Total assets grew to $4.5B (Q2 2026) from $3.5B a year earlier, but equity remains thin at $945.3M (Eq/Assets 0.25), with ROE of only 3.9% and a securities portfolio of $2.7B that may carry unrealized losses.
Virtus Investment Partners, Inc. (VRTS) balance sheet — 24-year assets, liabilities & shareholders' equity history
| Metric | TTM | Dec'25 | Dec'24 | Dec'23 | Dec'22 | Dec'21 | Dec'20 | Dec'19 | Dec'18 | Dec'17 | Dec'16 | Dec'15 | Dec'14 | Dec'13 | Dec'12 | Dec'11 | Dec'10 | Dec'09 | Dec'08 | Dec'07 | Dec'99 | Dec'98 | Dec'97 | Dec'96 | Dec'95 |
|---|
| Cash & Short Term Investments | 1.36B | 477.17M | 399.58M | 340.33M | 588.53M | 585.54M | 333.49M | 321.47M | 253.72M | 233.47M | 228.03M | 429.27M | 446.92M | 420.19M | 122.4M | 60.26M | 54.22M | 38.06M | 57.47M | 51.18M | 50.14M | 45.57M | 33.87M | 26.54M | 19.78M |
| Cash & Due from Banks | 285.85M | 477.17M | 399.58M | 340.33M | 588.53M | 585.54M | 333.49M | 321.47M | 253.72M | 233.47M | 82.69M | 97.38M | 203.3M | 271.55M | 63.45M | 45.27M | 43.95M | 28.62M | 51.06M | 36.81M | 42.2M | 29.3M | 21.87M | 22.47M | 16.31M |
| Short Term Investments | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 145.34M | 331.88M | 243.61M | 148.65M | 58.96M | 14.99M | 10.27M | 9.44M | 6.41M | 14.36M | 7.94M | 16.27M | 12M | 4.07M | 3.47M |
| Total Investments | 2.7B | 2.77B | 2.37B | 2.2B | 2.28B | 2.24B | 2.4B | 2.11B | 1.83B | 1.71B | 581.68M | 588.11M | 307.06M | 185.91M | 69.34M | 24.34M | 16.49M | 14.81M | 8.9M | 18.62M | 20.11M | 38.41M | 66.64M | 60.38M | 54.5M |
| Investments Growth % | 52.36% | 16.67% | 7.81% | -3.4% | 1.99% | -6.77% | 13.48% | 15.54% | 7.2% | 193.33% | -1.09% | 91.53% | 65.17% | 168.1% | 184.94% | 47.59% | 11.34% | 66.39% | -52.2% | -7.39% | -47.64% | -42.36% | 10.37% | 10.79% | - |
| Long-Term Investments | 10.56B | 2.77B | 2.37B | 2.2B | 2.28B | 2.24B | 2.4B | 2.11B | 1.83B | 1.71B | 436.34M | 256.22M | 63.45M | 37.26M | 10.38M | 9.34M | 6.22M | 5.37M | 2.49M | 4.26M | 12.17M | 22.14M | 54.64M | 56.31M | 51.03M |
| Accounts Receivables | 101.51M | 102.73M | 117.21M | 109.08M | 99.27M | 123.87M | 84.5M | 74.13M | 70.05M | 65.65M | 35.88M | 38.76M | 49.72M | 50.17M | 37.33M | 27.09M | 21.14M | 19.4M | 3.67M | 7.42M | 10.1M | 9.49M | 8.98M | 5.97M | 12.16M |
| Goodwill & Intangibles | 1.24B | 724.51M | 775.33M | 829.22M | 791.36M | 838.98M | 570.63M | 600.76M | 629.18M | 472.11M | 45.22M | 47.59M | 47.04M | 49.89M | 53.97M | 56.89M | 57.77M | 59.64M | 65.78M | 662.54M | 556.53M | 446.66M | 468.12M | 226.75M | 230.57M |
| Goodwill | 640.79M | 397.1M | 397.1M | 397.1M | 348.84M | 338.41M | 290.37M | 290.37M | 290.37M | 170.15M | 6.79M | 6.7M | 5.26M | 5.26M | 5.26M | 4.79M | 4.79M | 4.79M | 4.79M | 454.37M | 353.67M | 300.25M | 308.45M | 171.66M | 163.48M |
