Total assets grew to $1.2T in 2026Q2 with equity of $50.2B (equity-to-assets ratio of 0.04), while investment securities rose to $1.1T, suggesting a stable but modest capital buffer and potential liquidity concentration.
ING Groep N.V. (ING) balance sheet — 28-year assets, liabilities & shareholders' equity history
| Metric | TTM | Dec'25 | Dec'24 | Dec'23 | Dec'22 | Dec'21 | Dec'20 | Dec'19 | Dec'18 | Dec'17 | Dec'16 | Dec'15 | Dec'14 | Dec'13 | Dec'12 | Dec'11 | Dec'10 | Dec'09 | Dec'08 | Dec'07 | Dec'06 | Dec'05 | Dec'04 | Dec'03 | Dec'02 | Dec'01 | Dec'00 | Dec'99 | Dec'97 |
|---|
| Cash & Short Term Investments | 619.94B | 106.31B | 114.74B | 130.06B | 118.23B | 135.85B | 164.93B | 111.5B | 102.87B | 59.97B | 56.85B | 61.47B | 244.59B | 65.11B | 366.54B | 408.74B | 71.93B | 71.19B | 81.95B | 86.94B | 93.68B | 84.52B | 112.36B | 111.51B | 91.76B | 42.01B | 71.29B | 24.85B | 2.41B |
| Cash & Due from Banks | 64.95B | 52.89B | 69.96B | 89.89B | 87.25B | 106.06B | 112.23B | 55.01B | 53.23B | 24.45B | 19.67B | 20.66B | 12.23B | 13.32B | 56.71B | 76.52B | 13.07B | 15.39B | 22.05B | 12.41B | 14.33B | 13.08B | 66.06B | 72.67B | 57.15B | 9.28B | 44.25B | 4.99B | 2.41B |
| Short Term Investments | 124.14B | 53.42B | 44.78B | 40.17B | 30.98B | 29.8B | 52.7B | 56.5B | 49.64B | 35.52B | 37.18B | 40.81B | 232.36B | 51.79B | 309.83B | 332.23B | 58.86B | 55.8B | 59.91B | 74.54B | 79.36B | 71.43B | 46.3B | 38.84B | 34.61B | 32.73B | 27.04B | 19.86B | 0 |
| Total Investments | 1.08T | 932.64B | 896.35B | 845.5B | 830.34B | 807.31B | 823.01B | 835.96B | 823.8B | 807.15B | 809.64B | 971.35B | 1.15T | 1.02T | 1.06T | 1.14T | 1.14T | 1.05T | 1.21T | 1.2T | 1.12T | 1.05T | 667.97B | 669.94B | 621.99B | 654.03B | 556.68B | 468.47B | 263.01B |
| Investments Growth % | 45.14% | 4.05% | 6.01% | 1.83% | 2.85% | -1.91% | -1.55% | 1.48% | 2.06% | -0.31% | -16.65% | -15.43% | 12.55% | -3.61% | -7.28% | -0.23% | 8.71% | -12.86% | 0.33% | 7.88% | 6.14% | 57.45% | -0.29% | 7.71% | -4.9% | 17.49% | 18.83% | 78.12% | - |
| Long-Term Investments | 3.65T | 879.21B | 851.57B | 805.33B | 799.36B | 777.51B | 770.31B | 779.46B | 774.16B | 771.64B | 772.45B | 930.54B | 916.26B | 968.78B | 748.96B | 809.63B | 1.09T | 997.03B | 1.15T | 1.13T | 1.04T | 980.27B | 621.67B | 631.1B | 587.38B | 621.3B | 529.65B | 448.61B | 263.01B |
| Accounts Receivables | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 4.53B | 5.59B | 6.23B | 0 | 9.99B | 12.36B | 14.39B | 16.19B | 18.31B | 20.16B | 17.82B | 14.54B | 13.78B | 8.34B | 7.93B | 8.07B | 8.52B | 7.9B | 6.13B | 3.14B |
