Equity/assets improved to 0.20 with debt-to-equity at a mere 0.22%, reflecting a fortress balance sheet, though investment securities grew to $15.2B and cash fell to $451.2M, shifting toward less liquid assets.
International Bancshares Corporation (IBOC) balance sheet — 30-year assets, liabilities & shareholders' equity history
| Metric | TTM | Dec'25 | Dec'24 | Dec'23 | Dec'22 | Dec'21 | Dec'20 | Dec'19 | Dec'18 | Dec'17 | Dec'16 | Dec'15 | Dec'14 | Dec'13 | Dec'12 | Dec'11 | Dec'10 | Dec'09 | Dec'08 | Dec'07 | Dec'06 | Dec'05 | Dec'04 | Dec'03 | Dec'02 | Dec'01 | Dec'00 | Dec'99 | Dec'98 | Dec'97 | Dec'96 |
|---|
| Cash & Short Term Investments | 1.57B | 536.49M | 5.34B | 5.47B | 6.51B | 7.42B | 5.08B | 3.64B | 3.73B | 4.42B | 4.45B | 4.47B | 5.19B | 5.58B | 5.81B | 5.48B | 197.81M | 224.64M | 299.12M | 333.9M | 268.6M | 216.51M | 175.17M | 152.33M | 154.3M | 178.38M | 128.1M | 123.6M | 122M | 239.4M | 171.99M |
| Cash & Due from Banks | 0 | 536.49M | 352.65M | 651.06M | 2.09B | 3.21B | 2B | 256.82M | 316.8M | 265.36M | 269.2M | 273.05M | 255.15M | 274.79M | 283.1M | 261.88M | 197.81M | 224.64M | 299.12M | 333.9M | 268.6M | 216.51M | 175.17M | 152.33M | 154.3M | 178.38M | 128.1M | 123.6M | 122M | 239.4M | 171.99M |
| Short Term Investments | 0 | 0 | 4.99B | 4.82B | 4.42B | 4.21B | 3.08B | 3.38B | 3.41B | 4.15B | 4.18B | 4.2B | 4.93B | 5.3B | 5.53B | 5.21B | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Total Investments | 0 | 14.75B | 14.01B | 13.08B | 12.09B | 11.62B | 10.78B | 10.54B | 10.26B | 10.73B | 10.6B | 10.55B | 10.97B | 10.82B | 10.62B | 10.54B | 10.78B | 10.58B | 11.26B | 9.97B | 9.81B | 9.15B | 8.68B | 5.74B | 5.8B | 5.6B | 5.31B | 4.87B | 4.6B | 4B | 2.97B |
| Investments Growth % | -58.77% | 5.27% | 7.12% | 8.16% | 4.05% | 7.81% | 2.25% | 2.78% | -4.41% | 1.25% | 0.4% | -3.78% | 1.34% | 1.96% | 0.76% | -2.21% | 1.87% | -6.07% | 12.97% | 1.65% | 7.18% | 5.35% | 51.25% | -0.97% | 3.58% | 5.39% | 9.01% | 5.98% | 14.84% | 34.6% | 12.25% |
| Long-Term Investments | 44.87B | 14.75B | 9.02B | 8.25B | 7.67B | 7.41B | 7.7B | 7.16B | 6.84B | 6.6B | 6.42B | 6.36B | 6.06B | 5.52B | 5.09B | 5.32B | 10.78B | 10.58B | 11.26B | 9.97B | 9.81B | 9.15B | 8.68B | 5.74B | 5.8B | 5.6B | 5.31B | 4.87B | 4.6B | 4B | 2.97B |
| Accounts Receivables | 0 | 0 | 72.17M | 65.3M | 45.79M | 30.59M | 37.88M | 36.62M | 36.8M | 34.46M | 32.17M | 31.57M | 31.46M | 30.65M | 31.03M | 32M | 35.66M | 41.73M | 48.71M | 54.3M | 57.29M | 48.65M | 41.14M | 28.89M | 35.19M | 33.85M | 40.16M | 34.8M | 31.5M | 31.3M | 22.91M |
| Goodwill & Intangibles | 0 | 282.53M | 282.53M | 282.53M | 282.53M | 282.53M | 282.53M | 282.53M | 282.53M | 282.53M | 282.56M | 282.69M | 283.33M | 285.72M | 290.35M | 294.72M | 299.84M | 304.89M | 309.92M | 314.7M | 316.6M | 328.49M | 333.66M | 73.33M | 74.61M | 97.31M | 55.58M | 34.8M | 45M | 0 | 0 |
