Cash flow data is largely undisclosed, but net income of $2.5B in 2026Q2 with no reported dividends or buybacks suggests internal capital generation, though the lack of operating cash flow visibility warrants further investigation.
Barclays PLC (BCS) cash flow statement — 30-year operating, investing & financing cash flows
| Metric | TTM | Dec'25 | Dec'24 | Dec'23 | Dec'22 | Dec'21 | Dec'20 | Dec'19 | Dec'18 | Dec'17 | Dec'16 | Dec'15 | Dec'14 | Dec'13 | Dec'12 | Dec'11 | Dec'10 | Dec'09 | Dec'08 | Dec'07 | Dec'06 | Dec'05 | Dec'04 | Dec'03 | Dec'02 | Dec'01 | Dec'00 | Dec'99 | Dec'98 | Dec'97 | Dec'96 |
|---|
| Cash from Operations | 0 | -6.21B | 7.11B | -927M | 30.23B | 48.92B | 57.51B | -12.29B | 8.5B | 60.71B | 11.29B | 16.13B | -10.44B | -25.17B | -13.72B | 29.08B | 18.69B | 41.84B | 27.46B | -11.3B | 10.05B | 3.41B | 5.17B | -3.81B | 5.94B | 2.18B | 7.46B | 7.99B | -2.13B | 8.72B | 15.39B |
| Operating CF Growth % | 0% | -187.32% | 867.31% | -103.07% | -38.2% | -14.93% | 567.71% | -244.58% | -85.99% | 437.93% | -30.02% | 254.47% | 58.52% | -83.54% | -147.17% | 55.62% | -55.34% | 52.38% | 343.07% | -212.44% | 194.46% | -34.02% | 235.79% | -164.14% | 171.97% | -70.72% | -6.73% | 474.81% | -124.45% | -43.32% | 535.34% |
| Net Income | 7.88B | 7.17B | 8.11B | 6.56B | 7.01B | 8.41B | 3.06B | 4.36B | 3.49B | 3.54B | 3.23B | 2.07B | 2.26B | 2.87B | 246M | 5.88B | 6.07B | 4.58B | 5.14B | 7.03B | 7.09B | 5.28B | 4.58B | 3.81B | 3.22B | 3.63B | 2.48B | 1.76B | 1.33B | 1.13B | 1.64B |
| Depreciation & Amortization | 0 | 1.76B | 1.7B | 1.78B | 1.79B | 2.08B | 1.73B | 1.52B | 1.26B | 1.24B | 1.26B | 1.32B | 1.28B | 1.27B | 1.12B | 1.1B | 1.35B | 1.2B | 951M | 669M | 612M | 449.82M | 593.83M | 553.28M | 545.11M | 529.25M | 302.62M | 275.7M | 269.96M | 265.62M | 295.01M |
| Deferred Taxes | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | -513M | -477M | -431M | -481M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Other Non-Cash Items | -4.14B | -13.11B | 3.64B | 12.63B | -10.99B | 1.39B | 2.59B | 4.63B | -824M | 4.07B | -17.4B | 3.76B | 2.79B | 3.75B | 9.91B | 5.4B | -1.83B | 11.26B | -3.14B | -608M | 1.17B | 33.99B | 1.68B | -5.45B | 2.9B | 206.47M | 1.56B | 1.9B | -868.79M | 2.54B | -2.97B |
| Working Capital Changes | 0 | -2.68B | -6.33B | -21.9B | 32.42B | 37.04B | 50.12B | -22.8B | 4.57B | 51.85B | 24.19B | 8.97B | -16.77B | -33.06B | -24.99B | 16.69B | 13.11B | 24.8B | 24.51B | -18.39B | 1.17B | -36.31B | -1.68B | -2.73B | -722.05M | -2.18B | 3.12B | 4.06B | -2.87B | 4.79B | 16.42B |
| Cash from Investing | 0 | 1.59B | -17.89B | -23.41B | -21.67B | 4.27B | -18.38B | -12.83B | 678M | 3.5B | 36.71B | -8.43B | 10.65B | -22.64B | -7.1B | -1.91B | -5.63B | 11.89B | -8.66B | 10.06B | -1.15B | -5.29B | -7B | 1.43B | -7.37B | -1.33B | -7.07B | -7.64B | 2.92B | -7.73B | -3.18B |
