Latest Ratios: P/E Ratio -53.1x · EV/EBITDA N/A · ROE N/A. (2016–2025 historical series)
Price-based multiples — how expensive the stock is relative to earnings, sales, book value, and cash flow
| Metric | TTM | FY 2025 | FY 2024 | FY 2023 | FY 2022 | FY 2021 | FY 2020 | FY 2019 | FY 2018 | FY 2017 | FY 2016 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Market Cap | $23.4B | $12.8B | $3.7B | $3.0B | $2.8B | $10.1B | $12.6B | $7.1B | $3.2B | — | — |
| Enterprise Value | $24.7B | $14.1B | $4.6B | $3.2B | $4.0B | $11.0B | $12.6B | $7.0B | $3.1B | — | — |
| P/E Ratio → | -53.11 | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — |
| P/S Ratio | 23.81 | 13.04 | 5.07 | 5.37 | 6.18 | 27.12 | 43.83 | 33.02 | 35.26 | — | — |
| P/B Ratio | — | — | — | 19.09 | 46.18 | 15.71 | 9.27 | 8.35 | 6.09 | — | — |
| P/FCF | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — |
| P/OCF | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — |
P/E links to full P/E history page with 30-year chart
Enterprise-value multiples — capital-structure-neutral measures of total business value
| Metric | TTM | FY 2025 | FY 2024 | FY 2023 | FY 2022 | FY 2021 | FY 2020 | FY 2019 | FY 2018 | FY 2017 | FY 2016 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| EV / Revenue | — | 14.40 | 6.17 | 5.76 | 8.91 | 29.48 | 43.90 | 32.54 | 33.71 | — | — |
| EV / EBITDA | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — |
| EV / EBIT | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — |
| EV / FCF | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — |
Margins and return-on-capital ratios measuring operating efficiency
Full margin charts and quarterly trend are on the Earnings History page
| Metric | TTM | FY 2025 | FY 2024 | FY 2023 | FY 2022 | FY 2021 | FY 2020 | FY 2019 | FY 2018 | FY 2017 | FY 2016 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Gross Margin | 64.5% | 64.5% | 60.8% | 59.7% | 65.2% | 67.1% | 67.7% | 67.0% | 52.3% | 36.6% | 12.4% |
| Operating Margin | -44.4% | -44.4% | -60.0% | -100.1% | -121.1% | -110.0% | -88.9% | -38.4% | -102.5% | -153.7% | -173.7% |
| Net Profit Margin | -42.4% | -42.4% | -59.0% | -85.0% | -145.6% | -108.6% | -88.5% | -35.3% | -93.8% | -167.0% | -182.7% |
| Metric | TTM | FY 2025 | FY 2024 | FY 2023 | FY 2022 | FY 2021 | FY 2020 | FY 2019 | FY 2018 | FY 2017 | FY 2016 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| ROE | — | — | -4584.5% | -438.1% | -185.7% | -40.6% | -23.0% | -11.0% | -20.4% | -42.9% | -57.9% |
| ROA | -23.8% | -23.8% | -26.7% | -28.2% | -34.3% | -18.1% | -15.7% | -9.8% | -18.3% | -36.2% | -39.6% |
| ROIC | -34.4% | -34.4% | -63.4% | -50.8% | -29.0% | -21.2% | -18.0% | -10.9% | -22.4% | -38.3% | -52.1% |
| ROCE | -29.4% | -29.4% | -31.2% | -37.7% | -31.8% | -19.5% | -16.5% | -11.5% | -21.5% | -36.0% | -42.9% |
Solvency and debt-coverage ratios — lower is generally safer
| Metric | TTM | FY 2025 | FY 2024 | FY 2023 | FY 2022 | FY 2021 | FY 2020 | FY 2019 | FY 2018 | FY 2017 | FY 2016 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Debt / Equity | — | — | — | 8.53 | 22.75 | 2.13 | 0.63 | 0.05 | — | 0.00 | 0.21 |
| Debt / EBITDA | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — |
| Net Debt / Equity | — | — | — | 1.39 | 20.40 | 1.37 | 0.02 | -0.12 | -0.27 | -0.23 | -0.21 |
| Net Debt / EBITDA | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — |
| Debt / FCF | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — |
| Interest Coverage | -106.14 | -106.14 | -167.57 | -184.71 | -252.57 | -148.19 | -50.60 | -58.04 | -66.33 | -29.80 | -14.29 |
Short-term solvency ratios and asset-utilisation metrics
