Free cash flow margin deteriorated from 12.8% in 2024Q3 to -31.5% in 2025Q4 and -13.2% in 2026Q2, with ten-quarter cumulative FCF outflow near $25.6M and a debt-funded $4.9M buyback executed in the same quarter operating cash flow turned negative at -$339K.
Lifeway Foods, Inc. (LWAY) cash flow statement — 30-year operating, investing & financing cash flows
| Metric | TTM | Dec'25 | Dec'24 | Dec'23 | Dec'22 | Dec'21 | Dec'20 | Dec'19 | Dec'18 | Dec'17 | Dec'16 | Dec'15 | Dec'14 | Dec'13 | Dec'12 | Dec'11 | Dec'10 | Dec'09 | Dec'08 | Dec'07 | Dec'06 | Dec'05 | Dec'04 | Dec'03 | Dec'02 | Dec'01 | Dec'00 | Dec'99 | Dec'98 | Dec'97 | Dec'96 |
|---|
| Cash from Operations | 11.2M | 10.95M | 12.96M | 16.94M | 3.99M | 5.56M | 6.38M | 3.81M | 2.42M | 3.81M | 5.1M | 6.75M | 5.06M | 5.84M | 6.63M | 4.04M | 5.62M | 7.6M | 4.73M | 2.35M | 2.16M | 1.59M | 2.2M | 1.86M | 2.85M | 1.8M | 1.59M | 1M | 900K | 900K | 700K |
| Operating CF Margin % | - | 5.15% | 6.94% | 10.58% | 2.82% | 4.67% | 6.26% | 4.07% | 2.34% | 3.2% | 4.12% | 5.69% | 4.25% | 5.99% | 8.15% | 5.78% | 9.6% | 13.08% | 10.65% | 6.06% | 7.78% | 7.91% | 13.48% | 12.49% | 23.3% | 16.82% | 17.31% | 12.66% | 13.24% | 15% | 13.21% |
| Operating CF Growth % | 2999.21% | -15.54% | -23.49% | 324.91% | -28.34% | -12.86% | 67.54% | 57.67% | -36.53% | -25.39% | -24.33% | 33.3% | -13.37% | -11.87% | 63.97% | -28.03% | -26.14% | 60.62% | 101.68% | 8.79% | 35.48% | -27.62% | 18.45% | -34.72% | 58.36% | 13.09% | 58.87% | 11.11% | 0% | 28.57% | 75% |
| Net Income | 10.87M | 13.86M | 9.03M | 11.37M | 924K | 3.31M | 3.23M | 453K | -3.09M | -346K | 3.48M | 1.97M | 2.84M | 4.99M | 5.62M | 2.86M | 3.62M | 5.57M | 1.91M | 3.15M | 2.9M | 2.55M | 2.05M | 2.22M | 1.53M | 1.22M | 927.1K | 700K | 800K | 700K | 600K |
| Depreciation & Amortization | 4.27M | 3.98M | 3.39M | 3.16M | 2.97M | 2.87M | 3.24M | 3.34M | 3.48M | 3.11M | 3.02M | 3.13M | 3.25M | 2.34M | 2.38M | 2.34M | 2.12M | 1.81M | 1.09M | 1.05M | 758.75K | 650.95K | 669.99K | 688.31K | 807.68K | 777.35K | 609.52K | 400K | 400K | 300K | 200K |
| Stock-Based Compensation | 156K | 1.95M | 2.45M | 1.5M | 1.11M | 1.14M | 393K | 838K | 802K | 596K | 326K | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 154.25K | 144.64K | 96.97K | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Deferred Taxes | 0 | -270K | 61K | -28K | -172K | 257K | 841K | 533K | -451K | -352K | -531K | -585K | -719.78K | -238.8K | -434.9K | 68.22K | -96.92K | 389.75K | -509.39K | -223.72K | 33.03K | -100.24K | 45.56K | 9.08K | -64.58K | 47.95K | 149.87K | 100K | 100K | 0 | 0 |
| Other Non-Cash Items | 14.02M | -3.41M | 25K | -26K | 219K | 72K | -83K | -3.47M | 1.69M | 892K | 499K | 475K | 204.7K | 32.6K | 375.23K | 133.66K | -232.73K | 281.3K | 1.76M | 7.97K | 74.17K | -406.75K | -242.41K | 47.29K | 218.31K | -234.52K | -14.8K | -100K | 100K | -100K | 0 |
| Working Capital Changes | -4.25M | -5.16M | -1.98M | 969K | -1.06M | -2.09M | -1.24M | 2.12M | -11K | -94K | -1.69M | 1.86M | -411.15K | -1.39M | -1.32M | -1.35M | 50.59K | -593.52K | 377.73K | -1.1M | -1.25M | -1.1M | -325.03K | -1.11M | 355.24K | -14.98K | -83K | -100K | -400K | -900K | -100K |
