Total assets grew only 0.1% sequentially to $41.7B in 2026Q2, with investment securities rising to $37.4B and equity-to-assets stable at 15%, though rising rates may have created unrealized losses in the securities portfolio that could pressure capital if realized.
Bank OZK (OZK) balance sheet — 30-year assets, liabilities & shareholders' equity history
| Metric | TTM | Dec'25 | Dec'24 | Dec'23 | Dec'22 | Dec'21 | Dec'20 | Dec'19 | Dec'18 | Dec'17 | Dec'16 | Dec'15 | Dec'14 | Dec'13 | Dec'12 | Dec'11 | Dec'10 | Dec'09 | Dec'08 | Dec'07 | Dec'06 | Dec'05 | Dec'04 | Dec'03 | Dec'02 | Dec'01 | Dec'00 | Dec'99 | Dec'98 | Dec'97 | Dec'96 |
|---|
| Cash & Short Term Investments | 6.8B | 0 | 3.35B | 5.39B | 4.53B | 5.97B | 5.8B | 3.77B | 3.15B | 3.06B | 2.34B | 693.34M | 989.52M | 865.36M | 702.23M | 497.84M | 49.03M | 78.29M | 40.98M | 47.52M | 42.73M | 40.59M | 41.55M | 28.83M | 25.18M | 31.33M | 20.54M | 24.6M | 15M | 15.6M | 6.8M |
| Cash & Due from Banks | 1.55B | 0 | 2.78B | 2.15B | 1.03B | 2.05B | 2.39B | 1.5B | 290.67M | 440.39M | 866.36M | 90.99M | 150.2M | 195.97M | 207.97M | 58.93M | 49.03M | 78.29M | 40.98M | 47.52M | 42.73M | 40.59M | 41.55M | 28.83M | 25.18M | 31.33M | 20.54M | 24.6M | 15M | 15.6M | 6.8M |
| Short Term Investments | 0 | 0 | 565.5M | 3.24B | 3.49B | 3.92B | 3.41B | 2.28B | 2.86B | 2.59B | 1.47B | 602.35M | 839.32M | 669.38M | 494.27M | 438.91M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Total Investments | 37.38B | 0 | 32.34B | 29.36B | 24.06B | 22.02B | 22.32B | 19.7B | 19.88B | 18.54B | 15.96B | 8.88B | 5.91B | 3.98B | 3.21B | 3.09B | 2.71B | 2.37B | 2.94B | 2.43B | 2.28B | 1.93B | 1.55B | 1.26B | 939.13M | 794.53M | 757.15M | 724.5M | 559.4M | 314.2M | 251M |
| Investments Growth % | -74.95% | -100% | 10.13% | 22.04% | 9.26% | -1.33% | 13.29% | -0.89% | 7.2% | 16.2% | 79.79% | 50.08% | 48.47% | 24.13% | 3.79% | 13.99% | 14.39% | -19.25% | 20.85% | 6.58% | 18.26% | 24.14% | 23.29% | 34.13% | 18.2% | 4.94% | 4.51% | 29.51% | 78.04% | 25.18% | - |
| Long-Term Investments | 108.55B | 0 | 31.77B | 26.12B | 20.57B | 18.11B | 18.91B | 17.42B | 17.02B | 15.95B | 14.49B | 8.27B | 5.07B | 3.31B | 2.71B | 2.65B | 2.71B | 2.37B | 2.94B | 2.43B | 2.28B | 1.93B | 1.55B | 1.26B | 939.13M | 794.53M | 757.15M | 724.5M | 559.4M | 314.2M | 251M |
| Accounts Receivables | 0 | 0 | 174.03M | 170.11M | 125.13M | 83.03M | 88.08M | 75.21M | 81.97M | 64.61M | 51.92M | 25.5M | 20.19M | 14.36M | 13.2M | 12.87M | 13.9M | 14.76M | 18.88M | 17.42M | 17.38M | 13.8M | 8.56M | 7.03M | 6.03M | 5.82M | 8.89M | 7.2M | 5.5M | 3M | 2.6M |
| Goodwill & Intangibles | 660.79M | 660.79M | 660.79M | 660.79M | 663.54M | 669.06M | 675.46M | 684.54M | 696.46M | 709.04M | 720.95M | 152.34M | 105.58M | 19.16M | 11.74M | 12.04M | 7.92M | 5.55M | 5.66M | 17.42M | 6.14M | 6.4M | 8.56M | 6.38M | 6.03M | 5.82M | 3.06M | 7.2M | 3.7M | 3M | 2.6M |
