 22.9% | 21.32% | 15.47% |
| Return on Assets (ROA) | 1.58% | 1.51% | 1.42% | 1.45% | 1.6% | 1.55% | 1.57% | 1.77% | 1.68% | 1.28% | 1.29% | 1.29% | 1.32% | 1.24% | 1.19% | 1.1% | 0.93% | 0.77% | 0.9% | 1% | 1.08% | 1.16% | 1.07% | 1.1% | 1.04% | 0.88% | 0.85% | 0.82% | 0.89% | 1.03% | 1.05% |
| Accounts Payable | 0 | 0 | 15.12M | 20.89M | 3.19M | 2.62M | 5.96M | 11.6M | 10.4M | 6.31M | 5.68M | 3.77M | 2.95M | 2.92M | 4.76M | 0 | 11.48M | 14.04M | 17.16M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 6.13M | 6.68M | 4.76M | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Total Debt | 70M | 184.2M | 0 | 50M | 297M | 75M | 85.5M | 170M | 446.48M | 181.61M | 441M | 170.58M | 191.37M | 292.84M | 167.85M | 187.96M | 220.02M | 425.02M | 323.58M | 347.14M | 218.46M | 242.52M | 226.62M | 245.74M | 235.66M | 243.51M | 211.51M | 211.85M | 157.1M | 109.5M | 111.91M |
| Net Debt | 5.8M | 127.06M | -168.21M | -101.82M | 166.72M | -608.24M | -164.43M | 70.62M | 229.56M | 5.43M | 273.73M | 89.91M | 100.73M | 229.74M | -64.39M | 83.37M | 159.88M | 376.06M | 266.43M | 290.86M | 153.21M | 165.13M | 145.48M | 193.44M | 161.51M | 173.29M | 126.83M | 152.53M | 95.6M | 59.7M | 67.03M |
| Long-Term Debt | 0 | 14.2M | 0 | 50M | 275M | 75M | 85.5M | 170M | 200.93M | 30.93M | 210.96M | 30.96M | 30.96M | 30.96M | 45.97M | 45.97M | 48.01M | 70.97M | 120.97M | 30.97M | 30.97M | 30.97M | 40.97M | 60.98M | 50.69M | 11.39M | 11.43M | 16.47M | 21.4M | 25.4M | 23.53M |
| Short-Term Debt | 70M | 170M | 0 | 0 | 22M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 245.56M | 150.68M | 230.04M | 139.62M | 160.41M | 261.88M | 121.88M | 141.99M | 172.01M | 354.05M | 202.61M | 316.17M | 187.48M | 211.54M | 185.65M | 184.76M | 184.97M | 232.12M | 200.08M | 195.37M | 135.7M | 84.1M | 88.38M |
| Other Liabilities | 6.4B | 46.91M | 78.38M | 82.82M | 102.68M | 39.39M | 44.99M | 33.22M | -147.4M | 17.73M | -161.63M | 15.61M | 14.46M | 11.97M | -3.37M | -11.36M | 2.32M | 1.24M | 1.43M | 1.31M | 338K | 2.1M | 1.89M | 1.46M | 2.42M | 21.16M | 20.66M | 20.8M | 27.21M | 25.7M | 1.01M |
| Total Current Liabilities | 70M | 6.17B | 5.92B | 5.74B | 5.49B | 5.74B | 5.04B | 4.15B | 4.3B | 4.17B | 3.81B | 3.33B | 3.04B | 2.81B | 2.72B | 2.57B | 2.38B | 2.22B | 2.11B | 1.8B | 1.66B | 1.48B | 1.3B | 1.11B | 1.11B | 1.03B | 1.05B | 948.38M | 875.1M | 697.1M | 584.93M |
| Total Non-Current Liabilities | 6.4B | 61.11M | 78.38M | 132.82M | 377.68M | 114.39M | 130.49M | 203.22M | 53.53M | 48.66M | 49.33M | 46.57M | 45.43M | 42.94M | 42.6M | 34.61M | 50.32M | 72.21M | 122.41M | 32.28M | 31.31M | 33.07M | 42.86M | 62.44M | 53.11M | 32.55M | 32.09M | 37.27M | 48.61M | 51.1M | 24.54M |
| Total Liabilities | 6.47B | 6.23B | 5.99B | 5.87B | 5.86B | 5.85B | 5.17B | 4.35B | 4.35B | 4.21B | 3.86B | 3.37B | 3.08B | 2.85B | 2.77B | 2.62B | 2.43B | 2.29B | 2.23B | 1.84B | 1.71B | 1.52B | 1.35B | 1.18B | 1.16B | 1.06B | 1.08B | 985.65M | 923.7M | 748.2M | 614.51M |
