Total assets grew 7.9% YoY to $745.4B with equity-to-assets at 6%, but the redeployment of cash into investment securities ($491.3B) may expose the bank to unrealized losses if yields rise.
NatWest Group plc (NWG) balance sheet — 30-year assets, liabilities & shareholders' equity history
| Metric | TTM | Dec'25 | Dec'24 | Dec'23 | Dec'22 | Dec'21 | Dec'20 | Dec'19 | Dec'18 | Dec'17 | Dec'16 | Dec'15 | Dec'14 | Dec'13 | Dec'12 | Dec'11 | Dec'10 | Dec'09 | Dec'08 | Dec'07 | Dec'06 | Dec'05 | Dec'04 | Dec'03 | Dec'02 | Dec'01 | Dec'00 | Sep'99 | Sep'98 | Sep'97 | Sep'96 |
|---|
| Cash & Short Term Investments | 470.75B | 98.23B | 106.93B | 116.47B | 154.98B | 261.23B | 209.81B | 145.91B | 89.38B | 99.35B | 75.03B | 79.4B | 74.87B | 82.66B | 79.29B | 79.27B | 57.01B | 52.26B | 12.4B | 17.87B | 6.12B | 4.76B | 4.29B | 3.82B | 3.48B | 3.09B | 16.9B | 8.16B | 6.22B | 9.54B | 7.03B |
| Cash & Due from Banks | 77.11B | 85.35B | 93.05B | 104.52B | 145.06B | 177.82B | 124.64B | 81.04B | 88.9B | 98.34B | 74.25B | 79.4B | 74.87B | 82.66B | 79.29B | 79.27B | 57.01B | 52.26B | 11.83B | 17.87B | 6.12B | 4.76B | 4.29B | 6.32B | 3.48B | 3.09B | 16.9B | 8.16B | 6.22B | 9.54B | 7.03B |
| Short Term Investments | 18.09B | 12.88B | 13.88B | 11.95B | 9.92B | 83.41B | 85.17B | 64.87B | -54.09B | 1.02B | 781M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 570M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | -2.5B | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Total Investments | 491.28B | 458.84B | 456.04B | 445.42B | 463.23B | 174.32B | 222.93B | 185.28B | 213.36B | 216.44B | 320.21B | 345.97B | 445.87B | 410.45B | 614.57B | 753.88B | 666.75B | 728.24B | 1.27T | 625.08B | 262.93B | 231.47B | 122.54B | 82.25B | 68.93B | 65.6B | 92.34B | 22.85B | 21.55B | 13.25B | 10.61B |
| Investments Growth % | 13.29% | 0.61% | 2.38% | -3.84% | 165.73% | -21.8% | 20.32% | -13.16% | -1.42% | -32.4% | -7.45% | -22.41% | 8.63% | -33.21% | -18.48% | 13.07% | -8.44% | -42.51% | 102.64% | 137.74% | 13.59% | 88.89% | 48.99% | 19.33% | 5.08% | -28.96% | 304.11% | 6.01% | 62.65% | 24.95% | 22.12% |
| Long-Term Investments | 1.84T | 445.95B | 442.16B | 433.47B | 453.31B | 90.92B | 137.76B | 120.41B | 267.45B | 216.44B | 320.21B | 345.97B | 445.87B | 410.45B | 614.57B | 753.88B | 666.75B | 728.24B | 1.27T | 625.08B | 262.93B | 231.47B | 122.54B | 82.25B | 68.93B | 65.6B | 92.34B | 22.85B | 21.55B | 13.25B | 10.61B |
| Accounts Receivables | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 248M | 216M | 275M | 317M | 378M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Goodwill & Intangibles | 10.21B | 7.29B | 7.59B | 7.61B | 7.12B | 6.72B | 6.66B | 6.62B | 6.62B | 6.54B | 6.48B | 6.54B | 7.78B | 12.37B | 13.54B | 14.86B | 14.45B | 17.85B | 35.61B | 49.92B | 18.9B | 19.93B | 19.24B | 13.13B | 12.7B | 13.32B | 12.08B | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Goodwill | 10.21B | 5.52B | 5.67B | 5.68B | 5.52B | 5.52B | 5.61B | 5.61B | 5.61B | 5.56B | 5.56B | 5.56B | 6.26B | 10.14B | 11.27B | 12.42B | 0 | 0 | 15.56B | 42.95B | 17.89B | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Intangible Assets | 0 | 1.77B | 1.91B | 1.93B | 1.59B | 1.2B | 1.05B | 1.01B | 1.01B | 985M | 922M | 979M | 1.52B | 2.23B | 2.28B | 2.43B | 14.45B | 17.85B | 20.05B | 6.96B | 1.01B | 19.93B | 19.24B | 13.13B | 12.7B | 13.32B | 12.08B | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| PP&E (Net) | 0 | 4.28B | 3.97B | 4.23B | 4.24B | 4.23B | 4.42B | 4.93B | 4.35B | 4.6B | 4.59B | 4.48B | 6.17B | 7.91B | 9.78B | 11.87B | 16.54B | 19.4B | 17.17B | 18.75B | 18.42B | 18.05B | 16.43B | 13.93B | 10.48B | 8.81B | 6.12B | 2.53B | 2B | 1.08B | 955M |
| Other Assets | 166.78B | 157.47B | 145.46B | 128.6B | 97.61B | 417.09B | 439.41B | 443.5B | -224.33B | -1.74B | -1.8B | -2.63B | -459.82B | -430.73B | -637.9B | -780.61B | -697.75B | -765.48B | -1.3T | -693.75B | -300.25B | -269.45B | -158.21B | -109.31B | -92.11B | -87.73B | -110.54B | -25.39B | -23.56B | -14.33B | -11.56B |
| Total Current Assets | 95.19B | 98.3B | 106.94B | 116.87B | 155.6B | 261.84B | 210.35B | 146.57B | 89.7B | 99.73B | 75.44B | 79.73B | 75.36B | 83.19B | 79.82B | 79.94B | 57.01B | 52.26B | 13.61B | 19.08B | 6.79B | 4.76B | 4.29B | 3.82B | 3.48B | 3.09B | 16.9B | 8.16B | 6.22B | 9.54B | 7.03B |
| Total Non-Current Assets | 650.17B | 616.25B | 601.05B | 575.8B | 564.45B | 520.15B | 589.14B | 576.47B | 224.33B | 227.59B | 331.28B | 356.99B | 459.82B | 430.73B | 637.9B | 780.61B | 697.75B | 765.48B | 1.3T | 693.75B | 300.25B | 269.45B | 158.21B | 109.31B | 92.11B | 87.73B | 110.54B | 25.39B | 23.56B | 14.33B | 11.56B |
| Total Assets | 745.37B | 714.55B | 707.99B | 692.67B | 720.05B | 781.99B | 799.49B | 723.04B | 694.24B | 738.06B | 798.66B | 815.41B | 1.05T | 1.03T | 1.31T | 1.51T | 1.45T | 1.7T | 2.22T | 1.84T | 871.43B | 776.83B | 588.12B | 454.43B | 440.89B | 368.78B | 320B | 88.85B | 79.68B | 72.6B | 61.12B |
| Asset Growth % | 10.43% | 0.93% | 2.21% | -3.8% | -7.92% | -2.19% | 10.57% | 4.15% | -5.94% | -7.59% | -2.05% | -22.4% | 2.23% | -21.67% | -12.91% | 3.67% | -14.32% | -23.54% | 20.53% | 111.24% | 12.18% | 32.09% | 29.42% | 3.07% | 19.55% | 15.24% | 260.15% | 11.52% | 9.74% | 18.79% | 19.31% |
| Return on Assets (ROA) | 0.87% | 0.82% | 0.69% | 0.66% | 0.48% | 0.41% | -0.05% | 0.5% | 0.3% | 0.19% | -0.65% | -0.17% | -0.27% | -0.73% | -0.41% | -0.15% | -0.06% | -0.14% | -1.17% | 0.56% | 0.78% | 0.81% | 0.98% | 0.89% | 0.76% | 0.76% | - | 1.02% | 0.91% | 0.76% | 0.88% |
| Accounts Payable | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Total Debt | 76.19B | 71.83B | 65.92B | 60.07B | 55.32B | 58.33B | 56.53B | 56.88B | 49.91B | 43.28B | 46.66B | 51B | 73.19B | 91.83B | 121.36B | 188.94B | 299.53B | 305.22B | 312.87B | 312.21B | 113.62B | 118.69B | 64B | 58.1B | 18.1B | 15.61B | 10.44B | 3.03B | 2.61B | 2.55B | 2.25B |
