Total assets grew to $31.6B in 2026Q2 with equity of $6.1B, and an exceptionally low debt-to-equity ratio of 0.27% indicates a conservative capital structure, though investment portfolio composition remains opaque.
Old Republic International Corporation (ORI) balance sheet — 30-year assets, liabilities & shareholders' equity history
| Metric | TTM | Dec'25 | Dec'24 | Dec'23 | Dec'22 | Dec'21 | Dec'20 | Dec'19 | Dec'18 | Dec'17 | Dec'16 | Dec'15 | Dec'14 | Dec'13 | Dec'12 | Dec'11 | Dec'10 | Dec'09 | Dec'08 | Dec'07 | Dec'06 | Dec'05 | Dec'04 | Dec'03 | Dec'02 | Dec'01 | Dec'00 | Dec'99 | Dec'98 | Dec'97 | Dec'96 |
|---|
| Total Assets | 31.59B | 29.86B | 27.84B | 26.5B | 25.16B | 24.98B | 22.82B | 21.08B | 19.33B | 19.4B | 18.59B | 17.11B | 16.99B | 16.53B | 16.23B | 16.05B | 15.88B | 14.19B | 13.27B | 13.29B | 12.61B | 11.54B | 10.57B | 9.71B | 8.72B | 7.92B | 7.28B | 6.94B | 7.02B | 6.92B | 6.66B |
| Asset Growth % | -2.62% | 7.25% | 5.06% | 5.33% | 0.71% | 9.5% | 8.25% | 9.05% | -0.39% | 4.37% | 8.66% | 0.72% | 2.74% | 1.9% | 1.1% | 1.06% | 11.93% | 6.97% | -0.19% | 5.38% | 9.26% | 9.2% | 8.84% | 11.44% | 10.04% | 8.78% | 4.95% | -1.15% | 1.39% | 4% | 0.95% |
| Total Investment Assets | 4M | 16.84B | 16.08B | 15.87B | 15.86B | 16.58B | 15.33B | 14.36B | 3.38B | 3.27B | 2.9B | 1.99B | 2.01B | 1B | 739.7M | 21.37B | 10.49B | 9.88B | 8.86B | 8.69B | 8B | 7.71B | 7.3B | 6.66B | 5.99B | 5.41B | 4.98B | 4.7B | 4.83B | 4.7B | 4.39B |
| Long-Term Investments | 56.64B | 13.87B | 2.58B | 2.7B | 3.22B | 5.33B | 15.3B | 14.33B | 3.38B | 3.27B | 2.9B | 1.99B | 2.01B | 1B | 739.7M | 10.54B | 10.34B | 9.73B | 8.71B | 8.67B | 7.97B | 7.69B | 7.24B | 6.6B | 5.96B | 5.38B | 4.96B | 4.67B | 4.79B | 4.66B | 4.35B |
| Short-Term Investments | 2.23B | 2.97B | 13.5B | 13.17B | 12.61B | 11.24B | 11.25B | 9.28B | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 1.48B | 1.04B | 850.7M | 917.7M | 462.6M | 493.6M | 275.3M | 388.6M | 403.9M | 253.8M | 298.5M | 378M | 276.5M | 377.6M | 328M | 265.7M |
| Total Current Assets | 5.79B | 14.3B | 23.63B | 22.21B | 20.22B | 18.47B | 0 | 0 | 13.64B | 292.9M | 223.7M | 170.3M | 143.3M | 158.1M | 159.4M | 114.9M | 2.15B | 1.69B | 1.76B | 8.92B | 1.53B | 1.29B | 1.14B | 1.1B | 853.6M | 842M | 792M | 644.9M | 766.1M | 744.2M | 695.5M |
| Cash & Equivalents | 417.7M | 263.2M | 201.9M | 202.8M | 81M | 158.1M | 118.7M | 78.8M | 9.68B | 10.15B | 9.97B | 9.37B | 9.16B | 9.99B | 9.93B | 93M | 127.3M | 77.3M | 63.9M | 54M | 71.6M | 68.3M | 60.5M | 47.2M | 37.2M | 38M | 33M | 17.5M | 22.9M | 26.9M | 35.3M |
| Receivables | 26.16B | 9.94B | 9.02B | 8.04B | 6.76B | 7.07B | 5.96B | 5.3B | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 1.07B | 788.6M | 847.7M | 880.3M | 1.11B | 943.8M | 689.7M | 651.2M | 562.6M | 505.5M | 381M | 350.9M | 365.6M | 389.3M | 394.5M |
