Total assets grew to $1.7T with equity-to-assets stable at 5%, but investment securities ballooned to $885.7B, raising concerns about unrealized losses if rates rise, while loan loss provisions increased 132% to $841M in 2026Q1.
Barclays PLC (BCS) balance sheet — 30-year assets, liabilities & shareholders' equity history
| Metric | TTM | Dec'25 | Dec'24 | Dec'23 | Dec'22 | Dec'21 | Dec'20 | Dec'19 | Dec'18 | Dec'17 | Dec'16 | Dec'15 | Dec'14 | Dec'13 | Dec'12 | Dec'11 | Dec'10 | Dec'09 | Dec'08 | Dec'07 | Dec'06 | Dec'05 | Dec'04 | Dec'03 | Dec'02 | Dec'01 | Dec'00 | Dec'99 | Dec'98 | Dec'97 | Dec'96 |
|---|
| Cash & Short Term Investments | 2.16T | 407.56B | 509.67B | 538.31B | 542.42B | 521.33B | 457.38B | 359.34B | 395.37B | 394.29B | 196.05B | 156.26B | 289.92B | 366.82B | 410.54B | 415.34B | 479.04B | 374.89B | 346.63B | 382.62B | 359.87B | 321.52B | 10.18B | 10.89B | 12.02B | 3.73B | 3.76B | 3.65B | 4.59B | 749.37M | 29.52B |
| Cash & Due from Banks | 245.86B | 229.75B | 210.18B | 224.63B | 256.35B | 238.57B | 191.13B | 150.26B | 177.07B | 171.08B | 102.35B | 50.72B | 40.91B | 46.97B | 87.66B | 108.8B | 99.01B | 83.08B | 31.71B | 7.64B | 9.75B | 5.81B | 3.52B | 3.73B | 4.37B | 3.73B | 3.76B | 3.65B | 4.59B | 749.37M | 29.52B |
| Short Term Investments | 210.1B | 177.81B | 299.49B | 313.68B | 286.07B | 282.75B | 266.25B | 209.08B | 218.3B | 223.21B | 93.69B | 105.53B | 249.01B | 319.85B | 322.87B | 306.54B | 380.03B | 291.81B | 314.92B | 374.99B | 350.11B | 315.71B | 6.66B | 7.17B | 7.65B | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Total Investments | 885.74B | 860.75B | 450.78B | 413.36B | 468.76B | 411.81B | 449.87B | 330.22B | 344.65B | 352.17B | 432.22B | 363.83B | 594.83B | 538.23B | 662.58B | 692.49B | 635.6B | 561.92B | 1.18T | 522.39B | 395.47B | 380.96B | 6.66B | 7.17B | 7.65B | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Investments Growth % | 602.11% | 90.95% | 9.05% | -11.82% | 13.83% | -8.46% | 36.23% | -4.19% | -2.13% | -18.52% | 18.8% | -38.83% | 10.52% | -18.77% | -4.32% | 8.95% | 13.11% | -52.47% | 126.3% | 32.09% | 3.81% | 5624.28% | -7.15% | -6.29% | - | - | - | - | - | - | - |
| Long-Term Investments | 2.33T | 682.94B | 151.29B | 99.68B | 182.69B | 129.06B | 183.63B | 121.14B | 126.35B | 128.96B | 338.52B | 258.3B | 345.81B | 218.38B | 339.71B | 385.96B | 255.57B | 270.11B | 867.23B | 147.41B | 45.35B | 65.25B | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Accounts Receivables | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 1.38B | 1.59B | 5.3B | 4.44B | 5.02B | 3.9B | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 2.4B | 2.2B | 1.88B |
| Goodwill & Intangibles | 8.91B | 8.28B | 8.28B | 7.79B | 8.24B | 8.06B | 7.95B | 8.12B | 7.97B | 7.85B | 7.73B | 8.22B | 8.18B | 7.68B | 7.92B | 7.85B | 8.7B | 8.79B | 10.4B | 8.3B | 7.31B | 7.29B | 4.29B | 4.4B | 3.94B | 4.1B | 4.27B | 182.98M | 195.98M | 190.85M | 222.01M |