| Goodwill & Intangibles | 1.74B | 1.51B | 1.33B | 1.2B | 1.09B | 1.16B | 1.39B | 1.89B | 1.84B | 1.51B | 1.49B | 1.56B | 1.55B | 1.91B | 2.64B | 3.54B | 5.43B | 6.02B | 6.65B | 5.75B | 3.59B | 3.65B | 593.87M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Goodwill | 588M | 0 | 475.99M | 470.78M | 460.18M | 473.4M | 532.34M | 896.72M | 918.76M | 837.16M | 907.58M | 982.02M | 991.66M | 1.18B | 1.3B | 1.79B | 2.8B | 3.07B | 2.95B | 2.25B | 310.48M | 172.31M | 138.97M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Intangible Assets | 1.15B | 1.51B | 857.99M | 731.77M | 632.75M | 686.03M | 859.93M | 997.56M | 921.76M | 669.93M | 583.95M | 580.24M | 555.18M | 730.69M | 1.34B | 1.76B | 2.64B | 2.95B | 3.7B | 3.5B | 3.27B | 3.47B | 454.9M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| PP&E (Net) | 2.65B | 2.48B | 2.43B | 2.4B | 2.45B | 2.52B | 2.84B | 3.17B | 1.66B | 1.8B | 2B | 2.03B | 2.1B | 2.45B | 2.67B | 2.89B | 6.13B | 6.12B | 6.4B | 6.24B | 6.03B | 5.76B | 1.25B | 1.31B | 1.42B | 2.04B | 2.13B | 3.59B | 2.42B |
| Other Assets | 12.31B | 64.89B | 48B | 34.04B | 43.62B | 31.95B | -4.18B | -5.93B | 4.62B | 4.85B | 4.41B | 1.43B | 12.61B | 24.89B | 18.78B | 27.62B | 48.39B | 51.88B | 50.74B | 57.64B | 63.25B | 63.71B | 113.4B | 15.21B | 16.18B | 19.96B | 25.26B | 5.94B | 1.67B |
| Total Current Assets | 189.09B | 106.31B | 116.13B | 131.33B | 119.5B | 137.2B | 166.14B | 112.56B | 103.91B | 65.64B | 63.73B | 68.85B | 244.88B | 77.29B | 382.76B | 427.84B | 93.74B | 94.95B | 108.33B | 110.5B | 114.71B | 103.13B | 129.24B | 129.79B | 112.04B | 63.05B | 94.93B | 36.12B | 11.3B |
| Total Non-Current Assets | 971.66B | 948.09B | 904.41B | 844.25B | 848.32B | 814.09B | 771.14B | 779.35B | 783.12B | 780.58B | 781.35B | 936.38B | 933.77B | 999.33B | 775.29B | 846.39B | 1.15T | 1.07T | 1.22T | 1.2T | 1.11T | 1.06T | 736.32B | 647.62B | 604.98B | 643.29B | 557.04B | 458.14B | 267.09B |
| Total Assets | 1.16T | 1.05T | 1.02T | 975.58B | 967.82B | 951.29B | 937.27B | 891.91B | 887.03B | 846.22B | 845.08B | 1.01T | 1.18T | 1.08T | 1.16T | 1.27T | 1.24T | 1.16T | 1.33T | 1.31T | 1.23T | 1.16T | 865.56B | 777.41B | 717.02B | 706.35B | 651.97B | 494.26B | 278.39B |
| Asset Growth % | 19.65% | 3.32% | 4.61% | 0.8% | 1.74% | 1.5% | 5.09% | 0.55% | 4.82% | 0.13% | -15.93% | -14.71% | 9.48% | -7.03% | -9.12% | 2.53% | 7.14% | -12.7% | 1.23% | 7.03% | 5.84% | 33.86% | 11.34% | 8.42% | 1.51% | 8.34% | 31.91% | 77.54% | - |
| Return on Assets (ROA) | 0.6% | 0.61% | 0.64% | 0.75% | 0.38% | 0.51% | 0.27% | 0.54% | 0.53% | 0.58% | 0.5% | 0.37% | 0.11% | 0.32% | 0.31% | 0.38% | 0.2% | -0.12% | -0.26% | 0.76% | 0.65% | 0.71% | 0.7% | 0.54% | 0.63% | 0.68% | 2.1% | 1.28% | 0.66% |
| Accounts Payable | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 61M | 3.61B | 4.39B | 5.16B | 5.74B | 7.88B | 10.62B | 11.77B | 13.33B | 16.99B | 17.64B | 13.72B | 10.79B | 10.8B | 6.5B | 6.24B | 7.32B | 0 | 10.83B | 8.43B | 4.1B |