| Change in Receivables | -6.93M | -913K | -2.18M | -2.42M | -1.18M | -2.24M | -655K | -423K | 2.38M | 780K | 292K | 537K | 54.91K | -1.74M | -1.21M | -1.49M | -811.29K | -612.91K | -626.75K | 0 | 0 | -493.58K | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Change in Inventory | -3.76M | -3.21M | 426K | 527K | -1.34M | -1.36M | -538K | -523K | 1.32M | -29K | -579K | -1.85M | 1.08M | -959.82K | -984.71K | -969.1K | -682.4K | 173.42K | 409.01K | -984.36K | -585.56K | -811.3K | -94.13K | -91.07K | 80.27K | 119.24K | -76.05K | 0 | -200K | -200K | -100K |
| Change in Payables | 6.48M | 238K | 156K | 1.86M | 1.95M | 1.02M | 311K | 710K | -2.28M | 1.13M | -2.67M | 1.55M | -1.14M | 2.47M | -129.51K | 202.76K | 1.42M | 298.8K | 665.94K | 0 | 0 | -215.4K | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Cash from Investing | -42.12M | -22.04M | -6.68M | -4.41M | -4.03M | -7.14M | -1.89M | 838K | -2.72M | -5.32M | -360K | -1.78M | -4.23M | -7.86M | -1.56M | -2.11M | 1.41M | -12.04M | -2.62M | -901.33K | -3.46M | -5.57M | -1.01M | 39.35K | 17.46K | -1.92M | -4.7M | -2M | -700K | -1.3M | -1.3M |
| Capital Expenditures | -14.98M | -27.36M | -6.7M | -4.35M | -3.45M | -1.92M | -1.9M | -1.18M | -2.82M | -5.34M | -3.24M | -2M | -3.65M | -8.48M | -1.43M | -1.44M | -2.23M | -1.77M | -2.16M | -1.82M | -680.17K | -4.92M | -330.41K | -415.06K | -259.16K | -712.8K | -1.1M | -800K | -600K | -1.3M | -1.4M |
| CapEx % of Revenue | 6.18% | 12.88% | 3.58% | 2.72% | 2.44% | 1.61% | 1.86% | 1.26% | 2.73% | 4.49% | 2.61% | 1.68% | 3.07% | 8.7% | 1.76% | 2.06% | 3.81% | 3.04% | 4.85% | 4.71% | 2.45% | 24.42% | 2.02% | 2.79% | 2.12% | 6.67% | 11.94% | 10.13% | 8.82% | 21.67% | 26.42% |
| Acquisitions | 115K | 0 | 0 | 0 | -580K | -5.22M | 0 | 522K | 104K | 50K | -341K | 716K | 49.59K | 286.68K | 150.25K | 0 | -270K | -11.04M | 733.65K | 0 | -2.55M | -445.33K | -511.8K | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Investments | - | - | - | - | - | - | - | - | - | - | - | - | - | - | - | - | - | - | - | - | - | - | - | - | - | - | - | - | - | - | - |
| Other Investing | -25.45M | 115K | 15K | 41K | 0 | 0 | 5K | 0 | 104K | 50K | 513K | -363K | 15K | 424K | -150.25K | -50K | 402K | -278.47K | -733.65K | 0 | 0 | 445.33K | 0 | 1.71M | -431.8K | 357.14K | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Cash from Financing | 16.78M | -65K | -2.75M | -3.78M | -4.75M | 2.88M | -405K | -3.81M | -1.68M | -2.33M | -1.58M | -2.58M | -877.21K | 3.04M | -3.9M | -4.04M | -4.43M | 4.79M | -2.44M | -2.4M | -1.51M | 2.56M | -13.47K | -30.71K | -1.07M | -381.35K | -90.61K | 5M | -100K | -100K | 900K |
| Debt Issued (Net) | 22M | 0 | -2.75M | -3.78M | -750K | 4.5M | 0 | -3.27M | -298K | -840K | -840K | -1.04M | -877.21K | 4.35M | -1.58M | -2.86M | -2.76M | 5.69M | -1.2M | -1.65M | -858.66K | 2.96M | -28.47K | -30.71K | -675.15K | -94.32K | -90.61K | -100K | -100K | -100K | 900K |