| Goodwill | 660.79M | 660.79M | 660.79M | 660.79M | 660.79M | 660.79M | 660.79M | 660.79M | 660.79M | 660.79M | 660.1M | 125.4M | 78.67M | 5.24M | 5.24M | 5.24M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Intangible Assets | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 2.75M | 8.27M | 14.67M | 23.75M | 35.67M | 48.25M | 60.85M | 26.94M | 26.91M | 13.91M | 6.5M | 6.8M | 7.92M | 5.55M | 5.66M | 17.42M | 6.14M | 6.4M | 8.56M | 6.38M | 6.03M | 5.82M | 3.06M | 7.2M | 3.7M | 3M | 2.6M |
| PP&E (Net) | 980.59M | 922M | 739.11M | 676.82M | 678.4M | 695.86M | 738.84M | 711.54M | 567.19M | 519.81M | 504.09M | 296.24M | 273.59M | 245.47M | 225.75M | 186.53M | 170.5M | 156.2M | 152.59M | 130.05M | 116.68M | 88.79M | 65.18M | 50.25M | 39.05M | 33.12M | 30.54M | 30.5M | 27.2M | 13.4M | 6.9M |
| Other Assets | 2.68B | -1.58B | 1.56B | 1.22B | 1.09B | 1.01B | 947.86M | 887.77M | 873.84M | 999.02M | 788.64M | 438.23M | 302.72M | 332.69M | 372.32M | 479.17M | 166.76M | 144.84M | 78.72M | 80.08M | 66.64M | 57.47M | 51.92M | 34.39M | 23.79M | 3.75M | 6.76M | 5.9M | 1.6M | 4.5M | 1.9M |
| Total Current Assets | 0 | 3.07B | 3.52B | 5.56B | 4.65B | 6.05B | 5.89B | 3.85B | 3.23B | 3.1B | 2.39B | 718.84M | 1.01B | 879.72M | 715.43M | 510.7M | 216.04M | 93.05M | 59.86M | 64.94M | 60.12M | 54.39M | 50.11M | 35.86M | 31.21M | 37.15M | 29.43M | 31.8M | 20.5M | 18.6M | 9.4M |
| Total Non-Current Assets | 41.7B | 0 | 34.74B | 28.67B | 23.01B | 20.48B | 21.28B | 19.71B | 19.15B | 18.18B | 16.5B | 9.16B | 5.76B | 3.91B | 3.32B | 3.33B | 3.06B | 2.68B | 3.17B | 2.65B | 2.47B | 2.08B | 1.68B | 1.35B | 1B | 834.23M | 797.52M | 764.2M | 591.9M | 333.5M | 261.2M |
| Total Assets | 41.7B | 40.79B | 38.26B | 34.24B | 27.66B | 26.53B | 27.16B | 23.56B | 22.39B | 21.28B | 18.89B | 9.88B | 6.77B | 4.79B | 4.04B | 3.84B | 3.27B | 2.77B | 3.23B | 2.71B | 2.53B | 2.13B | 1.73B | 1.39B | 1.04B | 871.38M | 826.95M | 796M | 612.4M | 352.1M | 270.6M |
| Asset Growth % | 24.71% | 6.6% | 11.75% | 23.79% | 4.24% | -2.33% | 15.31% | 5.22% | 5.23% | 12.63% | 91.21% | 46.01% | 41.35% | 18.49% | 5.21% | 17.3% | 18.15% | -14.3% | 19.27% | 7.17% | 18.48% | 23.63% | 24.54% | 33.85% | 18.88% | 5.37% | 3.89% | 29.98% | 73.93% | 30.12% | - |
| Return on Assets (ROA) | 1.67% | 1.81% | 1.98% | 2.23% | 2.08% | 2.16% | 1.15% | 1.85% | 1.91% | 2.1% | 1.88% | 2.19% | 2.05% | 2.07% | 1.96% | 2.85% | 2.12% | 1.44% | 1.15% | 1.21% | 1.36% | 1.63% | 1.66% | 1.67% | 1.51% | 1.05% | 0.94% | 1.05% | 1.16% | 1.45% | 1.11% |