| Goodwill | 0 | 282.53M | 282.53M | 282.53M | 282.53M | 282.53M | 282.53M | 282.53M | 282.53M | 282.53M | 282.53M | 282.53M | 282.53M | 282.53M | 282.53M | 282.53M | 282.53M | 282.53M | 282.53M | 283.2M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Intangible Assets | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 25K | 153K | 797K | 3.19M | 7.82M | 12.19M | 17.31M | 22.36M | 27.39M | 31.51M | 316.6M | 328.49M | 333.66M | 73.33M | 74.61M | 97.31M | 55.58M | 34.8M | 45M | 0 | 0 |
| PP&E (Net) | 0 | 422.99M | 428.22M | 437.09M | 431.61M | 447.08M | 479.88M | 506.6M | 506.9M | 514.45M | 527.58M | 516.72M | 526.42M | 504.84M | 481.29M | 453.05M | 468.95M | 490.38M | 466.37M | 435.65M | 390.32M | 351.99M | 302.23M | 220.6M | 185.48M | 190.05M | 155.52M | 145.3M | 137.6M | 129.6M | 94.19M |
| Other Assets | 0 | 505.76M | 595.54M | 553.7M | 563.73M | 457.73M | 454.46M | 489.81M | 473.02M | 358.95M | 95.59M | 114.35M | 130.71M | 158.86M | 179.94M | 161.13M | 165.82M | 123.1M | 53.6M | 59.62M | 71.92M | 296.32M | 384.47M | 361.3M | 247.93M | 284.1M | 170.04M | 202M | 54.1M | 113.8M | 87.61M |
| Total Current Assets | 0 | 608.92M | 5.41B | 5.54B | 6.55B | 7.45B | 5.12B | 3.67B | 3.76B | 4.42B | 4.48B | 4.5B | 5.2B | 5.59B | 5.84B | 5.51B | 233.47M | 266.37M | 347.83M | 388.2M | 325.89M | 265.16M | 216.31M | 181.22M | 189.5M | 212.22M | 168.26M | 158.4M | 153.5M | 270.7M | 194.91M |
| Total Non-Current Assets | 0 | 16.07B | 10.33B | 9.53B | 8.95B | 8.59B | 8.91B | 8.44B | 8.11B | 7.76B | 7.33B | 7.27B | 7B | 6.49B | 6.04B | 6.23B | 11.71B | 11.5B | 12.09B | 10.78B | 10.59B | 10.13B | 9.71B | 6.4B | 6.31B | 6.17B | 5.69B | 5.26B | 4.83B | 4.25B | 3.16B |
| Total Assets | 0 | 16.68B | 15.74B | 15.07B | 15.5B | 16.05B | 14.03B | 12.11B | 11.87B | 12.18B | 11.8B | 11.77B | 12.2B | 12.08B | 11.88B | 11.74B | 11.94B | 11.76B | 12.44B | 11.17B | 10.91B | 10.39B | 9.92B | 6.58B | 6.5B | 6.38B | 5.86B | 5.42B | 4.99B | 4.52B | 3.35B |
| Asset Growth % | -87.2% | 5.98% | 4.46% | -2.81% | -3.39% | 14.38% | 15.82% | 2.03% | -2.57% | 3.22% | 0.26% | -3.47% | 0.97% | 1.66% | 1.22% | -1.71% | 1.54% | -5.44% | 11.39% | 2.34% | 5% | 4.78% | 50.77% | 1.27% | 1.79% | 8.88% | 8.1% | 8.7% | 10.41% | 34.81% | 14.16% |
| Return on Assets (ROA) | 3.32% | 2.54% | 2.66% | 2.69% | 1.9% | 1.69% | 1.28% | 1.71% | 1.8% | 1.31% | 1.14% | 1.14% | 1.26% | 1.05% | 0.91% | 1.07% | 1.1% | 1.18% | 1.12% | 1.1% | 1.1% | 1.39% | 1.44% | 1.87% | 1.56% | 1.36% | 1.33% | 1.27% | 1.13% | 1.24% | 1.41% |
| Accounts Payable | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Total Debt | 0 | 704.74M | 654.73M | 650.03M | 576.78M | 1.01B | 999.12M | 997.69M | 1.1B | 1.71B | 1.4B | 1.49B | 2.11B | 2.37B | 2.07B | 2.03B | 2.66B | 2.99B | 4.17B | 2.99B | 3.01B | 2.87B | 2.53B | 1.52B | 1.64B | 1.49B | 1.66B | 2.88B | 1.21B | 968.4M | 239M |
| Net Debt | 0 | 168.26M | 302.08M | -1.03M | -1.51B | -2.2B | -998.12M | 740.87M | 779.27M | 1.44B | 1.13B | 1.22B | 1.85B | 2.1B | 1.79B | 1.77B | 2.46B | 2.77B | 3.87B | 2.65B | 2.74B | 2.65B | 2.35B | 1.37B | 1.49B | 1.31B | 1.53B | 2.76B | 1.09B | 729M | 67.01M |
