Leverage improved to a D/E of 0.67 with cash surging to $5.7B and a current ratio of 5.06, though retained earnings fell to $4.6B from $7.2B due to dividends.
Southern Copper Corporation (SCCO) balance sheet — 30-year assets, liabilities & shareholders' equity history
| Metric | TTM | Dec'25 | Dec'24 | Dec'23 | Dec'22 | Dec'21 | Dec'20 | Dec'19 | Dec'18 | Dec'17 | Dec'16 | Dec'15 | Dec'14 | Dec'13 | Dec'12 | Dec'11 | Dec'10 | Dec'09 | Dec'08 | Dec'07 | Dec'06 | Dec'05 | Dec'04 | Dec'03 | Dec'02 | Dec'01 | Dec'00 | Dec'99 | Dec'98 | Dec'97 | Dec'96 |
|---|
| Total Current Assets | 10.79B | 8.35B | 6.17B | 4.43B | 5.19B | 6.14B | 4.82B | 4.18B | 3.18B | 3.17B | 2.57B | 2.48B | 2.41B | 3.41B | 4.29B | 3.08B | 3.69B | 1.78B | 1.55B | 2.64B | 2.44B | 1.71B | 1.01B | 475.95M | 310.87M | 426.64M | 441.85M | 269.1M | 410.1M | 561.6M | 403.1M |
| Cash & Short-Term Investments | 7.33B | 4.91B | 3.5B | 1.75B | 2.28B | 3.49B | 2.59B | 2.01B | 1.06B | 1.06B | 597.3M | 878M | 740.3M | 1.88B | 2.59B | 1.37B | 2.27B | 795.25M | 779.12M | 1.53B | 1.3B | 876M | 591.3M | 295.47M | 147.54M | 212.86M | 149.09M | 10.6M | 175.9M | 126.5M | 173.2M |
| Cash Only | 5.67B | 4.3B | 3.26B | 1.15B | 2.07B | 3B | 2.18B | 1.93B | 844.6M | 1B | 546M | 274.5M | 401.7M | 1.67B | 2.46B | 848.1M | 2.19B | 772.31M | 716.74M | 1.41B | 1.02B | 876M | 546.03M | 295.47M | 147.54M | 212.86M | 149.09M | 10.6M | 175.9M | 126.5M | 173.2M |
| Short-Term Investments | 1.66B | 604.6M | 245.3M | 599.3M | 208.3M | 486.9M | 410.8M | 80.7M | 213.8M | 50.5M | 51.3M | 603.5M | 338.6M | 208.3M | 134.3M | 522M | 76.2M | 22.95M | 62.38M | 117.9M | 280M | 0 | 45.27M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Accounts Receivable | 2.01B | 2.02B | 1.24B | 1.23B | 1.47B | 1.45B | 1.14B | 911.8M | 972.6M | 976.4M | 668.5M | 551.2M | 621.9M | 597.78M | 751.97M | 883.58M | 748.03M | 435.59M | 133.59M | 462.78M | 606.43M | 386.46M | 474.22M | 89.24M | 60.34M | 83.81M | 142.46M | 80.6M | 64.5M | 73.8M | 89.6M |
| Days Sales Outstanding | 45.66 | 55.01 | 39.71 | 45.3 | 53.54 | 48.29 | 51.96 | 45.68 | 50.02 | 53.56 | 45.36 | 39.87 | 39.22 | 36.65 | 41.15 | 47.3 | 53.02 | 42.58 | 10.05 | 27.76 | 40.54 | 34.3 | 55.9 | 40.8 | 33.14 | 46.53 | 73.13 | 50.33 | 37.49 | 33.08 | 43.43 |
| Inventory | 1.06B | 1.06B | 1.05B | 1.02B | 1.01B | 972.9M | 950.2M | 1.07B | 1.03B | 1.04B | 1.01B | 857.2M | 766M | 693.9M | 682.7M | 651.9M | 504.9M | 456.12M | 451.6M | 448.28M | 413.65M | 395.85M | 96.94M | 76.69M | 91.88M | 101.03M | 114.93M | 110.2M | 89M | 108.7M | 118.7M |