| Other Current Assets | -1.49B | 0 | 0 | 0 | 5.15B | 0 | -17.32B | -14.66B | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 4.38B | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Goodwill & Intangibles | 2.72B | 636.2M | 531.3M | 417.8M | 356.2M | 350.4M | 0 | 0 | 490.3M | 297.8M | 274M | 255.4M | 230.8M | 192.6M | 165.5M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Goodwill | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 178.1M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 174M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Intangible Assets | 814.8M | 636.2M | 531.3M | 417.8M | 178.1M | 350.4M | 0 | 0 | 316.3M | 297.8M | 274M | 255.4M | 230.8M | 192.6M | 165.5M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| PP&E (Net) | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | -677.8M | 0 | 0 | 0 | -771M | 2.71B | 3.15B | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Other Assets | 10.13B | 1.06B | 1.09B | 1.18B | 12.61B | 830.8M | -15.3B | -14.33B | 9.58B | -3.27B | -2.9B | -255.4M | -230.8M | -192.6M | -165.5M | -10.54B | -10.34B | -9.73B | -8.71B | -8.67B | -7.97B | -7.69B | -7.24B | -6.6B | -5.96B | -5.38B | -4.96B | -4.67B | -4.79B | -4.66B | -4.35B |
| Total Liabilities | 25.5B | 23.93B | 22.22B | 20.09B | 18.99B | 18.09B | 16.63B | 15.08B | 14.18B | 14.67B | 14.12B | 13.23B | 13.06B | 12.76B | 12.63B | 12.28B | 11.76B | 10.3B | 9.53B | 8.75B | 8.24B | 7.52B | 6.71B | 6.16B | 5.56B | 5.14B | 4.84B | 4.74B | 4.71B | 4.77B | 4.76B |
| Total Debt | 2.28B | 1.59B | 1.59B | 1.59B | 1.6B | 3.18B | 966.4M | 973.9M | 981.3M | 1.45B | 1.53B | 961.7M | 965M | 569.2M | 572.9M | 912.8M | 475M | 1.57B | 1.53B | 64.1M | 144.3M | 142.7M | 143M | 137.7M | 141.5M | 159M | 238M | 208.3M | 145.1M | 142.9M | 154M |
| Net Debt | 1.87B | 1.33B | 1.39B | 1.39B | 1.52B | 3.02B | 847.7M | 895.1M | -8.7B | -8.7B | -8.44B | -8.4B | -8.2B | -9.42B | -9.36B | 819.8M | 347.7M | 1.49B | 1.46B | 10.1M | 72.7M | 74.4M | 82.5M | 90.5M | 104.3M | 121M | 205M | 190.8M | 122.2M | 116M | 118.7M |
| Long-Term Debt | 2.28B | 1.59B | 1.59B | 1.19B | 1.2B | 1.59B | 568.5M | 576.6M | 981.3M | 1.45B | 1.53B | 952.8M | 965M | 569.2M | 572.9M | 912.7M | 475M | 346.7M | 233M | 64.1M | 0 | 142.7M | 143M | 137.7M | 141.5M | 159M | 238M | 208.3M | 145.1M | 142.9M | 154M |
| Short-Term Debt | 0 | 0 | 0 | 399.5M | 399M | 1.59B | 397.9M | 397.3M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Total Current Liabilities | 0 | 4.2B | 3.63B | 3.55B | 0 | 4.4B | 0 | 0 | 10.54B | 10.3B | 10.15B | 452.3M | 454.6M | 409.8M | 511.1M | 457.3M | 102.9M | 7.3M | 41M | 0 | 15.5M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 4.98B | 4.6B | 4.53B | 4.57B | 4.63B | 4.58B |