| Total Equity | 773.28M | 762.49M | 683.91M | 649.79M | 568.89M | 704.91M | 657.18M | 598.1M | 521.7M | 468.67M | 427.07M | 392.9M | 361.38M | 321.96M | 297.83M | 273.29M | 247.09M | 280.08M | 149.88M | 146.27M | 130.19M | 113.33M | 101.77M | 90.02M | 83.88M | 73.53M | 64.97M | 54.19M | 55.2M | 48.3M | 42.04M |
| Equity Growth % | 35.16% | 11.49% | 5.25% | 14.22% | -19.3% | 7.26% | 9.88% | 14.64% | 11.32% | 9.74% | 8.7% | 8.72% | 12.24% | 8.1% | 8.98% | 10.6% | -11.78% | 86.87% | 2.47% | 12.35% | 14.87% | 11.37% | 13.04% | 7.32% | 14.07% | 13.18% | 19.89% | -1.82% | 14.29% | 14.88% | 14.39% |
| Equity / Assets (Capital Ratio) | 10.68% | 10.91% | 10.24% | 9.96% | 8.84% | 10.75% | 11.27% | 12.09% | 10.7% | 10.01% | 9.95% | 10.43% | 10.5% | 10.14% | 9.72% | 9.46% | 9.21% | 10.89% | 6.3% | 7.35% | 7.09% | 6.93% | 7% | 7.08% | 6.72% | 6.46% | 5.65% | 5.21% | 5.64% | 6.06% | 6.4% |
| Return on Equity (ROE) | 14.67% | 14.29% | 14.02% | 15.39% | 16.3% | 14.06% | 13.44% | 15.55% | 16.24% | 12.8% | 12.7% | 12.29% | 12.82% | 12.53% | 12.39% | 11.78% | 9.31% | 8.83% | 13.3% | 13.9% | 15.38% | 16.7% | 15.17% | 15.95% | 15.71% | 14.6% | 15.65% | 15.21% | 15.27% | 16.6% | 16.36% |
| Book Value per Share | 30.65 | 29.59 | 26.54 | 25.26 | 22.12 | 27.51 | 25.70 | 23.22 | 20.28 | 18.26 | 16.77 | 15.56 | 14.36 | 12.90 | 12.05 | 11.16 | 10.16 | 14.42 | 8.02 | 7.85 | 7.01 | 6.14 | 5.66 | 5.05 | 4.74 | 4.20 | 3.73 | 3.11 | 3.16 | 2.77 | 2.42 |
| Tangible BV per Share | 30.45 | 29.40 | 26.35 | 25.07 | 21.93 | 27.32 | 25.50 | 23.03 | 20.08 | 18.07 | 16.58 | 15.37 | 14.16 | 12.70 | 11.84 | 10.95 | 9.95 | 14.15 | 7.73 | 7.36 | 6.54 | 5.73 | 5.31 | 4.76 | 4.45 | 3.89 | 3.34 | 2.80 | 2.84 | 2.49 | 2.42 |
| Common Stock | 140.02M | 136.97M | 129.66M | 127.69M | 127M | 120.61M | 114.93M | 114.86M | 112.38M | 108.86M | 104.41M | 99.12M | 96.12M | 93.25M | 90.04M | 87.38M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 1.45M | 1.45M | 1.45M | 1.45M | 1.45M | 1.45M | 1.45M | 0 | 0 | 1.45M |
| Additional Paid-in Capital | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 87.38M | 85.77M | 83.49M | 22.09M | 19.53M | 17.98M | 14.29M | 12.46M | 10.51M | 8.54M | 8.54M | 8.54M | 8.54M | 0 | 0 | 8.23M |
| Retained Earnings | 817M | 788.35M | 736.41M | 692.76M | 646.1M | 583.13M | 529M | 475.25M | 419.18M | 363.79M | 327.87M | 294M | 263.35M | 233.11M | 203.65M | 181.9M | 161.3M | 149.94M | 141.37M | 129.09M | 116.52M | 102.33M | 89.86M | 80.26M | 70.82M | 62.38M | 55.73M | 49.42M | 43.7M | 37.8M | 31.97M |
| Accumulated OCI | -124.46M | -127.14M | -166.5M | -155.19M | -188.92M | 16.09M | 27.74M | 12.06M | -6.19M | -670K | -2.39M | 2.14M | 3.83M | -2.49M | 5.69M | -82.24M | 1.35M | -5.99M | -12.02M | -1.01M | -3.18M | -3.81M | -1.27M | -1.28M | 3.94M | 1.83M | -207K | -4.8M | 1.8M | 700K | 396K |
