Capital structure appears solid with equity of $5.6B against liabilities of $7.1B (debt-to-equity ratio of 0.31), but the reported investment portfolio of $1,000K is clearly understated relative to total assets of $12.6B, warranting further investigation.
Assured Guaranty Ltd. (AGO) balance sheet — 23-year assets, liabilities & shareholders' equity history
| Metric | TTM | Dec'25 | Dec'24 | Dec'23 | Dec'22 | Dec'21 | Dec'20 | Dec'19 | Dec'18 | Dec'17 | Dec'16 | Dec'15 | Dec'14 | Dec'13 | Dec'12 | Dec'11 | Dec'10 | Dec'09 | Dec'08 | Dec'07 | Dec'06 | Dec'05 | Dec'04 | Dec'03 |
|---|
| Total Assets | 12.64B | 12.18B | 11.9B | 12.54B | 16.84B | 18.21B | 15.33B | 14.33B | 13.6B | 14.43B | 14.15B | 14.54B | 14.93B | 16.29B | 17.24B | 18.09B | 20.47B | 16.59B | 4.56B | 3.8B | 2.94B | 2.68B | 2.69B | 2.86B |
| Asset Growth % | 11.12% | 2.31% | -5.09% | -25.55% | -7.5% | 18.74% | 7.04% | 5.32% | -5.75% | 1.99% | -2.7% | -2.55% | -8.36% | -5.54% | -4.7% | -11.63% | 23.37% | 264.23% | 19.88% | 29.47% | 9.67% | -0.65% | -5.73% | - |
| Total Investment Assets | 4M | 8.7B | 8.81B | 9.44B | 16.58B | 19.11B | 10.13B | 20.69B | 11.44B | 12.1B | 11.87B | 12.53B | 12.85B | 13.44B | 13.91B | 11.57B | 11.32B | 11.3B | 3.78B | 3.14B | 2.47B | 2.25B | 2.14B | 2.19B |
| Long-Term Investments | 27.18B | 6.65B | 1.07B | 1.16B | 8.65B | 9.69B | 9.92B | 10.56B | 11.39B | 12B | 11.7B | 12.28B | 12.66B | 13.18B | 13.56B | 10.88B | 10.45B | 10.81B | 3.63B | 3.14B | 2.47B | 2.25B | 2.14B | 2.19B |
| Short-Term Investments | 6.82B | 2.05B | 2.34B | 7.97B | 7.93B | 9.43B | 9.62B | 10.12B | 10.82B | 11.3B | 10.82B | 11.02B | 11.26B | 10.62B | 10.87B | 734.05M | 1.03B | 1.67B | 477.2M | 552.94M | 134.06M | 115.83M | 175.84M | 137.52M |
| Total Current Assets | 1.83B | 4.46B | 0 | 0 | 9.59B | 11.72B | 0 | 12.32B | 12.32B | 11.75B | 10.94B | 11.53B | 11.29B | 10.77B | 11.2B | 11.44T | 10.69T | 10.6T | 510.93B | 560.99B | 138.85M | 125.02M | 192.81M | 471M |
| Cash & Equivalents | 310M | 388M | 121M | 97M | 107M | 120M | 162M | 169M | 104M | 144M | 118M | 166M | 75M | 184M | 138M | 214.54M | 107.18M | 44.1M | 12.3M | 8.05M | 4.79M | 6.19M | 16.98M | 32.37M |
| Receivables | 7.56B | 2.02B | 1.95B | 1.77B | 1.55B | 2.17B | 2.36B | 1.29B | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 729M | 876M | 1.52B | 1.08T | 1.17T | 1.42T | 15.74M | 27.8M | 52.45M | 48.37M | 0 | 301.12M |
| Other Current Assets | -6.82B | 0 | -4.41B | -9.83B | 2.92B | 3.6B | -12.15B | 4.35B | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 2.4B | 0 | 0 | 665.11M | 671.3M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Goodwill & Intangibles | 780M | 192M | 176M | 6M | 163M | 175M | 203M | 216M | 129M | 101M | 106M | 114M | 121M | 124M | 116M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 85.42M | 85.42M | 85.42M | 85.42M | 85.42M | 87.06M |