| Net Debt | -916M | -13.52B | -27.13B | -44.44B | -89.75B | -119.49B | -68.11B | -24.17B | -38.99B | -55.06B | -27.59B | -28.41B | -1.69B | 9.17B | 42.08B | 109.67B | 242.52B | 252.96B | 301.04B | 294.35B | 107.5B | 113.94B | 59.71B | 51.78B | 14.62B | 12.52B | -6.47B | -5.13B | -3.61B | -6.99B | -4.78B |
| Long-Term Debt | 76.19B | 71.83B | 65.92B | 60.07B | 55.32B | 58.33B | 56.53B | 56.88B | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 59.22B | 91.83B | 121.36B | 188.94B | 299.53B | 305.22B | 312.87B | 312.21B | 113.62B | 118.69B | 64B | 58.1B | 18.1B | 0 | 10.44B | 3.03B | 2.61B | 2.55B | 2.25B |
| Short-Term Debt | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Other Liabilities | 136.46B | 119.8B | 124.85B | 127.46B | 138.58B | 152.44B | 207.21B | 192.87B | -905M | -1.05B | -1.15B | -1.24B | -59.22B | -91.83B | -121.36B | -192.42B | -304.3B | -311.04B | -320.51B | -318.5B | -116.99B | -122.03B | -75.56B | -58.1B | -18.1B | 0 | -10.44B | -3.03B | -2.61B | -2.55B | -2.25B |
| Total Current Liabilities | 488.89B | 480.31B | 477.84B | 467.95B | 489.66B | 529.41B | 491.92B | 429.74B | 228.54B | 110.45B | 334.44B | 369B | 2.83B | 3.14B | 3.6B | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Total Non-Current Liabilities | 212.65B | 191.63B | 190.77B | 187.53B | 193.9B | 210.78B | 263.74B | 249.74B | 647.75B | 688.96B | 749.25B | 761.26B | 990.57B | 968.66B | 1.24T | 1.43T | 1.38T | 1.6T | 2.15T | 1.75T | 825.94B | 739.28B | 550.73B | 428.54B | 412B | 15.61B | 10.44B | 3.03B | 2.61B | 2.55B | 2.25B |
| Total Liabilities | 701.54B | 671.94B | 668.61B | 655.49B | 683.56B | 740.19B | 755.67B | 679.48B | 647.75B | 688.96B | 749.25B | 761.26B | 990.57B | 968.66B | 1.24T | 1.43T | 1.38T | 1.6T | 2.15T | 1.75T | 825.94B | 739.28B | 550.73B | 428.54B | 412B | 15.61B | 10.44B | 3.03B | 2.61B | 2.55B | 2.25B |
| Total Equity | 43.77B | 42.61B | 39.38B | 37.19B | 36.5B | 41.8B | 43.82B | 43.56B | 46.49B | 49.09B | 49.4B | 54.15B | 60.19B | 59.22B | 70.45B | 76.05B | 76.85B | 94.63B | 64.31B | 91.43B | 45.49B | 37.54B | 37.4B | 25.89B | 28.89B | 28.2B | 23.66B | 4.35B | 3.04B | 3.23B | 2.66B |
| Equity Growth % | 27.41% | 8.22% | 5.89% | 1.9% | -12.7% | -4.61% | 0.62% | -6.31% | -5.3% | -0.63% | -8.76% | -10.04% | 1.65% | -15.95% | -7.37% | -1.04% | -18.79% | 47.14% | -29.65% | 100.98% | 21.16% | 0.39% | 44.46% | -10.39% | 2.43% | 19.2% | 444.2% | 42.79% | -5.79% | 21.5% | 21.85% |
| Equity / Assets (Capital Ratio) | 5.87% | 5.96% | 5.56% | 5.37% | 5.07% | 5.35% | 5.48% | 6.02% | 6.7% | 6.65% | 6.19% | 6.64% | 5.73% | 5.76% | 5.37% | 5.05% | 5.29% | 5.58% | 2.9% | 4.97% | 5.22% | 4.83% | 6.36% | 5.7% | 6.55% | 7.65% | 7.39% | 4.89% | 3.82% | 4.45% | 4.35% |
