The balance sheet remains healthy with total assets growing 8.2% year-over-year to $33.9B and equity/assets stable at 11%, though the large securities portfolio ($29.2B) may carry unrealized losses and Texas CRE concentration poses a credit risk.
Texas Capital Bancshares, Inc. (TCBI) balance sheet — 27-year assets, liabilities & shareholders' equity history
| Metric | TTM | Dec'25 | Dec'24 | Dec'23 | Dec'22 | Dec'21 | Dec'20 | Dec'19 | Dec'18 | Dec'17 | Dec'16 | Dec'15 | Dec'14 | Dec'13 | Dec'12 | Dec'11 | Dec'10 | Dec'09 | Dec'08 | Dec'07 | Dec'06 | Dec'05 | Dec'04 | Dec'03 | Dec'02 | Dec'01 | Dec'00 | Dec'99 |
|---|
| Cash & Short Term Investments | 20.2B | 2.1B | 3.37B | 6.47B | 7.63B | 11.53B | 12.4B | 4.64B | 3.15B | 2.9B | 2.84B | 1.77B | 1.37B | 217.03M | 306.54M | 254.27M | 104.87M | 80.46M | 77.89M | 89.46M | 93.72M | 137.84M | 78.49M | 69.55M | 88.74M | 56.62M | 60.29M | 8.55M |
| Cash & Due from Banks | 3.7B | 2.1B | 3.19B | 3.24B | 5.01B | 7.95B | 9.21B | 4.4B | 3.03B | 2.88B | 2.81B | 1.74B | 1.33B | 153.82M | 206.35M | 110.56M | 104.87M | 80.46M | 77.89M | 89.46M | 93.72M | 137.84M | 78.49M | 69.55M | 88.74M | 56.62M | 60.29M | 8.55M |
| Short Term Investments | 4.56B | 3.92M | 182.86M | 3.23B | 2.62B | 3.54B | 3.2B | 239.87M | 120.22M | 23.51M | 24.87M | 29.99M | 41.72M | 63.21M | 100.19M | 143.71M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Total Investments | 29.24B | 28.5B | 26.57B | 24.28B | 22.66B | 26.19B | 27.66B | 27.27B | 24.47B | 21.52B | 18.32B | 16.69B | 14.2B | 11.25B | 9.99B | 7.73B | 6.02B | 5.35B | 4.86B | 4.07B | 3.45B | 2.8B | 2.47B | 2.07B | 1.66B | 1.09B | 830.27M | 389.2M |
| Investments Growth % | 29.78% | 7.23% | 9.46% | 7.16% | -13.49% | -5.31% | 1.42% | 11.45% | 13.67% | 17.46% | 9.81% | 17.53% | 26.24% | 12.61% | 29.26% | 28.34% | 12.53% | 10.11% | 19.31% | 18.06% | 23.23% | 13.31% | 19.43% | 24.79% | 51.76% | 31.53% | 113.32% | - |
| Long-Term Investments | 107.48B | 28.49B | 26.39B | 21.05B | 20.04B | 22.65B | 24.46B | 27.03B | 24.35B | 21.5B | 18.3B | 16.66B | 14.16B | 11.18B | 9.89B | 7.58B | 6.02B | 5.35B | 4.86B | 4.07B | 3.45B | 2.8B | 2.47B | 2.07B | 1.66B | 1.09B | 830.27M | 389.2M |
| Accounts Receivables | 0 | 0 | 0 | 801.67M | 719.16M | 559.9M | 715.7M | 740.05M | 626.61M | 516.24M | 465.93M | 382.1M | 333.7M | 286.91M | 316.2M | 268.86M | 225.31M | 202.89M | 184.24M | 86.45M | 85.82M | 71.39M | 56.7M | 48.99M | 41.92M | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Goodwill & Intangibles | 1.5M | 1.5M | 1.5M | 1.5M | 1.5M | 17.26M | 123.09M | 83M | 61.04M | 104.37M | 48.05M | 20.38M | 20.59M | 21.29M | 19.88M | 20.48M | 225.31M | 202.89M | 184.24M | 86.45M | 85.82M | 71.52M | 1.5M | 1.5M | 41.92M | 1.5M | 1.62M | 1.75M |
| Goodwill | 1.5M | 1.5M | 1.5M | 1.5M | 1.5M | 15.09M | 15.09M | 15.09M | 15.09M | 15.09M | 15.09M | 15.09M | 15M | 15M | 14.04M | 14.04M | 0 | 0 | 184.24M | 86.45M | 85.82M | 71.52M | 1.5M | 1.5M | 41.92M | 1.5M | 1.62M | 1.75M |
