Equity-to-assets improved to 0.25 from 0.21 a year earlier, with equity growing to $3.8B, but total assets grew only modestly to $14.3B as the securities portfolio contracted by $0.7B, reflecting ongoing runoff.
Nelnet, Inc. (NNI) balance sheet — 24-year assets, liabilities & shareholders' equity history
| Metric | TTM | Dec'25 | Dec'24 | Dec'23 | Dec'22 | Dec'21 | Dec'20 | Dec'19 | Dec'18 | Dec'17 | Dec'16 | Dec'15 | Dec'14 | Dec'13 | Dec'12 | Dec'11 | Dec'10 | Dec'09 | Dec'08 | Dec'07 | Dec'06 | Dec'05 | Dec'04 | Dec'03 | Dec'02 |
|---|
| Cash & Short Term Investments | 4.02B | 973.55M | 1.18B | 1.11B | 1.51B | 1.06B | 469.86M | 186.61M | 192.03M | 147.65M | 176.14M | 0 | 271.77M | 244.35M | 138.88M | 817.48M | 283.8M | 12.3M | 189.85M | 111.75M | 106.09M | 34.49M | 39.99M | 198.42M | 40.16M |
| Cash & Due from Banks | 172.43M | 973.55M | 194.52M | 168.11M | 118.15M | 125.56M | 121.25M | 133.91M | 121.35M | 66.75M | 69.65M | 63.53M | 130.48M | 63.27M | 66.03M | 42.57M | 283.8M | 338.18M | 189.85M | 111.75M | 106.09M | 103.65M | 39.99M | 198.42M | 40.16M |
| Short Term Investments | 1.38B | 0 | 983.84M | 937.93M | 1.39B | 929.67M | 348.61M | 52.7M | 53.04M | 76.97M | 103.9M | 142.01M | 141.29M | 181.08M | 72.85M | 614.32M | 0 | -325.88M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 160.48M | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Total Investments | 11.96B | 11.79B | 11.93B | 14.8B | 17.24B | 19.88B | 21.13B | 21.6B | 243.31M | 255.58M | 295.22M | 379.19M | 290.42M | 373.12M | 156.16M | 665.1M | 43.24M | -325.88M | 0 | 85.23M | 129.13M | 160.48M | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Investments Growth % | -6.32% | -1.12% | -19.39% | -14.19% | -13.24% | -5.92% | -2.21% | 8779.78% | -4.8% | -13.43% | -22.14% | 30.57% | -22.17% | 138.93% | -76.52% | 1438.31% | 113.27% | - | -100% | -34% | -19.53% | - | - | - | - |
| Long-Term Investments | 45.24B | 11.79B | 10.94B | 13.86B | 15.86B | 18.95B | 20.78B | 21.55B | 0 | 174.68M | 188.73M | 234.75M | 149.12M | 192.04M | 83.31M | 50.78M | 43.24M | 0 | 0 | 85.23M | 129.13M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Accounts Receivables | 169.92M | 839.37M | 159.93M | 196.2M | 194.85M | 163.31M | 76.46M | 115.39M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 402.14M | 370.63M | 371.16M | 372.06M | 370.77M | 371.36M | 513.97M | 22.45M | 26.07M | 430.96M | 251.1M | 196.63M | 177.01M |
| Goodwill & Intangibles | 302.84M | 187.31M | 194.36M | 202.85M | 240.4M | 194.12M | 217.16M | 238.44M | 271.2M | 177.19M | 195.13M | 197.06M | 168.78M | 123.25M | 126.51M | 145.49M | 155.83M | 197.25M | 252.23M | 277.52M | 354.41M | 252.65M | 278.26M | 213.92M | 191.85M |
| Goodwill | 206.84M | 0 | 158.03M | 158.03M | 176.9M | 142.09M | 142.09M | 156.91M | 156.91M | 138.76M | 147.31M | 146M | 126.2M | 117.12M | 117.12M | 117.12M | 117.12M | 143.72M | 175.18M | 164.69M | 191.42M | 203.34M | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Intangible Assets | 96M | 187.31M | 36.33M | 44.82M | 63.5M | 52.03M | 75.07M | 81.53M | 114.29M | 38.43M | 47.81M | 51.06M | 42.58M | 6.13M | 9.39M | 28.37M | 38.71M | 53.54M | 77.05M | 112.83M | 162.99M | 49.31M | 278.26M | 213.92M | 191.85M |
