Latest Ratios: P/E Ratio -135.8x · EV/EBITDA N/A · ROE -6.3%. (2012–2025 historical series)
Price-based multiples — how expensive the stock is relative to earnings, sales, book value, and cash flow
| Metric | TTM | FY 2025 | FY 2024 | FY 2023 | FY 2022 | FY 2021 | FY 2020 | FY 2019 | FY 2018 | FY 2017 | FY 2016 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Market Cap | $2.8B | $1.0B | $1.2B | $645M | $608M | $2.4B | $3.4B | $909M | $896M | $171M | $45M |
| Enterprise Value | $2.8B | $965M | $1.1B | $597M | $557M | $2.0B | $3.3B | $876M | $832M | $188M | $51M |
| P/E Ratio → | -135.78 | — | 23.02 | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — |
| P/S Ratio | 7.39 | 2.64 | 3.63 | 2.30 | 1.89 | 8.02 | 17.52 | 7.16 | 11.70 | 3.54 | 1.10 |
| P/B Ratio | 9.55 | 3.31 | 3.20 | 2.47 | 1.41 | 5.10 | 12.13 | 9.18 | 9.34 | — | 2.25 |
| P/FCF | 77.68 | 27.80 | 38.41 | — | — | — | 145.97 | — | — | — | — |
| P/OCF | 66.75 | 23.89 | 31.86 | — | — | — | 100.73 | — | — | — | — |
P/E links to full P/E history page with 30-year chart
Enterprise-value multiples — capital-structure-neutral measures of total business value
| Metric | TTM | FY 2025 | FY 2024 | FY 2023 | FY 2022 | FY 2021 | FY 2020 | FY 2019 | FY 2018 | FY 2017 | FY 2016 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| EV / Revenue | — | 2.54 | 3.37 | 2.13 | 1.73 | 6.91 | 16.92 | 6.90 | 10.86 | 3.90 | 1.26 |
| EV / EBITDA | — | — | 18.60 | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — |
| EV / EBIT | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — |
| EV / FCF | — | 26.71 | 35.67 | — | — | — | 140.91 | — | — | — | — |
Margins and return-on-capital ratios measuring operating efficiency
Full margin charts and quarterly trend are on the Earnings History page
| Metric | TTM | FY 2025 | FY 2024 | FY 2023 | FY 2022 | FY 2021 | FY 2020 | FY 2019 | FY 2018 | FY 2017 | FY 2016 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Gross Margin | 67.0% | 67.0% | 67.2% | 63.6% | 65.1% | 67.1% | 67.2% | 64.2% | 56.9% | 55.8% | 48.0% |
| Operating Margin | -5.5% | -5.5% | 12.2% | -72.5% | -24.0% | -10.0% | -11.7% | -19.3% | -20.3% | -42.0% | -91.9% |
| Net Profit Margin | -5.6% | -5.6% | 15.7% | -67.9% | -23.8% | -10.3% | -9.7% | -17.3% | -61.1% | -114.8% | -97.1% |
| Metric | TTM | FY 2025 | FY 2024 | FY 2023 | FY 2022 | FY 2021 | FY 2020 | FY 2019 | FY 2018 | FY 2017 | FY 2016 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| ROE | -6.3% | -6.3% | 16.4% | -55.0% | -17.1% | -8.2% | -9.9% | -22.5% | -103.9% | -803.5% | -160.3% |
| ROA | -4.7% | -4.7% | 11.0% | -37.7% | -13.8% | -6.6% | -7.2% | -15.6% | -43.6% | -69.2% | -59.6% |
| ROIC | -5.7% | -5.7% | 12.1% | -51.4% | -22.3% | -14.9% | -14.9% | -37.7% | -54.7% | -80.8% | -133.9% |
| ROCE | -5.8% | -5.8% | 10.3% | -47.5% | -16.2% | -7.5% | -10.8% | -21.5% | -20.5% | -53.0% | -91.7% |
Solvency and debt-coverage ratios — lower is generally safer
| Metric | TTM | FY 2025 | FY 2024 | FY 2023 | FY 2022 | FY 2021 | FY 2020 | FY 2019 | FY 2018 | FY 2017 | FY 2016 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Debt / Equity | 0.09 | 0.09 | 0.07 | 0.13 | 0.09 | 0.05 | 0.07 | 0.05 | 0.00 | — | 1.21 |
| Debt / EBITDA | — | — | 0.47 | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — |
| Net Debt / Equity | — | -0.13 | -0.23 | -0.18 | -0.12 | -0.70 | -0.42 | -0.33 | -0.67 | — | 0.34 |