| Long-Term Debt | 0 | 119.2M | 119.41M | 119.61M | 145.59M | 570.78M | 570.97M | 761.15M | 866.08M | 1.36B | 893.79M | 667.17M | 1.25B | 1.41B | 939.75M | 684.89M | 1.23B | 1.55B | 2.72B | 1.66B | 2.31B | 2.11B | 1.91B | 1.02B | 1.19B | 777.3M | 0 | 1.38B | 1.07B | 490M | 239M |
| Short-Term Debt | 0 | 585.54M | 535.32M | 530.42M | 431.19M | 439.67M | 428.15M | 236.54M | 229.99M | 353.81M | 504.99M | 827.77M | 858.35M | 957.38M | 1.13B | 1.35B | 1.43B | 1.44B | 1.44B | 1.33B | 706.34M | 760.76M | 619.81M | 501.3M | 457.92M | 714.67M | 1.66B | 1.5B | 135.7M | 478.4M | 0 |
| Other Liabilities | 0 | 12.62B | 175.57M | 143.83M | 219.93M | 109.43M | 130.49M | 171.12M | 139.75M | 91.38M | 70.51M | 76.17M | 69.53M | 39.59M | 90.32M | 159.88M | 223.53M | 186.54M | 158.09M | 86.8M | 66.66M | 75.33M | 71.91M | 46.41M | 64.7M | 59.57M | 36.62M | -1.34B | 38.3M | 32.6M | 166.31M |
| Total Current Liabilities | 0 | 585.54M | 12.65B | 12.35B | 13.09B | 13.06B | 11.15B | 9.06B | 8.93B | 8.9B | 9.12B | 9.36B | 9.3B | 9.2B | 9.42B | 9.29B | 9.03B | 8.62B | 8.3B | 8.49B | 7.7B | 7.42B | 7.19B | 4.94B | 4.7B | 5.05B | 5.41B | 5.03B | 3.51B | 3.65B | 2.66B |
| Total Non-Current Liabilities | 0 | 12.84B | 294.98M | 263.44M | 365.52M | 680.21M | 701.46M | 932.27M | 1.01B | 1.45B | 964.3M | 743.34M | 1.32B | 1.45B | 1.03B | 844.76M | 1.45B | 1.74B | 2.88B | 1.74B | 2.37B | 2.18B | 1.98B | 1.06B | 1.25B | 836.86M | 36.62M | 37.4M | 1.11B | 522.6M | 405.31M |
| Total Liabilities | 13.95B | 13.43B | 12.94B | 12.62B | 13.46B | 13.74B | 11.85B | 9.99B | 9.93B | 10.35B | 10.08B | 10.11B | 10.62B | 10.66B | 10.45B | 10.14B | 10.48B | 10.36B | 11.18B | 10.23B | 10.07B | 9.6B | 9.16B | 6B | 5.95B | 5.88B | 5.44B | 5.07B | 4.62B | 4.18B | 3.07B |
| Total Equity | 3.34B | 3.25B | 2.8B | 2.45B | 2.04B | 2.31B | 2.18B | 2.12B | 1.94B | 1.84B | 1.72B | 1.67B | 1.58B | 1.42B | 1.44B | 1.6B | 1.46B | 1.41B | 1.26B | 935.9M | 842.06M | 792.87M | 753.09M | 577.38M | 547.26M | 497.03M | 416.89M | 353.4M | 370.3M | 341.2M | 283.77M |
| Equity Growth % | 48.3% | 16.27% | 14.26% | 19.71% | -11.42% | 5.99% | 2.83% | 9.2% | 5.47% | 6.63% | 3.55% | 5.37% | 10.97% | -0.79% | -10.28% | 9.66% | 3.68% | 11.94% | 34.34% | 11.15% | 6.2% | 5.28% | 30.43% | 5.5% | 10.11% | 19.22% | 17.97% | -4.56% | 8.53% | 20.24% | 15.46% |
| Equity / Assets (Capital Ratio) | - | 19.49% | 17.77% | 16.25% | 13.19% | 14.39% | 15.52% | 17.49% | 16.34% | 15.09% | 14.61% | 14.15% | 12.96% | 11.79% | 12.08% | 13.63% | 12.22% | 11.97% | 10.11% | 8.38% | 7.72% | 7.63% | 7.59% | 8.78% | 8.43% | 7.79% | 7.11% | 6.52% | 7.42% | 7.55% | 8.47% |
| Return on Equity (ROE) | 12.66% | 13.63% | 15.6% | 18.33% | 13.79% | 11.32% | 7.79% | 10.11% | 11.43% | 8.84% | 7.9% | 8.42% | 10.19% | 8.84% | 7.1% | 8.31% | 9.07% | 10.71% | 12.05% | 13.65% | 14.31% | 18.21% | 17.89% | 21.72% | 19.27% | 18.24% | 19.52% | 18.29% | 15.09% | 15.65% | 16.75% |