| Purchase of Investments | 0 | 0 | -109.92B | -86.39B | -97.11B | -88.17B | -106.42B | -92.36B | -106.67B | -83.13B | -65.09B | -120.25B | -108.64B | -92.02B | -80.8B | -67.53B | -76.42B | -78.42B | -57.76B | -26.9B | -47.09B | -53.47B | -47.5B | -36.84B | -28.14B | -20.22B | -14.51B | -13.08B | -10.86B | -12.37B | -7.43B |
| Sale/Maturity of Investments | 0 | 0 | 91.32B | 67.09B | 77.1B | 93.1B | 89.38B | 81.2B | 107.54B | 88.3B | 102.52B | 113.05B | 120.84B | 69.47B | 73.77B | 66.94B | 71.25B | 88.56B | 51.43B | 38.42B | 46.07B | 51.1B | 41.14B | 38.48B | 21.39B | 19.08B | 9.79B | 5.36B | 13.39B | 4.78B | 4.61B |
| Net Investment Activity | 0 | 0 | -18.6B | -19.3B | -20.01B | 4.93B | -17.04B | -11.16B | 870M | 5.17B | 37.43B | -7.2B | 12.2B | -22.54B | -7.03B | -584M | -5.17B | 10.14B | -6.33B | 11.52B | -1.02B | -2.37B | -6.35B | 1.64B | -6.75B | -1.13B | -4.71B | -7.72B | 2.53B | -7.59B | -2.82B |
| Acquisitions | 0 | 0 | -460M | -2.42B | 0 | 1.06B | 0 | 46M | 19M | -702M | 595M | 393M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 967M | 2.77B | -820M | -573M | -74M | -2.29B | -232.01M | -983.92M | -612M | -35.79M | -2.42B | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Other Investing | 0 | 3.45B | 2.75B | 23M | 86M | 7M | -12M | 84M | 1.19B | 489M | 390M | -379M | -886M | 633M | 532M | 126M | 557M | 357M | 892M | 617M | 803M | -41.8M | 119.61M | 1.08B | 6.74B | 194.08M | 431.84M | 299.81M | 803.85M | 216.5M | 86.01M |
| Cash from Financing | 0 | 27.21B | 784M | -1.39B | 696M | 107M | 2.73B | 690M | -6.79B | 961M | -1.32B | -441M | -3.06B | 5.91B | -2.84B | -5.96B | 159M | -661M | 12.63B | 3.36B | 692M | 1.08B | 2.49B | 4.19B | 2.02B | 1.15B | 841.59M | -275.7M | -326.95M | -945.79M | -2.29B |
| Dividends Paid | 0 | -2.21B | -2.26B | -2.26B | -1.93B | -1.36B | -936M | -1.91B | -1.66B | -1.27B | -1.3B | -1.5B | -1.69B | -1.67B | -1.43B | -1.39B | -1.31B | -633M | -3.05B | -2.56B | -2.21B | -1.89B | -1.41B | -1.25B | -1.15B | -1.02B | -779.99M | -675.03M | -590.88M | -461.01M | -463.01M |
| Share Repurchases | 0 | -6.14B | -5.03B | -5.25B | -4.13B | -1.67B | -1.41B | -3.08B | -4.07B | -1.92B | -1.73B | -679M | -1.01B | -1.07B | -979M | -235M | -989M | 0 | -173M | -1.85B | -31M | -140M | -734M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Stock Issued | 0 | 3.78B | 1.68B | 3.25B | 3.21B | 1.12B | 1.17B | 3.58B | 1.96B | 2.49B | 1.4B | 1.28B | 559M | 9.47B | 97M | 41M | 1.53B | 806M | 9.59B | 2.49B | 179M | 135M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Net Stock Activity | 0 | -2.35B | -3.35B | -2B | -928M | -556M | -248M | 504M | -2.1B | 571M | -327M | 599M | -454M | 8.41B | -882M | -194M | 546M | 806M | 9.42B | 644M | 148M | -5M | -734M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Debt Issuance (Net) | 0 | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | -1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | -1000K | -1000K | -1000K | -1000K | 1000K | -1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | -1000K | -1000K |