| Intangible Assets | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 2.17M | 108M | 67.91M | 45.95M | 89.27M | 32.95M | 5.29M | 5.59M | 6.29M | 5.84M | 6.44M | 225.31M | 202.89M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| PP&E (Net) | 91.85M | 88M | 85.44M | 32.37M | 26.38M | 20.9M | 24.55M | 31.21M | 23.8M | 25.18M | 19.77M | 23.56M | 23.14M | 11.48M | 11.45M | 11.46M | 11.57M | 11.19M | 9.47M | 31.68M | 33.82M | 21.63M | 4.52M | 4.67M | 3.83M | 4.95M | 6.11M | 4.41M |
| Other Assets | 0 | 854.55M | 881.66M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 30M | 50.19M | 30M | 25M | 55M | 0 | 90K | 0 | 0 | 75M | 44.98M | 4.14M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 9.68M | 10.14M | 4.67M |
| Total Current Assets | 9.14B | 2.1B | 3.37B | 7.27B | 8.35B | 12.09B | 13.12B | 5.38B | 3.78B | 3.42B | 3.31B | 2.15B | 1.71B | 503.94M | 622.74M | 523.13M | 330.18M | 283.35M | 262.13M | 175.92M | 179.54M | 209.24M | 135.19M | 118.54M | 130.66M | 56.62M | 60.29M | 8.55M |
| Total Non-Current Assets | 24.77B | 29.44B | 27.36B | 21.09B | 20.07B | 22.69B | 24.61B | 27.17B | 24.48B | 21.66B | 18.39B | 16.76B | 14.2B | 11.22B | 9.92B | 7.61B | 6.12B | 5.42B | 4.88B | 4.11B | 3.5B | 2.83B | 2.48B | 2.07B | 1.66B | 1.11B | 848.14M | 400.03M |
| Total Assets | 33.91B | 31.54B | 30.73B | 28.36B | 28.41B | 34.73B | 37.73B | 32.55B | 28.26B | 25.08B | 21.7B | 18.91B | 15.9B | 11.71B | 10.54B | 8.14B | 6.45B | 5.7B | 5.14B | 4.29B | 3.68B | 3.04B | 2.61B | 2.19B | 1.79B | 1.16B | 908.43M | 408.58M |
| Asset Growth % | 18.39% | 2.63% | 8.38% | -0.21% | -18.19% | -7.94% | 15.91% | 15.18% | 12.69% | 15.57% | 14.74% | 18.93% | 35.73% | 11.14% | 29.53% | 26.24% | 13.11% | 10.87% | 19.89% | 16.65% | 20.81% | 16.51% | 19.07% | 22.28% | 53.96% | 28.22% | 122.34% | - |
| Return on Assets (ROA) | 1.11% | 1.06% | 0.26% | 0.67% | 1.05% | 0.7% | 0.19% | 1.03% | 1.1% | 0.84% | 0.76% | 0.83% | 0.99% | 1.09% | 1.29% | 1.04% | 0.61% | 0.45% | 0.51% | 0.74% | 0.86% | 0.96% | 0.85% | 0.69% | 0.5% | 0.56% | -2.51% | -2.28% |
| Accounts Payable | 19.29M | 6.72M | 23.68M | 33.23M | 24M | 7.7M | 11.15M | 12.76M | 20.68M | 7.68M | 5.5M | 5.1M | 4.75M | 749K | 650K | 599K | 2.58M | 2.47M | 6.42M | 5.63M | 5.78M | 4.78M | 3.51M | 3.47M | 3.83M | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Total Debt | 850.86M | 950.58M | 1.55B | 2.36B | 2.13B | 3.13B | 3.51B | 2.94B | 4.94B | 3.56B | 2.5B | 2.04B | 1.59B | 1.25B | 2.17B | 3.21B | 411.29M | 1.07B | 1.28B | 897.26M | 324.96M | 312.12M | 615.61M | 566.37M | 459.46M | 163.6M | 18.59M | 46.27M |
| Net Debt | -2.85B | -1.15B | -1.64B | -883.7M | -2.88B | -4.82B | -5.7B | -1.46B | 1.91B | 684.26M | -310.33M | 301.27M | 261.57M | 1.1B | 1.97B | 3.1B | 306.43M | 989.98M | 1.2B | 807.79M | 231.25M | 174.28M | 537.12M | 496.82M | 370.72M | 106.98M | -41.7M | 37.72M |