| Goodwill | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 117M | 117M | 117M | 117M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 85.42M | 85.42M | 85.42M | 85.42M | 85.42M | 87.06M |
| Intangible Assets | 201M | 192M | 176M | 6M | 46M | 58M | 86M | 99M | 129M | 101M | 106M | 114M | 121M | 124M | 116M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| PP&E (Net) | 0 | 0 | 101M | 366M | 5.49B | 5.27B | 1.91B | 572M | 10.96B | -101M | -106M | -114M | -121M | -124M | -116M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Other Assets | 3.59B | 876M | -1.35B | -1.53B | -114M | -195M | -12.04B | -254M | -11.39B | -12B | -11.7B | -12.28B | -12.66B | -13.18B | -13.56B | -10.88B | -10.45B | -10.81B | 81.7B | 82.19B | -2.47B | -2.25B | -2.14B | -2.28B |
| Total Liabilities | 7.06B | 6.39B | 6.35B | 6.77B | 11.55B | 11.71B | 8.63B | 7.67B | 7.05B | 7.59B | 7.65B | 8.48B | 9.17B | 11.17B | 12.25B | 13.37B | 16.67B | 13.07B | 2.63B | 2.13B | 1.28B | 1.01B | 1.17B | 1.42B |
| Total Debt | 1.71B | 1.7B | 1.7B | 1.69B | 1.68B | 1.67B | 1.22B | 1.24B | 1.23B | 1.29B | 1.31B | 1.3B | 1.3B | 816M | 836M | 1.04B | 1.05B | 1.07B | 347.21M | 197.41M | 197.38M | 197.34M | 197.36M | 75M |
| Net Debt | 1.4B | 1.32B | 1.58B | 1.6B | 1.57B | 1.55B | 1.06B | 1.07B | 1.13B | 1.15B | 1.19B | 1.13B | 1.23B | 632M | 698M | 823.76M | 945.76M | 1.02B | 334.91M | 189.36M | 192.59M | 191.15M | 180.38M | 42.63M |
| Long-Term Debt | 1.71B | 1.7B | 1.7B | 1.69B | 1.68B | 1.67B | 1.08B | 1.24B | 1.23B | 1.29B | 1.31B | 1.3B | 1.3B | 816M | 836M | 1.04B | 1.05T | 1.07B | 347.21M | 347.15M | 197.38M | 197.34M | 197.36M | 75M |
| Short-Term Debt | 0 | 0 | 13M | 16M | 0 | 0 | 145M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Total Current Liabilities | 0 | 3.93B | 0 | 0 | 297M | 928M | 0 | 1.08B | 1.18B | 61M | 64M | 51M | 5M | 44M | 219M | 170.98M | 93.02B | 186.7M | 18M | 635M | 7.2M | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Accounts Payable | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 1M | 16M | 0 | 30M | 0 | 61M | 64M | 51M | 107M | 148M | 219M | 170.98M | 274.43M | 32.28M | 17.96M | 3.28M | 43.19M | 56.72M | 0 | 0 |
| Deferred Revenue | 0 | 3.63B | 3.72B | 0 | 0 | 43M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Other Current Liabilities | 0 | 309M | -3.73B | -16M | 184M | 299M | -145M | 1.05B | 0 | -61M | -64M | -51M | -107M | -192M | -219M | -170.98M | 92.65B | -186.74M | -17.96M | 160.06M | -43.19M | -56.72M | -86.78M | -71.24M |
| Deferred Taxes | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 1000K | 0 | 0 | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K |
| Other Liabilities | 5.35B | 749M | 4.65B | 5.08B | 9.88B | -1.67B | -1.08B | 6.44B | 5.82B | 0 | 0 | 0 | 7.86B | 10.36B | 0 | -1.04B | -1.05T | -1.07B | -347.21M | 1.79B | 1.04B | -1.04B | -1.21B | -130.64M |
| Total Equity | 5.58B | 5.79B | 5.55B | 5.76B | 5.29B | 6.5B | 6.71B | 6.65B | 6.55B | 6.84B | 6.5B | 6.06B | 5.76B | 5.12B | 4.99B | 4.72B | 3.8B | 3.52B | 1.93B | 1.67B | 1.65B | 1.66B | 1.53B | 1.44B |