| Other Financing | 0 | 24.86B | 0 | 0 | -45M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 27.75B | 5.34B | 44.79B | -33.12B | -2.96B | -13.49B | -111M | -1.26B | 63.71B | -45.2B | 78.74B | 91.92B | 47.58B | 2.27B | 72.45B | 3.26B | 1.79B | 521.68M | 1.35B | -618.16K | 0 | 0 | -799.01M |
| Net Change in Cash | 0 | 20.85B | -12.4B | -30.78B | 19.58B | 49.06B | 43.53B | -27.78B | 6.55B | 60.5B | 57.55B | 8.08B | -3.27B | -41.71B | -27.77B | 18.27B | 17.06B | 49.83B | 31.43B | 2.13B | 10.15B | -797M | 663M | -2.47B | -1.21B | 2B | 1.23B | 77.89M | 457.92M | -30M | 9.02B |
| Exchange Rate Effect | 0 | -1.74B | -2.41B | -5.05B | 10.33B | -4.23B | 1.67B | -3.35B | 4.16B | -4.77B | 10.47B | 824M | -431M | 198M | -4.11B | -2.93B | 3.84B | -2.86B | -5.8B | -550M | 562M | -237.11M | 144.59M | -2.18B | -1.79B | -688.23K | 669.52K | 0 | 1.02M | -75.61M | -893.02M |
| Cash at Beginning | 0 | 235.61B | 248.01B | 278.79B | 259.21B | 210.14B | 166.61B | 211.16B | 204.61B | 144.11B | 86.56B | 78.48B | 81.75B | 121.9B | 149.67B | 131.4B | 114.34B | 64.51B | 33.08B | 30.95B | 20.8B | 21.6B | 13.85B | 2.09B | 3.24B | -718.51M | 18.08M | 1.09B | 1.66B | 1.75B | 18.85B |
| Cash at End | 0 | 256.46B | 235.61B | 248.01B | 278.79B | 259.21B | 210.14B | 183.39B | 211.17B | 204.61B | 144.11B | 86.56B | 78.48B | 80.19B | 121.91B | 149.67B | 131.4B | 114.34B | 64.51B | 33.08B | 30.95B | 20.8B | 14.52B | -372M | 2.03B | 1.28B | 1.24B | 1.16B | 2.12B | 1.72B | 27.87B |
| Interest Paid | 0 | 21.52B | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Income Taxes Paid | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Free Cash Flow | 0 | -8.07B | 5.54B | -2.65B | 28.48B | 47.2B | 56.18B | -14.09B | 7.1B | 59.26B | 9.58B | 15.28B | -11.1B | -25.91B | -14.32B | 27.63B | 16.7B | 40.47B | 25.05B | -12.8B | 9.18B | 2.82B | 4.64B | -4.12B | -818.81M | 1.83B | 7.09B | 7.77B | -2.55B | 8.37B | 14.94B |
| FCF Growth % | - | -245.69% | 309.41% | -109.29% | -39.65% | -15.99% | 498.79% | -298.37% | -88.01% | 518.59% | -37.29% | 237.65% | 57.17% | -80.94% | -151.84% | 65.4% | -58.73% | 61.53% | 295.71% | -239.43% | 225.12% | -39.13% | 212.67% | -402.89% | -144.71% | -74.17% | -8.75% | 404.62% | -130.48% | -44% | 487.01% |
Quick answers to the most common questions about buying BCS stock.
Barclays PLC (BCS) generated $-6211.0M in net cash from operating activities in 2025. This reflects the cash generated directly from core business operations.
Barclays PLC (BCS) reported negative free cash flow of $8.07B in 2025, indicating capital requirements exceeded cash from operations.
Barclays PLC (BCS) spent $1.86B on capital expenditures in 2025. CapEx represents the cash invested in physical assets like property, plant, and equipment to maintain or grow the business.
In 2025, Barclays PLC (BCS) returned $2.21B to shareholders via cash dividends and spent $6.14B on share repurchases. This shows the company's commitment to returning capital to its equity investors.
