Total assets grew 10.4% year-over-year to $748.1B in Q2 2026, but equity stayed flat at $27.3B, reducing the equity-to-assets ratio to 3.6% from 4.4% in Q4 2024, signaling a thinning capital buffer.
MetLife, Inc. (MET) balance sheet — 28-year assets, liabilities & shareholders' equity history
| Metric | TTM | Dec'25 | Dec'24 | Dec'23 | Dec'22 | Dec'21 | Dec'20 | Dec'19 | Dec'18 | Dec'17 | Dec'16 | Dec'15 | Dec'14 | Dec'13 | Dec'12 | Dec'11 | Dec'10 | Dec'09 | Dec'08 | Dec'07 | Dec'06 | Dec'05 | Dec'04 | Dec'03 | Dec'02 | Dec'01 | Dec'00 | Dec'99 | Dec'98 |
|---|
| Total Assets | 748.13B | 745.17B | 677.46B | 687.58B | 663.07B | 759.71B | 795.15B | 740.46B | 687.54B | 719.89B | 898.76B | 877.93B | 902.34B | 885.3B | 836.78B | 799.63B | 730.91B | 539.31B | 501.68B | 559.15B | 527.72B | 481.64B | 356.81B | 326.84B | 277.43B | 256.97B | 254.16B | 225.23B | 215.35B |
| Asset Growth % | 26.56% | 9.99% | -1.47% | 3.7% | -12.72% | -4.46% | 7.38% | 7.7% | -4.49% | -19.9% | 2.37% | -2.7% | 1.92% | 5.8% | 4.65% | 9.4% | 35.53% | 7.5% | -10.28% | 5.96% | 9.57% | 34.99% | 9.17% | 17.81% | 7.96% | 1.1% | 12.84% | 4.59% | - |
| Total Investment Assets | 4M | 466.11B | 435.38B | 440.38B | 427.95B | 494.82B | 508.52B | 473.8B | 436.21B | 444.07B | 420.91B | 495.46B | 506B | 488.78B | 517.05B | 511.38B | 471.06B | 334.46B | 305.9B | 324.81B | 60.27B | 47.17B | 41.3B | 35B | 33.67B | 31.89B | 30.11B | 0 | 0 |
| Long-Term Investments | 1.33T | 362.81B | 346.67B | 144.19B | 134.83B | 147.37B | 382.58B | 353.83B | 322.87B | 338.77B | 304.12B | 371.12B | 386.42B | 375.61B | 401.41B | 377.45B | 358.87B | 241.48B | 206.27B | 241.57B | 7.8B | 236.69B | 181.61B | 171.18B | 143.82B | 119.66B | 116.44B | 0 | 0 |
| Short-Term Investments | 316.11B | 103.31B | 88.71B | 296.19B | 293.13B | 347.45B | 358.71B | 331.67B | 302.2B | 313.8B | 298.98B | 364.02B | 377.68B | 367.54B | 394.06B | 370.6B | 9.39B | 8.37B | 13.88B | 2.54B | 2.71B | 3.31B | 2.66B | 1.83B | 1.92B | 1.2B | 1.27B | 0 | 0 |
| Total Current Assets | 389.13B | 179.59B | 143.04B | 350.62B | 335.49B | 388.01B | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Cash & Equivalents | 22.69B | 22.03B | 20.07B | 20.64B | 20.2B | 20.05B | 19.8B | 16.6B | 15.82B | 12.7B | 12.65B | 12.75B | 10.81B | 7.58B | 15.74B | 10.46B | 13.05B | 10.11B | 24.21B | 9.96B | 7.11B | 4.02B | 4.05B | 3.73B | 2.32B | 7.47B | 3.43B | 2.79B | 0 |
| Receivables | 200.19B | 54.25B | 34.26B | 33.78B | 22.17B | 20.52B | 17.87B | 20.44B | 19.64B | 18.42B | 15.46B | 22.86B | 22.24B | 21.86B | 21.63B | 22.48B | 19.83B | 17.07B | 16.97B | 13.37B | 14.49B | 12.19B | 6.7B | 7.05B | 7.67B | 6.44B | 8.34B | 0 | 0 |