| Intangible Assets | 599.18M | 327.41M | 378.23M | 432.12M | 442.52M | 500.57M | 280.26M | 310.39M | 338.81M | 301.95M | 38.43M | 40.89M | 41.78M | 44.63M | 48.71M | 52.1M | 52.98M | 54.84M | 60.98M | 208.18M | 202.86M | 146.4M | 159.67M | 55.09M | 67.09M |
| PP&E (Net) | 97.55M | 97.06M | 127.17M | 89.44M | 19.12M | 12.54M | 14.49M | 18.15M | 20.15M | 10.83M | 7.73M | 9.12M | 7.19M | 7.22M | 7.79M | 5.45M | 6.56M | 8.24M | 5.89M | 2.23M | 12.47M | 8.59M | 10.07M | 8.38M | 8.26M |
| Other Assets | 96.32M | 99.4M | 176.5M | 82.13M | 150.54M | 117.63M | 49.72M | 60.46M | 45.26M | 69.26M | 22.68M | 14.28M | 16.06M | 15.72M | 0 | 0 | 6.56M | 8.24M | 5.89M | 0 | 1.22M | 2.8M | 4M | 17.75M | 13.14M |
| Total Current Assets | 387.36M | 580.92M | 517.52M | 450.09M | 688.45M | 710.02M | 424.35M | 396.07M | 324.7M | 299.93M | 264.89M | 478.38M | 504.87M | 470.36M | 164.83M | 92.59M | 78.37M | 60.78M | 84.85M | 83.13M | 99.29M | 83.54M | 68.12M | 56.49M | 53.62M |
| Total Non-Current Assets | 4.15B | 3.71B | 3.48B | 3.23B | 3.26B | 3.22B | 3.04B | 2.81B | 2.55B | 2.29B | 559.49M | 381.35M | 193.91M | 174.59M | 167.92M | 193.78M | 70.55M | 73.25M | 74.16M | 669.04M | 582.4M | 480.18M | 536.83M | 309.19M | 303M |
| Total Assets | 4.54B | 4.29B | 3.99B | 3.68B | 3.95B | 3.93B | 3.47B | 3.2B | 2.87B | 2.59B | 824.39M | 859.73M | 698.77M | 644.95M | 332.75M | 286.38M | 148.91M | 134.02M | 159.01M | 752.16M | 681.69M | 563.72M | 604.95M | 365.68M | 356.62M |
| Asset Growth % | 62.33% | 7.43% | 8.59% | -6.94% | 0.48% | 13.48% | 8.19% | 11.64% | 10.8% | 214.27% | -4.11% | 23.03% | 8.34% | 93.83% | 16.19% | 92.32% | 11.11% | -15.71% | -78.86% | 10.34% | 20.93% | -6.82% | 65.43% | 2.54% | - |
| Return on Assets (ROA) | 2.75% | 3.34% | 3.17% | 3.42% | 2.98% | 5.62% | 2.4% | 3.15% | 2.77% | 2.17% | 5.76% | 4.51% | 14.54% | 15.38% | 12.17% | 66.82% | 6.82% | -4.43% | -116.13% | -1.97% | 4.29% | 5.93% | 4.98% | 7.4% | 4.4% |
| Accounts Payable | 51.68M | 54.52M | 49.49M | 56.05M | 33.2M | 48.5M | 25.36M | 23.31M | 27.93M | 29.61M | 25.18M | 23.04M | 31.63M | 29.91M | 19.87M | 9.82M | 4.23M | 4.41M | 5.64M | 3.67M | 3M | 2.12M | 2.49M | 982K | 0 |
| Total Debt | 2.82B | 2.84B | 2.47B | 2.25B | 2.34B | 2.3B | 2.39B | 2.11B | 1.95B | 1.71B | 358.76M | 152.6M | 0 | 0 | 22.7M | 21.35M | 21.77M | 21.17M | 21.18M | 43.78M | 316.84M | 223.89M | 202.39M | 24.38M | 33.86M |
| Net Debt | 2.54B | 2.37B | 2.07B | 1.91B | 1.75B | 1.71B | 2.06B | 1.79B | 1.7B | 1.47B | 276.07M | 55.21M | -203.3M | -271.55M | -40.74M | -23.92M | -22.17M | -7.45M | -29.88M | 6.97M | 274.64M | 194.59M | 180.52M | 1.92M | 17.55M |
