Equity to assets has held steady around 0.14 to 0.15 while total assets stepped up from $18.3 billion to $26.6 billion in 2025Q2, suggesting acquired scale rather than organic growth, though regulatory CET1 and Tier 1 ratios are not disclosed in the supplied data.
Renasant Corporation (RNST) balance sheet — 30-year assets, liabilities & shareholders' equity history
| Metric | TTM | Dec'25 | Dec'24 | Dec'23 | Dec'22 | Dec'21 | Dec'20 | Dec'19 | Dec'18 | Dec'17 | Dec'16 | Dec'15 | Dec'14 | Dec'13 | Dec'12 | Dec'11 | Dec'10 | Dec'09 | Dec'08 | Dec'07 | Dec'06 | Dec'05 | Dec'04 | Dec'03 | Dec'02 | Dec'01 | Dec'00 | Dec'99 | Dec'98 | Dec'97 | Dec'96 |
|---|
| Cash & Short Term Investments | 3.9B | 1.07B | 1.92B | 1.72B | 2.11B | 4.26B | 1.98B | 1.71B | 1.82B | 952.94M | 980.47M | 858.38M | 715.17M | 747.9M | 488.73M | 672.95M | 292.67M | 148.56M | 100.39M | 99.79M | 98.2M | 95.86M | 56.02M | 53.48M | 58.74M | 64.41M | 56.82M | 44.1M | 38.6M | 53.9M | 48.7M |
| Cash & Due from Banks | 734.52M | 1.07B | 1.09B | 801.35M | 575.99M | 1.88B | 633.2M | 414.93M | 569.11M | 281.45M | 306.22M | 211.57M | 161.58M | 246.65M | 132.42M | 209.02M | 292.67M | 148.56M | 100.39M | 99.79M | 98.2M | 95.86M | 56.02M | 53.48M | 58.74M | 64.41M | 56.82M | 44.1M | 38.6M | 53.9M | 48.7M |
| Short Term Investments | 0 | 0 | 831.01M | 923.28M | 1.53B | 2.39B | 1.34B | 1.29B | 1.25B | 671.49M | 674.25M | 646.8M | 553.58M | 501.25M | 356.31M | 463.93M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Total Investments | 23.46B | 22.63B | 14.8B | 14.36B | 14.24B | 13.04B | 12.44B | 11.16B | 10.63B | 8.3B | 7.32B | 6.67B | 4.94B | 4.78B | 3.47B | 3.36B | 3.34B | 3.05B | 3.23B | 3.14B | 2.27B | 2.06B | 1.5B | 1.27B | 1.2B | 1.09B | 1.08B | 1.06B | 1.01B | 867.4M | 799.5M |
| Investments Growth % | 111.86% | 52.88% | 3.03% | 0.86% | 9.23% | 4.77% | 11.49% | 4.99% | 28.14% | 13.35% | 9.81% | 34.81% | 3.44% | 37.57% | 3.38% | 0.59% | 9.61% | -5.71% | 3.05% | 37.97% | 10.37% | 37.23% | 18.65% | 5.81% | 9.35% | 0.9% | 2.66% | 4.23% | 16.79% | 8.49% | 9.87% |
| Long-Term Investments | 91.81B | 22.63B | 13.97B | 13.44B | 12.71B | 10.65B | 11.1B | 9.87B | 9.38B | 7.63B | 6.64B | 6.02B | 4.39B | 4.28B | 3.12B | 2.9B | 3.34B | 3.05B | 3.23B | 3.14B | 2.27B | 2.06B | 1.5B | 1.27B | 1.2B | 1.09B | 1.08B | 1.06B | 1.01B | 867.4M | 799.5M |
| Accounts Receivables | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Goodwill & Intangibles | 1.55B | 1.55B | 1.08B | 1.1B | 1.1B | 1.05B | 1.03B | 1.03B | 1.03B | 674.89M | 520.91M | 504.32M | 297.33M | 304.33M | 190.93M | 192.33M | 191.87M | 191.36M | 193.32M | 197.31M | 98.3M | 100.83M | 50.42M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Goodwill | 1.42B | 1.41B | 988.9M | 991.66M | 991.71M | 939.68M | 939.68M | 939.68M | 932.93M | 611.05M | 470.53M | 445.87M | 274.71M | 276.1M | 184.86M | 184.88M | 184.88M | 184.88M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Intangible Assets | 129.69M | 146.61M | 87.1M | 110.48M | 108.62M | 113.12M | 93.13M | 90.47M | 93.09M | 63.85M | 50.38M | 58.45M | 22.62M | 28.23M | 6.07M | 7.45M | 6.99M | 6.47M | 193.32M | 197.31M | 98.3M | 100.83M | 50.42M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| PP&E (Net) | 465.5M | 465.14M | 279.8M | 283.19M | 283.6M | 293.12M | 300.5M | 309.7M | 209.17M | 183.25M | 179.22M | 169.13M | 113.73M | 101.53M | 66.75M | 54.5M | 51.42M | 43.67M | 46.99M | 47.55M | 41.35M | 42.16M | 34M | 31.7M | 29.29M | 28.35M | 30.11M | 27.7M | 26.8M | 23.5M | 21.6M |
| Other Assets | -23.46B | 1.04B | 700.49M | 696.69M | 673.96M | 473.74M | 444.37M | 399.48M | 434.27M | 336.46M | 325.13M | 339.99M | 277.52M | 313.64M | 313.69M | 384.86M | 420.02M | 209.11M | 142.38M | 130.35M | 99.54M | 98.45M | 65.73M | 64.71M | 60.6M | 68.33M | 41.13M | 35.4M | 29.4M | 26.3M | 23.3M |
| Total Current Assets | 3.57B | 1.07B | 2.01B | 1.84B | 2.22B | 4.34B | 2.06B | 1.79B | 1.88B | 1.01B | 1.03B | 894.35M | 725.59M | 747.96M | 488.93M | 673.29M | 292.67M | 148.56M | 100.39M | 99.79M | 98.2M | 95.86M | 56.02M | 53.48M | 58.74M | 64.41M | 56.82M | 44.1M | 38.6M | 53.9M | 48.7M |
| Total Non-Current Assets | 2.01B | 25.68B | 16.02B | 15.52B | 14.77B | 12.47B | 12.88B | 11.61B | 11.05B | 8.82B | 7.67B | 7.03B | 5.08B | 5B | 3.69B | 3.53B | 4B | 3.49B | 3.62B | 3.51B | 2.51B | 2.3B | 1.65B | 1.36B | 1.29B | 1.19B | 1.16B | 1.12B | 1.07B | 917.2M | 844.4M |
| Total Assets | 27.52B | 26.75B | 18.03B | 17.36B | 16.99B | 16.81B | 14.93B | 13.4B | 12.93B | 9.83B | 8.7B | 7.93B | 5.81B | 5.75B | 4.18B | 4.2B | 4.3B | 3.64B | 3.72B | 3.61B | 2.61B | 2.4B | 1.71B | 1.42B | 1.34B | 1.25B | 1.21B | 1.16B | 1.11B | 971.1M | 893.1M |
| Asset Growth % | 101.08% | 48.33% | 3.88% | 2.19% | 1.06% | 12.6% | 11.41% | 3.6% | 31.59% | 12.99% | 9.76% | 36.54% | 1.02% | 37.52% | -0.56% | -2.22% | 18.02% | -2.02% | 2.87% | 38.33% | 8.91% | 40.42% | 20.66% | 5.26% | 7.16% | 3.53% | 4.21% | 4.98% | 14.08% | 8.73% | 6.11% |
| Return on Assets (ROA) | 1.23% | 0.81% | 1.1% | 0.84% | 0.98% | 1.11% | 0.59% | 1.27% | 1.29% | 1% | 1.09% | 0.99% | 1.03% | 0.67% | 0.64% | 0.6% | 0.8% | 0.5% | 0.66% | 1% | 1.08% | 1.18% | 1.18% | 1.32% | 1.26% | 1.18% | 0.94% | 1.3% | 1.13% | 1.18% | 1.1% |
| Accounts Payable | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Total Debt | 1.56B | 1.06B | 538.63M | 736.98M | 1.14B | 485.16M | 496.31M | 865.6M | 651.32M | 297.36M | 312.13M | 570.5M | 188.82M | 171.88M | 164.71M | 266.19M | 316.44M | 618.02M | 933.98M | 624.39M | 216.42M | 266.5M | 191.55M | 125.57M | 86.31M | 41.15M | 39.89M | 51.3M | 22.5M | 20.8M | 11.2M |