| Days Inventory Outstanding | 62.94 | 66.42 | 66.6 | 66.56 | 67.44 | 74.86 | 73.2 | 88.62 | 91.65 | 96.21 | 99.1 | 89.72 | 83.21 | 76.33 | 79.29 | 77.03 | 75.01 | 76.69 | 64.73 | 65.7 | 65.15 | 74.59 | 22.94 | 58.23 | 74.48 | 79.97 | 93.39 | 96.39 | 72.61 | 86.91 | 109.77 |
| Other Current Assets | 86.1M | 31.4M | 31.5M | 38.1M | 44.4M | 33.5M | 29.2M | 26.2M | 93.8M | 11M | 40.5M | 32M | 101.9M | 307.92M | 342.09M | 195.65M | 181.1M | 86.8M | 189.39M | 197.27M | 120.02M | 56.05M | 330.87M | 4.97M | 4.55M | 6.14M | 35.37M | 67.7M | 80.7M | 252.6M | 21.6M |
| Total Non-Current Assets | 13.34B | 13.03B | 12.54B | 12.3B | 12.09B | 12.16B | 12.13B | 12.22B | 11.11B | 10.61B | 10.67B | 10.11B | 9.04B | 7.58B | 6.08B | 4.98B | 4.39B | 4.28B | 4.21B | 3.95B | 3.93B | 3.97B | 3.68B | 1.45B | 1.44B | 1.39B | 1.33B | 1.28B | 1.12B | 981.7M | 876.7M |
| Property, Plant & Equipment | 11.32B | 10.97B | 10.62B | 10.56B | 10.45B | 10.38B | 10.44B | 10.42B | 9.4B | 9.1B | 8.77B | 8.26B | 7.44B | 6.48B | 5.16B | 4.42B | 4.09B | 3.97B | 3.8B | 3.57B | 3.54B | 3.33B | 3.07B | 1.12B | 1.25B | 1.38B | 1.3B | 1.25B | 1.09B | 947.5M | 855.8M |
| Fixed Asset Turnover | 1.43x | 1.22x | 1.08x | 0.94x | 0.96x | 1.05x | 0.77x | 0.70x | 0.75x | 0.73x | 0.61x | 0.61x | 0.78x | 0.92x | 1.29x | 1.54x | 1.26x | 0.94x | 1.28x | 1.71x | 1.54x | 1.24x | 1.01x | 0.71x | 0.53x | 0.48x | 0.55x | 0.47x | 0.58x | 0.86x | 0.88x |
| Goodwill | 0 | 41.9M | 41.9M | 41.9M | 41.9M | 41.9M | 41.9M | 41.9M | 41.9M | 41.9M | 41.9M | 41.4M | 17M | 17M | 17M | 17M | 17M | 17M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Intangible Assets | 121.5M | 80.5M | 82.7M | 88.3M | 92.8M | 96.2M | 101.1M | 106.5M | 105.8M | 110.6M | 112.3M | 113.7M | 92.87M | 93.22M | 92.3M | 216.42M | 161.07M | 204.1M | 253.3M | 115.8M | 118.11M | 314M | 241.1M | 109.01M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Long-Term Investments | 569.7M | 134.5M | 111.9M | 108.2M | 110.8M | 115.4M | 114.3M | 111.9M | 103.6M | 99.7M | 87.5M | 76.1M | 66.7M | 57.14M | 47.05M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Other Non-Current Assets | 1.4B | 1.46B | 1.37B | 1.24B | 1.16B | 1.21B | 1.21B | 1.36B | 1.25B | 1.09B | 932.7M | 1B | 867.8M | 755.74M | 563.38M | 291.77M | 137.77M | 148.38M | 201.96M | 260.94M | 262.59M | 526.23M | 491.67M | 227.59M | 192.38M | 18M | 30.58M | 25.5M | 27.1M | 34.2M | 20.9M |