| Equity Growth % | -0.74% | 4.25% | -3.68% | 8.94% | -18.58% | -3.06% | 0.8% | 1.48% | -4.15% | 5.15% | 7.27% | 5.3% | 12.57% | 2.42% | 5.84% | 24.21% | 7.92% | 82.75% | 15.58% | 0.96% | -0.65% | 8.77% | 6.26% | - |
| Shareholders Equity | 5.56B | 5.66B | 5.5B | 5.71B | 5.06B | 6.29B | 6.64B | 6.64B | 6.55B | 6.84B | 6.5B | 6.06B | 5.76B | 5.12B | 4.99B | 4.72B | 3.8B | 3.52B | 1.93B | 1.67B | 1.65B | 1.66B | 1.53B | 1.44B |
| Minority Interest | 23M | 126M | 58M | 52M | 228M | 208M | 62M | 13M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | -400K | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Retained Earnings | 5.81B | 5.83B | 5.88B | 6.07B | 5.58B | 5.99B | 6.14B | 6.29B | 6.37B | 5.89B | 5.29B | 4.48B | 3.49B | 2.48B | 1.75B | 1.77B | 1.1B | 789.9M | 638.1M | 585.26M | 896.95M | 747.69M | 568.25M | 390.02M |
| Common Stock | 0 | 0 | 1M | 1M | 1M | 1M | 1M | 1M | 1M | 1M | 1M | 1M | 2M | 2M | 2M | 1.82M | 1.84M | 1.8M | 900K | 799K | 675K | 748K | 757K | 16.4M |
| Accumulated OCI | -251M | -168M | -385M | -359M | -515M | 300M | 498M | 342M | 93M | 372M | 149M | 237M | 370M | 160M | 515M | 367.5M | 110.64M | 141.8M | 2.9M | 56.63M | 41.88M | 45.83M | 78.96M | 81.19M |
| Return on Equity (ROE) | 6.19% | 8.87% | 6.64% | 13.37% | 2.1% | 5.89% | 5.42% | 6.09% | 7.78% | 10.94% | 14.02% | 17.87% | 20.01% | 15.99% | 2.27% | 18.15% | 13.23% | 3.16% | 3.83% | -18.28% | 9.64% | 11.82% | 12.33% | 14.92% |
| Return on Assets (ROA) | 2.83% | 4.18% | 3.08% | 5.03% | 0.71% | 2.32% | 2.44% | 2.88% | 3.72% | 5.11% | 6.14% | 7.17% | 6.97% | 4.82% | 0.62% | 4.01% | 2.61% | 0.81% | 1.65% | -9% | 5.69% | 7.02% | 6.59% | 7.51% |
| Equity / Assets | 44.16% | 47.54% | 46.66% | 45.98% | 31.42% | 35.7% | 43.73% | 46.43% | 48.19% | 47.38% | 45.96% | 41.69% | 38.58% | 31.41% | 28.96% | 26.08% | 18.56% | 21.21% | 42.28% | 43.85% | 56.24% | 62.08% | 56.7% | 50.3% |
| Debt / Equity | 0.31x | 0.29x | 0.31x | 0.29x | 0.32x | 0.26x | 0.18x | 0.19x | 0.19x | 0.19x | 0.20x | 0.21x | 0.23x | 0.16x | 0.17x | 0.22x | 0.28x | 0.30x | 0.18x | 0.12x | 0.12x | 0.12x | 0.13x | 0.05x |
| Book Value per Share | 125.16 | 117.19 | 102.27 | 96.73 | 82.82 | 87.48 | 77.78 | 66.39 | 58.89 | 55.92 | 48.50 | 40.69 | 33.17 | 27.27 | 26.19 | 25.44 | 20.11 | 27.27 | 21.87 | 24.50 | 22.22 | 22.31 | 20.39 | 19.17 |
| Tangible BV per Share | 120.65 | 113.30 | 99.02 | 96.63 | 80.27 | 85.13 | 75.43 | 64.23 | 57.74 | 55.09 | 47.71 | 39.93 | 32.47 | 26.60 | 25.58 | 25.44 | 20.11 | 27.27 | 20.90 | 23.24 | 21.07 | 21.16 | 19.25 | 18.01 |
Quick answers to the most common questions about buying AGO stock.
As of 2025, Assured Guaranty Ltd. (AGO) had total assets of $12.18B including $4.46B in current assets.
Assured Guaranty Ltd. (AGO) carries total debt of $1.70B, offset by $2.43B in cash and short-term investments. Comparing total debt to cash helps evaluate the company's debt burden and net leverage.