| Net Debt | 826.8M | -15.19M | -553.4M | -64.37M | 564.37M | -1.39B | -136.89M | 450.67M | 82.21M | 15.91M | 5.91M | 358.93M | 27.24M | -74.77M | 32.29M | 57.18M | 23.77M | 469.46M | 833.58M | 524.6M | 118.22M | 170.64M | 135.52M | 72.09M | 27.57M | -23.27M | -16.93M | 7.2M | -16.1M | -33.1M | -37.5M |
| Long-Term Debt | 754.83M | 499.76M | 430.61M | 429.4M | 428.13M | 471.21M | 474.97M | 376.51M | 263.62M | 207.55M | 202.46M | 148.22M | 156.42M | 169.59M | 159.45M | 243.22M | 301.05M | 595.63M | 619.43M | 253.93M | 216.42M | 202.21M | 136.86M | 112.01M | 0 | 0 | 19.95M | 19.3M | 17.5M | 18.5M | 11.2M |
| Short-Term Debt | 806.48M | 555.77M | 108.02M | 307.58M | 712.23M | 13.95M | 21.34M | 489.09M | 387.71M | 89.81M | 109.68M | 422.28M | 32.4M | 2.28M | 5.25M | 22.97M | 15.39M | 22.4M | 314.54M | 370.46M | 0 | 64.3M | 54.68M | 13.56M | 86.31M | 41.15M | 19.95M | 32M | 5M | 2.3M | 0 |
| Other Liabilities | 22.12B | 21.81B | 245.31M | 249.39M | 224.83M | 209.58M | 241.49M | 196.16M | 111.08M | 96.56M | 95.7M | 100.58M | 66.23M | 66.83M | 54.48M | 36.38M | 43.23M | 36.84M | 37.3M | 41.01M | 33.26M | 27.31M | 18.28M | 18.09M | 26.38M | 26.95M | 3.78M | 16.7M | 14.8M | 17.2M | 18.5M |
| Total Current Liabilities | 806.48M | 555.77M | 14.68B | 14.38B | 14.2B | 13.92B | 12.08B | 10.7B | 10.52B | 8.01B | 7.17B | 6.64B | 4.87B | 4.84B | 3.47B | 3.44B | 3.48B | 2.6B | 2.66B | 2.92B | 2.11B | 1.93B | 1.37B | 1.15B | 1.19B | 1.1B | 1.07B | 1.01B | 965.3M | 837.2M | 772.8M |
| Total Non-Current Liabilities | 22.88B | 22.31B | 675.92M | 678.79M | 652.96M | 680.79M | 716.46M | 572.67M | 374.7M | 304.11M | 298.15M | 248.8M | 222.66M | 236.42M | 213.93M | 279.6M | 344.28M | 632.46M | 656.74M | 294.94M | 249.69M | 229.51M | 155.14M | 130.1M | 26.38M | 26.95M | 23.73M | 36M | 32.3M | 35.7M | 29.7M |
| Total Liabilities | 23.69B | 22.87B | 15.36B | 15.06B | 14.85B | 14.6B | 12.8B | 11.27B | 10.89B | 8.31B | 7.47B | 6.89B | 5.09B | 5.08B | 3.68B | 3.71B | 3.83B | 3.23B | 3.32B | 3.21B | 2.36B | 2.16B | 1.53B | 1.28B | 1.21B | 1.13B | 1.09B | 1.05B | 997.6M | 872.9M | 802.5M |
| Total Equity | 3.83B | 3.88B | 2.68B | 2.3B | 2.14B | 2.21B | 2.13B | 2.13B | 2.04B | 1.51B | 1.23B | 1.04B | 711.65M | 665.65M | 498.21M | 487.2M | 469.51M | 410.12M | 400.37M | 399.07M | 252.7M | 235.44M | 179.04M | 137.63M | 132.78M | 123.58M | 121.66M | 116.1M | 110.2M | 98.2M | 90.6M |
| Equity Growth % | 89.46% | 45.05% | 16.58% | 7.55% | -3.34% | 3.62% | 0.33% | 4% | 34.91% | 22.88% | 18.91% | 45.69% | 6.91% | 33.61% | 2.26% | 3.77% | 14.48% | 2.44% | 0.33% | 57.92% | 7.33% | 31.5% | 30.09% | 3.65% | 7.44% | 1.58% | 4.79% | 5.35% | 12.22% | 8.39% | 6.59% |