| Net Debt / EBITDA | — | — | -1.43 | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — |
| Debt / FCF | — | -1.09 | -2.73 | — | — | — | -5.05 | — | — | — | — |
| Interest Coverage | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | -4.21 | -3.13 | -13.32 |
Net cash position: cash ($65M) exceeds total debt ($26M)
Short-term solvency ratios and asset-utilisation metrics
| Metric | TTM | FY 2025 | FY 2024 | FY 2023 | FY 2022 | FY 2021 | FY 2020 | FY 2019 | FY 2018 | FY 2017 | FY 2016 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Current Ratio | 2.86 | 2.86 | 3.94 | 4.02 | 5.10 | 5.61 | 3.95 | 2.07 | 4.16 | 0.62 | 0.65 |
| Quick Ratio | 2.56 | 2.56 | 3.72 | 3.77 | 4.85 | 5.38 | 3.80 | 1.89 | 3.91 | 0.49 | 0.52 |
| Cash Ratio | 1.97 | 1.97 | 2.92 | 3.02 | 3.86 | 4.51 | 3.25 | 1.10 | 3.31 | 0.39 | 0.42 |
| Asset Turnover | — | 0.92 | 0.68 | 0.60 | 0.59 | 0.52 | 0.52 | 0.84 | 0.59 | 0.58 | 0.53 |
| Inventory Turnover | 4.70 | 4.70 | 5.62 | 5.24 | 5.83 | 5.67 | 6.30 | 7.56 | 6.67 | 3.87 | 3.87 |
| Days Sales Outstanding | — | 40.97 | 70.65 | 66.48 | 75.22 | 73.59 | 65.76 | 69.10 | 46.53 | 22.59 | 24.87 |
Earnings, FCF, buyback, and dividend yields — total returns to shareholders
Full dividend history and growth charts are on the Dividend History page
| Metric | TTM | FY 2025 | FY 2024 | FY 2023 | FY 2022 | FY 2021 | FY 2020 | FY 2019 | FY 2018 | FY 2017 | FY 2016 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Dividend Yield | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — |
| Payout Ratio | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — |
| Metric | TTM | FY 2025 | FY 2024 | FY 2023 | FY 2022 | FY 2021 | FY 2020 | FY 2019 | FY 2018 | FY 2017 | FY 2016 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Earnings Yield | — | — | 4.3% | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — |
| FCF Yield | 1.3% | 3.6% | 2.6% | — | — | — | 0.7% | — | — | — | — |
| Buyback Yield | 3.1% | 8.7% | 0.0% | 4.3% | 0.1% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% |
| Total Shareholder Yield | 3.1% | 8.7% | 0.0% | 4.3% | 0.1% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% |
| Shares Outstanding | — | $53M | $57M | $54M | $53M | $52M | $46M | $42M | $36M | $23M | $16M |
Includes 30+ ratios · 14 years · Updated daily
Live VCP patterns, Cup & Handle overlays, support/resistance, and AI trade plans.
High-probability breakout stocks crossing their pivot across 5 pattern engines.
DCF models, multiple analysis, and analyst estimates.
10-year return with dividends reinvested.
Compare growth, multiples, and margins vs sector.
Quick answers to the most common questions about buying CDNA stock.
CareDx, Inc's current P/E ratio is -135.8x. The historical average is 47.8x.
CareDx, Inc's return on equity (ROE) is -6.3%. The historical average is -36.7%.
Based on historical data, CareDx, Inc is trading at a P/E of -135.8x. Compare with industry peers and growth rates for a complete picture.
CareDx, Inc has 67.0% gross margin and -5.5% operating margin.
Key Metrics
Top Statement Risk
One-time gains distort earnings
Metrics are mathematically derived from official filings.
Margin Inflection Clouded by One-Time Gains
Operating margin swung from -26.8% in 2024Q1 to 85.8% in 2026Q2, per reported figures, but the latter appears inflated by non-operating gains, masking underlying profitability.