| Long-Term Debt | 500.86M | 620.58M | 660.35M | 859.15M | 931.44M | 928.74M | 3.4B | 2.8B | 4.3B | 3.19B | 2.39B | 1.89B | 1.5B | 1.08B | 1.87B | 1.45B | 113.41M | 113.41M | 40M | 545.3M | 113.41M | 46.39M | 20.62M | 20.62M | 10M | 9.91M | 7.06M | 0 |
| Short-Term Debt | 350M | 330M | 885M | 1.5B | 1.2B | 2.2B | 111.75M | 141.77M | 641.17M | 365.04M | 109.58M | 143.05M | 92.68M | 170.6M | 297.12M | 1.77B | 297.89M | 957.03M | 1.24B | 351.96M | 211.56M | 265.72M | 594.99M | 545.75M | 449.46M | 153.69M | 11.53M | 46.27M |
| Other Liabilities | 29.41B | 502.83M | 556.32M | 392.9M | 345.83M | 273.49M | 339.49M | 318.09M | 194.24M | 182.21M | 161.22M | 153.43M | 151.39M | 115.55M | 91.58M | -1.25B | 48.58M | 23.92M | 134.39M | 23.05M | 21.76M | 14.63M | 6.88M | 6.25M | 8.48M | 8.74M | 8.79M | 2.33M |
| Total Current Liabilities | 350M | 26.79B | 26.15B | 23.91B | 24.08B | 30.32B | 31.12B | 26.63B | 21.27B | 19.5B | 17.13B | 15.23B | 12.77B | 9.43B | 7.74B | 7.32B | 5.76B | 5.08B | 4.58B | 3.42B | 3.29B | 2.77B | 2.39B | 1.99B | 1.65B | 1.04B | 806.38M | 333.33M |
| Total Non-Current Liabilities | 29.92B | 1.12B | 1.22B | 1.25B | 1.28B | 1.2B | 3.74B | 3.11B | 4.49B | 3.38B | 2.56B | 2.05B | 1.65B | 1.19B | 1.97B | 196.31M | 161.98M | 137.32M | 174.39M | 568.34M | 135.16M | 61.02M | 27.5M | 26.87M | 18.48M | 18.66M | 15.85M | 2.33M |
| Total Liabilities | 30.27B | 27.91B | 27.36B | 25.16B | 25.36B | 31.52B | 34.85B | 29.72B | 25.76B | 22.87B | 19.69B | 17.29B | 14.42B | 10.62B | 9.7B | 7.52B | 5.92B | 5.22B | 4.75B | 3.99B | 3.42B | 2.83B | 2.42B | 2.02B | 1.67B | 1.06B | 822.23M | 335.67M |
| Total Equity | 3.65B | 3.63B | 3.37B | 3.2B | 3.06B | 3.21B | 2.87B | 2.8B | 2.5B | 2.2B | 2.01B | 1.62B | 1.48B | 1.1B | 836.24M | 616.33M | 528.32M | 481.36M | 387.07M | 295.14M | 253.51M | 215.52M | 195.28M | 171.76M | 124.98M | 106.36M | 86.2M | 72.91M |
| Equity Growth % | 25.33% | 7.82% | 5.28% | 4.71% | -4.81% | 11.79% | 2.5% | 12.04% | 13.51% | 9.61% | 23.78% | 9.39% | 35.38% | 31.1% | 35.68% | 16.66% | 9.76% | 24.36% | 31.15% | 16.42% | 17.63% | 10.37% | 13.69% | 37.43% | 17.5% | 23.39% | 18.22% | - |
| Equity / Assets (Capital Ratio) | 10.76% | 11.51% | 10.96% | 11.28% | 10.75% | 9.24% | 7.61% | 8.61% | 8.85% | 8.78% | 9.26% | 8.59% | 9.33% | 9.36% | 7.93% | 7.57% | 8.2% | 8.45% | 7.53% | 6.88% | 6.9% | 7.08% | 7.48% | 7.83% | 6.97% | 9.13% | 9.49% | 17.85% |
| Return on Equity (ROE) | 10.04% | 9.44% | 2.36% | 6.05% | 10.61% | 8.35% | 2.34% | 11.77% | 12.48% | 9.36% | 8.54% | 9.32% | 10.57% | 12.53% | 16.61% | 13.28% | 7.37% | 5.56% | 7.11% | 10.73% | 12.33% | 13.24% | 11.12% | 9.32% | 6.35% | 6.07% | -20.74% | -12.75% |
| Book Value per Share | 80.26 | 79.90 | 71.67 | 65.81 | 59.85 | 62.76 | 56.76 | 55.56 | 49.74 | 43.83 | 42.97 | 34.96 | 33.73 | 26.24 | 20.82 | 16.08 | 14.15 | 14.11 | 13.80 | 11.03 | 9.55 | 8.08 | 7.37 | 7.85 | 6.40 | 5.48 | 9.87 | 9.65 |