| Other Current Assets | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | -396.38B | -368.71B | -337.67B | -344.93B | -327.1B | -399.64B | -410.73B | -396.99B | -431.44B | -403.55B | -42.26B | -35.55B | -55.06B | -25.88B | -24.31B | -19.51B | -13.41B | -12.61B | -11.91B | -15.11B | -13.05B | 0 | 0 |
| Goodwill & Intangibles | 80.12B | 30.72B | 28.53B | 29.39B | 28.95B | 25.6B | 10.11B | 9.31B | 9.42B | 9.59B | 9.22B | 9.48B | 9.87B | 10.54B | 9.95B | 11.94B | 11.78B | 5.05B | 5.01B | 4.81B | 4.9B | 4.8B | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Goodwill | 9.56B | 9.61B | 8.9B | 9.24B | 9.3B | 9.54B | 10.11B | 9.31B | 9.42B | 9.59B | 9.22B | 9.48B | 9.87B | 10.54B | 9.95B | 11.94B | 11.78B | 5.05B | 5.01B | 4.81B | 4.9B | 4.8B | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Intangible Assets | 0 | 21.11B | 19.63B | 20.15B | 19.65B | 16.06B | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 4.8B | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| PP&E (Net) | 0 | 1.7B | 1.85B | 1.99B | 1.93B | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Other Assets | 44.74B | 167.77B | 154.38B | 158.79B | 159.44B | 198.54B | -392.69B | -363.14B | -332.29B | -348.36B | -313.34B | -380.6B | -396.29B | -386.15B | -411.36B | -389.39B | -370.65B | -246.53B | -211.28B | -246.38B | -12.7B | -241.49B | -181.61B | -171.18B | -143.82B | -119.66B | -116.44B | 0 | 0 |
| Total Liabilities | 720.33B | 716.25B | 649.75B | 657.33B | 632.95B | 691.96B | 720.33B | 674.08B | 634.58B | 661.02B | 831.06B | 809.44B | 829.68B | 822.31B | 771.82B | 748.43B | 681.79B | 505.82B | 477.69B | 523.97B | 493.92B | 452.54B | 333.98B | 305.69B | 258.78B | 239.65B | 236.68B | 211.54B | 200.48B |
| Total Debt | 20.29B | 20.18B | 18.71B | 18.83B | 17.98B | 17.43B | 18.15B | 16.85B | 16.24B | 19.31B | 19.85B | 21.32B | 19.58B | 22.02B | 22.39B | 27.57B | 36.38B | 22.62B | 16.08B | 13.84B | 14.36B | 13.44B | 8.86B | 9.35B | 5.59B | 3.98B | 3.44B | 6.67B | 3.57B |
| Net Debt | -2.4B | -1.85B | -1.35B | -1.81B | -2.21B | -2.62B | -1.65B | 253M | 423M | 6.61B | 7.2B | 8.56B | 8.77B | 14.44B | 6.65B | 17.11B | 23.33B | 12.51B | -8.12B | 3.88B | 7.25B | 9.42B | 4.81B | 5.61B | 3.26B | -3.49B | 4M | 3.88B | 3.57B |
| Long-Term Debt | 19.89B | 18.62B | 18.24B | 18.68B | 17.75B | 17.09B | 17.76B | 16.62B | 15.98B | 18.83B | 19.61B | 21.22B | 19.48B | 21.85B | 22.25B | 26.85B | 36.07B | 21.71B | 13.43B | 13.18B | 12.91B | 12.02B | 7.41B | 5.7B | 4.42B | 3.63B | 2.35B | 2.49B | 0 |