| Goodwill | 8.91B | 4.42B | 4.45B | 4.18B | 3.91B | 3.89B | 3.89B | 3.9B | 3.91B | 3.9B | 3.92B | 4.61B | 4.89B | 4.88B | 5.21B | 5.3B | 6.22B | 6.23B | 7.63B | 7.01B | 6.09B | 6.02B | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Intangible Assets | 0 | 3.87B | 3.83B | 3.62B | 4.33B | 4.17B | 4.06B | 4.22B | 4.07B | 3.95B | 3.81B | 3.62B | 3.29B | 2.81B | 2.71B | 2.54B | 2.48B | 2.56B | 2.78B | 1.28B | 1.22B | 1.27B | 4.29B | 4.4B | 3.94B | 4.1B | 4.27B | 182.98M | 195.98M | 190.85M | 222.01M |
| PP&E (Net) | 4.23B | 3.68B | 3.6B | 3.42B | 3.61B | 3.55B | 4.03B | 4.2B | 2.53B | 2.46B | 2.74B | 3.33B | 3.58B | 3.77B | 5.75B | 7.17B | 4.57B | 4.42B | 4.67B | 3B | 2.49B | 2.75B | 1.92B | 1.79B | 1.63B | 1.96B | 2.06B | 1.8B | 1.94B | 2.01B | 2.09B |
| Other Assets | 580.41B | 436.43B | 839.04B | 822.33B | 769.75B | 717.67B | 693.1B | 644.14B | 597.24B | 593.85B | 660.32B | 686.4B | 702.68B | 738.25B | 740.79B | 737.17B | 732.72B | 710.46B | 815.19B | 679.59B | 575.32B | 522.24B | 505.46B | 425.7B | 385.69B | 347.64B | 306.44B | 248.86B | 210.32B | 227.07B | 152.28B |
| Total Current Assets | 456.18B | 407.84B | 509.67B | 538.31B | 542.42B | 521.33B | 457.38B | 359.34B | 395.37B | 396.68B | 198.94B | 159.27B | 293.52B | 370.74B | 414.62B | 419.9B | 485.57B | 382.84B | 352.81B | 387.62B | 365.55B | 326.14B | 10.18B | 10.89B | 12.02B | 3.73B | 3.76B | 3.65B | 6.99B | 2.95B | 31.4B |
| Total Non-Current Assets | 1.27T | 1.14T | 1.01T | 939.18B | 971.28B | 862.96B | 892.14B | 780.89B | 737.91B | 736.57B | 1.01T | 960.75B | 1.06T | 972.89B | 1.1T | 1.14T | 1T | 996.09B | 1.7T | 839.75B | 631.24B | 598.22B | 511.68B | 431.89B | 391.25B | 353.7B | 312.77B | 250.84B | 212.46B | 229.28B | 154.6B |
| Total Assets | 1.73T | 1.54T | 1.52T | 1.48T | 1.51T | 1.38T | 1.35T | 1.14T | 1.13T | 1.13T | 1.21T | 1.12T | 1.36T | 1.34T | 1.51T | 1.56T | 1.49T | 1.38T | 2.05T | 1.23T | 996.79B | 924.36B | 521.85B | 442.79B | 403.27B | 357.43B | 316.53B | 254.49B | 219.44B | 232.23B | 186B |
| Asset Growth % | 22.7% | 1.71% | 2.76% | -2.39% | 9.35% | 2.58% | 18.35% | 0.61% | 0% | -6.58% | 8.31% | -17.52% | 1.06% | -11.16% | -3.16% | 4.83% | 8.03% | -32.83% | 67.27% | 23.13% | 7.84% | 77.13% | 17.86% | 9.8% | 12.82% | 12.92% | 24.38% | 15.97% | -5.51% | 24.85% | 9.62% |
| Return on Assets (ROA) | 0.48% | 0.47% | 0.43% | 0.35% | 0.41% | 0.51% | 0.18% | 0.29% | 0.22% | -0.1% | 0.2% | -0% | 0.01% | 0.04% | -0.04% | 0.2% | 0.25% | 0.18% | 0.28% | 0.4% | 0.46% | 0.5% | 0.64% | 0.65% | 0.59% | 0.73% | 0.87% | 0.74% | 0.59% | 0.54% | 0.92% |
| Accounts Payable | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 1.64B | 0 |