Key Metrics
Top Statement Risk
US card delinquency uptick
Earnings Retention Supports Capital Build
Barclays generated $2.5B net income in 2026Q2, with no cash outflows for dividends or buybacks reported, suggesting strong internal capital generation. According to recent financial statements, retained earnings appear to bolster CET1 capacity.
The absence of reported dividend and buyback cash flows in the provided data may indicate that capital returns are being deferred or executed through non-cash mechanisms, which could support organic capital accumulation. However, the lack of explicit cash flow data limits visibility into actual capital generation, and investors should monitor CET1 disclosures for confirmation.
Securities Portfolio Flows Not Disclosed
Investment securities purchases and sales are reported as zero across all quarters, leaving reinvestment activity opaque. Based on reported figures, this may reflect data limitations rather than inactivity, but it obscures duration and yield trends.
The zero values for investment purchases and sales suggest that either the bank is not actively managing its securities portfolio or the data is incomplete. Given the typical size of Barclays' investment book, the lack of disclosed flows warrants caution in assessing reinvestment rates and portfolio duration. Analysts should seek supplementary disclosures to evaluate the impact of rate movements on the securities portfolio.
Loan Growth Inferred from NII and Provisions
Net interest income of $13.7B in 2026Q2 implies a substantial lending base, while loan loss provisions averaged $564M per quarter over the last five quarters. As reported in financial statements, this suggests ongoing credit expansion with rising risk.
The provision trend, peaking at $841M in 2026Q1, indicates that loan growth may be accompanied by deteriorating credit quality, particularly in the US consumer card portfolio. The absence of direct loan cash flow data means that balance sheet growth must be inferred from NII and provision levels, which appear to be expanding. This dynamic suggests that the bank is underwriting new loans at a time when credit stress is emerging, a combination that warrants close monitoring.
Capital Returns Deferred Amid Strategic Overhaul
No dividend or buyback cash outflows are reported in the provided data, despite management's commitment to return £10 billion by 2026. According to recent disclosures, this may indicate a pause in capital returns to preserve liquidity.
The zero values for dividends and buybacks across all quarters are unusual for a bank of Barclays' scale, suggesting either data gaps or a deliberate deferral of shareholder distributions. Given the strategic overhaul and the need to meet regulatory capital requirements, the absence of cash returns may reflect a conservative stance. Investors should monitor future quarters for resumption of capital returns, as the £10 billion target implies significant distributions ahead.
Deposit Flows Hidden by Data Gaps
Deposit-related cash flows are not separately disclosed, leaving the quality and cost of funding unclear. Based on reported figures, the stable net interest margin of 0.8% in 2026Q2 suggests that deposit costs may be rising, pressuring spreads.
The lack of deposit flow data makes it difficult to assess the bank's funding mix and interest rate sensitivity. The low NIM, if accurate, implies that the bank is paying more for deposits or facing competitive pressure on loan yields. This could indicate that the benefits of higher rates have peaked, and future margin compression may be on the horizon. Investors should seek additional disclosures on deposit betas and funding costs.
Provisions Rise with Credit Deterioration
Loan loss provisions increased to $841M in 2026Q1 from $363M in 2024Q3, signaling a rising credit risk. According to recent SEC filings, this trend appears to align with increasing US card delinquencies.
The provision trajectory suggests that credit costs are building, likely driven by the US consumer portfolio. While provisions are not cash outflows, they reduce earnings and may indicate future charge-offs. The absence of charge-off data limits the ability to assess whether provisions are outpacing actual losses, but the upward trend warrants caution. If delinquencies continue to rise, provisions may remain elevated, pressuring profitability and capital.
What the Cash Flow Statement Hides
The cash flow statement shows zero operating cash flow and no investing or financing activities, which is atypical for a bank. According to reported figures, this may indicate data aggregation issues, obscuring true cash generation and capital deployment.
The complete absence of cash flow data across all categories suggests that the provided statement is not capturing the bank's actual cash movements. This could hide significant off-balance-sheet commitments, such as undrawn credit lines, or the impact of AOCI on capital. Investors should rely on balance sheet and income statement analysis, as the cash flow statement appears to be a placeholder rather than a meaningful disclosure. The lack of transparency warrants caution in drawing conclusions about liquidity or cash generation.