| Short-Term Debt | 404M | 1.56B | 465M | 119M | 175M | 341M | 393M | 235M | 268M | 477M | 242M | 100M | 100M | 175M | 100M | 686M | 306M | 912M | 2.66B | 667M | 1.45B | 1.41B | 1.45B | 3.64B | 1.16B | 355M | 1.08B | 4.18B | 3.57B |
| Total Current Liabilities | 859M | 276.14B | 258.07B | 257.57B | 251.08B | 263.18B | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Accounts Payable | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 789M | 2.02B | 917M | 1.07B | 1.05B | 18.89B | 13.71B | 13.38B | 0 | 0 |
| Deferred Revenue | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Other Current Liabilities | 455M | 257.46B | 240.48B | 239.93B | 229.97B | 230.92B | -1.11B | -1.28B | -1.39B | -1.47B | -938M | -820M | -968M | -1.04B | -1.23B | -1.65B | -622M | -1.67B | -4.02B | -1.46B | -4.94B | -2.4B | -2.94B | -5.34B | -20.82B | -14.37B | -14.58B | -4.18B | -3.57B |
| Deferred Taxes | 1.87B | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 0 | 0 | 0 | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 0 | 0 |
| Other Liabilities | 699.2B | 420.95B | 373.3B | 380.12B | 363.11B | 402B | -28.76B | -25.71B | -21.39B | -25.6B | -26.5B | -31.81B | -31.3B | -28.49B | -30.98B | -33.28B | -36.07B | -21.71B | -13.43B | -14.68B | -15.19B | -13.73B | -9.88B | -8.1B | -6.05B | -5.15B | -3.1B | -2.49B | 0 |
| Total Equity | 27.8B | 28.92B | 27.7B | 30.25B | 30.13B | 67.75B | 74.82B | 66.38B | 52.96B | 58.87B | 67.7B | 68.5B | 72.66B | 62.98B | 64.96B | 58B | 49.11B | 33.5B | 23.73B | 35.18B | 33.8B | 29.1B | 22.82B | 21.15B | 18.65B | 17.32B | 17.48B | 13.69B | 14.87B |
| Equity Growth % | -2.22% | 4.4% | -8.43% | 0.42% | -55.53% | -9.45% | 12.71% | 25.35% | -10.04% | -13.05% | -1.16% | -5.73% | 15.36% | -3.04% | 12% | 18.09% | 46.61% | 41.14% | -32.53% | 4.09% | 16.14% | 27.5% | 7.92% | 13.4% | 7.69% | -0.92% | 27.68% | -7.92% | - |
| Shareholders Equity | 27.32B | 28.4B | 27.45B | 30.02B | 29.88B | 67.48B | 74.56B | 66.14B | 52.74B | 58.68B | 67.53B | 67.95B | 72.05B | 61.55B | 64.45B | 57.52B | 48.63B | 33.12B | 23.73B | 35.18B | 33.8B | 29.1B | 22.82B | 21.15B | 17.39B | 16.06B | 16.39B | 13.69B | 14.87B |
| Minority Interest | 477M | 523M | 258M | 238M | 244M | 267M | 259M | 238M | 217M | 194M | 171M | 547M | 606M | 1.43B | 505M | 479M | 488M | 377M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 1.26B | 1.26B | 1.09B | 0 | 0 |
| Retained Earnings | 45.06B | 44.29B | 42.63B | 40.15B | 40.33B | 41.2B | 36.49B | 33.08B | 28.93B | 26.53B | 34.68B | 35.52B | 32.02B | 27.33B | 25.2B | 24.81B | 21.36B | 19.5B | 22.4B | 19.88B | 16.57B | 10.87B | 6.61B | 4.19B | 2.81B | 1.35B | 1.02B | 14.1B | 13.48B |