| Accounts Payable | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 233.86M | 186.84M | 251.94M | 221.79M | 216.35M | 186.16M | 72.62M | 52.17M | 36.89M | 16.77M | 27.61M | 45.51M | 0 | 0 | 27.52M | 11.98M | 9.06M | 8.97M | 3.88M | 3.89M | 5.41M | 3.87M | 3.13M | 3M | 2.4M | 1.8M | 2.3M |
| Total Debt | 668.23M | 463.58M | 883.04M | 1.27B | 1.08B | 1.23B | 1.1B | 706.22M | 459.89M | 433.35M | 447.77M | 388.02M | 321.38M | 398.95M | 375.26M | 399.61M | 390.41M | 451.77M | 536.76M | 447.57M | 300.61M | 384.87M | 221.62M | 222.09M | 150.1M | 115.9M | 80.54M | 136M | 39.2M | 19.1M | 18.1M |
| Net Debt | -886.09M | 463.58M | -1.9B | -874.8M | 41.75M | -824.23M | -1.29B | -789.54M | 169.22M | -7.04M | -418.59M | 297.04M | 171.18M | 202.97M | 167.3M | 340.68M | 341.38M | 373.48M | 495.78M | 400.05M | 257.88M | 344.28M | 180.07M | 193.26M | 124.92M | 84.57M | 60M | 111.4M | 24.2M | 3.5M | 11.3M |
| Long-Term Debt | 463.2M | 463.58M | 883.04M | 1.27B | 1.08B | 1.22B | 1.1B | 694.97M | 439.33M | 364.02M | 382.66M | 322.23M | 255.81M | 345.85M | 345.71M | 366.8M | 347.09M | 407.5M | 489.9M | 401.48M | 259.61M | 349.2M | 188.4M | 192.19M | 129.37M | 99.69M | 66.7M | 127M | 12.4M | 5.1M | 5.4M |
| Short-Term Debt | 734K | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 6.12M | 8.01M | 11.25M | 20.56M | 69.33M | 65.11M | 65.8M | 65.58M | 53.1M | 29.55M | 32.81M | 43.32M | 44.27M | 46.86M | 46.09M | 41M | 35.67M | 33.22M | 29.9M | 20.74M | 16.21M | 13.84M | 9M | 26.8M | 14M | 12.7M |
| Other Liabilities | 34.76B | -463.58M | 626.55M | 417.61M | 156.42M | 65.49M | 81.48M | 0 | 0 | -186.16M | 0 | 0 | -36.89M | 9.13M | 25.17M | -19.24M | 18.72M | 17.57M | -27.52M | 0 | -9.06M | -8.97M | 0 | -3.89M | 0 | 0 | -3.13M | -100K | -1M | -100K | 0 |
| Total Current Liabilities | 734K | 3.83B | 31.04B | 27.41B | 21.73B | 20.4B | 21.71B | 18.71B | 18.18B | 17.63B | 15.71B | 8.09B | 5.64B | 3.8B | 3.16B | 3.07B | 2.58B | 2.07B | 2.44B | 2.12B | 2.1B | 1.65B | 1.42B | 1.1B | 816.32M | 697.82M | 697.78M | 607.9M | 560M | 311M | 246.7M |
| Total Non-Current Liabilities | 35.42B | 0 | 1.51B | 1.69B | 1.23B | 1.29B | 1.18B | 694.97M | 439.33M | 177.85M | 382.66M | 322.23M | 218.91M | 354.97M | 370.88M | 347.56M | 365.81M | 425.08M | 462.37M | 401.48M | 250.55M | 340.23M | 188.4M | 188.3M | 129.37M | 99.69M | 63.58M | 126.9M | 11.4M | 5M | 5.4M |
| Total Liabilities | 35.43B | 34.66B | 32.55B | 29.1B | 22.97B | 21.69B | 22.89B | 19.4B | 18.61B | 17.81B | 16.1B | 8.41B | 5.85B | 4.16B | 3.53B | 3.42B | 2.95B | 2.5B | 2.91B | 2.52B | 2.35B | 1.99B | 1.61B | 1.29B | 945.68M | 797.51M | 761.35M | 734.8M | 572M | 316.4M | 252.1M |
| Total Equity | 6.28B | 6.13B | 5.71B | 5.14B | 4.69B | 4.84B | 4.28B | 4.15B | 3.77B | 3.46B | 2.79B | 1.47B | 911.84M | 628.43M | 511.11M | 427.97M | 323.77M | 272.47M | 327.6M | 194.26M | 174.63M | 149.4M | 121.41M | 98.49M | 90.17M | 73.87M | 65.6M | 61.2M | 40.4M | 35.7M | 18.5M |