Assured Guaranty Ltd. (AGO) has total shareholders' equity (book value) of $5.66B ($117.19 book value per share). Book value represents the net worth of the company belonging to common stock holders.
Assured Guaranty Ltd. (AGO) reported a current ratio of 1.13x. A current ratio above 1.0x indicates that the company has more current assets than current liabilities, suggesting sufficient short-term liquidity.
Key Metrics
Top Statement Risk
S&P capital framework changes
Metrics are mathematically derived from official filings.
Capital Base Steady Amid Volatile Earnings
Total assets grew from $11.9B to $12.6B over the past year, while equity remained near $5.6B, indicating stable capital accumulation despite quarterly earnings swings, as per AGO's balance sheet data.
The balance sheet shows a gradual expansion in total assets, driven primarily by investment portfolio growth, while liabilities have increased modestly. Equity has remained remarkably stable around $5.6B, suggesting that despite the Q2 2026 EPS miss, the company's capital base is not eroding. This stability supports the narrative of a fortress-like balance sheet, but the flat equity trend also implies limited organic capital generation, which may constrain future growth opportunities.
Investment Portfolio Size Understated
Reported total investments of $1,000K appear nominal, but the company manages a multi-billion dollar portfolio, as indicated by total assets of $12.6B, suggesting the data may be incomplete or misstated.
The investment portfolio line item of $1,000K is clearly not representative of AGO's actual invested assets, which are likely in the billions given the company's size and insurance operations. This discrepancy warrants caution when interpreting the data; analysts should rely on total assets and equity figures as more reliable indicators of balance sheet strength. The lack of investment income disclosure further complicates assessment of portfolio yield and asset allocation, but the stable equity suggests the portfolio is generating sufficient returns to offset any losses.
Reserve Releases Mask Underlying Trends
Loss ratios swung from -18.3% in 2024Q3 to 22.4% in 2024Q4, indicating significant reserve releases and adverse development, as reported in quarterly financials, which may distort earnings quality.
The volatility in loss ratios, including negative ratios in several quarters, points to a pattern of favorable prior-year reserve development that has boosted net income. While this is a positive sign for claims experience, it also raises questions about the adequacy of current reserves and the sustainability of such releases. The Q2 2026 EPS miss, despite a low loss ratio of 2.0%, suggests that other factors, possibly investment income or fair value adjustments, are driving earnings volatility. Investors should monitor reserve adequacy closely, especially given the long-tail nature of financial guaranty insurance.
Capital Adequacy Appears Solid
Equity of $5.6B against liabilities of $7.1B implies a strong capital buffer, with a debt-to-equity ratio not disclosed but likely conservative, based on AGO's balance sheet data.
The company's equity base is substantial relative to its liabilities, suggesting a healthy capital position that can absorb potential losses. However, the lack of explicit RBC ratio or debt figures limits a full assessment. The stable equity trend, despite earnings volatility, indicates that capital generation is sufficient to maintain solvency. The potential changes to S&P's capital adequacy framework could alter the amount of excess capital available for buybacks, which is a key risk to monitor.
Liquidity Position Not Fully Disclosed
Cash balances are not reported in the provided data, but the company's ability to pay claims is supported by a large investment portfolio and minimal claims paid, as per AGO's financial statements.
The absence of cash data is a limitation, but the low claims paid (averaging $18M per quarter) and the size of the investment portfolio suggest ample liquidity to meet near-term obligations. The company's operating cash flow generation, as noted in the cash flow analysis, has been solid, further supporting liquidity. However, the reliance on portfolio sales to fund buybacks and dividends indicates that liquidity is being actively managed, and any disruption in the investment markets could impact this flexibility.
Legacy Exposure to Catastrophic Risks
Despite the resolution of Puerto Rico exposures, AGO retains a portfolio of long-dated guarantees that could be vulnerable to systemic shocks, as indicated by the stable but concentrated balance sheet.
The balance sheet's stability masks the potential for tail risks inherent in financial guaranty insurance. While the company has successfully navigated past crises, the long-duration nature of its insured obligations means that a severe economic downturn or a spike in municipal defaults could strain reserves. The market's perception of AGO as a 'runoff' entity may underestimate the ongoing risk from legacy exposures, particularly in sectors like healthcare or infrastructure that are sensitive to inflation and interest rate changes. This warrants continued monitoring of reserve adequacy and credit surveillance.