The balance sheet remains conservatively leveraged with a debt-to-equity ratio of 0.40 and equity growing to $1.5B from $1.2B over two years, while total assets expanded 9.9% to $15.6B.
Horace Mann Educators Corporation (HMN) balance sheet — 30-year assets, liabilities & shareholders' equity history
| Metric | TTM | Dec'25 | Dec'24 | Dec'23 | Dec'22 | Dec'21 | Dec'20 | Dec'19 | Dec'18 | Dec'17 | Dec'16 | Dec'15 | Dec'14 | Dec'13 | Dec'12 | Dec'11 | Dec'10 | Dec'09 | Dec'08 | Dec'07 | Dec'06 | Dec'05 | Dec'04 | Dec'03 | Dec'02 | Dec'01 | Dec'00 | Dec'99 | Dec'98 | Dec'97 | Dec'96 |
|---|
| Total Assets | 15.6B | 15.27B | 14.49B | 14.05B | 13.31B | 14.38B | 13.47B | 12.48B | 11.03B | 11.2B | 10.58B | 10.06B | 9.77B | 8.83B | 8.17B | 7.44B | 7.01B | 6.34B | 5.62B | 6.3B | 6.38B | 5.91B | 5.47B | 4.95B | 4.51B | 4.46B | 4.42B | 4.25B | 4.4B | 4.13B | 3.86B |
| Asset Growth % | 20.56% | 5.38% | 3.12% | 5.59% | -7.49% | 6.77% | 7.96% | 13.11% | -1.49% | 5.88% | 5.17% | 2.95% | 10.67% | 8.07% | 9.85% | 6.13% | 10.44% | 12.86% | -10.85% | -1.16% | 7.91% | 8.04% | 10.44% | 9.77% | 1.28% | 0.78% | 3.92% | -3.22% | 6.39% | 7% | 5.43% |
| Total Investment Assets | 4M | 7.3B | 1.12B | 6.83B | 6.59B | 14.04B | 7.26B | 6.64B | 8.25B | 8.35B | 8B | 7.65B | 7.4B | 6.54B | 6.29B | 5.68B | 5.07B | 4.57B | 600.6M | 338.62M | 4.46B | 394.57M | 3.54B | 3.26B | 2.99B | 2.77B | 2.61B | 2.51B | 2.74B | 2.64B | 2.66B |
| Long-Term Investments | 27B | 6.7B | 641.1M | 6.69B | 6.45B | 7.45B | 7.26B | 6.64B | 344.66M | 300.18M | 8B | 175.17M | 7.4B | 133.99M | 6.29B | 228.9M | 5.07B | 4.57B | 245.68M | 117.92M | 4B | 201.57M | 3.54B | 3.26B | 2.99B | 2.77B | 2.61B | 2.51B | 2.65B | 2.64B | 2.66B |
| Short-Term Investments | 5.77B | 608.3M | 480.2M | 5.46B | 5.37B | 6.59B | 6.69B | 6.15B | 7.92B | 8.11B | 8B | 7.65B | 7.4B | 6.54B | 6.29B | 5.68B | 0 | 0 | 354.93M | 220.7M | 462M | 193M | 142K | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 87.39M | 0 | 0 |
| Total Current Assets | 5.81B | 0 | 938.1M | 0 | 0 | 6.72B | 0 | 0 | 395.75M | 7.63M | 1K | 1K | 11.68M | 18.19M | 68.68M | 7.45M | 5.93M | 7.85M | 25.71M | 143.99M | 32.31M | 5.79B | 5.32B | 19.77M | 60.16M | 33.94M | 21.14M | 22.85M | 202.1M | 353K | 13.7M |
| Cash & Equivalents | 46.2M | 26.2M | 33.1M | 29M | 42.2M | 133M | 21.8M | 25.51M | 11.91M | 7.63M | 16.67M | 15.51M | 11.68M | 18.19M | 15.18M | 7.45M | 5.93M | 7.85M | 9.2M | 13.21M | 13.44M | 177K | 0 | 19.77M | 60.16M | 33.94M | 21.14M | 22.85M | 12.04M | 353K | 13.7M |
| Receivables | 1.67B | 419M | 424.8M | 480.5M | 468M | 153.2M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 103.14M | 104.53M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 102.66M | 0 | 0 |
| Other Current Assets | -409.2M | -1.05B | 5M | -5.97B | -5.88B | 700K | -6.71B | -6.18B | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 5.5B | 5.22B | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Goodwill & Intangibles | 1.85B | 554M | 210.1M | 224.6M | 239.5M | 188.9M | 202M | 226.3M | 47.4M | 47.4M | 47.4M | 47.4M | 47.4M | 47.4M | 47.4M | 47.4M | 47.4M | 47.4M | 47.4M | 47.4M | 47.4M | 47.4M | 47.4M | 47.4M | 47.4M | 85.79M | 92.26M | 102.1M | 101.1M | 108M | 118.6M |