| Equity Growth % | 27.89% | 7.42% | 11.02% | 9.57% | -3.07% | 13.19% | 2.93% | 10.07% | 8.94% | 23.93% | 90.41% | 60.97% | 45.1% | 22.95% | 19.42% | 32.18% | 18.83% | -16.83% | 68.64% | 11.24% | 16.89% | 23.06% | 23.27% | 9.22% | 22.07% | 12.6% | 7.19% | 51.49% | 13.17% | 92.97% | - |
| Equity / Assets (Capital Ratio) | 15.05% | 15.03% | 14.91% | 15.01% | 16.96% | 18.24% | 15.74% | 17.63% | 16.85% | 16.28% | 14.8% | 14.86% | 13.48% | 13.13% | 12.65% | 11.15% | 9.89% | 9.83% | 10.13% | 7.17% | 6.9% | 7% | 7.03% | 7.1% | 8.7% | 8.48% | 7.93% | 7.69% | 6.6% | 10.14% | 6.84% |
| Return on Equity (ROE) | 11.21% | 12.09% | 13.21% | 14.05% | 11.84% | 12.7% | 6.93% | 10.75% | 11.53% | 13.48% | 12.67% | 15.32% | 15.4% | 16.01% | 16.41% | 26.96% | 21.47% | 14.37% | 13.12% | 17.21% | 19.56% | 23.26% | 23.54% | 21.42% | 17.56% | 12.85% | 12.03% | 14.57% | 14.72% | 16.61% | 16.22% |
| Book Value per Share | 57.23 | 54.70 | 50.05 | 44.76 | 38.86 | 37.34 | 33.03 | 32.20 | 29.31 | 27.53 | 26.69 | 16.80 | 11.68 | 8.68 | 7.32 | 6.21 | 4.74 | 4.03 | 4.85 | 2.89 | 2.60 | 2.23 | 1.83 | 1.51 | 1.44 | 1.21 | 1.09 | 1.01 | 0.66 | 0.68 | 0.40 |
| Tangible BV per Share | 51.20 | 48.80 | 44.25 | 39.01 | 33.37 | 32.17 | 27.81 | 26.89 | 23.90 | 21.90 | 19.81 | 15.06 | 10.33 | 8.42 | 7.16 | 6.03 | 4.63 | 3.95 | 4.77 | 2.63 | 2.51 | 2.13 | 1.70 | 1.41 | 1.34 | 1.11 | 1.04 | 0.89 | 0.60 | 0.63 | 0.35 |
| Common Stock | 1.09M | 1.1M | 1.14M | 1.13M | 1.17M | 1.25M | 1.29M | 1.29M | 1.29M | 1.28M | 1.21M | 906K | 799K | 737K | 353K | 345K | 170K | 169K | 169K | 168K | 167K | 167K | 165K | 162K | 78K | 38K | 38K | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Additional Paid-in Capital | 1.43B | 1.5B | 1.63B | 1.61B | 1.75B | 2.09B | 2.27B | 2.25B | 2.24B | 2.22B | 1.9B | 756M | 324.35M | 143.02M | 73.04M | 51.15M | 45.28M | 41.58M | 43.31M | 38.61M | 36.78M | 34.21M | 30.76M | 27.13M | 17.01M | 14.36M | 14.31M | 14.3M | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Retained Earnings | 4.54B | 4.32B | 3.82B | 3.28B | 2.77B | 2.38B | 1.95B | 1.87B | 1.57B | 1.25B | 914.43M | 706.63M | 571.45M | 484.88M | 423.49M | 363.73M | 275.07M | 221.24M | 193.19M | 167.14M | 142.61M | 117.6M | 92.26M | 71.29M | 54.76M | 42.72M | 35.5M | 31M | 25.9M | 21.2M | 17.3M |
| Accumulated OCI | -26.76M | -24.86M | -76.14M | -97.37M | -177.65M | 23.84M | 58.25M | 27.25M | -34.1M | -12.71M | -25.92M | 7.96M | 14.13M | -3.67M | 10.78M | 9.33M | -167K | 6.03M | 15.62M | -15.09M | -4.92M | -2.57M | -1.78M | -100K | 1.07M | -499K | -1.5M | -1.5M | 100K | 200K | 100K |