| Metric | TTM | FY 2025 | FY 2024 | FY 2023 | FY 2022 | FY 2021 | FY 2020 | FY 2019 | FY 2018 | FY 2017 | FY 2016 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Current Ratio | 4.84 | 4.84 | 4.68 | 6.54 | 6.17 | 5.72 | 28.27 | 8.21 | 9.99 | 12.38 | 7.22 |
| Quick Ratio | 4.56 | 4.56 | 4.36 | 6.24 | 5.90 | 5.57 | 27.93 | 8.00 | 9.80 | 12.01 | 7.03 |
| Cash Ratio | 3.97 | 3.97 | 3.72 | 5.68 | 5.23 | 4.79 | 26.87 | 7.19 | 8.92 | 11.28 | 6.67 |
| Asset Turnover | — | 0.49 | 0.50 | 0.32 | 0.28 | 0.17 | 0.13 | 0.22 | 0.15 | 0.15 | 0.22 |
| Inventory Turnover | 4.06 | 4.06 | 4.08 | 3.67 | 3.03 | 4.01 | 4.07 | 4.66 | 4.73 | 4.34 | 7.99 |
| Days Sales Outstanding | — | 51.24 | 54.45 | 57.46 | 78.97 | 95.39 | 67.85 | 81.70 | 143.72 | 93.64 | 50.52 |
Earnings, FCF, buyback, and dividend yields — total returns to shareholders
Full dividend history and growth charts are on the Dividend History page
| Metric | TTM | FY 2025 | FY 2024 | FY 2023 | FY 2022 | FY 2021 | FY 2020 | FY 2019 | FY 2018 | FY 2017 | FY 2016 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Dividend Yield | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — |
| Payout Ratio | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — |
| Metric | TTM | FY 2025 | FY 2024 | FY 2023 | FY 2022 | FY 2021 | FY 2020 | FY 2019 | FY 2018 | FY 2017 | FY 2016 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Earnings Yield | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — |
| FCF Yield | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — |
| Buyback Yield | 0.1% | 0.1% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | — | — |
| Total Shareholder Yield | 0.1% | 0.1% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | — | — |
| Shares Outstanding | — | $125M | $123M | $112M | $102M | $101M | $98M | $91M | $85M | $71M | $13M |
Includes 30+ ratios · 10 years · Updated daily
Live VCP patterns, Cup & Handle overlays, support/resistance, and AI trade plans.
High-probability breakout stocks crossing their pivot across 5 pattern engines.
DCF models, multiple analysis, and analyst estimates.
10-year return with dividends reinvested.
Compare growth, multiples, and margins vs sector.
Quick answers to the most common questions about buying GH stock.
Guardant Health, Inc.'s current P/E ratio is -53.1x. This places it at the 50th percentile of its historical range.
Based on historical data, Guardant Health, Inc. is trading at a P/E of -53.1x. This is at the 50th percentile of its historical P/E range. Compare with industry peers and growth rates for a complete picture.
Guardant Health, Inc. has 64.5% gross margin and -44.4% operating margin.
Key Metrics
Top Statement Risk
Cash burn and dilution
Metrics are mathematically derived from official filings.
Margin Expansion Nears Ceiling
Gross margin improved to 65.4% in Q2 2026 from 59.1% in Q2 2024, as reported in financial statements, but operating margin remains deeply negative at -38.5%, indicating limited operating leverage despite scale.
The gross margin expansion from 59.1% to 65.4% over eight quarters suggests pricing power and cost efficiencies in the core testing business, but the pace has slowed, implying a plateau. Operating margin improved from -56.8% to -38.5% over the same period, yet the company still loses $0.39 per dollar of revenue, indicating that fixed costs and R&D investments in Shield and MRD are absorbing any incremental gross profit. The net margin of -35.9% in Q2 2026, while improved from -57.9% in Q2 2024, remains far from breakeven, and the recent EPS miss of -$0.90 versus -$0.31 estimate suggests that bottom-line performance is deteriorating relative to top-line momentum.