| Equity / Assets (Capital Ratio) | 13.93% | 14.52% | 14.85% | 13.23% | 12.57% | 13.15% | 14.29% | 15.86% | 15.8% | 15.41% | 14.17% | 13.08% | 12.26% | 11.58% | 11.92% | 11.59% | 10.93% | 11.26% | 10.77% | 11.05% | 9.68% | 9.82% | 10.49% | 9.72% | 9.88% | 9.85% | 10.04% | 9.98% | 9.95% | 10.11% | 10.14% |
| Return on Equity (ROE) | 8.62% | 5.52% | 7.86% | 6.53% | 7.64% | 8.1% | 3.93% | 8.04% | 8.26% | 6.71% | 8.01% | 7.78% | 8.65% | 5.75% | 5.41% | 5.36% | 7.2% | 4.57% | 6.02% | 9.54% | 11.11% | 11.68% | 11.65% | 13.45% | 12.77% | 11.9% | 9.41% | 13.08% | 11.23% | 11.65% | 10.82% |
| Book Value per Share | 41.85 | 40.82 | 44.83 | 40.92 | 38.00 | 39.16 | 37.77 | 36.51 | 38.84 | 32.23 | 29.38 | 28.62 | 22.41 | 24.24 | 19.79 | 19.34 | 20.43 | 19.33 | 18.96 | 21.04 | 15.93 | 14.98 | 13.85 | 11.02 | 10.46 | 9.35 | 8.85 | 8.28 | 7.90 | 7.23 | 6.87 |
| Tangible BV per Share | 24.96 | 24.51 | 26.82 | 21.29 | 18.42 | 20.51 | 19.48 | 18.82 | 19.34 | 17.87 | 16.97 | 14.70 | 13.05 | 13.16 | 12.21 | 11.71 | 12.08 | 10.31 | 9.80 | 10.64 | 9.73 | 8.56 | 9.95 | 11.02 | 10.46 | 9.35 | 8.85 | 8.28 | 7.90 | 7.23 | 6.87 |
| Common Stock | 488.61M | 488.61M | 332.42M | 296.48M | 296.48M | 296.48M | 296.48M | 296.48M | 296.48M | 249.95M | 225.53M | 206.46M | 163.28M | 163.28M | 133.58M | 133.58M | 133.58M | 113.95M | 113.95M | 113.95M | 86.17M | 57.45M | 50.6M | 46.59M | 31.06M | 31.06M | 31.06M | 31.1M | 31M | 0 | 0 |
| Additional Paid-in Capital | 2.39B | 2.39B | 1.49B | 1.31B | 1.3B | 1.3B | 1.3B | 1.29B | 1.29B | 898.1M | 707.41M | 585.94M | 345.21M | 342.55M | 218.13M | 217.48M | 217.01M | 184.83M | 184.27M | 184.86M | 83.84M | 111.76M | 67.55M | 40.26M | 39.93M | 39.85M | 39.93M | 40.4M | 39.9M | 0 | 0 |
| Retained Earnings | 1.38B | 1.2B | 1.09B | 952.12M | 857.73M | 741.65M | 615.77M | 617.36M | 500.66M | 397.35M | 337.54M | 276.34M | 232.88M | 194.81M | 180.63M | 171.11M | 162.55M | 146.58M | 142.43M | 132.77M | 114.25M | 96.9M | 81.72M | 70.34M | 73.94M | 63.39M | 54.42M | 48.1M | 38.5M | 28.4M | 30.9M |
| Accumulated OCI | -160.75M | -89.73M | -142.61M | -154.26M | -209.04M | -10.44M | 25.07M | 764K | -17.9M | -10.51M | -15.9M | -9.54M | -7.6M | -11.97M | -8.5M | -8.15M | -16.44M | -7.46M | -12.24M | -1.1M | -5.84M | -3.68M | 798K | 3.01M | 5.41M | 2.14M | -66K | -3.3M | 800K | 600K | 200K |
| Treasury Stock | -275.38M | -103.49M | -97.2M | -105.25M | -111.58M | -118.03M | -101.55M | -83.19M | -24.25M | -19.91M | -21.69M | -22.39M | -22.13M | -23.02M | -25.63M | -26.82M | -27.19M | -27.79M | -28.04M | -31.41M | -25.72M | -26.99M | -21.62M | -22.57M | -17.56M | -12.86M | -3.69M | -200K | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Preferred Stock | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
Quick answers to the most common questions about buying RNST stock.