| Treasury Stock | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | -6.86M | -2.35M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Preferred Stock | 338.98M | 338.98M | 338.98M | 338.98M | 338.98M | 338.98M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 71.88M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
Quick answers to the most common questions about buying OZK stock.
As of 2025, Bank OZK (OZK) had total assets of $40.79B including $3.07B in current assets.
Bank OZK (OZK) carries total debt of $463.6M. Comparing total debt to cash helps evaluate the company's debt burden and net leverage.
Bank OZK (OZK) has total shareholders' equity (book value) of $6.13B ($54.70 book value per share). Book value represents the net worth of the company belonging to common stock holders.
Bank OZK (OZK) reported a current ratio of 0.80x. A current ratio above 1.0x indicates that the company has more current assets than current liabilities, suggesting sufficient short-term liquidity.
Key Metrics
Top Statement Risk
Deposit cost pressure and CRE concentration
Asset Growth Slows as Mix Shifts
According to reported quarterly data, Bank OZK's total assets grew only 0.1% sequentially in 2026Q2, with investment securities rising to $37.4B, suggesting a pivot toward lower-yielding assets.
The balance sheet has expanded from $36.0B in 2024Q1 to $41.7B in 2026Q2, a 15.8% cumulative increase, but the pace has decelerated sharply. The sequential growth of just $0.0B in 2026Q2 indicates that loan growth is stalling, likely constrained by deposit availability and a cautious credit stance. The increase in investment securities to $37.4B from $30.7B over the period suggests the bank is deploying excess liquidity into securities rather than loans, which may reflect softer loan demand or a deliberate shift toward more liquid, lower-risk assets. This mix shift could dampen future NII growth, as securities yields typically lag construction loan yields.
Deposit Costs Bite Into Margin
As reported in financial statements, Bank OZK's net interest margin compressed to 0.9% in 2026Q2 from 1.1% in 2024Q2, indicating deposit repricing is outpacing asset yields.
The deposit franchise remains a core strength, with a granular, low-cost base from the Southeast, but the cost of interest-bearing deposits has risen sharply, as evidenced by the 20 basis point NIM decline. The loan-to-deposit ratio is not disclosed, but the stable equity-to-assets ratio of 0.15 suggests the bank is not levering up to fund growth. The rising deposit beta is a key pressure point; if the bank cannot pass through higher funding costs to borrowers, NIM will continue to compress. Investors should monitor whether the bank can maintain its low-cost deposit advantage as competition for deposits intensifies in its core markets.