| Return on Equity (ROE) | 14.73% | 14.22% | 12.54% | 12.58% | 9.17% | 7.63% | -0.85% | 7.86% | 4.52% | 2.99% | -10.16% | -2.79% | -4.64% | -13.26% | -7.86% | -2.81% | -1.17% | -3.36% | -30.45% | 11.03% | 15.4% | 14.68% | 16.16% | 14.52% | 10.77% | 10.12% | - | 23.16% | 22.14% | 17.31% | 20.48% |
| Book Value per Share | 21.73 | 20.98 | 18.50 | 16.14 | 14.70 | 15.44 | 15.61 | 15.50 | 16.60 | 17.72 | 18.12 | 20.15 | 22.65 | 22.78 | 27.32 | 30.27 | 30.87 | 34.41 | 23.39 | 33.25 | 16.54 | 13.65 | 13.60 | 9.41 | 10.51 | 10.26 | 8.60 | 1.58 | 1.11 | 1.18 | 0.97 |
| Tangible BV per Share | 16.67 | 17.39 | 14.93 | 12.83 | 11.84 | 12.96 | 13.24 | 13.15 | 14.24 | 15.36 | 15.75 | 17.72 | 19.72 | 18.02 | 22.07 | 24.36 | 25.06 | 27.92 | 10.44 | 15.10 | 9.67 | 6.40 | 6.60 | 4.64 | 5.89 | 5.41 | 4.21 | 1.58 | 1.11 | 1.18 | 0.97 |
| Common Stock | 9.88B | 10.02B | 10.13B | 10.84B | 11.7B | 11.47B | 12.13B | 12.09B | 16.11B | 11.96B | 11.82B | 11.63B | 6.88B | 6.71B | 6.58B | 15.32B | 15.13B | 14.63B | 10.97B | 2.53B | 32.87B | 826M | 822M | 769M | 754M | 893M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Additional Paid-in Capital | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 2.81B | 1.88B | 1.11B | 1.09B | 1.03B | 887M | 25.69B | 25.43B | 25.05B | 33.8B | 33.49B | 24.2B | 24.12B | 24.09B | 28.54B | 17.49B | 12.48B | 11.78B | 12.96B | 8.18B | 7.61B | 7.46B | 6.53B | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Retained Earnings | 15.16B | 14.42B | 11.43B | 10.64B | 10.02B | 12.97B | 12.57B | 13.95B | 14.31B | 17.13B | -12.94B | -4.02B | -2.52B | 867M | 10.6B | 18.93B | 60.01B | 12.13B | 7.54B | 21.07B | 15.49B | 11.35B | 7.22B | 7.85B | 6.77B | 6.07B | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Accumulated OCI | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 3.43B | 3.45B | 8.7B | 36.94B | 27.95B | 26.63B | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | -32.05B | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Treasury Stock | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | -258M | -371M | -24M | -42M | -21M | -43M | -132M | -107M | -113M | 0 | 0 | -769M | -808M | -121M | -104M | -61M | -115M | -7M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Preferred Stock | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 496M | 2.56B | 2.56B | 3.31B | 4.31B | 4.31B | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 3.68B | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
Quick answers to the most common questions about buying NWG stock.
As of 2025, NatWest Group plc (NWG) had total assets of $714.55B including $98.30B in current assets.
NatWest Group plc (NWG) carries total debt of $71.83B. Comparing total debt to cash helps evaluate the company's debt burden and net leverage.
NatWest Group plc (NWG) has total shareholders' equity (book value) of $42.60B ($20.98 book value per share). Book value represents the net worth of the company belonging to common stock holders.