| Treasury Stock | -59.27M | -35.77M | -15.75M | -15.55M | -15.38M | -15.03M | -14.58M | -4.15M | -3.76M | -3.41M | -2.91M | -2.46M | -2M | -1.99M | -1.64M | -1.22M | -1.42M | -1.54M | -1.55M | -1.34M | -1.13M | -919K | -748K | -918K | -866K | -669K | -544K | -421K | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Preferred Stock | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 54.09M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
Quick answers to the most common questions about buying LKFN stock.
As of 2025, Lakeland Financial Corporation (LKFN) had total assets of $6.99B including $170.3M in current assets.
Lakeland Financial Corporation (LKFN) carries total debt of $184.2M. Comparing total debt to cash helps evaluate the company's debt burden and net leverage.
Lakeland Financial Corporation (LKFN) has total shareholders' equity (book value) of $762.4M ($29.59 book value per share). Book value represents the net worth of the company belonging to common stock holders.
Lakeland Financial Corporation (LKFN) reported a current ratio of 0.03x. A current ratio above 1.0x indicates that the company has more current assets than current liabilities, suggesting sufficient short-term liquidity.
Key Metrics
Top Statement Risk
CRE and agri-business concentration
Metrics are mathematically derived from official filings.
Asset Growth Slows, Mix Shifts
Total assets grew 9.1% YoY to $7.2B in 2026Q2, but the growth was driven by securities, not loans, as cash balances fell sharply from $310M to $64M.
The balance sheet expanded from $6.6B to $7.2B over the past year, yet the composition reveals a strategic pivot: investment securities rose from $6.1B to $6.8B, while cash and bank balances contracted from $147.7M to $64.2M. This suggests the bank is deploying excess liquidity into higher-yielding securities, but loan growth appears muted, as evidenced by the flat NIM and negative revenue growth. The equity-to-assets ratio improved slightly to 10.7%, indicating organic capital accumulation, but the reliance on securities rather than loans may signal limited organic lending opportunities in its concentrated Indiana footprint.
Deposit Base Remains Core Strength
The loan-to-deposit ratio is not disclosed, but the bank's low-cost deposit franchise appears sticky, as evidenced by a stable NIM of 0.8% despite rising rate pressures.
While specific deposit composition data is unavailable, the bank's ability to maintain a flat net interest margin of 0.8% for five consecutive quarters, according to reported figures, suggests that deposit costs are rising in tandem with asset yields, but not outpacing them. The efficiency ratio of 31.8% in 2026Q2, down from 33.5% in 2026Q1, indicates that the bank is managing its expense base effectively, which may reflect a loyal, low-cost deposit base in its rural and mid-sized Indiana markets. However, the negative revenue growth of -1.9% YoY implies that deposit costs are pressuring net interest income, and investors should monitor whether the bank can maintain its deposit beta advantage as competition for funding intensifies.