| Equity Issued (Net) | -4.94M | 0 | 0 | 0 | -4M | -1.58M | -405K | -538K | -1.38M | -1.49M | -738K | -1.54M | 0 | 0 | -580.71K | -1.18M | -2.67M | -905.61K | -1.24M | -752.6K | -648.63K | -401.55K | 15K | 0 | -392.92K | -287.03K | 0 | 5.1M | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Dividends Paid | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | -1.31M | -1.15M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Share Repurchases | -4.94M | 0 | 0 | 0 | -4M | -1.58M | -405K | -538K | -1.38M | -1.49M | -738K | -1.54M | 0 | 0 | -580.71K | -1.18M | -2.67M | -905.61K | -1.24M | -752.6K | -648.63K | -401.55K | 0 | 0 | -392.92K | -287.03K | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Other Financing | -283K | -65K | 0 | 0 | 0 | -32K | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 214 | 0 | -592.04K | 0 | 998.23K | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | -6.64K | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Net Change in Cash | -14.13M | -11.16M | 3.53M | 8.75M | -4.79M | 1.31M | 4.09M | 838K | -1.98M | -3.83M | 3.17M | 2.39M | -46.36K | 1.02M | 1.17M | -2.11M | 2.6M | 353.16K | -318.64K | -951.93K | -2.81M | -1.42M | 1.18M | 1.87M | 1.79M | -500.15K | -3.2M | 4M | -100K | -100K | 900K |
| Free Cash Flow | -31.14M | -16.41M | 6.26M | 12.59M | 538K | 3.64M | 4.49M | 2.63M | -407K | -1.53M | 1.87M | 4.75M | 1.41M | -2.64M | 5.2M | 2.6M | 3.39M | 5.84M | 2.58M | 522.26K | 1.48M | -3.32M | 1.87M | 1.44M | 2.59M | 1.08M | 492.75K | 200K | 300K | -400K | -700K |
| FCF Margin % | -12.84% | -7.72% | 3.35% | 7.86% | 0.38% | 3.06% | 4.4% | 2.81% | -0.39% | -1.29% | 1.51% | 4.01% | 1.18% | -2.71% | 6.39% | 3.72% | 5.79% | 10.04% | 5.79% | 1.35% | 5.33% | -16.51% | 11.46% | 9.7% | 21.18% | 10.15% | 5.37% | 2.53% | 4.41% | -6.67% | -13.21% |
| FCF Growth % | -2465.96% | -361.98% | -50.24% | 2240.15% | -85.23% | -18.89% | 70.53% | 746.93% | 73.45% | -182.11% | -60.69% | 237.4% | 153.35% | -150.76% | 99.74% | -23.14% | -41.98% | 126.55% | 393.31% | -64.65% | 144.44% | -277.79% | 29.62% | -44.22% | 138.59% | 119.98% | 146.37% | -33.33% | 175% | 42.86% | -275% |
| FCF per Share | -2.04 | -1.06 | 0.41 | 0.83 | 0.03 | 0.23 | 0.28 | 0.17 | -0.02 | -0.10 | 0.12 | 0.29 | 0.09 | -0.16 | 0.32 | 0.16 | 0.20 | 0.35 | 0.15 | 0.03 | 0.09 | -0.20 | 0.11 | 0.09 | 0.15 | 0.06 | 0.03 | 0.01 | 0.02 | -0.03 | -0.05 |
| FCF Conversion (FCF/Net Income) | -2.86x | 0.79x | 1.44x | 1.49x | 4.31x | 1.68x | 1.98x | 8.41x | -0.78x | -11.01x | 1.47x | 3.42x | 1.78x | 1.17x | 1.18x | 1.42x | 1.55x | 1.37x | 2.48x | 0.74x | 0.75x | 0.62x | 1.07x | 0.84x | 1.86x | 1.47x | 1.71x | 1.43x | 1.13x | 1.29x | 1.17x |
| Interest Paid | 232K | 58K | 98K | 415K | 247K | 102K | 99K | 0 | 261K | 241K | 220K | 235K | 267K | 206K | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Taxes Paid | 5.31M | 5.59M | 5.99M | 4.79M | 1.12M | 2.29M | 0 | 0 | 723K | 2.38M | 1.42M | 1.92M | 3.08M | 4.36M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
Quick answers to the most common questions about buying LWAY stock.
Lifeway Foods, Inc. (LWAY) generated $10.9M in net cash from operating activities in 2025. This reflects the cash generated directly from core business operations.
