Operating cash flow remains strong at $5.4B in Q2 2026 (OCF/NI of 1.73), while capital returns totaled $2.9B (94% of net income), reflecting a shareholder-friendly capital allocation policy.
American Express Company (AXP) cash flow statement — 30-year operating, investing & financing cash flows
| Metric | TTM | Dec'25 | Dec'24 | Dec'23 | Dec'22 | Dec'21 | Dec'20 | Dec'19 | Dec'18 | Dec'17 | Dec'16 | Dec'15 | Dec'14 | Dec'13 | Dec'12 | Dec'11 | Dec'10 | Dec'09 | Dec'08 | Dec'07 | Dec'06 | Dec'05 | Dec'04 | Dec'03 | Dec'02 | Dec'01 | Dec'00 | Dec'99 | Dec'98 | Dec'97 | Dec'96 |
|---|
| Cash from Operations | 18.48B | 18.43B | 14.05B | 18.56B | 21.08B | 14.64B | 5.59B | 13.63B | 8.93B | 13.54B | 8.22B | 10.97B | 10.99B | 8.55B | 7.08B | 10.47B | 9.29B | 6.38B | 8.67B | 8.48B | 9.01B | 8.04B | 9.14B | 2.54B | 8.67B | 5.32B | 6.35B | 7.38B | 4.41B | 5.17B | 4.94B |
| Operating CF Growth % | 399.99% | 31.16% | -24.3% | -11.96% | 43.93% | 161.94% | -58.99% | 52.65% | -34.05% | 64.64% | -25.05% | -0.16% | 28.58% | 20.69% | -32.39% | 12.78% | 45.49% | -26.33% | 2.15% | -5.79% | 11.93% | -12.01% | 260.24% | -70.74% | 62.92% | -16.2% | -13.97% | 67.35% | -14.64% | 4.68% | 61.72% |
| Net Income | 8.55B | 10.83B | 10.13B | 8.37B | 7.51B | 8.06B | 3.13B | 6.76B | 6.92B | 2.74B | 5.41B | 5.16B | 5.88B | 5.36B | 4.48B | 4.9B | 4.06B | 2.14B | 2.87B | 4.05B | 3.73B | 3.73B | 3.44B | 2.99B | 2.67B | 1.31B | 2.81B | 2.48B | 2.14B | 1.99B | 1.9B |
| Depreciation & Amortization | 1.87B | 1.78B | 1.68B | 1.65B | 1.63B | 1.7B | 1.54B | 1.19B | 1.29B | 1.32B | 1.09B | 1.04B | 1.01B | 1.02B | 991M | 918M | 917M | 1.07B | 712M | 648M | 645M | 602M | 758M | 676M | 951M | 1.2B | 393M | 13M | -212M | 187M | 266M |
| Deferred Taxes | -86M | -542M | -990M | -1.33B | -1.19B | 294M | -939M | -151M | 455M | 783M | -1.13B | 506M | -941M | -283M | 218M | 818M | 1.14B | -1.43B | 442M | -738M | -524M | -226M | 574M | 120M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Other Non-Cash Items | 3.66B | 4.95B | 4.62B | 5.59B | 2.55B | -2.19B | 5.41B | 4.15B | 3.35B | 2.76B | 2.03B | 1.99B | 2.04B | 2.11B | 1.99B | 1.11B | 2.21B | 5.08B | 6.42B | 4.32B | 3.09B | 2.9B | 2.69B | 2.46B | 2.97B | 3.88B | 2.7B | 2.39B | 2.49B | 2.31B | 2.21B |
| Working Capital Changes | 957M | 864M | -1.89B | 3.82B | 10.21B | 6.46B | -3.81B | 1.4B | -3.37B | 5.66B | 573M | 2.04B | 2.7B | -9M | -896M | 2.43B | 685M | -676M | -2.01B | -68M | 1.76B | 1.04B | 1.68B | -3.71B | 2.08B | -1.07B | 453M | 2.5B | -7M | 685M | 560M |
| Cash from Investing | -28.39B | -22.89B | -24.4B | -24.43B | -33.69B | -10.53B | 11.63B | -16.71B | -19.61B | -18.27B | 1.87B | -8.19B | -7.97B | -7.27B | -6.54B | -491M | -1.23B | -6.75B | 7.04B | -17.09B | -15.22B | -17.26B | -11.61B | -12.79B | -9.57B | -2.77B | -9B | -11.75B | -4.65B | -7.22B | -5B |