| Total Debt | 137.94B | 219.94B | 185.75B | 176.55B | 183.37B | 166.59B | 144.02B | 145.65B | 149.52B | 139.72B | 99.31B | 90.62B | 149.68B | 108.39B | 143.54B | 154.55B | 262.12B | 234.03B | 240.8B | 190.78B | 157.28B | 142.03B | 80.05B | 61.83B | 57.45B | 50.07B | 6.38B | 4.59B | 3.73B | 2.92B | 3.09B |
| Net Debt | -107.92B | -9.81B | -24.44B | -48.08B | -72.98B | -71.98B | -47.11B | -4.61B | -27.55B | -31.36B | -3.04B | 39.9B | 108.78B | 61.42B | 55.88B | 45.75B | 163.1B | 150.96B | 209.09B | 183.14B | 147.52B | 136.22B | 76.52B | 58.1B | 53.08B | 46.34B | 2.62B | 937.75M | -856.8M | 2.18B | -26.43B |
| Long-Term Debt | 137.94B | 219.94B | 185.75B | 176.55B | 183.37B | 166.59B | 144.02B | 145.65B | 149.52B | 139.72B | 99.31B | 90.62B | 149.68B | 108.39B | 143.54B | 154.55B | 262.12B | 234.03B | 240.8B | 190.78B | 157.28B | 142.03B | 80.05B | 61.83B | 57.45B | 50.07B | 6.38B | 4.59B | 3.73B | 2.92B | 3.09B |
| Short-Term Debt | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Other Liabilities | 838.83B | 548.33B | 596.02B | 588.06B | 601.33B | 544.81B | 588.47B | 450.69B | 455.59B | 487.01B | 617.01B | 464.24B | 603.84B | 630.21B | 795.86B | 841.55B | 658.57B | 630.02B | 1.24T | 535.85B | 383.94B | 365.09B | 94.9B | 85.34B | 71.39B | 59.11B | 86.4B | 72.82B | 64.28B | 66.94B | 141.17B |
| Total Current Liabilities | 673.78B | 697.65B | 663.95B | 641.01B | 659.74B | 602.85B | 550.15B | 478.23B | 464.4B | 440.5B | 425.43B | 499.29B | 538.42B | 541.08B | 512.97B | 502.54B | 506.7B | 456.4B | 520.41B | 468.25B | 428.18B | 392.81B | 328.59B | 278.6B | 259.06B | 231.7B | 208.95B | 168.25B | 143.19B | 154.43B | 34.16B |
| Total Non-Current Liabilities | 976.76B | 768.27B | 781.77B | 764.61B | 784.7B | 711.4B | 732.49B | 596.34B | 605.1B | 626.73B | 716.33B | 554.86B | 753.52B | 738.6B | 939.4B | 996.1B | 920.68B | 864.05B | 1.49T | 726.63B | 541.22B | 507.12B | 174.95B | 147.17B | 128.84B | 109.18B | 92.78B | 77.41B | 68.02B | 69.86B | 144.26B |
| Total Liabilities | 1.65T | 1.47T | 1.45T | 1.41T | 1.44T | 1.31T | 1.28T | 1.07T | 1.07T | 1.07T | 1.14T | 1.05T | 1.29T | 1.28T | 1.45T | 1.5T | 1.43T | 1.32T | 2.01T | 1.19T | 969.4B | 899.93B | 503.55B | 425.77B | 387.9B | 340.88B | 301.72B | 245.67B | 211.21B | 224.29B | 178.41B |
| Total Equity | 79.81B | 78.24B | 72.48B | 71.86B | 69.26B | 70.04B | 66.88B | 65.66B | 63.78B | 66.02B | 71.36B | 65.86B | 65.96B | 63.95B | 59.99B | 63.01B | 62.26B | 58.48B | 47.41B | 32.48B | 27.39B | 24.43B | 18.31B | 17.02B | 15.37B | 16.55B | 14.8B | 8.82B | 8.24B | 7.94B | 7.59B |
| Equity Growth % | 21.83% | 7.94% | 0.86% | 3.76% | -1.12% | 4.72% | 1.86% | 2.95% | -3.39% | -7.5% | 8.35% | -0.14% | 3.14% | 6.61% | -4.81% | 1.21% | 6.47% | 23.34% | 45.99% | 18.57% | 12.12% | 33.43% | 7.59% | 10.73% | -7.14% | 11.81% | 67.74% | 7.16% | 3.73% | 4.64% | 2.43% |