| Total Assets | 24.13B | 21.38B | 18.71B | 16.73B | 17.28B | 18.3B | 16.95B | 16.41B | 14.48B | 13.77B | 13.28B | 12.53B | 11.31B | 11.13B | 10.38B | 8.07B | 8.2B | 6.06B | 5.76B | 6.58B | 6.38B | 5.69B | 2.6B | 1.93B | 1.75B | 1.82B | 1.77B | 1.55B | 1.53B | 1.54B | 1.28B |
| Asset Turnover | 0.72x | 0.63x | 0.61x | 0.59x | 0.58x | 0.60x | 0.47x | 0.44x | 0.49x | 0.48x | 0.41x | 0.40x | 0.51x | 0.53x | 0.64x | 0.84x | 0.63x | 0.62x | 0.84x | 0.92x | 0.86x | 0.72x | 1.19x | 0.41x | 0.38x | 0.36x | 0.40x | 0.38x | 0.41x | 0.53x | 0.59x |
| Asset Growth % | 58.85% | 14.26% | 11.89% | -3.2% | -5.58% | 7.97% | 3.29% | 13.27% | 5.19% | 3.72% | 5.98% | 10.77% | 1.61% | 7.19% | 28.61% | -1.52% | 35.24% | 5.17% | -12.4% | 3.2% | 12.11% | 118.99% | 34.51% | 10.19% | -3.8% | 2.87% | 14.56% | 1.29% | -1.13% | 20.59% | - |
| Total Current Liabilities | 2.13B | 2.15B | 2.25B | 1.39B | 1.24B | 2.25B | 1.38B | 1.48B | 1.22B | 1.17B | 999.1M | 916.7M | 1.18B | 783.5M | 857.1M | 954.7M | 1.1B | 602.42M | 737.46M | 927.19M | 859.57M | 795.63M | 461.45M | 187.2M | 100.79M | 220.95M | 132.38M | 111.2M | 97M | 85.1M | 105.3M |
| Accounts Payable | 871.9M | 861.5M | 615.2M | 652.6M | 657.6M | 591.9M | 594.6M | 598.3M | 673.4M | 659.8M | 584.2M | 646.6M | 546.9M | 493.26M | 475.57M | 443.13M | 558.66M | 283.34M | 413.35M | 255.07M | 271.06M | 284.98M | 142.36M | 48.32M | 39.38M | 55.6M | 68.16M | 58.4M | 48.5M | 47.9M | 33.8M |
| Days Payables Outstanding | 51.75 | 54.08 | 39.06 | 42.72 | 43.74 | 45.54 | 45.81 | 49.62 | 59.76 | 60.93 | 57.3 | 67.68 | 59.41 | 54.26 | 55.23 | 52.36 | 82.99 | 47.64 | 59.25 | 37.39 | 42.69 | 53.7 | 33.69 | 36.69 | 31.92 | 44.01 | 55.38 | 51.08 | 39.57 | 38.3 | 31.26 |
| Short-Term Debt | 0 | 86.5M | 499.8M | 0 | 0 | 299.7M | 0 | 399.8M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 200M | 0 | 10M | 10M | 10M | 10M | 10M | 160M | 10M | 10M | 152.31M | 60M | 0 | 122.91M | 24.34M | 23.3M | 13.7M | 13.7M | 23.7M |
| Deferred Revenue (Current) | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Other Current Liabilities | -279.5M | 158.1M | 100K | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 100K | -3.5M | 0 | -84K | -35K | 0 | 77.02M | 66.67M | 0 | 3.87M | 40.72M | 6.36M | 109.02M | 25.19M | 0 | -1.99M | 39.88M | 29.5M | 34.8M | 23.5M | 47.8M |
| Current Ratio | 5.06x | 3.89x | 2.75x | 3.19x | 4.20x | 2.73x | 3.48x | 2.83x | 2.62x | 2.71x | 2.57x | 2.71x | 2.05x | 4.35x | 5.00x | 3.23x | 3.36x | 2.95x | 2.11x | 2.84x | 2.84x | 2.15x | 2.20x | 2.54x | 3.08x | 1.93x | 3.34x | 2.42x | 4.23x | 6.60x | 3.83x |