| Accounts Payable | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 457.3M | 424M | 321.3M | 264.8M | 288.7M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Deferred Revenue | 4.56B | 3.98B | 3.51B | 3.04B | 0 | 2.56B | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Other Current Liabilities | -5.1B | 219.3M | 129.1M | 105.6M | -913.8M | 249.5M | -1.07B | -948.2M | -525.4M | -554.2M | -485.4M | -452.3M | -454.6M | -409.8M | -511.1M | -457.3M | -379.4M | -580.3M | -488.3M | -514.6M | 0 | -129.3M | -8.4M | 0 | 0 | 4.81B | 4.46B | 4.38B | 4.43B | 4.5B | 4.47B |
| Deferred Taxes | 919.2M | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 0 | 0 | 0 | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 0 | 0 |
| Other Liabilities | 14.53B | 17.92B | 16.87B | 15.25B | -1.24B | 11.85B | -705.8M | -688.8M | 13.2B | 13.22B | 12.56B | 12.28B | 12.1B | 12.19B | -572.9M | -912.7M | 11.24B | 9.94B | 9.25B | -481.8M | 8.23B | -142.7M | -143M | -694.5M | -586.7M | -376.5M | -289.8M | -203.3M | -179.9M | -142.9M | -154M |
| Total Equity | 6.09B | 5.93B | 5.62B | 6.41B | 6.17B | 6.89B | 6.19B | 6B | 5.15B | 4.73B | 4.47B | 3.88B | 3.92B | 3.77B | 3.6B | 3.77B | 4.12B | 3.89B | 3.74B | 4.54B | 4.37B | 4.02B | 3.87B | 3.55B | 3.16B | 2.78B | 2.44B | 2.2B | 2.3B | 2.15B | 1.9B |
| Equity Growth % | 3.24% | 5.5% | -12.35% | 3.97% | -10.55% | 11.42% | 3.11% | 16.59% | 8.72% | 5.85% | 15.22% | -1.1% | 3.95% | 4.97% | -4.67% | -8.47% | 5.91% | 4.04% | -17.64% | 3.95% | 8.58% | 4.1% | 8.78% | 12.61% | 13.37% | 14.15% | 10.93% | -4.59% | 7.07% | 13.27% | 17.83% |
| Shareholders Equity | 6.07B | 5.91B | 5.62B | 6.41B | 6.17B | 6.89B | 6.19B | 6B | 5.15B | 4.73B | 4.47B | 3.88B | 3.92B | 3.77B | 3.6B | 3.77B | 4.12B | 3.89B | 3.74B | 4.54B | 4.37B | 4.02B | 3.87B | 3.55B | 3.16B | 2.78B | 2.44B | 2.2B | 2.3B | 2.15B | 1.9B |
| Minority Interest | 15M | 14.4M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Retained Earnings | 5.85B | 5.52B | 5.52B | 5.64B | 5.32B | 5.21B | 4.39B | 4.39B | 3.85B | 3.21B | 3.21B | 2.94B | 2.71B | 2.49B | 2.22B | 2.47B | 2.79B | 2.93B | 3.19B | 3.9B | 3.77B | 3.44B | 3.24B | 2.9B | 2.7B | 2.38B | 2.11B | 1.87B | 1.71B | 1.48B | 1.22B |
| Common Stock | 241.4M | 246.3M | 248.8M | 278.3M | 296.9M | 307.5M | 304.1M | 303.6M | 302.7M | 269.2M | 262.7M | 261.9M | 260.9M | 260.4M | 259.4M | 259.3M | 259.2M | 240.6M | 240.5M | 232M | 231M | 229.5M | 185.4M | 184.4M | 123.7M | 122.1M | 121.4M | 156.6M | 156.3M | 103.1M | 96M |
| Accumulated OCI | 8.5M | 163.1M | -102.4M | -132.4M | -522.7M | 78M | 284M | 77.7M | -210M | 474.2M | 323.6M | 29.2M | 292.3M | 378.2M | 481.7M | 416M | 459.1M | 353.7M | -41.7M | 93.3M | 44.6M | 60.8M | 179.5M | 236.8M | 111M | 91.1M | 35.6M | -17.6M | 70.2M | 72.4M | 43.4M |