Credit Quality Stable, Provisions Volatile
Loan loss provisions swung from $6.8M in 2025Q1 to $0 in 2025Q4, then rose to $1.7M in 2026Q2, indicating management's cautious stance amid CRE and agri-business concentration.
The provision for credit losses has been erratic, with a spike to $6.8M in 2025Q1 followed by a zero provision in 2025Q4, and a modest $1.7M in 2026Q2. This volatility suggests that management is adjusting reserves based on forward-looking economic forecasts, particularly for its commercial real estate and agricultural portfolios, which face headwinds from higher interest rates and fluctuating commodity prices. The bank's low debt-to-equity ratio of 0.24% provides a buffer, but the concentration in these sectors warrants ongoing monitoring, as any deterioration could lead to a rapid increase in non-performing assets.
Capital Ratios Strengthen, Buffer Intact
Equity grew to $773.3M in 2026Q2, up from $646.9M a year earlier, lifting the equity-to-assets ratio to 10.7%, while the debt-to-equity ratio remains exceptionally low at 0.24%.
The bank's capital position has improved steadily, with equity increasing by 19.5% YoY, driven by retained earnings and disciplined expense management. The equity-to-assets ratio of 10.7% is healthy for a regional bank, and the near-zero debt-to-equity ratio indicates minimal reliance on wholesale funding, which supports dividend stability and potential for future capital returns. However, the absence of reported EPS for the latest quarter and lack of guidance introduce uncertainty regarding earnings momentum, but the capital buffer appears sufficient to absorb potential credit losses from its concentrated loan book.
Liquidity Shift Toward Securities
Cash and bank balances fell from $310.2M in 2025Q2 to $64.2M in 2026Q2, while investment securities rose to $6.8B, indicating a deliberate deployment of excess liquidity.
The bank has significantly reduced its cash position, from $310.2M in 2025Q2 to $64.2M in 2026Q2, while increasing its investment securities portfolio from $6.3B to $6.8B. This shift suggests that management is optimizing yield on its liquidity, but it also reduces the bank's immediate cash buffer. The loan-to-deposit ratio is not disclosed, but the stable deposit base and low debt-to-equity ratio suggest that the bank is not reliant on wholesale funding. However, the concentration in securities exposes the bank to interest rate risk, as unrealized losses in the portfolio could impact tangible book value, even if they don't flow through the income statement.
NIM Flat, Rate Sensitivity Uncertain
Net interest margin has held at 0.8% for five consecutive quarters, suggesting that asset yields and funding costs are moving in tandem, but the negative revenue growth of -1.9% YoY indicates pressure.
The flat NIM of 0.8% over the past five quarters, according to reported figures, implies that the bank's asset sensitivity has diminished, as loan repricing is being offset by rising deposit costs. The negative revenue growth of -1.9% YoY suggests that the bank may have passed the peak of the rate cycle benefit, and forward visibility is limited by the absence of reported EPS and guidance. Investors should monitor the deposit beta, as any acceleration in deposit cost increases could compress margins further. The bank's concentration in CRE and agri-business also introduces sector-specific risks that could affect credit quality and, consequently, net interest income.
Securities Portfolio Hides Duration Risk
Investment securities ballooned to $6.8B, representing 94% of total assets, while cash dropped to $64M, exposing the balance sheet to potential unrealized losses if rates rise further.
The bank's balance sheet is increasingly dominated by investment securities, which grew from $6.1B to $6.8B over the past year, while cash and bank balances fell to just $64.2M. This concentration in securities, likely longer-duration instruments, may expose the bank to significant unrealized losses in a rising rate environment, which could erode tangible book value even if they don't flow through the income statement. The flat NIM of 0.8% suggests that the securities portfolio is not generating incremental yield, and the negative revenue growth indicates that the bank may be reaching the limits of its current strategy. Investors should scrutinize the duration and credit quality of the securities portfolio, as any mark-to-market losses could impact capital ratios and future earnings.