| Quick Ratio | 4.56x | 3.40x | 2.28x | 2.46x | 3.38x | 2.30x | 2.79x | 2.11x | 1.77x | 1.82x | 1.56x | 1.77x | 1.40x | 3.47x | 4.21x | 2.55x | 2.90x | 2.19x | 1.49x | 2.36x | 2.36x | 1.66x | 1.99x | 2.13x | 2.17x | 1.47x | 2.47x | 1.43x | 3.31x | 5.32x | 2.70x |
| Cash Conversion Cycle | 56.85 | 67.35 | 67.25 | 69.15 | 77.24 | 77.61 | 79.35 | 84.68 | 81.91 | 88.84 | 87.16 | 61.92 | 63.02 | 58.72 | 65.21 | 71.97 | 45.03 | 71.63 | 15.53 | 56.07 | 62.99 | 55.19 | 45.15 | 62.34 | 75.7 | 82.48 | 111.13 | 95.64 | 70.53 | 81.7 | 121.94 |
| Total Non-Current Liabilities | 9.29B | 8.13B | 7.23B | 7.86B | 7.89B | 7.84B | 8.29B | 8.07B | 6.66B | 6.45B | 6.41B | 6.31B | 4.29B | 4.78B | 4.74B | 3.08B | 3.19B | 1.6B | 1.63B | 1.79B | 1.84B | 1.55B | 403.5M | 420.24M | 402.4M | 376.99M | 432.06M | 294.4M | 303.9M | 341.2M | 137.1M |
| Long-Term Debt | 7.99B | 6.75B | 5.76B | 6.25B | 6.25B | 6.25B | 6.54B | 6.54B | 5.96B | 5.96B | 5.95B | 5.95B | 3.98B | 4.2B | 4.2B | 2.74B | 2.75B | 1.27B | 1.28B | 1.29B | 1.52B | 1.16B | 1.18B | 289.04M | 299.04M | 273.12M | 322.91M | 199.3M | 220.5M | 234.2M | 82.9M |
| Capital Lease Obligations | 2.27B | 576.3M | 657.6M | 697.4M | 774.1M | 842.4M | 908.4M | 977.8M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Deferred Tax Liabilities | 486.8M | 130.5M | 124.5M | 132.2M | 161.2M | 118.3M | 159.4M | 178.3M | 223.1M | 55.6M | 204.8M | 171.3M | 91.2M | 164.3M | 141.4M | 174.5M | 206.1M | 176.23M | 169.34M | 219.5M | 194.76M | 259.09M | 116.28M | 110.08M | 88.57M | 88.61M | 94.89M | 79.9M | 56.7M | 44.8M | 49.4M |
| Other Non-Current Liabilities | 643.8M | 673.9M | 686.6M | 771.4M | 708.3M | 631.2M | 673.7M | 375.6M | 498.4M | 505.3M | 247.6M | 422.3M | 287.6M | 200.84M | 392.23M | 110.6M | 237.7M | 152.73M | 182.15M | 279.31M | 123.38M | 132.02M | 30.49M | 21.12M | 14.79M | 15.25M | 14.25M | 15.2M | 26.7M | 62.2M | 4.8M |
| Total Liabilities | 11.42B | 10.28B | 9.48B | 9.24B | 9.13B | 10.09B | 9.67B | 9.55B | 7.87B | 7.62B | 7.41B | 7.23B | 5.47B | 5.57B | 5.59B | 4.04B | 4.29B | 2.2B | 2.37B | 2.72B | 2.7B | 2.35B | 864.95M | 607.44M | 503.19M | 597.94M | 564.44M | 405.6M | 400.9M | 426.3M | 242.4M |
| Total Debt | 8.53B | 7.41B | 7B | 7.03B | 7.1B | 7.46B | 7.52B | 7.99B | 5.96B | 5.96B | 5.95B | 5.95B | 4.18B | 4.2B | 4.21B | 2.75B | 2.76B | 1.28B | 1.29B | 1.45B | 1.53B | 1.17B | 1.33B | 349.04M | 299.04M | 396.04M | 347.25M | 222.6M | 234.2M | 247.9M | 106.6M |