| Goodwill | 54.3M | 54.3M | 54.3M | 54.3M | 54.3M | 43.5M | 43.5M | 49.08M | 47.4M | 47.4M | 47.4M | 47.4M | 47.4M | 47.4M | 47.4M | 47.4M | 47.4M | 47.4M | 47.17M | 47.4M | 47.4M | 47.4M | 47.4M | 47.4M | 47.4M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Intangible Assets | 134.4M | 499.7M | 155.8M | 170.3M | 185.2M | 145.4M | 158.5M | 177.22M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 223K | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 85.79M | 92.26M | 102.1M | 101.1M | 108M | 118.6M |
| PP&E (Net) | 0 | 0 | 73.4M | 68.6M | 69.3M | 75M | 64.7M | 60.13M | 40.98M | 38.94M | 32.19M | 25.64M | 31.03M | 34.94M | 36.99M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Other Assets | -6.89B | 8.02B | 12.63B | -6.98B | -6.76B | 6.54B | -7.53B | -6.93B | 10.14B | 10.5B | 2.18B | -25.64M | 1.99B | 8.37B | -6.1B | 36.47M | -5.07B | -4.57B | -245.67M | -117.91M | -4B | -201.57M | -3.54B | -3.31B | -3.04B | -2.86B | -2.7B | -2.61B | 87.39M | -2.75B | -2.78B |
| Total Liabilities | 14.1B | 13.78B | 13.2B | 12.87B | 12.21B | 12.58B | 11.68B | 10.91B | 9.74B | 9.7B | 9.28B | 8.79B | 8.43B | 7.73B | 6.94B | 6.38B | 6.13B | 5.62B | 5.17B | 5.61B | 5.72B | 5.26B | 4.89B | 4.42B | 3.98B | 4B | 3.99B | 3.85B | 3.9B | 3.63B | 3.38B |
| Total Debt | 594.2M | 593.4M | 547M | 546M | 498M | 502.6M | 437.3M | 433.02M | 297.74M | 297.47M | 247.21M | 246.97M | 237.94M | 237.87M | 237.81M | 237.74M | 237.68M | 237.61M | 237.55M | 199.49M | 231.98M | 190.89M | 169.72M | 169.7M | 144.69M | 152.77M | 148.72M | 148.68M | 149.64M | 141.6M | 133.6M |
| Net Debt | 548M | 567.2M | 513.9M | 517M | 455.8M | 369.6M | 415.5M | 407.52M | 285.83M | 289.84M | 230.54M | 231.47M | 226.26M | 219.69M | 222.63M | 230.29M | 231.75M | 229.77M | 228.34M | 186.28M | 218.54M | 190.71M | 169.72M | 149.93M | 84.52M | 118.83M | 127.58M | 125.83M | 137.59M | 141.25M | 119.9M |
| Long-Term Debt | 594.2M | 593.4M | 547M | 546M | 249M | 253.6M | 302.3M | 298.02M | 297.74M | 297.47M | 247.21M | 246.97M | 199.94M | 199.87M | 199.81M | 199.74M | 199.68M | 199.61M | 199.55M | 199.49M | 231.98M | 190.89M | 144.72M | 144.7M | 144.69M | 99.77M | 99.72M | 99.68M | 99.64M | 99.6M | 99.6M |
| Short-Term Debt | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 249M | 249M | 135M | 135M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 38M | 38M | 38M | 38M | 38M | 38M | 38M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 25M | 25M | 0 | 53M | 49M | 49M | 50M | 42M | 34M |
| Total Current Liabilities | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 249M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 396.25M | 318.23M | 6.72B | 38M | 5.92B | 38M | 38M | 0 | 0 | 5.07B | 25M | 0 | 3.84B | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 3.52B | 3.28B |
| Accounts Payable | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Deferred Revenue | 369.1M | 372.1M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Other Current Liabilities | -369.1M | -372.1M | 0 | 0 | -249M | 0 | -135M | -135M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 358.25M | 280.23M | 6.68B | -3K | 5.88B | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | -25M | 0 | -53M | -49M | -49M | -50M | -42M | -34M |
| Deferred Taxes | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Other Liabilities | 13.51B | 13.19B | 12.65B | -546M | -249M | 12.32B | -302.3M | -298.02M | 9.44B | 9.4B | 9.04B | 8.55B | 8.23B | 7.23B | 6.43B | 5.9B | 321K | 386K | 451K | 5.1B | 18K | 114K | 280K | -144.7M | -144.69M | -99.77M | -99.72M | -99.68M | -99.64M | -99.6M | -99.6M |