NatWest Group plc (NWG) reported a current ratio of 0.20x. A current ratio above 1.0x indicates that the company has more current assets than current liabilities, suggesting sufficient short-term liquidity.
Key Metrics
Top Statement Risk
Rate cut margin compression
Asset Growth Accelerates, Mix Shifts
NatWest's total assets grew 7.9% year-over-year to $745.4B in 2026Q2, driven by a 29.4% increase in investment securities, according to reported figures.
The balance sheet expansion is notable for its composition: investment securities rose from $379.6B in 2024Q1 to $491.3B in 2026Q2, while cash balances declined from $116.9B to $77.1B over the same period. This suggests a deliberate redeployment of excess liquidity into higher-yielding assets, which may support NII despite a flat NIM. However, the growth appears organic, with no evidence of M&A activity, and the loan book's contribution is unclear given the lack of loan data.
Deposit Base Remains Core Funding
NatWest's loan-to-deposit ratio is not disclosed, but deposits likely fund the majority of assets, given the bank's retail and commercial franchise, as per financial statements.
The stability of the deposit base is inferred from the consistent equity-to-assets ratio of 0.06 and the absence of wholesale funding reliance in the data. However, the cost of funding is rising as deposit migration to higher-yielding products pressures NIM, which remained at 0.5% in 2026Q2. The bank's ability to maintain this margin suggests some pricing power, but regulatory pressure on savings pass-through rates could erode this advantage.
Benign Credit Costs Mask Risks
Loan loss provisions were $140.7M in 2026Q2, the only quarter with charges in two years, according to reported figures, implying minimal credit deterioration so far.
The absence of provisions in nine of ten quarters suggests either exceptionally strong asset quality or a lag in recognizing emerging stress. Given the UK's cost-of-living pressures and the bank's concentration in SME lending, the benign provision trend may not persist. Investors should monitor whether the 2026Q2 charge signals the beginning of a normalization in credit costs, which could pressure earnings and capital.
Capital Buffer Supports Returns
Equity rose to $43.8B in 2026Q2, with equity-to-assets at 0.06, as per reported data, indicating a stable capital base that supports ongoing buybacks.
The CET1 ratio is not disclosed, but the consistent equity growth and ROE of 3.9% in 2026Q2 suggest the bank is generating sufficient internal capital to fund distributions. The reduction in the UK government's stake and the formal appointment of a new CEO may reduce the governance discount, potentially improving the bank's ability to deploy capital. However, the lack of explicit capital ratio data limits precision.
Liquidity Shift Toward Securities
Cash and bank balances fell to $77.1B in 2026Q2 from $116.9B in 2024Q1, while investment securities rose to $491.3B, according to reported figures, indicating a liquidity redeployment.
The reduction in cash and the corresponding increase in securities suggest NatWest is optimizing its liquidity buffer, likely to enhance yield. This shift may reduce the bank's immediate liquidity cushion, but the securities portfolio provides a source of contingent funding if needed. The absence of loan-to-deposit data makes it difficult to assess the bank's reliance on wholesale funding, but the deposit franchise appears stable.
Rate Cuts Pose NIM Risk
With NIM at 0.5% and a high sensitivity to UK rates, a 25bp cut could reduce NII by ~$200M annually, based on reported figures.
The structural hedge provides some earnings stability, but the bank's net interest income is highly sensitive to Bank of England policy. As the rate cycle peaks, deposit repricing may lag asset yields, but eventual rate cuts could compress margins. The skipped guidance at the latest earnings event adds uncertainty, and investors should monitor management's commentary on NIM trajectory and deposit betas.
Unrealized Losses in Securities
The shift into investment securities, now $491.3B, may expose NatWest to unrealized losses if yields rise, based on reported figures, potentially pressuring capital.
The significant increase in the securities portfolio, from $379.6B in 2024Q1 to $491.3B in 2026Q2, suggests a duration extension that could create AOCI volatility. If interest rates rise, the mark-to-market losses on these securities could reduce CET1 capital, constraining buyback capacity. This risk is not evident in the current provision data but warrants monitoring given the bank's reliance on capital returns.