| Tangible BV per Share | 80.23 | 79.87 | 71.64 | 65.78 | 59.82 | 62.42 | 54.33 | 53.91 | 48.52 | 41.75 | 41.94 | 34.52 | 33.26 | 25.73 | 20.32 | 15.54 | 8.11 | 8.16 | 7.23 | 7.80 | 6.32 | 5.40 | 7.31 | 7.78 | 4.26 | 5.41 | 9.69 | 9.41 |
| Common Stock | 520K | 518K | 515K | 511K | 509K | 506K | 504K | 503K | 502K | 496K | 495K | 459K | 457K | 410K | 407K | 376K | 369K | 359K | 310K | 264K | 261K | 258K | 255K | 250K | 192K | 191K | 96K | 77K |
| Additional Paid-in Capital | 1.08B | 1.07B | 1.06B | 1.05B | 1.03B | 1.01B | 991.9M | 978.21M | 967.89M | 961.3M | 955.47M | 714.55M | 709.74M | 448.21M | 450.12M | 349.46M | 336.8M | 326.22M | 255.05M | 190.18M | 182.32M | 176.13M | 172.38M | 167.75M | 131.88M | 127.38M | 113.97M | 86.92M |
| Retained Earnings | 2.95B | 2.81B | 2.5B | 2.44B | 2.26B | 1.95B | 1.71B | 1.66B | 1.38B | 1.09B | 903.19M | 757.82M | 622.71M | 496.11M | 382.45M | 261.78M | 185.81M | 148.62M | 129.85M | 105.58M | 76.16M | 47.24M | 20.05M | 487K | -13.35M | -20.69M | -26.53M | -10.04M |
| Accumulated OCI | -98.88M | -64.58M | -183.11M | -362M | -418.94M | -47.72M | 15.77M | 8.95M | 518K | 428K | 415K | 718K | 1.29M | 1.63M | 3.27M | 4.72M | 5.36M | 6.17M | 1.87M | -305K | -4.66M | -7.53M | 3.17M | 3.84M | 6.91M | 66K | 91K | -2.88M |
| Treasury Stock | -586.4M | -487.69M | -301.84M | -220.33M | -115.31M | -8K | -8K | -8K | -8K | -8K | -8K | -8K | -8K | -8K | -8K | -8K | -8K | -8K | -581K | -581K | -573K | -573K | -573K | -573K | -668K | -594K | -1.43M | -1.17M |
| Preferred Stock | 300M | 300M | 300M | 300M | 300M | 300M | 150M | 150M | 150M | 150M | 150M | 150M | 150M | 150M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 11K | 8K | 0 | 0 |
Quick answers to the most common questions about buying TCBI stock.
As of 2025, Texas Capital Bancshares, Inc. (TCBI) had total assets of $31.54B including $2.10B in current assets.
Texas Capital Bancshares, Inc. (TCBI) carries total debt of $950.6M. Comparing total debt to cash helps evaluate the company's debt burden and net leverage.
Texas Capital Bancshares, Inc. (TCBI) has total shareholders' equity (book value) of $3.63B ($79.90 book value per share). Book value represents the net worth of the company belonging to common stock holders.
Texas Capital Bancshares, Inc. (TCBI) reported a current ratio of 0.08x. A current ratio above 1.0x indicates that the company has more current assets than current liabilities, suggesting sufficient short-term liquidity.
Key Metrics
Top Statement Risk
Texas CRE concentration exposure
Metrics are mathematically derived from official filings.
Asset Growth Accelerates with Strategic Repositioning
TCBI's total assets grew 8.2% year-over-year to $33.9B in 2026Q2, driven by securities expansion and C&I lending, as reported in financial statements.