| Equity / Assets (Capital Ratio) | 4.61% | 5.07% | 4.77% | 4.86% | 4.58% | 5.06% | 4.96% | 5.76% | 5.63% | 5.83% | 5.88% | 5.88% | 4.86% | 4.76% | 3.97% | 4.04% | 4.18% | 4.24% | 2.31% | 2.65% | 2.75% | 2.64% | 3.51% | 3.84% | 3.81% | 4.63% | 4.68% | 3.47% | 3.75% | 3.42% | 4.08% |
| Return on Equity (ROE) | 10.1% | 9.52% | 8.92% | 7.33% | 8.55% | 10.24% | 3.39% | 5.03% | 3.81% | -1.73% | 3.33% | -0.08% | 0.12% | 0.84% | -1% | 4.96% | 5.89% | 5.72% | 11.59% | 14.88% | 16.9% | 16.98% | 17.55% | 16.95% | 13.97% | 15.76% | 20.96% | 20.6% | 16.55% | 14.54% | 21.86% |
| Book Value per Share | 23.26 | 22.67 | 18.99 | 18.08 | 16.42 | 16.08 | 15.14 | 15.02 | 14.68 | 15.28 | 16.75 | 15.45 | 15.87 | 17.44 | 17.57 | 18.59 | 18.40 | 18.82 | 15.25 | 10.45 | 8.81 | 7.86 | 5.89 | 5.48 | 4.94 | 5.33 | 4.76 | 2.84 | 2.65 | 2.55 | 2.44 |
| Tangible BV per Share | 20.66 | 20.27 | 16.82 | 16.12 | 14.47 | 14.23 | 13.34 | 13.17 | 12.84 | 13.46 | 14.94 | 13.52 | 13.90 | 15.34 | 15.25 | 16.27 | 15.83 | 15.99 | 11.91 | 7.78 | 6.46 | 5.51 | 4.51 | 4.06 | 3.68 | 4.01 | 3.39 | 2.78 | 2.59 | 2.49 | 2.37 |
| Common Stock | 4.19B | 3.47B | 3.6B | 3.79B | 3.97B | 4.19B | 4.34B | 4.33B | 4.28B | 4.26B | 21.84B | 21.59B | 4.13B | 19.89B | 12.48B | 12.38B | 12.34B | 2.85B | 2.09B | 1.65B | 1.63B | 1.62B | 1.61B | 1.64B | 1.65B | 1.67B | 1.66B | 1.49B | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Additional Paid-in Capital | 0 | 711M | 581M | 499M | 405M | 348M | 297M | 263M | 28M | 17.78B | 17.6B | 17.39B | 16.68B | 15.86B | 9.42B | 9.33B | 9.29B | 7.95B | 4.44B | 440M | 6.13B | 5.96B | 5.52B | 5.41B | 5.28B | 5.16B | 4.96B | 1.58B | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Retained Earnings | 60.4B | 59.25B | 56.03B | 53.73B | 52.83B | 50.49B | 45.53B | 44.2B | 43.46B | 27.54B | 30.53B | 31.02B | 31.71B | 33.19B | 34.46B | 37.19B | 36.77B | 33.84B | 24.21B | 20.97B | 12.17B | 8.96B | 9.33B | 8.49B | 7.38B | 6.83B | 5.85B | 4.84B | 4.49B | 6.08B | 4.05B |
| Accumulated OCI | 0 | 0 | 11.61B | 13.18B | 11.09B | 14.03B | 15.63B | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Treasury Stock | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | -165M | -989M | -140M | -173M | -260M | -212M | -181M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Preferred Stock | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
Quick answers to the most common questions about buying BCS stock.
As of 2025, Barclays PLC (BCS) had total assets of $1.54T including $407.84B in current assets.
Barclays PLC (BCS) carries total debt of $219.94B. Comparing total debt to cash helps evaluate the company's debt burden and net leverage.
Barclays PLC (BCS) has total shareholders' equity (book value) of $77.78B ($22.67 book value per share). Book value represents the net worth of the company belonging to common stock holders.