| Total Debt | 185.08B | 169.33B | 171.33B | 150B | 119.5B | 116.01B | 78.95B | 135.12B | 133.47B | 112.05B | 131.75B | 137.7B | 144.51B | 161.26B | 181.44B | 180.39B | 179.19B | 163.1B | 148.59B | 111.27B | 112.65B | 151.75B | 126.84B | 138.77B | 98.77B | 144.42B | 189.7B | 159.11B | 131.95B |
| Net Debt | 120.13B | 116.44B | 101.37B | 60.11B | 32.25B | 9.96B | -33.28B | 81.91B | 83.49B | 90.06B | 112.08B | 86.25B | 95.16B | 147.95B | 163.78B | 149.19B | 166.12B | 147.72B | 126.55B | 98.86B | 98.33B | 138.67B | 60.78B | 66.1B | 41.61B | 135.14B | 145.44B | 154.11B | 129.54B |
| Long-Term Debt | 185.08B | 169.33B | 170.21B | 148.84B | 118.32B | 114.79B | 77.39B | 118.18B | 133.47B | 112.05B | 131.75B | 137.7B | 144.51B | 161.26B | 168.94B | 168.4B | 179.19B | 163.1B | 148.59B | 113.14B | 123.3B | 118.35B | 116.82B | 129.91B | 92.14B | 135.18B | 123.26B | 85.45B | 36.98B |
| Short-Term Debt | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 73.75B | 48.66B | 29.64B | 32.23B | 10.02B | 8.85B | 6.63B | 9.24B | 66.44B | 73.66B | 94.97B |
| Other Liabilities | 16.49B | 15.04B | 40.56B | 38.95B | 47.74B | 33.51B | 36.63B | -4.59B | -12.23B | 40.57B | 55.62B | 52.82B | 156.17B | 310.2B | 334.12B | 382.32B | 350.75B | 326.28B | 297.6B | 277.28B | 287.37B | 280.03B | 338B | 302.68B | 268.44B | 334.05B | 226.41B | 124.44B | 91.4B |
| Total Current Liabilities | 907.44B | 819.08B | 757.05B | 734.25B | 749.88B | 746.49B | 738.64B | 728.29B | 704.82B | 632.2B | 606.38B | 753.39B | 817.7B | 555.66B | 603.49B | 674.74B | 667.81B | 632.08B | 852.94B | 879.13B | 770.39B | 716.71B | 381.4B | 320.01B | 334.06B | 211.55B | 273.24B | 248.24B | 129.14B |
| Total Non-Current Liabilities | 201.93B | 184.37B | 212.19B | 189.15B | 167.52B | 150.15B | 142.97B | 115.8B | 130.47B | 162.9B | 188.3B | 203.37B | 301.54B | 471.27B | 504.21B | 552.9B | 531.48B | 490.86B | 449.03B | 393.85B | 414.7B | 403.5B | 454.82B | 432.6B | 360.58B | 469.23B | 349.67B | 209.89B | 128.38B |
| Total Liabilities | 1.11T | 1T | 969.24B | 923.4B | 917.41B | 896.63B | 881.62B | 844.09B | 835.29B | 795.1B | 794.68B | 956.76B | 1.12T | 1.03T | 1.11T | 1.23T | 1.2T | 1.12T | 1.3T | 1.27T | 1.19T | 1.12T | 836.22B | 752.61B | 694.64B | 680.78B | 622.91B | 458.13B | 257.51B |
| Total Equity | 51.39B | 50.95B | 51.31B | 52.18B | 50.41B | 54.66B | 55.66B | 54.66B | 51.73B | 51.12B | 50.4B | 48.47B | 58.5B | 49.85B | 52.84B | 46.23B | 44.1B | 37.04B | 28.93B | 39.53B | 41.22B | 38.4B | 29.34B | 24.8B | 22.38B | 25.56B | 29.06B | 36.13B | 20.88B |
| Equity Growth % | -2.8% | -0.69% | -1.67% | 3.51% | -7.77% | -1.8% | 1.82% | 5.66% | 1.2% | 1.43% | 3.98% | -17.14% | 17.34% | -5.66% | 14.3% | 4.83% | 19.07% | 28.03% | -26.82% | -4.09% | 7.34% | 30.87% | 18.3% | 10.82% | -12.45% | -12.04% | -19.57% | 73.05% | - |