| Total Equity | 1.5B | 1.48B | 1.29B | 1.18B | 1.1B | 1.81B | 1.79B | 1.57B | 1.29B | 1.5B | 1.29B | 1.26B | 1.34B | 1.1B | 1.25B | 1.06B | 880.01M | 719.54M | 448.85M | 693.28M | 657.08M | 580.59M | 576.21M | 530.5M | 528.8M | 459.2M | 427.99M | 400.14M | 496.62M | 505.97M | 484.4M |
| Equity Growth % | 47.11% | 15.16% | 9.55% | 7.01% | -39.23% | 0.97% | 14.22% | 21.44% | -14.05% | 16.04% | 2.32% | -5.37% | 21.57% | -11.76% | 18.05% | 19.93% | 22.3% | 60.31% | -35.26% | 5.51% | 13.17% | 0.76% | 8.62% | 0.32% | 15.16% | 7.29% | 6.96% | -19.43% | -1.85% | 4.45% | 3.02% |
| Shareholders Equity | 1.5B | 1.48B | 1.29B | 1.18B | 1.1B | 1.81B | 1.79B | 1.57B | 1.29B | 1.5B | 1.29B | 1.26B | 1.34B | 1.1B | 1.25B | 1.06B | 880.01M | 719.54M | 448.85M | 693.28M | 657.08M | 580.59M | 576.21M | 530.5M | 528.8M | 459.2M | 427.99M | 400.14M | 496.62M | 505.97M | 484.4M |
| Minority Interest | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Retained Earnings | 1.7B | 1.65B | 1.55B | 1.5B | 1.51B | 1.52B | 1.43B | 1.35B | 1.22B | 1.23B | 1.16B | 1.12B | 1.07B | 1B | 921.97M | 840.64M | 823.58M | 758.34M | 694.49M | 698.54M | 634.11M | 553.71M | 494.67M | 456.33M | 455.31M | 461.14M | 452.62M | 449.02M | 420.27M | 349.27M | 278.7M |
| Common Stock | 100K | 100K | 100K | 100K | 100K | 100K | 100K | 66K | 66K | 65K | 65K | 65K | 64K | 64K | 62K | 62K | 61K | 61K | 61K | 61K | 61K | 60K | 60K | 60K | 60K | 60K | 60K | 59K | 59K | 59K | 29K |
| Accumulated OCI | -174.4M | -154.6M | -253.5M | -314M | -399.4M | 280.5M | 355.1M | 219.68M | 84.76M | 286.96M | 163.92M | 163.37M | 284.6M | 122.21M | 367.09M | 249.13M | 96.58M | 10.72M | -193.59M | -5.84M | 7.61M | 14.14M | 70.88M | 64.36M | 63.3M | 14.9M | -4.97M | -40.02M | 57.33M | 62.17M | 29.74M |
| Return on Equity (ROE) | 12.03% | 11.7% | 8.35% | 3.96% | 1.36% | 9.47% | 7.94% | 12.9% | 1.31% | 12.12% | 6.55% | 7.19% | 8.56% | 9.46% | 9.03% | 7.29% | 10.11% | 12.58% | 1.91% | 12.26% | 15.95% | 13.36% | 10.18% | 3.59% | 2.29% | 5.77% | 5.03% | 9.93% | 17.02% | 16.88% | 13.53% |
| Return on Assets (ROA) | 1.16% | 1.09% | 0.72% | 0.33% | 0.14% | 1.22% | 1.03% | 1.57% | 0.17% | 1.56% | 0.81% | 0.94% | 1.12% | 1.31% | 1.33% | 0.98% | 1.21% | 1.23% | 0.18% | 1.31% | 1.61% | 1.36% | 1.08% | 0.4% | 0.25% | 0.58% | 0.48% | 1.03% | 2% | 2.09% | 1.72% |
| Equity / Assets | 9.63% | 9.71% | 8.89% | 8.37% | 8.25% | 12.57% | 13.29% | 12.56% | 11.7% | 13.41% | 12.23% | 12.57% | 13.68% | 12.45% | 15.25% | 14.19% | 12.56% | 11.34% | 7.99% | 11% | 10.3% | 9.82% | 10.53% | 10.71% | 11.72% | 10.31% | 9.68% | 9.41% | 11.3% | 12.25% | 12.55% |
| Debt / Equity | 0.40x | 0.40x | 0.42x | 0.46x | 0.45x | 0.28x | 0.24x | 0.28x | 0.23x | 0.20x | 0.19x | 0.20x | 0.18x | 0.22x | 0.19x | 0.23x | 0.27x | 0.33x | 0.53x | 0.29x | 0.35x | 0.33x | 0.29x | 0.32x | 0.27x | 0.33x | 0.35x | 0.37x | 0.30x | 0.28x | 0.28x |
| Book Value per Share | 36.48 | 35.64 | 31.02 | 28.39 | 26.28 | 42.83 | 42.62 | 37.41 | 30.81 | 36.13 | 31.20 | 29.81 | 31.65 | 26.40 | 30.10 | 25.47 | 21.46 | 17.75 | 11.06 | 15.54 | 14.36 | 12.12 | 12.17 | 12.29 | 13.06 | 11.30 | 10.45 | 9.59 | 11.33 | 10.88 | 10.71 |
| Tangible BV per Share | 31.90 | 22.32 | 25.96 | 22.96 | 20.55 | 38.35 | 37.81 | 32.00 | 29.67 | 34.99 | 30.06 | 28.69 | 30.52 | 25.27 | 28.96 | 24.33 | 20.30 | 16.58 | 9.89 | 14.48 | 13.32 | 11.13 | 11.17 | 11.19 | 11.89 | 9.19 | 8.20 | 7.15 | 9.02 | 8.55 | 8.09 |
Quick answers to the most common questions about buying HMN stock.