| PP&E (Net) | 80.73M | 85.21M | 95.19M | 127.01M | 122.53M | 119.41M | 123.53M | 348.26M | 344.78M | 248.05M | 123.79M | 80.48M | 45.89M | 33.83M | 31.87M | 34.82M | 30.57M | 26.61M | 38.75M | 55.8M | 67.92M | 36.75M | 29.87M | 19.14M | 12.91M |
| Other Assets | 751.78M | 111.48M | 1.17B | 1.17B | 1.42B | 1.2B | 980.3M | 1.27B | -23.36B | -22.63B | -25.75B | 1.28B | 1.45B | 1.26B | 1.47B | 24.94B | -43.24M | 0 | 0 | 192.3M | 225.28M | -36.75M | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Total Current Assets | 2.56B | 1.81B | 1.37B | 1.36B | 1.73B | 1.22B | 546.32M | 302M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 883.97M | 900.99M | 791.2M | 879.1M | 677.98M | 721.37M | 667.53M | 1.04B | 87.39M | 103.56M | 86.19M | 15.11B | 412.35M | 232.01M |
| Total Non-Current Assets | 11.71B | 12.25B | 12.41B | 15.36B | 17.64B | 20.46B | 22.1B | 23.41B | 2.65B | 1.93B | 1.95B | 1.79B | 1.81B | 1.61B | 1.71B | 25.17B | 186.4M | 223.86M | 290.98M | 333.32M | 422.34M | 252.65M | 50.38M | 30.77M | 36.82M |
| Total Assets | 14.28B | 14.06B | 13.78B | 16.71B | 19.37B | 21.68B | 22.65B | 23.71B | 25.22B | 23.96B | 27.18B | 30.49B | 30.1B | 27.77B | 26.61B | 25.85B | 25.89B | 25.88B | 27.85B | 29.16B | 26.8B | 22.8B | 15.16B | 11.93B | 9.77B |
| Asset Growth % | 4.62% | 2.08% | -17.56% | -13.74% | -10.63% | -4.28% | -4.48% | -6% | 5.24% | -11.83% | -10.84% | 1.29% | 8.38% | 4.37% | 2.92% | -0.16% | 0.07% | -7.1% | -4.48% | 8.83% | 17.54% | 50.39% | 27.06% | 22.17% | - |
| Return on Assets (ROA) | 2.14% | 3.08% | 1.21% | 0.5% | 1.98% | 1.77% | 1.52% | 0.58% | 0.93% | 0.68% | 0.89% | 0.88% | 1.06% | 1.11% | 0.68% | 0.79% | 0.73% | 0.52% | 0.1% | 0.12% | 0.27% | 0.94% | 1.1% | 0.25% | 0.5% |
| Accounts Payable | 16.27M | 0 | 21.05M | 35.39M | 36.05M | 4.57M | 28.7M | 47.28M | 61.68M | 50.04M | 45.68M | 31.51M | 25.9M | 21.73M | 14.77M | 19.63M | 19.15M | 19.83M | 81.58M | 129.45M | 120.21M | 94.28M | 48.58M | 17.18M | 20.25M |
| Total Debt | 7.04B | 7.79B | 8.31B | 11.83B | 14.64B | 17.65B | 19.34B | 20.53B | 22.22B | 21.36B | 24.67B | 28.17B | 28.03B | 25.96B | 25.1B | 24.43B | 24.67B | 24.81B | 26.79B | 28.12B | 25.56B | 21.67B | 14.3B | 11.37B | 9.45B |
| Net Debt | 6.87B | 6.82B | 8.12B | 11.66B | 14.52B | 17.52B | 19.22B | 20.4B | 21.85B | 21.05B | 24.34B | 27.81B | 27.9B | 25.89B | 25.03B | 24.39B | 24.39B | 24.47B | 26.6B | 28B | 25.46B | 21.57B | 14.26B | 11.17B | 9.41B |
| Long-Term Debt | 5.82B | 7.79B | 7.37B | 10.2B | 12.94B | 17.03B | 18.77B | 19.58B | 22.22B | 21.36B | 24.67B | 28.17B | 28.03B | 25.96B | 25.1B | 24.43B | 24.5B | 22.68B | 25.99B | 21.18B | 20.29B | 17.41B | 14.3B | 11.37B | 9.45B |