| Book Value per Share | - | 52.23 | 44.89 | 39.34 | 32.55 | 36.36 | 34.11 | 32.25 | 29.11 | 27.54 | 26.01 | 24.99 | 23.57 | 21.16 | 21.33 | 23.68 | 21.46 | 20.58 | 18.30 | 13.49 | 12.00 | 11.15 | 10.80 | 8.51 | 7.79 | 6.87 | 5.72 | 4.74 | 5.28 | 4.92 | 3.80 |
| Tangible BV per Share | - | 47.69 | 40.36 | 34.80 | 28.06 | 31.91 | 29.68 | 27.94 | 24.87 | 23.31 | 21.75 | 20.75 | 19.35 | 16.92 | 17.02 | 19.32 | 17.05 | 16.12 | 13.79 | 8.95 | 7.49 | 6.53 | 6.02 | 7.43 | 6.73 | 5.52 | 4.96 | 4.27 | 4.64 | 4.92 | 3.80 |
| Common Stock | 96.69M | 96.66M | 96.62M | 96.47M | 96.42M | 96.35M | 96.24M | 96.22M | 96.1M | 96.02M | 95.91M | 95.87M | 95.78M | 95.74M | 95.72M | 95.72M | 95.71M | 95.71M | 95.5M | 95.44M | 86.22M | 86.06M | 68.43M | 52.77M | 41.77M | 33.21M | 26.48M | 21.1M | 0 | 0 | 10.35M |
| Additional Paid-in Capital | 0 | 160.86M | 159.33M | 155.51M | 154.06M | 152.14M | 149.33M | 148.07M | 145.28M | 171.82M | 169.57M | 167.98M | 165.52M | 163.95M | 163.29M | 162.77M | 162.28M | 161.26M | 158.11M | 144.14M | 138.25M | 135.62M | 130.6M | 37.78M | 30.82M | 27.56M | 25.93M | 24.1M | 0 | 0 | 11.94M |
| Retained Earnings | 3.9B | 3.68B | 3.36B | 3.03B | 2.7B | 2.47B | 2.29B | 2.2B | 2.06B | 1.89B | 1.78B | 1.68B | 1.59B | 1.47B | 1.37B | 1.3B | 1.21B | 1.12B | 1.02B | 929.14M | 861.25M | 788.42M | 705.64M | 639.61M | 560.61M | 490.33M | 434.8M | 385.9M | 341M | 302M | 260.13M |
| Accumulated OCI | -380.63M | -246.32M | -379.05M | -397.89M | -470.5M | -31.98M | 20.82M | 2.35M | -54.63M | -28.4M | -26.7M | 2.17M | 11.4M | -43.77M | 65.66M | 84.96M | 28.78M | 65.88M | 18.19M | 165K | -40.39M | -41.97M | 15.01M | 12.84M | 49.96M | 18.22M | -19.16M | -36.9M | 0 | 0 | 11.39M |
| Treasury Stock | 0 | -440.97M | -436.37M | -435.4M | -430.79M | -378.74M | -378.03M | -329.15M | -311.31M | -292.26M | -292.08M | -284.11M | -277.43M | -258.51M | -258.51M | -256.79M | -250.36M | -243.41M | -234.06M | -232.99M | -203.28M | -175.26M | -166.59M | -165.62M | -135.89M | -72.3M | -51.16M | -40.7M | 0 | 0 | -10.04M |
| Preferred Stock | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 210.55M | 208.07M | 205.74M | 203.56M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 19.16M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
Quick answers to the most common questions about buying IBOC stock.
As of 2025, International Bancshares Corporation (IBOC) had total assets of $16.68B including $608.9M in current assets.
International Bancshares Corporation (IBOC) carries total debt of $704.7M. Comparing total debt to cash helps evaluate the company's debt burden and net leverage.
International Bancshares Corporation (IBOC) has total shareholders' equity (book value) of $3.25B ($52.23 book value per share). Book value represents the net worth of the company belonging to common stock holders.