| Equity / Assets (Capital Ratio) | 4.43% | 4.83% | 5.03% | 5.35% | 5.21% | 5.75% | 5.94% | 6.13% | 5.83% | 6.04% | 5.96% | 4.82% | 4.96% | 4.63% | 4.56% | 3.63% | 3.55% | 3.19% | 2.18% | 3.01% | 3.36% | 3.31% | 3.39% | 3.19% | 3.12% | 3.62% | 4.46% | 7.31% | 7.5% |
| Return on Equity (ROE) | 13.08% | 12.37% | 12.35% | 14.21% | 6.99% | 8.66% | 4.5% | 8.99% | 8.96% | 9.66% | 9.41% | 7.5% | 2.31% | 6.9% | 7.52% | 10.53% | 5.83% | -4.53% | -10.2% | 23.83% | 19.32% | 21.29% | 21.26% | 17.11% | 18.79% | 16.79% | 36.87% | 17.32% | 8.82% |
| Book Value per Share | 17.78 | 17.07 | 16.21 | 14.64 | 13.91 | 14.05 | 14.27 | 14.03 | 13.31 | 13.13 | 12.99 | 12.57 | 15.18 | 13.00 | 13.90 | 12.20 | 11.64 | 13.76 | 10.87 | 14.08 | 18.93 | 17.70 | 13.80 | 12.31 | 11.53 | 13.11 | 15.02 | 18.63 | 13.34 |
| Tangible BV per Share | 17.18 | 16.57 | 15.79 | 14.30 | 13.61 | 13.75 | 13.91 | 13.55 | 12.84 | 12.74 | 12.61 | 12.17 | 14.77 | 12.51 | 13.20 | 11.27 | 10.21 | 11.52 | 8.37 | 12.03 | 17.29 | 16.02 | 13.53 | 12.31 | 11.53 | 13.11 | 15.02 | 18.63 | 13.34 |
| Common Stock | 29M | 49.7B | 31M | 35M | 37M | 39M | 39M | 39M | 17.09B | 17.05B | 39M | 16.98B | 16.97B | 921M | 919M | 919M | 919M | 919M | 495M | 534M | 530M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 539.63M | 0 |
| Additional Paid-in Capital | 17.12B | 0 | 17.12B | 17.12B | 17.12B | 17.11B | 17.09B | 17.08B | 17.05B | 17.01B | 16.95B | 16.05B | 16.05B | 16.04B | 16.03B | 16.03B | 16.03B | 16.03B | 9.18B | 8.74B | 8.35B | 8.34B | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Retained Earnings | 35.16B | 0 | 33.85B | 36.85B | 34.94B | 37.32B | 35.18B | 32.66B | 33.2B | 31.52B | 26.91B | 26.82B | 23.72B | 0 | 26.46B | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 36.71B | 26.38B | 21.98B | 17.45B | 22.56B | 19.21B | 7.56B | 0 |
| Accumulated OCI | -605M | 0 | 77M | -771M | -985M | 1.07B | 2.33B | 4B | 656M | 1.85B | 5.91B | 4.04B | 9.78B | 25.48B | 32.56B | 25.5B | 21.42B | 14.17B | 7.66B | 27.93B | 29.39B | 1.39B | -537.77M | -687.63M | 822.41M | -1.01B | 6.13B | 26.56B | 0 |
| Treasury Stock | -1.45B | 0 | -765M | -1.99B | -1.21B | -1.61B | -4M | -10M | -11M | -15M | -8M | -18M | -46M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | -868M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Preferred Stock | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 10.75B | 7.63B | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 21.26M | 215.18M | 295.51M | 1.28B | 1.78B | 2.15B | 2.55B | 2.43B | 499.88M | 0 |
Quick answers to the most common questions about buying ING stock.
As of 2025, ING Groep N.V. (ING) had total assets of $1.05T including $106.31B in current assets.