As of 2025, Renasant Corporation (RNST) had total assets of $26.75B including $1.07B in current assets.
Renasant Corporation (RNST) carries total debt of $1.06B. Comparing total debt to cash helps evaluate the company's debt burden and net leverage.
Renasant Corporation (RNST) has total shareholders' equity (book value) of $3.88B ($40.82 book value per share). Book value represents the net worth of the company belonging to common stock holders.
Renasant Corporation (RNST) reported a current ratio of 1.93x. A current ratio above 1.0x indicates that the company has more current assets than current liabilities, suggesting sufficient short-term liquidity.
Key Metrics
Top Statement Risk
Provision volatility and deposit cost pressure
Metrics are mathematically derived from official filings.
Step-Up Balance Sheet Reflects Acquisition Scale
According to reported balance sheet figures, Renasant's total assets rose from about $18.3B in 2025Q1 to $26.6B in 2025Q2 and have held near $27B since, a step change that suggests the expansion was driven by acquired scale rather than organic loan growth.
The jump in total assets and liabilities at the 2025 mid-year point, with equity moving from $2.7B to $3.8B, is more consistent with a transformational combination than gradual organic growth. The subsequent flatness in total assets suggests the balance sheet has been digested rather than rapidly expanded. Investors should monitor whether the acquired loan book is being grown organically from this higher base, since the reported figures alone cannot separate acquired from originated balances.
Funding Base Quality Remains Unverified
Based on Renasant's reported figures, the deposit mix and cost of funds are not disclosed in the supplied dataset, so the franchise quality implied by the NIM range of roughly 0.7% to 0.9% cannot be confirmed independently from the balance sheet alone.
Net interest margin has stayed in a narrow band, which is consistent with a funding base that is at least holding its cost under control. However, without non-interest-bearing deposit share or deposit beta data, the depth of the low-cost franchise cannot be verified and should be treated as data unavailable. Analysts should obtain the deposit composition disclosure before drawing firm conclusions on funding durability.
Provision Spike Warrants Credit Normalization Check
As reported in financial statements, provision expense jumped to $81.3M in 2025Q2 from a run-rate near $3 to $5M, and the subsequent quarters have normalized to roughly $5M to $13M, a pattern that may reflect either a discrete credit event or a CECL-driven reserve build.
The single-quarter spike is large relative to the prior run-rate and is the most important credit datapoint in the series. The quick reversion suggests the reserve build may have been front-loaded, which could indicate conservatism at acquisition, but this is inference rather than proven fact. Loan-level charge-off and NPL detail is not supplied, so the underlying credit trajectory warrants further investigation.
Equity Ratio Near Historical Levels Post-Combination
Based on Renasant's reported figures, equity to assets has held around 0.14 to 0.15 across the ten quarters, implying the capital base expanded in proportion to the balance sheet, though regulatory CET1 and Tier 1 ratios are not included in the supplied data.
A stable equity-to-assets ratio through a large balance sheet step-up suggests capital was issued or retained in line with the acquired asset base. Return on equity has been modest, ranging from 0.0% to 2.9%, which limits the organic capital build and means buyback or M&A capacity depends on regulatory ratios that are not provided here. Those ratios should be obtained before assessing capital deployment headroom.
Ratio Instability Masks Underlying Earnings Power
According to reported figures, the efficiency ratio swung between 25.5% and 68.7% and return on equity ranged from 0.0% to 2.9%, a volatility that makes underlying earnings power difficult to assess and may be driven by lumpy fee income and provisioning rather than core banking performance.
The wide swings in efficiency ratio and ROE indicate that single-quarter reported results are poor guides to run-rate profitability. Non-interest income volatility, which the prior income analysis flagged, appears to be a contributing factor. The balance sheet alone cannot isolate whether the weak trough quarters reflect transitory items or a structurally lower earnings base, and this uncertainty should temper any extrapolation of recent profitability.