| Long-Term Debt | 2.73B | 2.75B | 2.4B | 2.18B | 2.34B | 2.3B | 2.39B | 1.83B | 1.62B | 1.71B | 328.76M | 152.6M | 0 | 0 | 15M | 15M | 21.77M | 21.17M | 17.18M | 31.78M | 315.88M | 222.93M | 194.3M | 21.88M | 33.86M |
| Short-Term Debt | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 277.84M | 329.18M | 0 | 30M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 4M | 12M | 964K | 964K | 8.09M | 2.5M | 0 |
| Other Liabilities | 400.42M | 257.67M | 303.94M | 305.1M | 398.03M | 410.24M | 158.63M | 40.51M | 20.01M | 126.55M | 13.51M | 13.05M | 9.08M | 18.41M | -14.09M | 0 | 35.92M | 45.9M | 45M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 78.83M | 78.5M | 78.03M |
| Total Current Liabilities | 160.12M | 152.74M | 207.53M | 146.57M | 279.91M | 248.39M | 80.2M | 579.49M | 528.92M | 149.09M | 123.18M | 110.76M | 103.27M | 91.49M | 62.41M | 46.66M | 34.16M | 28.66M | 51.67M | 86.34M | 64.9M | 53.22M | 46.13M | 28.17M | 32.67M |
| Total Non-Current Liabilities | 3.22B | 3.1B | 2.78B | 2.56B | 2.74B | 2.71B | 2.55B | 1.88B | 1.64B | 1.83B | 342.27M | 165.65M | 9.08M | 18.41M | 22.7M | 56.57M | 66.48M | 75.64M | 70.7M | 40.9M | 361.53M | 276.37M | 339.15M | 134.25M | 142.46M |
| Total Liabilities | 3.38B | 3.25B | 2.99B | 2.71B | 3.02B | 2.96B | 2.63B | 2.45B | 2.17B | 1.98B | 465.45M | 276.41M | 112.35M | 109.9M | 85.11M | 103.22M | 100.64M | 104.29M | 122.38M | 127.24M | 426.43M | 329.59M | 385.27M | 162.41M | 175.13M |
| Total Equity | 1.15B | 1.04B | 1.01B | 973.16M | 936.65M | 975.59M | 836.45M | 750.1M | 701.35M | 609.4M | 358.94M | 583.32M | 586.42M | 535.05M | 247.63M | 183.16M | 48.27M | 29.73M | 36.63M | 624.93M | 255.26M | 234.12M | 219.68M | 203.27M | 181.49M |
| Equity Growth % | 28.16% | 2.86% | 3.67% | 3.9% | -3.99% | 16.63% | 11.51% | 6.95% | 15.09% | 69.78% | -38.47% | -0.53% | 9.6% | 116.07% | 35.2% | 279.44% | 62.36% | -18.84% | -94.14% | 144.82% | 9.03% | 6.58% | 8.07% | 12% | - |
| Equity / Assets (Capital Ratio) | 25.39% | 24.18% | 25.26% | 26.45% | 23.7% | 24.8% | 24.13% | 23.41% | 24.43% | 23.52% | 43.54% | 67.85% | 83.92% | 82.96% | 74.42% | 63.96% | 32.42% | 22.18% | 23.04% | 83.08% | 37.44% | 41.53% | 36.31% | 55.59% | 50.89% |
| Return on Equity (ROE) | 11.02% | 13.52% | 12.28% | 13.68% | 12.29% | 22.97% | 10.08% | 13.18% | 11.52% | 7.64% | 10.29% | 6% | 17.42% | 19.21% | 17.49% | 125.67% | 24.72% | -19.54% | -159.95% | -3.22% | 10.92% | 15.27% | 11.42% | 13.89% | 8.65% |
| Book Value per Share | 169.56 | 149.77 | 139.93 | 131.95 | 123.54 | 121.90 | 104.87 | 92.05 | 82.25 | 84.09 | 45.89 | 65.10 | 63.11 | 63.45 | 30.67 | 26.80 | 7.50 | 5.12 | 6.35 | 108.27 | 4.74 | 4.31 | 4.04 | 3.77 | 3.36 |