ING Groep N.V. (ING) carries total debt of $169.33B. Comparing total debt to cash helps evaluate the company's debt burden and net leverage.
ING Groep N.V. (ING) has total shareholders' equity (book value) of $49.70B ($17.07 book value per share). Book value represents the net worth of the company belonging to common stock holders.
ING Groep N.V. (ING) reported a current ratio of 0.13x. A current ratio above 1.0x indicates that the company has more current assets than current liabilities, suggesting sufficient short-term liquidity.
Key Metrics
Top Statement Risk
Revenue anomaly and margin compression
Asset Growth Steady, Mix Shifts
Total assets grew modestly to $1.2T in 2026Q2 from $1.0T a year earlier, with investment securities rising to $1.1T, as per ING's balance sheet data.
The balance sheet expansion appears organic, driven by increases in investment securities rather than loan growth, which is not separately disclosed. This shift toward securities may reflect a defensive posture amid uncertain loan demand. The equity base remained stable around $50B, suggesting growth is funded by liabilities, likely deposits, though deposit details are unavailable.
Deposit Base Stability Questioned
Loan-to-deposit ratio is not reported, but cash and bank balances fluctuated between $52.9B and $100.1B over the past year, indicating potential deposit volatility, based on quarterly data.
The absence of a disclosed loan-to-deposit ratio limits direct assessment of funding reliance. However, the wide swings in cash and bank balances suggest that ING may be managing liquidity through interbank or wholesale channels, which could be more rate-sensitive. Investors should monitor deposit trends in future disclosures to gauge the stability of this core funding source.
Credit Costs Contained, Watchful Eye
Loan loss provisions remained stable at $279M in 2026Q2 versus $299M a year earlier, suggesting no deterioration in credit quality, as reported in ING's financial statements.
Provisions have hovered between $258M and $365M over the past ten quarters, indicating a benign credit environment. However, with potential economic headwinds in the Eurozone, the stability may not persist. The provision coverage ratio is not disclosed, but the low level of provisions relative to the loan book suggests adequate buffers, though investors should monitor for any uptick in NPL formation.
Capital Ratios Stable, Buffer Thin
Equity-to-assets ratio remained at 0.04-0.05 over the past year, with equity around $50B against $1.2T assets, indicating a stable but modest capital base, per balance sheet data.
The equity ratio is low, typical for a bank, but the absolute level of equity provides a cushion. ROE improved to 3.8% in 2026Q2 from 3.3% a year earlier, though this is still modest. The CET1 ratio is not disclosed, but the stable equity suggests no major capital events. Given ongoing buybacks, the capital buffer may be under pressure, warranting close monitoring of regulatory ratios.
Liquidity Position Appears Adequate
Cash and bank balances totaled $65.0B in 2026Q2, down from $75.6B a year earlier, while investment securities grew to $1.1T, suggesting ample liquid assets, as per ING's balance sheet.
The combination of cash and a large securities portfolio provides a substantial liquidity buffer. However, the decline in cash balances may indicate increased deployment into higher-yielding securities or funding outflows. The lack of wholesale funding data limits assessment of contingent liquidity risk, but the securities portfolio likely serves as a ready source of collateral.
NIM Compression Signals Rate Peak
Net interest margin fell to 1.8% in 2026Q2 from 2.0% a year earlier, indicating that asset yields are no longer outpacing funding costs, as reported in ING's quarterly filings.
The decline in NIM suggests that the tailwind from rising rates is fading, and deposit betas are likely rising. With the ECB potentially at peak rates, ING may face continued margin pressure. The efficiency ratio spiked to 86.1% in 2026Q2, reflecting revenue volatility, which could further strain profitability if NIM continues to compress. Investors should monitor deposit repricing and loan growth for signs of stabilization.
Revenue Anomaly Clouds Earnings Quality
Reported revenue growth of -65.3% YoY in the latest snapshot conflicts with record total income of €23B for 2025, raising data reliability concerns, as per ING's disclosures.
The magnitude of the revenue decline is inconsistent with the robust gross and operating margins, suggesting a possible one-off divestiture or accounting reclassification rather than core deterioration. However, the discrepancy warrants immediate investigation, as it could signal hidden impairments or changes in revenue recognition. Investors should seek clarity on the driver before extrapolating forward earnings power.