Working Capital Efficiency Improves
Cash conversion cycle shortened to 46 days in Q2 2026 from 79 days in Q2 2024, based on reported figures, driven by faster collections and extended payables, though DSO remains elevated at 38 days.
The CCC improvement from 79 to 46 days over eight quarters is notable, driven by a reduction in DSO from 48 to 38 days and an increase in DPO from 50 to 66 days, indicating better working capital management and increased leverage over suppliers. However, DIO rose from 82 to 74 days, suggesting inventory buildup, possibly for Shield commercialization. Asset turnover improved from 0.11 to 0.18, reflecting revenue growth outpacing asset growth, but the absolute level remains low, consistent with a capital-intensive diagnostics business. The efficiency gains are positive but may not be sustainable as the company scales the screening business, which could require higher inventory and receivables.
Liquidity Cushion Thins
Current ratio fell to 4.03 in Q2 2026 from 6.40 in Q2 2024, as per financial statements, while cash stands at $1.1B, but operating losses continue, suggesting a shrinking buffer.
The current ratio decline from 6.40 to 4.03 indicates a reduction in the liquidity cushion, though the absolute level remains strong. Quick ratio of 3.71 suggests minimal inventory dependence, but the company's cash burn of -$69.5M in FCF per quarter implies that the $1.1B cash balance provides roughly 16 quarters of runway at current burn rates, assuming no changes. However, the negative equity of -$222.9M and rising debt to $1.7B indicate that the balance sheet is becoming more strained, and the company may need to raise additional capital or dilute shareholders to fund operations and Shield commercialization.
Leverage Hidden by Cash Buffer
Total debt rose to $1.7B while cash increased to $1.1B, leaving net debt at $0.6B, as reported in recent filings, but negative interest coverage of -88.12 suggests debt service is not yet a concern.
The D/E ratio is not reported, but the balance sheet shows total debt of $1.7B against cash of $1.1B, implying net debt of $0.6B. Interest coverage of -88.12 in Q2 2026, while negative, indicates that operating losses are far larger than interest expense, so debt service is not currently a constraint. However, the rising debt and negative equity suggest that the company is increasingly reliant on external financing, and if cash burn accelerates with Shield commercialization, refinancing risk could emerge. Investors should monitor the trajectory of net debt and the company's ability to access capital markets at reasonable terms.
Returns on Capital Deeply Negative
ROIC worsened to -20.3% in Q2 2026 from -25.5% in Q2 2024, based on reported figures, indicating that the company is destroying value, though the improvement from the trough suggests early signs of stabilization.
ROIC has been consistently negative, ranging from -10.3% to -25.5% over the past eight quarters, reflecting the heavy investment in R&D and commercialization ahead of revenue scale. The improvement from -25.5% in Q2 2024 to -20.3% in Q2 2026 is modest and driven by revenue growth rather than capital efficiency, as invested capital continues to grow. ROE is not reported for recent quarters, but the negative equity suggests that ROE is not meaningful. The company is in a phase of value destruction, and the key question is whether the Shield and MRD investments will eventually generate returns above the cost of capital, which remains uncertain.
P/S Ratio Misleads on Screening
The P/S ratio of 22.03, as per current valuation multiples, is often misapplied to Guardant because it fails to account for the low-margin, high-volume nature of the screening business, which may compress blended gross margins.
The P/S ratio is commonly used for pre-profit companies, but for Guardant, it obscures the fundamental shift in business mix toward colorectal cancer screening, which carries lower average selling prices and potentially lower gross margins than therapy selection. A more appropriate metric would be EV/Sales adjusted for the expected margin profile, or a multiple on gross profit, which better captures the economics of the testing business. Additionally, the P/S ratio does not reflect the significant stock-based compensation and cash burn, which are critical to assessing the sustainability of the business model. Investors should focus on gross profit per test and the trajectory of operating leverage rather than a simple revenue multiple.