Barclays PLC (BCS) reported a current ratio of 0.58x. A current ratio above 1.0x indicates that the company has more current assets than current liabilities, suggesting sufficient short-term liquidity.
Key Metrics
Top Statement Risk
US card delinquency uptick
Asset Growth Tempered by Strategic Repositioning
Total assets expanded from $1.5T to $1.7T over the past year, but the mix shifted toward securities, suggesting a strategic pivot away from lending. According to reported figures, this may indicate a focus on capital efficiency.
The balance sheet grew roughly 13% year-over-year, with investment securities rising from $254.6B in 2024Q1 to $885.7B in 2026Q2, while cash balances remained volatile. This shift appears to reflect a deliberate move toward more liquid, lower-risk assets, possibly to support the announced £10bn capital return program. However, the contraction in net interest income in 2026Q2, despite the larger asset base, suggests that the yield on these securities may be lower than on loans, potentially pressuring NIM.
Deposit Base Stability Underpins Funding
The loan-to-deposit ratio is not disclosed, but the stable equity-to-assets ratio of 5% and reliance on customer deposits suggest a solid funding base. Based on reported figures, deposit costs may be rising, pressuring spreads.
While deposit data is not explicitly provided, the consistent equity-to-assets ratio and the bank's universal model imply a diversified funding structure. The NIM of 0.8% in 2026Q2 is unusually low, which may indicate that deposit costs are catching up to loan yields, a common trend as rate hikes peak. Investors should monitor the deposit beta, as a higher beta could further compress margins.
Credit Deterioration Signals Rising Risk
Loan loss provisions increased from $363M in 2024Q3 to $841M in 2026Q1, a 132% rise, suggesting accelerating credit deterioration. According to recent disclosures, this aligns with rising US card delinquencies.
The provision trend is concerning, especially given the bank's exposure to US consumer credit cards. The increase in provisions, coupled with a stable ROE around 2-3%, indicates that credit costs are absorbing a larger share of earnings. If delinquencies continue to rise, provisions may escalate further, pressuring profitability and potentially requiring higher capital buffers.
Capital Position Supports Return Plans
Equity grew from $71.7B to $79.4B over the past year, with equity-to-assets stable at 5%, indicating internal capital generation. As reported in financial statements, this may support the £10bn return target.
The steady increase in equity, despite modest ROE, suggests that retained earnings are bolstering capital. The CET1 ratio is not disclosed, but the equity growth implies a comfortable buffer above regulatory minimums. However, the high leverage (D/E of 2.81) and the need to fund the buyback program may limit flexibility if credit costs rise further.
Liquidity Profile Bolstered by Securities
Cash and bank balances fluctuated between $210B and $397B, while investment securities surged to $886B, enhancing the liquidity buffer. Based on reported figures, this suggests ample contingent funding.
The significant increase in investment securities, from $254.6B to $885.7B, provides a substantial pool of liquid assets that can be pledged or sold in times of stress. This, combined with a stable deposit base, reduces reliance on wholesale funding. However, the composition of the securities portfolio (e.g., duration and credit quality) is not disclosed, and unrealized losses could emerge if rates rise.
NIM Outlook Clouded by Rate Peak
Net interest margin fell to 0.8% in 2026Q2, a level that appears unsustainably low, suggesting compression as rate tailwinds fade. According to recent filings, this may indicate that deposit costs are rising faster than loan yields.
The sharp drop in NIM, from an implied higher level in prior quarters, suggests that the bank's interest income is not keeping pace with funding costs. This could be due to competitive pressures on deposits or a shift in asset mix toward lower-yielding securities. If NIM remains at this level, it would significantly impair profitability, making the £10bn return target more challenging. Investors should monitor the trajectory of NIM and management's guidance on rate sensitivity.
Unrealized Losses Lurk in Securities
Investment securities ballooned to $886B, but their duration and yield are undisclosed, raising the risk of unrealized losses if rates rise. Based on reported figures, this could pressure capital.
The massive increase in investment securities, while enhancing liquidity, may also concentrate interest rate risk. If the portfolio consists of long-duration bonds, a rise in yields could trigger significant unrealized losses, reducing AOCI and potentially impacting CET1. This risk is not visible in the provided data but warrants investigation, especially given the bank's high leverage and the need to maintain capital for the buyback program.