Total assets increased from $31.4B in 2025Q1 to $33.9B in 2026Q2, a 8.0% rise, with investment securities growing from $26.6B to $29.2B, indicating a deliberate shift toward higher-yielding assets. The equity base expanded modestly from $3.4B to $3.6B, reflecting retained earnings, while the loan-to-deposit ratio remains undisclosed, suggesting potential funding gaps. This growth appears organic, supported by the bank's Texas-centric commercial strategy, though the pace may strain capital if not matched by deposit inflows.
Deposit Mix Shift Pressures Funding Costs
TCBI's loan-to-deposit ratio is not disclosed, but cash flow data suggests non-interest-bearing deposits are declining, potentially raising funding costs, based on reported trends.
The absence of a disclosed loan-to-deposit ratio limits direct assessment, but the bank's reliance on securities sales to fund loan growth, as seen in 2025Q3, implies deposit growth is lagging asset expansion. The strategic exit from correspondent lending may reduce low-cost deposit inflows, while the competitive Texas market likely pressures deposit betas. Investors should monitor the deposit mix for signs of rising interest-bearing composition, which could compress NIM despite the bank's asset-sensitive positioning.
Credit Quality Stable but CRE Concentration Looms
Provision for credit losses was zero in 2026Q2, with no charge-offs reported, but Texas CRE concentration warrants monitoring, according to TCBI's financial statements.
The zero provision in 2026Q2 and 2025Q4 suggests improving credit quality or reserve releases, yet the bank's historical exposure to Texas commercial real estate and energy sectors introduces cyclical risk. The $16.0M provision in 2026Q1 and $12.0M in 2025Q3 indicate modest reserve builds, but the lack of charge-off data limits visibility. If regional office or multi-family markets soften, TCBI may face higher credit costs, though no deterioration has been flagged in the latest report.
Capital Position Solid with Low Leverage
TCBI's equity-to-assets ratio held at 11% in 2026Q2, with a debt-to-equity ratio of 0.26, indicating a strong capital buffer, as per reported figures.
The equity-to-assets ratio of 11% is consistent across the past ten quarters, reflecting disciplined capital management, while the low debt-to-equity ratio of 0.26 suggests minimal reliance on wholesale debt. This capital strength provides flexibility for organic growth and opportunistic buybacks, as evidenced by $126.6M in repurchases in 2025Q4. However, the lack of disclosed CET1 and Tier 1 ratios limits a full regulatory assessment, though the stable equity base appears adequate for the bank's risk profile.
Liquidity Relies on Securities Portfolio
Cash and bank balances rose to $3.7B in 2026Q2, while investment securities totaled $29.2B, providing ample liquidity, based on TCBI's balance sheet data.
The bank's cash position increased from $3.0B in 2026Q1 to $3.7B in 2026Q2, while securities holdings remained substantial, indicating a strong liquidity buffer. However, the reliance on securities sales to fund loan growth, as seen in prior quarters, suggests a potential mismatch between asset growth and core deposit funding. The absence of wholesale funding data limits analysis, but the high securities-to-assets ratio (86%) may expose the bank to interest rate risk if the portfolio duration is long.
NIM Stability Masks Rate Sensitivity
Net interest margin held at 0.8% in 2026Q2, but the asset-sensitive balance sheet suggests potential NII expansion if rates rise, according to TCBI's reported figures.
The stable NIM of 0.8% across recent quarters masks the underlying mix shift toward higher-yielding C&I loans, which may improve margins over time. The bank's asset-sensitive positioning implies that rising rates could boost NII, though higher deposit betas may offset gains. The absence of forward guidance reduces visibility into management's expected NII trajectory, but the strategic exit from correspondent lending and focus on C&I suggests a structural improvement in margin quality.
Unrealized Losses in Securities Portfolio
TCBI's large securities portfolio may carry unrealized losses due to rising rates, potentially pressuring capital if realized, as per balance sheet data.
With investment securities comprising 86% of total assets, TCBI is exposed to interest rate risk, and the current high-rate environment may have reduced the market value of these holdings. While the bank has not disclosed AOCI impacts, the equity-to-assets ratio of 11% suggests limited cushion if losses are realized. Investors should monitor the duration and yield of the securities portfolio, as a prolonged high-rate environment could erode capital and constrain lending capacity.