| Purchase of Investments | -4.85B | -1.76B | -1.59B | -1.57B | -4.17B | -1.52B | -20.56B | -11.17B | -5.43B | -2.61B | -2.16B | -1.71B | -886M | -1.35B | -473M | -1.16B | -7.8B | -13.72B | -14.72B | -10.33B | -18.46B | -11.82B | -18.36B | -30.17B | -24.96B | -19.91B | -9.12B | -11.29B | -10.18B | -7.9B | -10.9B |
| Sale/Maturity of Investments | 1.47B | 1.5B | 2.22B | 3.89B | 1.92B | 20.09B | 7.23B | 7.35B | 3.5B | 2.5B | 2.53B | 2.1B | 2.35B | 1.51B | 2.09B | 7.25B | 14.26B | 5.83B | 14.28B | 12B | 19.19B | 11.34B | 14.2B | 26.62B | 19.57B | 17.23B | 8.41B | 8.31B | 8.99B | 6.61B | 11.21B |
| Net Investment Activity | -3.37B | -260M | 628M | 2.32B | -2.26B | 18.58B | -13.33B | -3.81B | -1.93B | -116M | 365M | 390M | 1.46B | 161M | 1.61B | 6.09B | 6.46B | -7.89B | -447M | 1.67B | 731M | -484M | -4.17B | -3.55B | -5.4B | -2.68B | -709M | -2.98B | -1.19B | -1.29B | 311M |
| Acquisitions | -524M | -633M | 140M | -64M | -15M | 1M | -597M | -352M | -520M | -211M | -487M | -155M | -229M | -195M | -466M | -610M | -400M | 3.84B | -4.59B | -124M | 993M | -136M | 740M | -749M | -58M | -165M | 919M | 819M | 862M | 343M | 438M |
| Other Investing | -21.07B | -19.57B | -23.26B | -25.12B | -29.56B | -27.56B | 27.04B | -10.89B | -15.85B | -16.88B | 3.37B | -7.09B | -8.01B | -6.23B | -6.64B | -4.78B | -6.4B | -1.94B | 13.05B | -17.7B | -16.08B | -16.03B | -7.44B | -7.47B | -3.44B | 932M | -8.29B | -8.77B | -3.46B | -5.93B | -5.31B |
| Cash from Financing | -3.04B | 11.21B | 4.44B | 18.38B | 24.51B | -14.93B | -9.07B | -519M | 5.1B | 12.24B | -7.53B | -2.03B | 11M | -3.89B | -3.27B | -1.38B | -8.08B | -4.65B | -10.44B | 15.47B | 6.78B | 6.44B | 6.18B | 5.84B | 4.02B | -3.69B | 3.64B | 7.71B | 205M | 3.8B | -452M |
| Dividends Paid | -2.42B | -2.27B | -2B | -1.78B | -1.56B | -1.45B | -1.47B | -1.42B | -1.32B | -1.25B | -1.21B | -1.17B | -1.04B | -939M | -902M | -861M | -867M | -924M | -836M | -712M | -661M | -597M | -535M | -471M | -430M | -424M | -421M | -404M | -414M | -423M | -436M |
| Share Repurchases | -7.46B | -5.81B | -6.02B | -3.65B | -3.5B | -7.65B | -1.03B | -4.68B | -1.69B | -4.4B | -4.5B | -4.58B | -4.39B | -3.94B | -3.95B | -2.3B | -590M | -3.39B | -218M | -3.57B | -4.09B | -1.85B | -3.58B | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Stock Issued | 42M | 57M | 100M | 28M | 56M | 64M | 44M | 86M | 87M | 129M | 177M | 193M | 362M | 721M | 443M | 594M | 663M | 4B | 176M | 852M | 1.2B | 1.13B | 1.05B | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Net Stock Activity | -7.42B | -5.76B | -5.92B | -3.62B | -3.45B | -7.59B | -985M | -4.6B | -1.6B | -4.27B | -4.32B | -4.38B | -4.03B | -3.22B | -3.51B | -1.71B | 73M | 614M | -42M | -2.72B | -2.89B | -724M | -2.52B | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Debt Issuance (Net) | -2M | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | -1000K | -1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | -1000K | -1000K | 1000K | -1000K | -1000K | -1000K | -1000K | -1000K | -1000K | 1000K | 1000K | -1000K | 1000K | 1000K | -1000K | -1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K |
| Other Financing | 7.51B | 13.04B | 10.3B | 18.91B | 25.9B | -2.47B | 13.54B | 3.33B | 5.54B | 11.38B | -1.87B | 11.24B | 2.46B | 1.2B | 2.3B | 8.23B | 3.41B | 10.74B | -6.29B | 4.6B | -1.42B | 1.7B | 2.35B | 5.84B | 7.41B | 1.73B | 901M | 2.13B | 1.19B | 1.66B | -230M |
| Net Change in Cash | -12.69B | 7.15B | -5.96B | 12.68B | 11.89B | -10.94B | 8.52B | -3.36B | -5.46B | 7.72B | 2.45B | 474M | 2.8B | -2.76B | -2.64B | 8.54B | 110M | -5.01B | 5.28B | 7.02B | 830M | -2.78B | 3.75B | -4.56B | 3.07B | -1.26B | 1.02B | 3.38B | -87M | 1.5B | -523M |
| Exchange Rate Effect | 262M | 405M | -40M | 177M | -13M | -120M | 364M | 232M | 129M | 207M | -114M | -276M | -232M | -151M | 88M | -63M | 135M | 7M | 20M | 166M | 264M | -10M | 42M | -150M | -56M | -128M | 23M | 26M | -57M | -247M | -8M |
| Cash at Beginning | 53.76B | 40.64B | 46.6B | 33.91B | 22.03B | 32.97B | 24.45B | 27.81B | 33.26B | 25.21B | 22.76B | 22.29B | 19.49B | 22.25B | 24.89B | 16.36B | 16.6B | 20.55B | 15.27B | 8.25B | 7.13B | 9.91B | 6.16B | 10.29B | 7.22B | 8.49B | 7.47B | 4.09B | 4.18B | 2.68B | 3.2B |
| Cash at End | 45.24B | 47.79B | 40.64B | 46.6B | 33.91B | 22.03B | 32.97B | 24.45B | 27.81B | 32.93B | 25.21B | 22.76B | 22.29B | 19.49B | 22.25B | 24.89B | 16.71B | 15.54B | 20.55B | 15.27B | 7.96B | 7.13B | 9.91B | 5.73B | 10.29B | 7.22B | 8.49B | 7.47B | 4.09B | 4.18B | 2.68B |
| Interest Paid | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Income Taxes Paid | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Free Cash Flow | 13.95B | 16B | 12.14B | 17B | 19.22B | 13.1B | 4.11B | 11.99B | 7.62B | 12.48B | 6.85B | 9.63B | 9.79B | 7.54B | 6.03B | 9.29B | 8.4B | 5.61B | 7.69B | 7.55B | 8.14B | 7.44B | 8.4B | 1.52B | 8B | 4.46B | 5.43B | 6.57B | 3.55B | 4.83B | 4.5B |
| FCF Growth % | -26.36% | 31.83% | -28.58% | -11.59% | 46.8% | 218.38% | -65.69% | 57.31% | -38.93% | 82.19% | -28.89% | -1.67% | 29.89% | 25.08% | -35.07% | 10.53% | 49.7% | -27.01% | 1.9% | -7.34% | 9.51% | -11.5% | 453.92% | -81.05% | 79.26% | -17.83% | -17.24% | 84.91% | -26.43% | 7.24% | 66.27% |
Quick answers to the most common questions about buying AXP stock.