The 85.8% operating margin in 2026Q2 is an extreme outlier relative to the historical range of -26.8% to 2.0% observed over the prior nine quarters. This suggests the quarter included substantial one-time items, likely legal settlements or asset sales, rather than sustainable operational leverage. Excluding that quarter, gross margins have held steady around 66-71%, indicating stable core economics, but operating margins remain thin or negative, implying the business has not yet achieved consistent scale profitability. Investors should monitor whether the underlying operating margin can turn positive on a recurring basis as revenue grows.
Return on Capital Spikes on Transient Gains
ROIC jumped to 52.2% in 2026Q2 from -3.3% in 2025Q1, as per financial statements, but this appears driven by one-time gains rather than operational compounding, given the prior negative trend.
Over the last ten quarters, ROIC has oscillated between -7.1% and 52.2%, with most quarters negative. The 2026Q2 spike aligns with the surge in net income and operating income, which the cash flow analysis indicates is not fully converting to cash (OCF/NI of 0.28). This suggests the return on capital is not yet a reliable indicator of underlying earning power. The company's asset base is small relative to its market cap, and the high ROIC may be overstated by the one-time gain. Without sustained positive operating income, the return on capital is likely to revert to negative or low single digits, indicating the business is still in a scaling phase rather than compounding.
Working Capital Efficiency Improving but Volatile
Cash conversion cycle improved from 125 days in 2025Q2 to 79 days in 2026Q1, based on reported data, driven by faster receivables collection, though DSO remains elevated versus peers.
DSO has declined from 73 days in 2025Q2 to 27 days in 2026Q2, a significant improvement that may reflect better billing practices or a shift in payer mix. However, the CCC remains above 100 days in several quarters, indicating that working capital absorbs cash. The improvement in DSO is a positive sign, but the volatility in DIO and DPO (with DIO missing in 2026Q2) suggests inventory management is not yet stable. Asset turnover is low at 0.28, typical for diagnostics companies with high-margin, low-volume products, but the efficiency gains in receivables are encouraging. Investors should watch whether the DSO improvement is sustainable or a one-time effect.
Minimal Debt Provides Ample Flexibility
Debt-to-equity fell to 0.03 in 2026Q2 from 0.13 in 2024Q1, as per balance sheet data, with total debt of $13.2M, indicating a nearly unlevered balance sheet.
The company's leverage is negligible, with D/E below 0.1 for most quarters and interest coverage not reported, likely because interest expense is minimal. The recent cash infusion of $295.7M has further strengthened the balance sheet, but the source appears to be non-operating gains, as operating cash flow was only $30.6M in the same quarter. This suggests the low leverage is not a result of strong operational cash generation but rather a one-time event. Nevertheless, the low debt level provides significant financial flexibility for future investments or acquisitions, and refinancing risk is minimal. Investors should monitor whether the company maintains this cash position without further dilution.
Liquidity Buffer Strengthened by Cash Infusion
Current ratio improved to 4.58 in 2026Q2 from 3.40 in 2026Q1, with cash of $373.6M covering over 3.5 times total liabilities, based on reported figures.
The liquidity position is exceptionally strong, with a current ratio above 4 and a quick ratio of 4.51, indicating that the company can easily meet short-term obligations even under stress. The cash balance of $373.6M provides a substantial cushion, but the source of this cash is a one-time gain, not recurring operations. The prior quarters showed current ratios between 2.86 and 4.32, so the improvement is notable but may not be sustainable if the cash is deployed or if operating losses resume. The company's inventory dependence is low, as the quick ratio is close to the current ratio, which is typical for a diagnostics company with minimal inventory. Overall, liquidity is a strength, but investors should assess the quality of the cash balance.
Misapplied Metric: P/E on Distorted Earnings
The trailing P/E of -113.3 and forward P/E of 43.08 are misleading because earnings include one-time gains, as per reported figures, obscuring the underlying loss-making operations.
The most commonly misapplied ratio for CareDx is the P/E multiple, given the extreme volatility in net income. The trailing P/E is negative due to historical losses, while the forward P/E of 43.08 assumes a normalization that may not occur if the one-time gains are excluded. The 2026Q2 net income of $110.6M includes a large non-operating gain, as evidenced by the gap between operating income and net income and the low OCF/NI ratio. A more appropriate valuation metric would be EV/Sales or EV/EBITDA (though EBITDA is not reported), or a price-to-sales multiple, which is 6.16, to compare against peers like Natera and Exact Sciences. Investors should adjust earnings for one-time items and focus on revenue growth and cash flow generation to assess the company's true value.