| Short-Term Debt | 1.22B | 4.74M | 943.16M | 1.63B | 1.7B | 600.91M | 553.37M | 944.66M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 8.9M | 175.62M | 861.47M | 2.85B | 6.94B | 5.28B | 4.91B | 2.29B | 0 | 0 |
| Other Liabilities | 1.36B | 2.55B | 961.66M | 904.89M | 809.58M | 729.33M | 595.02M | 741.54M | -22.22B | -21.36B | -24.67B | -28.17B | -28.03B | -25.96B | -25.1B | -24.43B | -24.5B | -23.94B | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Total Current Liabilities | 3.46B | 4.74M | 2.15B | 2.41B | 2.43B | 949.79M | 636.71M | 991.95M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 403M | 17.18M | 20.25M |
| Total Non-Current Liabilities | 7.18B | 10.48B | 8.33B | 11.1B | 13.75B | 17.78B | 19.38B | 20.33B | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 26.79B | 28.12B | 25.56B | 372M | 14.3B | 11.37B | 9.45B |
| Total Liabilities | 10.64B | 10.49B | 10.48B | 13.51B | 16.17B | 18.73B | 20.02B | 21.32B | 22.91B | 21.8B | 25.11B | 28.59B | 28.37B | 26.33B | 25.44B | 24.79B | 24.99B | 25.09B | 27.21B | 28.55B | 26.13B | 22.15B | 14.7B | 11.63B | 9.66B |
| Total Equity | 3.64B | 3.58B | 3.3B | 3.2B | 3.2B | 2.95B | 2.63B | 2.39B | 2.31B | 2.17B | 2.07B | 1.89B | 1.73B | 1.44B | 1.17B | 1.07B | 906.63M | 784.56M | 643.23M | 608.88M | 671.85M | 650.12M | 456.18M | 305.49M | 108.75M |
| Equity Growth % | 31.77% | 8.43% | 3.09% | 0.01% | 8.37% | 12.35% | 9.92% | 3.3% | 6.9% | 4.56% | 9.45% | 9.65% | 19.51% | 23.93% | 9.29% | 17.6% | 15.56% | 21.97% | 5.64% | -9.37% | 3.34% | 42.52% | 49.33% | 180.92% | - |
| Equity / Assets (Capital Ratio) | 25.47% | 25.44% | 23.95% | 19.15% | 16.52% | 13.62% | 11.61% | 10.09% | 9.18% | 9.04% | 7.62% | 6.21% | 5.73% | 5.2% | 4.38% | 4.12% | 3.5% | 3.03% | 2.31% | 2.09% | 2.51% | 2.85% | 3.01% | 2.56% | 1.11% |
| Return on Equity (ROE) | 8.39% | 12.46% | 5.66% | 2.81% | 13.23% | 14.09% | 14.04% | 6.03% | 10.17% | 8.18% | 12.96% | 14.81% | 19.41% | 23.2% | 15.95% | 20.71% | 22.36% | 19.49% | 4.58% | 5.13% | 9.97% | 32.19% | 39.17% | 13.09% | 44.63% |
| Book Value per Share | 100.88 | 98.47 | 90.03 | 85.53 | 85.10 | 77.82 | 68.26 | 60.50 | 56.58 | 51.81 | 48.53 | 41.56 | 37.14 | 31.01 | 24.60 | 22.14 | 18.38 | 15.79 | 13.10 | 12.24 | 12.54 | 12.09 | 8.50 | 6.76 | 2.42 |
| Tangible BV per Share | 92.48 | 93.31 | 84.73 | 80.10 | 78.70 | 72.71 | 62.62 | 54.47 | 49.95 | 47.57 | 43.96 | 37.23 | 33.50 | 28.36 | 21.93 | 19.12 | 15.22 | 11.82 | 7.96 | 6.66 | 5.92 | 7.39 | 3.32 | 2.03 | -1.85 |
| Common Stock | 358K | 359K | 363K | 371K | 372K | 379K | 384K | 398K | 403K | 408K | 421K | 440K | 463K | 464K | 466K | 471K | 483K | 499K | 493K | 495K | 525K | 540K | 537K | 536K | 449K |
| Additional Paid-in Capital | 1.78M | 1.48M | 7.39M | 3.1M | 1.11M | 1M | 3.79M | 5.71M | 622K | 521K | 420K | 0 | 17.29M | 24.89M | 32.54M | 49.24M | 76.26M | 109.36M | 103.76M | 96.19M | 177.68M | 220.43M | 207.91M | 206.83M | 37.89M |
| Retained Earnings | 3.77B | 3.68B | 3.34B | 3.27B | 3.23B | 2.94B | 2.62B | 2.38B | 2.3B | 2.14B | 2.06B | 1.88B | 1.7B | 1.41B | 1.13B | 1.02B | 831.06M | 676.15M | 540.52M | 515.32M | 496.34M | 428.19M | 247.06M | 97.89M | 70.78M |