| Return on Equity (ROE) | 18.69% | 16.21% | 14.18% | 9.52% | 10.51% | 23.46% | 9.17% | 18.96% | 7.5% | 12.18% | 11.18% | 10.82% | 10.64% | 12.15% | -1.86% | -3.56% | 0.75% | -2.6% | -13.48% | 6.11% | 11.08% | 13.98% | 11.73% | 13.71% | 13.23% | 13.29% | 12.83% | 10.07% | 14.53% | 14.71% | 13.11% |
| Return on Assets (ROA) | 4.02% | 3.24% | 3.14% | 2.32% | 2.74% | 6.42% | 2.55% | 5.23% | 1.91% | 2.95% | 2.62% | 2.48% | 2.44% | 2.73% | -0.43% | -0.88% | 0.2% | -0.72% | -4.2% | 2.1% | 3.85% | 4.99% | 4.29% | 4.99% | 4.72% | 4.56% | 4.18% | 3.25% | 4.64% | 4.39% | 3.48% |
| Equity / Assets | 19.27% | 19.85% | 20.18% | 24.19% | 24.51% | 27.59% | 27.12% | 28.47% | 26.63% | 24.39% | 24.05% | 22.68% | 23.1% | 22.83% | 22.16% | 23.5% | 25.95% | 27.42% | 28.19% | 34.17% | 34.64% | 34.86% | 36.57% | 36.59% | 36.21% | 35.15% | 33.5% | 31.69% | 32.83% | 31.09% | 28.54% |
| Debt / Equity | 0.38x | 0.27x | 0.28x | 0.25x | 0.26x | 0.46x | 0.16x | 0.16x | 0.19x | 0.31x | 0.34x | 0.25x | 0.25x | 0.15x | 0.16x | 0.24x | 0.12x | 0.40x | 0.41x | 0.01x | 0.03x | 0.04x | 0.04x | 0.04x | 0.04x | 0.06x | 0.10x | 0.09x | 0.06x | 0.07x | 0.08x |
| Book Value per Share | 24.74 | 23.75 | 21.35 | 22.46 | 20.33 | 22.70 | 20.70 | 19.92 | 17.10 | 15.81 | 15.09 | 13.11 | 13.30 | 12.85 | 14.03 | 14.79 | 17.08 | 16.51 | 16.16 | 19.50 | 18.75 | 17.34 | 16.75 | 15.51 | 13.90 | 12.34 | 10.82 | 9.03 | 8.83 | 8.14 | 7.12 |
| Tangible BV per Share | 21.43 | 21.20 | 19.33 | 20.99 | 19.16 | 21.55 | 20.70 | 19.92 | 15.47 | 14.82 | 14.16 | 12.24 | 12.52 | 12.20 | 13.38 | 14.79 | 17.08 | 16.51 | 16.16 | 19.50 | 18.75 | 17.34 | 16.75 | 15.51 | 13.90 | 12.34 | 10.82 | 9.03 | 8.83 | 8.14 | 7.12 |
Quick answers to the most common questions about buying ORI stock.
As of 2025, Old Republic International Corporation (ORI) had total assets of $29.86B including $14.30B in current assets.
Old Republic International Corporation (ORI) carries total debt of $1.59B, offset by $3.23B in cash and short-term investments. Comparing total debt to cash helps evaluate the company's debt burden and net leverage.
Old Republic International Corporation (ORI) has total shareholders' equity (book value) of $5.91B ($23.75 book value per share). Book value represents the net worth of the company belonging to common stock holders.
Old Republic International Corporation (ORI) reported a current ratio of 3.40x. A current ratio above 1.0x indicates that the company has more current assets than current liabilities, suggesting sufficient short-term liquidity.
Key Metrics
Top Statement Risk
Social inflation and reserve adequacy
Metrics are mathematically derived from official filings.
Premium Growth Offsets Title Weakness
ORI's total assets grew to $31.6B in 2026Q2, up from $27.5B a year earlier, driven by strong General Insurance premium growth. According to the latest balance sheet data, equity expanded to $6.1B, reflecting retained earnings and disciplined capital management.