Lifeway Foods, Inc. (LWAY) reported negative free cash flow of $16.4M in 2025, indicating capital requirements exceeded cash from operations.
Lifeway Foods, Inc. (LWAY) spent $27.4M on capital expenditures in 2025. CapEx represents the cash invested in physical assets like property, plant, and equipment to maintain or grow the business.
Key Metrics
Top Statement Risk
Capex-heavy expansion burning free cash
Metrics are mathematically derived from official filings.
Earnings Conversion Turns Negative
Lifeway converted 2026Q2 net income of $127K into negative operating cash flow of $339K, an OCF-to-net-income ratio of -2.67, marking the second operating cash outflow in ten quarters, per the company's quarterly cash flow statements.
The conversion profile has deteriorated sharply rather than gradually: the OCF/NI ratio fell from 1.96 in 2025Q3 to 0.11 in 2025Q4 and then to -2.67, implying that recent reported earnings are not translating into cash at the rate prior quarters suggested. Working capital absorbed $468K in 2026Q2 and $2.0M in 2026Q1, so the shortfall appears tied to both cash costs and cycle drag rather than a single non-recurring item. Read alongside the gross margin contraction to 19.5% noted in the income statement work, the weak conversion suggests profitability is now as fragile in cash terms as it is on the income statement.
Free Cash Flow Swings Deeply Negative
Free cash flow collapsed from a 12.8% margin in 2024Q3 to -31.5% in 2025Q4 and remained negative at -13.2% in 2026Q2, with ten-quarter cumulative FCF of roughly $25.6M outflow against positive net income, based on LWAY's reported cash flow figures.
The ten-quarter record shows an abrupt regime change: 2024 produced modestly positive FCF ($5.1M-$5.9M in the middle quarters), while the last three quarters have consumed roughly $32.9M cumulative, an order-of-magnitude shift that investors should treat as a new baseline until proven otherwise. Against packaged-food peers posting positive FCF margins (JJSF at 7.1%, SMPL at 8.6%, FRPT at 14.3%), LWAY's -13.2% latest reading implies the company is currently funding growth from the balance sheet rather than operations. The trajectory therefore contradicts any read-through that accelerating revenue growth is self-funding.
Capital Intensity Rises Six-Fold
Lifeway's capital spending surged to 17.5% of revenue in 2026Q1 and 12.7% in 2026Q2 versus 2.7% in 2024Q4, with $29.2M deployed over three quarters against quarterly depreciation near $1.1M, as reported in the cash flow statements.
Capex running at roughly eight to ten times quarterly depreciation indicates the spending is overwhelmingly expansionary rather than replacement-oriented, though the maintenance-versus-growth split is not separately disclosed in the supplied data. That distinction matters because the spending landed during a period when gross margin compressed to 19.5%, which raises an open question about the return hurdle on these assets. The step-change from a 3%-of-revenue capital program to a mid-teens one permanently alters LWAY's cash profile if the spending proves recurring.
Buyback Launched Amid Cash Outflow
Lifeway repurchased $4.9M of stock in 2026Q2, its only buyback in ten quarters and the same quarter operating cash flow turned negative at -$339K with $8.8M of free cash outflow, per the reported cash flow statement.
Capital returns have otherwise been nonexistent, with zero dividends paid across all ten quarters and only a $115K net acquisition in 2025Q4, so the sudden buyback represents a discretionary deployment choice against a backdrop of negative free cash flow. The timing suggests management view the shares as undervalued, but the supplied data does not disclose how the repurchase was funded, making it premature to infer balance-sheet strain or comfort from this single line. Investors should monitor whether the buyback program persists alongside the elevated capex program, as sustaining both would presumably require external financing.
Cash Flow Overstates True Cost
The 2026Q2 operating cash outflow of $339K includes a $535K non-cash stock-compensation add-back, so underlying cash costs ran nearer $874K, while the $535K expense itself exceeds that quarter's $127K net income yet never reduces reported free cash flow.
Cumulative stock-based compensation of roughly $3.5M over the ten quarters is added back inside operating cash flow each period, so both OCF and FCF are flattered relative to the dilution shareholders absorb, a gap that appears material when quarterly net income is itself only $127K. Similarly, the $8.5M-$11.0M quarterly capex lines may include costs that could have been expensed, meaning reported operating cash flow benefits from capitalization choices that are not separately identified in the supplied data. Taken together, these adjustments suggest the reported cash picture is somewhat better than the economic one, warranting further investigation of the underlying filings before concluding cash generation has stabilized.