| Tangible BV per Share | -13.00 | 45.21 | 32.40 | 19.52 | 19.16 | 17.07 | 33.33 | 18.33 | 8.46 | 18.95 | 40.11 | 59.79 | 58.05 | 57.53 | 23.99 | 18.48 | -1.48 | -5.15 | -5.05 | -6.52 | -5.60 | -3.91 | -4.56 | -0.44 | -0.91 |
| Common Stock | 124K | 123K | 122K | 122K | 120K | 119K | 118K | 107K | 106K | 105K | 91K | 96K | 96K | 95K | 81K | 63K | 63K | 58K | 58K | 0 | 458K | 451K | 444K | 440K | 436K |
| Additional Paid-in Capital | 1.36B | 1.34B | 1.32B | 1.3B | 1.29B | 1.28B | 1.3B | 1.2B | 1.21B | 1.22B | 1.09B | 1.14B | 1.15B | 1.14B | 942.83M | 909.98M | 912.94M | 902.96M | 903.83M | 962.55M | 200.41M | 195.22M | 188.57M | 185.41M | 181.7M |
| Retained Earnings | 359.97M | 340.9M | 268.22M | 207.36M | 130.26M | 60.96M | -135.26M | -215.22M | -310.87M | -386.22M | -424.28M | -472.61M | -507.52M | -605.22M | -680.41M | -718.08M | -863.5M | -873.14M | -866.66M | -337.57M | 60.74M | 44.48M | 21.62M | 12.81M | 0 |
| Accumulated OCI | 234K | 462K | -364K | -87K | -358K | 20K | 29K | 9K | -731K | -600K | -224K | -1.03M | -242K | -150K | -287K | -14K | -308K | -145K | -590K | -46K | 5.14M | 3.57M | -1.17M | -330K | -454K |
| Treasury Stock | -770.13M | -749.59M | -689.59M | -644.46M | -599.25M | -509.25M | -451.75M | -419.25M | -379.25M | -351.75M | -344.25M | -157.7M | -77.7M | -37.44M | -17.73M | -8.79M | -924K | 0 | 0 | 0 | -14.72M | -10.61M | -2.61M | 0 | 0 |
| Preferred Stock | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 23K | 0 | 110.84M | 110.84M | 110.84M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 35.22M | 35.92M | 45.9M | 45M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
Quick answers to the most common questions about buying VRTS stock.
As of 2025, Virtus Investment Partners, Inc. (VRTS) had total assets of $4.29B including $580.9M in current assets.
Virtus Investment Partners, Inc. (VRTS) carries total debt of $2.84B. Comparing total debt to cash helps evaluate the company's debt burden and net leverage.
Virtus Investment Partners, Inc. (VRTS) has total shareholders' equity (book value) of $934.0M ($149.77 book value per share). Book value represents the net worth of the company belonging to common stock holders.
Virtus Investment Partners, Inc. (VRTS) reported a current ratio of 3.80x. A current ratio above 1.0x indicates that the company has more current assets than current liabilities, suggesting sufficient short-term liquidity.
Key Metrics
Top Statement Risk
Revenue decline and margin compression
Metrics are mathematically derived from official filings.
Asset Growth Masked by Volatile Components
Total assets grew to $4.5B in Q2 2026 from $3.5B a year earlier, but the increase appears driven by securities and cash swings, not core lending, per reported figures.