The balance sheet is clearly strengthening, with total assets up 14.9% year-over-year and equity up 1.6% despite a challenging title market. The growth appears concentrated in the General Insurance segment, which is benefiting from pricing discipline and volume gains, while the Title segment's cyclical decline is being absorbed. This trajectory suggests that ORI's capital base is expanding, providing a buffer for potential reserve strengthening or strategic opportunities.
Investment Portfolio Stability Questioned
ORI's total investments are reported at $1,000.0K, which appears to be a data artifact rather than a true reflection of the portfolio. As reported in the balance sheet, the investment portfolio is a critical earnings driver, but its composition and yield remain opaque.
The reported investment figure of $1,000.0K is implausibly low for a company with $31.6B in assets, suggesting a data reporting issue. This lack of transparency limits the ability to assess portfolio quality, duration, and unrealized losses. Given the low debt-to-equity ratio of 0.27%, the investment portfolio is likely the primary earning asset, and its performance is crucial for earnings stability. Investors should monitor the fixed income allocation and yield, as rising rates could pressure bond values, though reinvestment yields may improve.
Reserve Releases Mask Underlying Trends
ORI's loss ratio of 35.8% in 2026Q2 is exceptionally low, but prior-year reserve releases may be inflating current earnings. Based on the financial statements, the combined ratio of 82.6% suggests strong underwriting, yet the Q4 2025 spike to 88.8% signals potential volatility.
The low loss ratios in recent quarters likely include favorable prior-year reserve development, which may not be sustainable. The 2025Q4 loss ratio of 88.0% stands out as a significant deviation, possibly due to catastrophe losses or reserve strengthening. This pattern suggests that ORI's reserve estimates have been conservative, but social inflation and rising litigation costs in commercial auto could lead to adverse development in long-tail lines. The adequacy of reserves for the General Insurance segment, particularly trucking, warrants close monitoring.
Conservative Leverage Supports Capital Strength
ORI's debt-to-equity ratio of 0.27% is exceptionally low, indicating a fortress-like capital structure. As reported in the balance sheet, equity of $6.1B provides a substantial buffer, and the company's ROE of 16.2% suggests efficient capital deployment.
The minimal use of debt implies that ORI is not reliant on external financing, which is a hallmark of its conservative management style. This capital strength provides ample capacity for dividend increases, special dividends, or opportunistic acquisitions. However, the slow exit from the mortgage indemnity run-off segment may indicate a lack of urgency in recycling capital, which could be a missed opportunity for higher returns. The RBC ratio is not disclosed, but the low leverage and strong equity base suggest regulatory capital is likely adequate.
Claims-Paying Ability Appears Solid
ORI's claims and loss reserves totaled $896.7M in 2026Q2, with cash and investments providing ample liquidity. According to the balance sheet data, the company's liquid assets are sufficient to cover expected payouts, though reinsurance recoverables are not separately disclosed.
The stability of claims payments, averaging around $800M per quarter, indicates a predictable payout pattern, but the Q4 2025 spike to $2.1B raises questions about the adequacy of reserves for large losses. The lack of cash balance disclosure limits the assessment of immediate liquidity, but the low debt and strong operating cash flow suggest that ORI can meet its claims obligations without strain. Reinsurance recoverables, if material, could be a source of credit risk, but they are not visible in the provided data.
Hidden Risks in Reserve Adequacy
The most non-obvious risk is the potential for adverse reserve development in long-tail lines, particularly commercial auto, due to social inflation. As reported in the financial statements, the low loss ratios may be masking a deterioration in current accident year trends.
ORI's conservative reserve history has historically led to favorable development, but the changing litigation environment could reverse this trend. The Q4 2025 spike in loss ratio suggests that the company may have faced unexpected losses, and if social inflation persists, reserve strengthening could be necessary. Additionally, the run-off mortgage indemnity segment, while often viewed as a source of hidden capital, could also present legacy liabilities that are not fully recognized. Investors should monitor the adequacy of reserves relative to the growing premium base, as any shortfall could impact capital and earnings.