| Common Stock | 12M | 12M | 12M | 12M | 12M | 12M | 12M | 12M | 12M | 12M | 12M | 12M | 12M | 11M | 11M | 11M | 10M | 8M | 8M | 8M | 8M | 8M | 8M | 8M | 8M | 8M | 8M | 0 | 0 |
| Accumulated OCI | -19.23B | -18.08B | -21.19B | -19.24B | -22.62B | 10.92B | 18.07B | 13.05B | 1.72B | 7.43B | 5.37B | 4.77B | 10.65B | 5.1B | 11.4B | 5.89B | 1B | -3.06B | -14.25B | 1.08B | 1.12B | 1.91B | 2.96B | 2.79B | 2.01B | 1.67B | 1.05B | -410M | 1.38B |
| Return on Equity (ROE) | 12.75% | 11.93% | 15.27% | 5.23% | 10.8% | 9.62% | 7.66% | 9.89% | 9.16% | 6.34% | 1.25% | 7.61% | 9.3% | 5.26% | 2.15% | 11.99% | 6.46% | -7.85% | 10.89% | 12.52% | 20.01% | 18.16% | 12.54% | 11.14% | 8.92% | 2.72% | 6.12% | 4.32% | 9.03% |
| Return on Assets (ROA) | 0.49% | 0.47% | 0.65% | 0.23% | 0.74% | 0.88% | 0.7% | 0.83% | 0.73% | 0.5% | 0.1% | 0.6% | 0.71% | 0.39% | 0.16% | 0.84% | 0.42% | -0.43% | 0.6% | 0.79% | 1.25% | 1.12% | 0.81% | 0.73% | 0.6% | 0.19% | 0.4% | 0.28% | 0.62% |
| Equity / Assets | 3.72% | 3.88% | 4.09% | 4.4% | 4.54% | 8.92% | 9.41% | 8.96% | 7.7% | 8.18% | 7.53% | 7.8% | 8.05% | 7.11% | 7.76% | 7.25% | 6.72% | 6.21% | 4.73% | 6.29% | 6.4% | 6.04% | 6.4% | 6.47% | 6.72% | 6.74% | 6.88% | 6.08% | 6.9% |
| Debt / Equity | 0.73x | 0.70x | 0.68x | 0.62x | 0.60x | 0.26x | 0.24x | 0.25x | 0.31x | 0.33x | 0.29x | 0.31x | 0.27x | 0.35x | 0.34x | 0.48x | 0.74x | 0.68x | 0.68x | 0.39x | 0.42x | 0.46x | 0.39x | 0.44x | 0.30x | 0.23x | 0.20x | 0.49x | 0.24x |
| Book Value per Share | 42.40 | 43.49 | 38.96 | 39.68 | 37.24 | 77.93 | 81.93 | 70.29 | 52.23 | 56.41 | 61.80 | 60.70 | 64.19 | 56.13 | 59.50 | 54.82 | 49.82 | 40.93 | 31.87 | 46.15 | 43.85 | 38.54 | 30.23 | 28.31 | 25.56 | 22.70 | 27.33 | 17.50 | 19.00 |
| Tangible BV per Share | 27.81 | -2.71 | -1.16 | 1.14 | 1.45 | 48.49 | 70.86 | 60.43 | 42.94 | 47.22 | 53.38 | 52.31 | 55.47 | 46.74 | 50.39 | 43.54 | 37.87 | 34.76 | 25.14 | 39.84 | 37.50 | 25.84 | 30.23 | 28.31 | 25.56 | 22.70 | 27.33 | 17.50 | 19.00 |
Quick answers to the most common questions about buying MET stock.
As of 2025, MetLife, Inc. (MET) had total assets of $745.17B including $179.59B in current assets.
MetLife, Inc. (MET) carries total debt of $20.18B, offset by $125.34B in cash and short-term investments. Comparing total debt to cash helps evaluate the company's debt burden and net leverage.
MetLife, Inc. (MET) has total shareholders' equity (book value) of $28.40B ($43.49 book value per share). Book value represents the net worth of the company belonging to common stock holders.