American Express Company (AXP) generated $18.43B in net cash from operating activities in 2025. This reflects the cash generated directly from core business operations.
American Express Company (AXP) generated $16.00B in free cash flow in 2025. Free cash flow is the cash left over after capital expenditures, which can be used to pay dividends, repurchase shares, or pay down debt.
American Express Company (AXP) spent $2.42B on capital expenditures in 2025. CapEx represents the cash invested in physical assets like property, plant, and equipment to maintain or grow the business.
In 2025, American Express Company (AXP) returned $2.27B to shareholders via cash dividends and spent $5.81B on share repurchases. This shows the company's commitment to returning capital to its equity investors.
Key Metrics
Top Statement Risk
Regulatory fee caps
Metrics are mathematically derived from official filings.
Organic Capital Generation Remains Solid
AXP's operating cash flow averaged $4.4B per quarter over the last year, consistently exceeding net income, with an OCF/NI ratio of 1.73 in Q2 2026, indicating robust internal capital generation.
The sustained OCF/NI ratio above 1.0 suggests that earnings are well-covered by cash flows, providing a buffer for loan growth and capital returns. However, the ratio dipped to 1.28 in Q1 2026, possibly reflecting seasonal working capital needs. This internal generation supports the company's ability to fund organic growth without excessive reliance on external debt.
Securities Portfolio Reinvestment Accelerates
Investment purchases rose to $1.9B in Q2 2026 from $446M in Q4 2025, while sales remained modest, indicating a deliberate shift toward higher-yielding securities, as per recent cash flow statements.
The increase in purchases suggests management is deploying excess liquidity into the investment portfolio, likely to enhance yield in a stable rate environment. The low sales volume implies a hold-to-maturity strategy, which may reduce near-term liquidity but could improve net interest income over time. Investors should monitor whether this trend continues, as it may signal a strategic asset allocation change.
Loan Growth Outpaces Deposit Inflows
Loan loss provisions remained elevated at $1.1B in Q2 2026, while deposit flows are not separately disclosed, but the balance sheet shows continued loan growth, suggesting funding is sourced from capital markets.
The consistent provisioning levels, despite stable credit quality, indicate that loan originations are growing, requiring higher reserves under CECL. Since deposit inflows are not visible in the cash flow statement, the reliance on wholesale funding may increase, which could raise funding costs. This trend warrants monitoring as it may pressure net interest margin if loan growth outpaces core deposit growth.
Capital Returns Remain Aggressive
AXP returned $2.9B to shareholders in Q2 2026 via dividends ($665M) and buybacks ($2.3B), representing 94% of net income, based on reported cash flow data, underscoring a strong commitment to capital return.
The buyback pace accelerated in Q2 2026, up from $1.9B in Q1, suggesting management's confidence in the company's capital position. However, with regulatory capital requirements and potential credit losses, such high payout ratios may limit flexibility. The dividend appears sustainable given the consistent OCF, but investors should watch for any reduction in buybacks if credit conditions deteriorate.
Provisions Outpace Charge-Offs
Loan loss provisions averaged $1.3B per quarter over the last year, while net charge-offs are not disclosed, but the stable provision levels suggest reserve builds are keeping pace with portfolio growth.
The consistent provisioning, despite stable credit metrics, may indicate that the company is building reserves for potential future losses, possibly reflecting a cautious outlook on the consumer segment. This conservative approach could dampen near-term earnings but positions the company well for a downturn. The lack of charge-off data limits a full assessment, but the trend appears prudent.
Cash Flow Hides Funding Mix
The cash flow statement does not separately disclose deposit inflows or wholesale funding changes, masking the true funding structure; with debt-to-equity reported at 1.73%, the actual leverage may be understated.
The anomalous debt-to-equity ratio, if accurate, suggests minimal reliance on debt, but this contradicts typical bank leverage. The cash flow statement shows minimal long-term debt issuance, implying that loan growth is funded by operating cash flows and possibly short-term borrowings. Investors should verify the actual leverage and funding mix, as the cash flow statement may not fully capture off-balance-sheet commitments or securitization activities.