Provisions Rise as Credit Risks Build
Based on reported figures, Bank OZK's loan loss provision increased to $45.6M in 2026Q2 from $35.2M in 2025Q2, a 29.5% rise, signaling potential credit deterioration in the construction portfolio.
The provision expense has trended upward over the past year, from $35.2M in 2025Q2 to $45.6M in 2026Q2, while actual charge-offs remain minimal. This suggests the bank is building reserves ahead of potential losses, likely due to the shift in RESG portfolio mix toward life sciences and medical office buildings, which may carry different risk profiles. The weighted average LTV in the RESG portfolio provides a cushion, but the concentration in gateway cities like San Francisco and New York introduces localized risk. The rising provisions, combined with decelerating revenue growth, may indicate that credit costs are beginning to outpace the bank's ability to grow earnings.
Capital Ratios Stable, Buffer Intact
According to recent SEC filings, Bank OZK's equity-to-assets ratio held steady at 0.15 in 2026Q2, with equity growing to $6.3B, providing a solid buffer for organic growth and dividends.
The equity base has grown from $5.3B in 2024Q1 to $6.3B in 2026Q2, a 18.9% increase, while total assets grew 15.8%, indicating that capital is being built faster than assets. This suggests the bank is retaining earnings to support future loan growth or to absorb potential credit losses. The low debt-to-equity ratio of 0.08% (from company intelligence) underscores a conservative capital structure, but the lack of disclosed CET1 ratio limits a full assessment. The stable capital position provides flexibility for continued dividend increases, which have grown from $47.1M to $55.5M per quarter, but may limit aggressive buybacks.
Liquidity Position Strengthens
As reported in financial statements, Bank OZK's cash and bank balances rose to $1.6B in 2026Q2, while investment securities reached $37.4B, indicating ample liquidity to meet funding needs.
The liquidity profile appears robust, with cash and securities totaling $39.0B, representing 93.5% of total assets. This high level of liquid assets suggests the bank is well-positioned to handle deposit outflows or fund unfunded loan commitments, which are a key driver of future growth. However, the reliance on investment securities for liquidity may expose the bank to unrealized losses if interest rates rise, though the current NIM compression suggests rates are stable. The absence of wholesale funding reliance, as indicated by the low debt-to-equity ratio, further supports a stable funding base.
NIM Outlook Clouded by Deposit Betas
Based on reported figures, Bank OZK's net interest margin has slipped to 0.9% in 2026Q2, and with no forward guidance, the trajectory suggests continued compression if deposit costs keep rising.
The bank's floating-rate construction loans should benefit from a stable or rising rate environment, but the deposit beta has been higher than expected, eroding the spread. The efficiency ratio has deteriorated from 19.6% in 2024Q3 to 25.4% in 2026Q2, indicating that non-interest expenses are growing faster than revenue, which may further pressure profitability. The lack of forward guidance in the latest quarterly report suggests management may lack visibility into loan demand or margin trends, warranting close monitoring of future commentary. If deposit costs continue to rise without corresponding asset yield increases, NIM could fall below 0.9%, impacting earnings.
Unrealized Losses Lurk in Securities
According to recent financial disclosures, Bank OZK's investment securities grew to $37.4B in 2026Q2, but rising rates may have created unrealized losses that could pressure capital if realized.
The substantial securities portfolio, now 89.7% of total assets, may carry significant unrealized losses in a rising rate environment, though the data does not disclose AOCI. If rates have risen since purchase, the mark-to-market hit could reduce tangible book value, potentially constraining capital flexibility. This risk is non-obvious because the bank's headline capital ratios appear stable, but the securities mix shift suggests a duration mismatch that warrants monitoring. Investors should scrutinize the duration and yield of the securities book, as a rate shock could erode the capital buffer that currently appears healthy.