As of 2025, Horace Mann Educators Corporation (HMN) had total assets of $15.27B including $0.0M in current assets.
Horace Mann Educators Corporation (HMN) carries total debt of $593.4M, offset by $634.5M in cash and short-term investments. Comparing total debt to cash helps evaluate the company's debt burden and net leverage.
Horace Mann Educators Corporation (HMN) has total shareholders' equity (book value) of $1.48B ($35.64 book value per share). Book value represents the net worth of the company belonging to common stock holders.
Key Metrics
Top Statement Risk
P&C loss cost inflation
Metrics are mathematically derived from official filings.
Balance Sheet Expands on Premium Growth
Total assets grew to $15.6B in 2026Q2 from $14.2B in 2024Q1, a 9.9% increase, while equity rose to $1.5B, according to the latest quarterly balance sheet data.
The consistent expansion in total assets, coupled with a modest rise in equity, suggests the company is retaining earnings and growing its capital base. The 4.81% revenue growth reported in the income statement appears to be translating into balance sheet growth, though the pace of asset growth outpaces equity growth, indicating increased leverage from policyholder liabilities.
Investment Portfolio Stability Questioned
Total investments are reported at $1,000.0K, a figure that appears inconsistent with the company's scale, suggesting data limitations; investment income is not disclosed, per the balance sheet data.
The reported investment figure is implausibly low for a $15.6B asset insurer, likely indicating a data reporting issue rather than actual portfolio size. Without reliable investment allocation or yield data, investors should rely on the stable operating margin of 12.4% as a proxy for investment contribution, but the lack of transparency warrants caution.
Loss Reserves Show Favorable Development
Claims and loss expenses dropped to $186.3M in 2026Q2 from $288.1M in 2024Q2, a 35% decline, while the loss ratio improved to 42.0% from 76.0%, as per the quarterly data.
The sharp decline in claims paid and the corresponding improvement in the loss ratio suggest favorable prior-year reserve development, which may be flattering current earnings. However, the volatility in claims payments across quarters indicates that reserve estimates are subject to significant uncertainty, and the recent low claims may not be sustainable if inflation in auto and property costs persists.
Low Leverage Provides Capital Flexibility
Debt-to-equity ratio stands at 0.40%, indicating minimal reliance on debt financing, while equity has grown to $1.5B from $1.2B over the past two years, based on the balance sheet data.
The extremely low leverage suggests a conservative capital structure, which provides ample capacity for organic growth or potential acquisitions. However, the modest equity base relative to total liabilities implies that the company is highly dependent on policyholder reserves, and any adverse reserve development could strain capital adequacy.
Liquidity Profile Appears Adequate
Cash balances are not disclosed in the provided data, but operating cash flow of $223.7M in 2026Q2, as per the cash flow statement, suggests strong liquidity to meet claims.
While the balance sheet does not report cash, the robust operating cash flow generation, which exceeded net income by 5.38x in 2026Q2, indicates that the company has sufficient internal liquidity to cover claims and policyholder obligations. The absence of cash data limits a full assessment, but the consistent positive cash flow from operations provides a cushion.
Reserve Releases Mask Underlying Inflation
The loss ratio improvement to 42.0% in 2026Q2 from 68.0% a year earlier may be driven by favorable reserve development, but persistent P&C inflation could reverse this trend, as per the reported figures.
The dramatic improvement in the loss ratio, while partly due to lower claims payments, may also reflect releases from prior-year reserves. If inflation in auto repair and medical costs continues to outpace rate increases, the company may need to strengthen reserves, which could erode the current healthy balance sheet. Investors should monitor reserve adequacy closely, especially given the educator-focused customer base with limited pricing flexibility.