| Accumulated OCI | -1.85M | 2.62M | 1.47M | -20.12M | -37.37M | 9.3M | 6.1M | 2.97M | 3.88M | 4.62M | 4.73M | 2.28M | 5.13M | 4.82M | 2.81M | 0 | 0 | 0 | -82.61M | 0 | -5.04M | 334K | 659K | 237K | 0 |
| Treasury Stock | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Preferred Stock | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 117K | 383K | 270K | 0 | 0 | 181K | 187K | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 5.04M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
Quick answers to the most common questions about buying NNI stock.
As of 2025, Nelnet, Inc. (NNI) had total assets of $14.06B including $1.81B in current assets.
Nelnet, Inc. (NNI) carries total debt of $7.79B. Comparing total debt to cash helps evaluate the company's debt burden and net leverage.
Nelnet, Inc. (NNI) has total shareholders' equity (book value) of $3.69B ($98.47 book value per share). Book value represents the net worth of the company belonging to common stock holders.
Nelnet, Inc. (NNI) reported a current ratio of 382.15x. A current ratio above 1.0x indicates that the company has more current assets than current liabilities, suggesting sufficient short-term liquidity.
Key Metrics
Top Statement Risk
FFELP runoff and regulatory shifts
Metrics are mathematically derived from official filings.
Asset Growth Slows as Runoff Persists
Total assets grew modestly to $14.3B in Q2 2026 from $13.7B a year earlier, but the securities portfolio contracted by $0.7B, indicating a shift toward cash and other assets, per reported balance sheet data.
The balance sheet expansion of 4.4% year-over-year is modest and appears driven by cash accumulation ($172.4M) and possibly other assets, while investment securities declined from $12.7B to $12.0B. This suggests a strategic repositioning away from securities, possibly to fund loan growth or other ventures. The equity base strengthened to $3.8B, lifting the equity-to-assets ratio to 0.25, indicating improved capital cushion. However, the lack of loan growth data and the shrinking securities book imply that asset growth is not organic but rather a reallocation, which may not be sustainable.
Deposit Base Stability Uncertain
The loan-to-deposit ratio is not disclosed, but the stability of operating cash flow suggests deposit funding remains reliable, though the composition and cost of deposits are not visible in the provided data, according to financial statements.
Without explicit deposit data, the quality of the deposit franchise cannot be fully assessed. The absence of a loan-to-deposit ratio and deposit breakdown limits analysis, but the consistent operating cash flow implies that funding sources are stable. Given the company's diversified funding, including potential wholesale sources, investors should monitor deposit betas and any shift toward more expensive funding, especially as NIM remains thin at 0.7%.