| Net Debt | 2.86B | 3.11B | 3.74B | 5.88B | 5.03B | 4.46B | 5.34B | 6.06B | 5.12B | 4.95B | 5.41B | 5.68B | 3.82B | 2.53B | 1.75B | 1.9B | 567.72M | 507.95M | 573.23M | 40.48M | 505.33M | 296.06M | 619.58M | 53.57M | 151.51M | 183.18M | 198.16M | 212M | 58.3M | 121.4M | -66.6M |
| Debt / Equity | 0.67x | 0.67x | 0.76x | 0.94x | 0.87x | 0.91x | 1.03x | 1.16x | 0.90x | 0.97x | 1.01x | 1.12x | 0.72x | 0.76x | 0.88x | 0.68x | 0.71x | 0.33x | 0.38x | 0.38x | 0.42x | 0.35x | 0.77x | 0.26x | 0.24x | 0.32x | 0.29x | 0.20x | 0.21x | 0.22x | 0.10x |
| Debt / EBITDA | 0.86x | 0.94x | 1.09x | 1.40x | 1.36x | 1.09x | 1.93x | 2.27x | 1.68x | 1.80x | 2.66x | 3.09x | 1.56x | 1.44x | 1.12x | 0.70x | 0.94x | 0.71x | 0.51x | 0.38x | 0.46x | 0.49x | 0.85x | 1.20x | 1.60x | 2.39x | 1.53x | 1.86x | 1.79x | 0.88x | 0.37x |
| Net Debt / EBITDA | 0.29x | 0.40x | 0.58x | 1.17x | 0.96x | 0.65x | 1.37x | 1.72x | 1.44x | 1.50x | 2.42x | 2.95x | 1.43x | 0.86x | 0.47x | 0.48x | 0.19x | 0.28x | 0.23x | 0.01x | 0.15x | 0.12x | 0.40x | 0.18x | 0.81x | 1.11x | 0.87x | 1.77x | 0.45x | 0.43x | -0.23x |
| Interest Coverage | 48.77x | 19.37x | 17.04x | 13.11x | 13.49x | 16.95x | 8.49x | 8.12x | 10.34x | 8.53x | 5.32x | 6.64x | 15.93x | 13.07x | 18.25x | 19.49x | 16.15x | 15.38x | 22.11x | 32.45x | 36.16x | 29.04x | 15.83x | 24.74x | 6.46x | 5.66x | 9.42x | 7.12x | - | - | - |
| Total Equity | 12.71B | 11.1B | 9.24B | 7.48B | 8.15B | 8.21B | 7.28B | 6.86B | 6.61B | 6.15B | 5.87B | 5.3B | 5.84B | 5.56B | 4.79B | 4.04B | 3.91B | 3.86B | 3.4B | 3.86B | 3.68B | 3.34B | 1.73B | 1.32B | 1.25B | 1.22B | 1.21B | 1.14B | 1.12B | 1.12B | 1.04B |
| Equity Growth % | 86.67% | 20.21% | 23.49% | -8.17% | -0.74% | 12.81% | 6.09% | 3.71% | 7.54% | 4.74% | 10.79% | -9.21% | 4.94% | 16.14% | 18.65% | 3.33% | 1.17% | 13.71% | -12.15% | 5% | 10.24% | 92.75% | 30.9% | 5.95% | 2.09% | 1.44% | 5.81% | 1.33% | 0.71% | 7.67% | - |
| Book Value per Share | 15.33 | 13.25 | 11.75 | 9.52 | 10.54 | 10.62 | 9.41 | 8.87 | 8.55 | 7.96 | 7.59 | 6.67 | 7.05 | 6.60 | 5.65 | 4.72 | 4.55 | 4.49 | 3.82 | 4.33 | 4.12 | 3.74 | 1.94 | 2.73 | 2.57 | 2.52 | 2.49 | 2.35 | 2.32 | 2.30 | 2.13 |
| Total Shareholders' Equity | 12.63B | 11.04B | 9.17B | 7.42B | 8.08B | 8.15B | 7.22B | 6.81B | 6.57B | 6.11B | 5.83B | 5.26B | 5.8B | 5.53B | 4.77B | 4.02B | 3.89B | 3.84B | 3.38B | 3.85B | 3.67B | 3.33B | 1.72B | 1.32B | 1.24B | 1.21B | 1.19B | 1.13B | 1.11B | 1.1B | 1.01B |