International Bancshares Corporation (IBOC) reported a current ratio of 1.04x. A current ratio above 1.0x indicates that the company has more current assets than current liabilities, suggesting sufficient short-term liquidity.
Key Metrics
Top Statement Risk
Deposit beta and border risk
Metrics are mathematically derived from official filings.
Asset Growth Steady, Mix Shifts
Total assets grew 10.4% year-over-year to $17.0B, but the growth was driven by a $2.1B increase in investment securities, not loans, according to reported quarterly data.
The balance sheet expansion is notable for its composition: investment securities rose from $13.1B in 2024Q1 to $15.2B in 2026Q2, while cash balances fluctuated. This suggests a deliberate allocation toward higher-yielding securities, possibly reflecting limited organic loan demand. The loan-to-deposit ratio is not disclosed, but the absence of loan growth data implies that asset growth is not being driven by core lending, which may signal a cautious stance on credit extension.
Core Deposits Anchor Low-Cost Funding
IBOC's deposit franchise appears resilient, with a low-cost base that supports a 78.27% gross margin, as per financial statements, though deposit beta pressure remains a key monitor.
The bank's funding profile is characterized by a high proportion of core deposits, likely non-interest-bearing, which has kept funding costs low. However, the flat revenue growth and stable NIM suggest that the benefit of low deposit costs may be offset by competitive pressures. Investors should monitor whether the bank can maintain its deposit stickiness in the face of rising rate competition, as any increase in deposit beta could compress margins.
Provision Spike Raises Credit Concerns
Loan loss provisions jumped to $11.1M in 2026Q2, up from $3.0M in the prior quarter, indicating a potential deterioration in credit quality, as reported in the latest earnings.
The sharp increase in provisions, despite a stable NIM, suggests that management is building reserves in anticipation of higher charge-offs, possibly due to stress in the commercial loan book. The provision coverage ratio is not disclosed, but the trend warrants close attention. If this spike is not a one-off, it could signal emerging credit issues in the bank's trade-finance-heavy portfolio, which is sensitive to U.S.-Mexico trade dynamics.
Fortress Capital, Minimal Leverage
Equity/assets improved to 0.20 in 2026Q2, up from 0.16 in 2024Q1, and debt-to-equity is a mere 0.22%, reflecting a fortress balance sheet, based on reported figures.
The bank's capital position is exceptionally strong, with equity growing to $3.4B and a debt-to-equity ratio that is negligible. This provides ample buffer for credit losses and supports a conservative capital deployment strategy. However, the high cash balance of $451M and low leverage may indicate under-utilization of capital, potentially leaving room for increased dividends or buybacks, though management has historically prioritized stability over aggressive returns.
Liquidity Ample, Securities Heavy
Cash and bank balances totaled $451.2M in 2026Q2, down from $731.9M a year earlier, while investment securities grew to $15.2B, indicating a shift toward less liquid assets, per quarterly data.
The reduction in cash balances, coupled with the increase in securities, suggests that IBOC is deploying excess liquidity into higher-yielding investments. This is typical for a bank with a stable deposit base, but it also means that the liquidity buffer is now more dependent on the marketability of its securities portfolio. The bank's reliance on core deposits, rather than wholesale funding, mitigates liquidity risk, but investors should monitor the duration and credit quality of the securities portfolio.
NIM Stability Hinges on Deposit Betas
Net interest margin has held at 1.0% for five consecutive quarters, but with revenue growth slowing to 1.03%, the bank's ability to maintain NIM depends on deposit betas, as per financial statements.
The flat NIM suggests that the bank's asset-sensitive balance sheet is being offset by rising deposit costs, or that loan yields are not repricing as quickly as expected. The high cash position ($451M) and securities portfolio may provide some cushion, but if the Fed cuts rates, NIM could compress. Conversely, if rates stay high and deposit betas remain low, IBOC could see margin expansion. The recent provision spike adds another layer of uncertainty, as higher credit costs could offset any NIM gains.
Unrealized Losses Lurk in Securities
The $15.2B securities portfolio, up from $13.1B a year ago, may carry unrealized losses that could pressure capital if rates rise, based on reported balance sheet data.
The significant growth in investment securities, likely in available-for-sale or held-to-maturity categories, exposes IBOC to interest rate risk. In a rising rate environment, the market value of these securities could decline, potentially impacting AOCI and regulatory capital. While the bank's fortress capital provides a buffer, investors should scrutinize the duration and unrealized loss position of the portfolio, as this could become a drag on future earnings and capital ratios.