MetLife, Inc. (MET) reported a current ratio of 0.65x. A current ratio above 1.0x indicates that the company has more current assets than current liabilities, suggesting sufficient short-term liquidity.
Key Metrics
Top Statement Risk
Reported EPS miss and CRE exposure
Metrics are mathematically derived from official filings.
Balance Sheet Expansion Amidst Volatile Equity
Total assets grew 10.4% year-over-year to $748.1B in Q2 2026, while equity remained flat at $27.3B, indicating leverage-driven growth, as per recent SEC filings.
The asset growth is primarily funded by liability increases, with total liabilities up 11.2% from $648.2B to $720.3B over the same period. Equity has been range-bound between $27.3B and $30.9B over the past ten quarters, suggesting that capital generation is being offset by dividends and buybacks. This pattern implies that the balance sheet is expanding through increased policyholder reserves and debt, rather than organic capital accumulation, which may warrant monitoring of capital adequacy.
Investment Portfolio Stability Questioned
Investment portfolio data shows a static $1,000K across all quarters, which appears to be a placeholder, limiting analysis of asset allocation and yield trends, based on reported figures.
The lack of meaningful investment data prevents a thorough assessment of portfolio quality, duration, or unrealized loss positions. However, the prior cash flow analysis indicated net investment purchases of $6.5B in Q2 2026, suggesting active deployment. Given the large general account, investors should monitor the mix between fixed income and equities, as rising rates may have created unrealized losses that could pressure equity in future periods.
Reserve Adequacy Under Inflationary Pressure
Claims and loss payments rose 27% year-over-year to $16.1B in Q2 2026, while the loss ratio spiked to 85.2%, indicating potential inflation-driven reserve strain, as reported in financial statements.
The loss ratio in Q2 2026 is the highest in the ten-quarter period, well above the 70-75% range seen in most prior quarters. This suggests that claims costs are accelerating, possibly due to inflationary pressures in dental and disability lines. While the combined ratio remains below 100%, the elevated loss ratio may indicate that reserves are being depleted, and future favorable development could be limited. Investors should monitor whether this is a seasonal blip or a trend.
Capital Buffer Remains Thin
Equity as a percentage of assets fell to 3.6% in Q2 2026, down from 4.4% in Q4 2024, indicating a thinning capital buffer, according to recent financial disclosures.
The equity-to-assets ratio has declined from 4.2% in Q4 2024 to 3.6% in Q2 2026, reflecting the flat equity base against growing assets. This suggests that the company is relying more on leverage to fund growth, which could limit its capacity for buybacks or M&A. While statutory capital ratios are not disclosed, the trend in GAAP equity warrants attention, especially given the reported EPS miss and potential CRE impairments.
Liquidity Profile Appears Stable
Cash and liquid assets are not separately disclosed, but operating cash flow averaged $3.8B per quarter, with Q2 2026 OCF/NI at 3.03x, indicating strong claims-paying ability, per recent SEC filings.
The absence of cash balance data limits direct liquidity assessment, but the robust operating cash flow relative to net income suggests that the company generates sufficient cash to meet policyholder obligations. The prior cash flow analysis noted that dividends and buybacks consumed 51% of operating cash flow, leaving a reasonable cushion. However, the large investment purchases may reduce liquid assets, so monitoring the cash position in future filings is advisable.
Legacy Risks May Resurface
The MetLife Holdings segment, containing legacy long-term care and variable annuity blocks, remains a source of volatility, potentially masking core earnings strength, as per company intelligence.
The reported EPS miss in Q2 2026, despite strong adjusted earnings, suggests that non-operating items, possibly from legacy blocks, are creating noise. The continued presence of these run-off liabilities could require additional capital infusions, diverting resources from growth areas. Additionally, the CRE exposure in the general account, while high-quality, could face impairments if office valuations deteriorate further, impacting the capital buffer. These factors warrant close monitoring of the adjusted-to-reported earnings bridge.