| Common Stock | 8.8M | 8.8M | 8.8M | 8.8M | 8.8M | 8.8M | 8.8M | 8.8M | 8.8M | 8.8M | 8.8M | 8.8M | 8.8M | 8.85M | 8.85M | 8.85M | 8.85M | 8.85M | 8.85M | 2.95M | 2.95M | 1.47M | 1.47M | 802K | 802K | 802K | 802K | 800K | 800K | 0 | 0 |
| Retained Earnings | 4.59B | 5.8B | 6.84B | 7.03B | 7.7B | 7.77B | 6.85B | 6.44B | 6.19B | 5.73B | 5.46B | 4.81B | 4.35B | 3.39B | 2.35B | 3.85B | 3.6B | 3.47B | 2.92B | 3.22B | 3.01B | 2.65B | 1.46B | 1.05B | 979.65M | 947.83M | 930.07M | 864.4M | 847.2M | 833.6M | 749.3M |
| Treasury Stock | -1.68B | -2.03B | -2.7B | -3.15B | -3.11B | -3.07B | -3.06B | -3.05B | -3.02B | -3B | -2.99B | -2.91B | -1.9B | -1.22B | -918.79M | -897.85M | -622.72M | -603.41M | -514.45M | -174.68M | -97.01M | -84.83M | -4.59M | -4.67M | -4.82M | -4.92M | -4.96M | -5M | -5.2M | 0 | 0 |
| Accumulated OCI | 8.3M | 8.3M | -2.2M | -8M | -9M | -9.4M | -8.4M | -10.1M | -2.4M | 500K | -2.4M | 1.1M | 4.8M | 6.24M | 4.03M | 12.87M | -126.42M | -13.06M | -23.48M | -26.55M | -22.33M | -13.09M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Minority Interest | 76.4M | 66.8M | 66.6M | 63.1M | 62.7M | 58.6M | 51.2M | 47.9M | 45.4M | 41.7M | 38.6M | 36.3M | 32.1M | 28.2M | 24M | 21M | 20M | 18.01M | 14.14M | 16.68M | 13.99M | 12.7M | 11.28M | 7.91M | 7.68M | 14.02M | 14.46M | 14M | 16.3M | 19.4M | 22.4M |
Quick answers to the most common questions about buying SCCO stock.
As of 2025, Southern Copper Corporation (SCCO) had total assets of $21.38B including $8.35B in current assets.
Southern Copper Corporation (SCCO) carries total debt of $7.41B, offset by $4.91B in cash and short-term investments. Comparing total debt to cash helps evaluate the company's debt burden and net leverage.
Southern Copper Corporation (SCCO) has total shareholders' equity (book value) of $11.04B ($13.25 book value per share). Book value represents the net worth of the company belonging to common stock holders.
Southern Copper Corporation (SCCO) reported a current ratio of 3.89x. A current ratio above 1.0x indicates that the company has more current assets than current liabilities, suggesting sufficient short-term liquidity.
Key Metrics
Top Statement Risk
Copper price cyclicality and Peru social friction
Metrics are mathematically derived from official filings.
Balance Sheet Expansion on Copper Strength
Total assets grew 44.6% year-over-year to $24.1B in Q2 2026, per recent financial statements, driven by rising cash and PPE, signaling a strengthening balance sheet amid robust copper prices.