Credit Quality Improves with Reserve Releases
Loan loss provisions turned negative at -$47.3M in Q2 2026, reversing from positive provisions in prior quarters, suggesting a release of reserves as the FFELP portfolio runs off, based on reported figures.
The negative provision in Q2 2026 is a notable shift from the positive provisions seen in 2024 and early 2025, indicating that management may be releasing reserves as the loan book shrinks. This could signal improving credit quality or a strategic reduction in allowance coverage. However, the sharp reversal from +$17.9M in Q2 2025 to -$47.3M warrants scrutiny; it may reflect a one-time adjustment or a more aggressive approach to reserve releases. Investors should monitor whether this trend continues and whether it masks underlying deterioration in the remaining portfolio.
Capital Ratios Strengthen Modestly
Equity-to-assets improved to 0.25 in Q2 2026 from 0.21 a year earlier, and equity grew to $3.8B, indicating a stronger capital position, as per balance sheet data.
The equity-to-assets ratio has risen steadily from 0.21 in Q2 2024 to 0.25 in Q2 2026, reflecting retained earnings and possibly reduced asset growth. This provides a larger buffer for potential losses and supports future capital deployment. However, regulatory capital ratios (CET1, Tier 1) are not disclosed, limiting a full assessment. The low debt-to-equity ratio of 2.18% is unusually low for a financial institution and may indicate a conservative leverage stance, but it also suggests that the company is not maximizing balance sheet efficiency. The improved capital position could support continued investment in growth segments like Allo and EdTech.
Liquidity Position Bolstered by Cash and Securities
Cash and bank balances rose to $172.4M in Q2 2026 from $145.5M a year earlier, while investment securities remained substantial at $12.0B, providing ample liquidity, according to reported figures.
The liquidity profile appears robust, with a large securities portfolio that can be sold or pledged, and cash levels that, while fluctuating, remain adequate. The spike in cash to $973.5M in Q4 2025 suggests seasonal or strategic buildup, but the subsequent decline to $172.4M indicates deployment into other assets. The lack of wholesale funding data limits analysis, but the securities portfolio likely provides a cushion. However, the reliance on securities for liquidity may be affected by unrealized losses in a rising rate environment, though the company uses derivatives to hedge.
NIM Expansion Limited by Rate Environment
Net interest margin improved to 0.7% in Q2 2026 from 0.5% a year earlier, but remains thin, and the efficiency ratio spiked to 73.9%, indicating potential margin pressure, as per financial statements.
The modest NIM improvement suggests that the yield on assets is rising faster than funding costs, possibly due to the floating-rate nature of the FFELP portfolio and hedging activities. However, the efficiency ratio deterioration to 73.9% from 36.7% a year earlier signals that operating expenses are outpacing revenue, which could erode profitability. The negative provision in Q2 2026 may have temporarily boosted earnings, but the underlying NIM remains low. Forward visibility is limited by the lack of guidance, but the runoff of high-yielding FFELP loans and potential rate cuts could compress NIM further. Investors should monitor deposit betas and the impact of the USDS contract on servicing margins.
Hidden Risks in Derivatives and Off-Balance Sheet Items
The balance sheet may be exposed to derivative market-to-market adjustments and off-balance sheet guarantees, which are not fully disclosed, potentially masking true risk, based on reported figures.
The company's use of interest rate swaps to hedge the loan portfolio introduces volatility in other comprehensive income, which is not captured in the provided data. Additionally, the low debt-to-equity ratio of 2.18% is suspiciously low for a financial institution, suggesting that significant liabilities may be off-balance sheet or that the company uses alternative funding structures. The lack of disclosure on loan-to-deposit ratio and wholesale funding raises questions about the true leverage and liquidity risk. Investors should scrutinize the footnotes for off-balance sheet arrangements, such as guarantees or commitments related to the fiber build-out or servicing contracts, which could represent contingent liabilities.