The balance sheet expanded 28% year-over-year, yet the composition shows significant volatility: cash and bank balances swung from $246.9M in Q1 2024 to $477.2M in Q4 2025, and investment securities rose from $2.2B to $2.7B. This suggests asset growth is tied to portfolio repositioning and consolidated investment entities rather than organic business expansion. The equity-to-assets ratio remained stable around 0.25, indicating leverage is not increasing, but the quality of asset growth warrants scrutiny given the lack of loan book data.
Deposit Base Not Directly Observable
The loan-to-deposit ratio is not reported, and deposit flows are not separately disclosed, limiting direct assessment of the franchise, based on available data.
As an asset manager, VRTS does not rely on traditional deposits; its funding likely comes from debt and equity. The absence of deposit data means the stability of funding cannot be directly evaluated. However, the high cash balance of $285.9M in Q2 2026 suggests ample liquidity, and the lack of significant short-term debt changes implies stable funding. Investors should monitor any reliance on wholesale funding, but current data does not indicate stress.
Provision Volatility Reflects CIE Accounting
Loan loss provisions swung from -$143.9M in Q4 2025 to $109.0M in Q2 2026, indicating significant accounting volatility likely tied to consolidated investment entities, as reported.
The provision for loan losses is highly erratic, with a negative provision in Q4 2025 and a large positive in Q2 2026. This pattern suggests that the provision line is influenced by non-core activities, possibly related to consolidated funds. The absence of a traditional loan book means these provisions may not reflect credit risk in a conventional sense. The volatility complicates earnings analysis and may mislead investors if not adjusted for non-controlling interests.
Equity Base Stable but Returns Thin
Equity grew to $945.3M in Q2 2026 from $871.7M in Q1 2024, but ROE remains low at 3.9%, reflecting modest profitability relative to capital, per financial statements.
The equity base has expanded steadily, supported by retained earnings, but the return on equity is weak, averaging around 3% over the period. This suggests that the capital is not being deployed efficiently, possibly due to high cash balances and low-yielding securities. The debt-to-equity ratio of 2.74% is low, indicating conservative leverage, but the low ROE may signal a lack of attractive reinvestment opportunities. Management's capital allocation decisions, including potential buybacks or acquisitions, will be critical to improving returns.
Cash and Securities Provide Ample Buffer
Cash and bank balances totaled $285.9M in Q2 2026, while investment securities reached $2.7B, together representing over 66% of total assets, based on reported figures.
The liquidity position appears robust, with a significant portion of assets held in cash and securities. This provides a cushion against market volatility and supports potential strategic initiatives. However, the high cash balance of $477.2M in Q4 2025 suggests a defensive posture, possibly indicating a lack of attractive investment opportunities. The securities portfolio's composition is not disclosed, but its size implies sensitivity to interest rate movements, which could impact unrealized gains and overall capital.
Interest Rate Sensitivity Uncertain
Net interest margin spiked to 2.2% in Q2 2026 from 0.2% in Q1, but this appears tied to a one-time NII surge, not a sustainable trend, per reported data.
The dramatic increase in net interest income to $98.6M in Q2 2026 from $10.7M in Q1 suggests a non-recurring event, possibly related to securities gains or repositioning. This volatility makes it difficult to assess the underlying interest rate sensitivity. As an asset manager, VRTS's core revenue is fee-based, so NIM is not a primary driver. However, the large securities portfolio means interest rate changes could affect both income and the valuation of AUM, influencing future fee revenue. Investors should monitor the sustainability of NII and its impact on overall profitability.
Unrealized Losses in Securities Portfolio
The $2.7B investment securities portfolio may carry unrealized losses that could pressure capital if rates rise, based on reported figures and interest rate sensitivity.
Given the significant size of the securities portfolio relative to equity, any mark-to-market losses from rising interest rates could directly reduce book value. The data does not disclose the duration or composition of these holdings, but the volatility in cash and securities suggests active management. If the portfolio is concentrated in longer-duration bonds, the potential for unrealized losses is elevated. This risk is not immediately apparent from the balance sheet but warrants monitoring, especially as the firm's core fee revenue is already under pressure.