The sequential increase in total assets from $21.9B in Q1 2026 to $24.1B in Q2 2026 reflects a $1.1B rise in cash and a $0.2B increase in net PPE, suggesting ongoing reinvestment in productive capacity. Equity expanded to $12.6B, up from $7.5B in Q2 2024, indicating retained earnings accumulation despite substantial dividend payouts. This trajectory implies that the company is leveraging favorable commodity conditions to fortify its asset base, though investors should monitor whether this pace is sustainable if copper prices retreat.
Leverage Declines Despite Higher Debt
Debt-to-equity fell to 0.67 in Q2 2026 from 0.92 in Q2 2024, as reported in balance sheet data, even as total debt rose to $8.5B, indicating that equity growth is outpacing debt accumulation.
Total debt increased by $1.5B over the period, yet the D/E ratio improved because equity grew by $5.1B, driven by strong retained earnings. The absolute debt level is manageable relative to assets, with debt-to-assets at 35.3%, and the company's cash position of $5.7B covers 67% of total debt, suggesting ample liquidity to service obligations. This leverage profile appears strategic, likely funding expansion projects, rather than a necessity, given the robust cash generation and low interest burden implied by the income statement.
Asset Mix Reflects Capital-Intensive Mining
Net PPE of $11.3B constitutes 46.9% of total assets in Q2 2026, per balance sheet data, underscoring the heavy fixed-asset base typical of large-scale copper mining operations.
The asset base is dominated by property, plant, and equipment, which grew modestly from $10.5B in Q2 2024, indicating ongoing capital investment in mine development and infrastructure. Goodwill remains minimal at $121.5M, representing only 0.5% of total assets, suggesting that acquisitions have not introduced significant intangible risk. The high proportion of tangible assets implies a business model with substantial depreciation charges, which could pressure margins if copper prices decline, but also provides a physical asset backing that supports the company's long-term reserve life.
Equity Quality Bolstered by Retained Earnings
Retained earnings reached $4.6B in Q2 2026, down from $7.2B in Q2 2024, as reported in balance sheet data, reflecting substantial dividend distributions that have reduced the equity buffer.
Despite strong net income, retained earnings have declined by $2.6B over the past two years, indicating that dividends and other distributions have exceeded net income accumulation. This trend suggests a shareholder-friendly capital allocation policy, but it also means that equity growth is increasingly reliant on external factors like asset revaluations or new share issuance, which have not been significant. The equity base remains solid at $12.6B, but investors should monitor whether the dividend policy is sustainable if copper prices weaken, as it could strain the balance sheet.
Liquidity Buffer Strengthens to Record Levels
Cash and equivalents surged to $5.7B in Q2 2026, up from $1.3B in Q2 2024, per balance sheet data, while the current ratio improved to 5.06, indicating a robust liquidity cushion.
The current ratio of 5.06 is exceptionally high, far exceeding the peer average of around 2.0, suggesting that SCCO holds ample short-term assets to cover near-term obligations. Cash alone represents 23.7% of total assets, providing a significant buffer against commodity price shocks or operational disruptions. This liquidity position appears to be a deliberate strategy to weather cyclical downturns and fund growth projects, though it also implies that excess cash is not being deployed as aggressively as it could be, potentially reducing return on assets.
Hidden Liabilities in Reclamation and Intercompany
The reported D/E of 0.67 may understate true leverage, as balance sheet data does not disclose environmental reclamation obligations or intercompany financing with Grupo México, which could be material.
While the balance sheet shows low debt, mining companies typically carry significant asset retirement obligations (ARO) that are not fully captured in the debt figure. Additionally, the relationship with parent Grupo México may involve off-balance-sheet arrangements or intercompany loans that are not separately disclosed, potentially masking the true leverage. Investors should scrutinize the notes to the financial statements for ARO details and related-party transactions, as these could represent hidden claims on future cash flows that are not apparent from the headline numbers.