The balance sheet remains adequately capitalized with an equity-to-assets ratio of 9%, but equity fell to $3.2B in Q2 2026 from $3.6B in Q1, reflecting the impact of the net loss and a provision spike that signals potential CRE stress.
Banc of California, Inc. (BANC) balance sheet — 25-year assets, liabilities & shareholders' equity history
| Metric | TTM | Dec'25 | Dec'24 | Dec'23 | Dec'22 | Dec'21 | Dec'20 | Dec'19 | Dec'18 | Dec'17 | Dec'16 | Dec'15 | Dec'14 | Dec'13 | Dec'12 | Dec'11 | Dec'10 | Dec'09 | Dec'08 | Dec'07 | Dec'06 | Dec'05 | Dec'04 | Dec'03 | Dec'02 | Dec'01 |
|---|
| Cash & Short Term Investments | 22.02B | 7.23B | 4.75B | 7.72B | 7.08B | 1.54B | 1.45B | 1.29B | 2.38B | 2.96B | 2.82B | 991.22M | 578.79M | 281.99M | 235.09M | 146.09M | 59.1M | 11.02M | 10.4M | 14.15M | 14.74M | 14.11M | 14.13M | 10.96M | 10.65M | 18M |
| Cash & Due from Banks | 2.17B | 2.31B | 2.5B | 5.38B | 2.24B | 228.12M | 220.82M | 373.47M | 391.59M | 387.7M | 440.51M | 157.62M | 233.1M | 111.96M | 113.67M | 44.48M | 59.1M | 11.02M | 10.4M | 14.15M | 14.74M | 14.11M | 14.13M | 10.96M | 10.65M | 18M |
| Short Term Investments | 5.07B | 4.92B | 2.25B | 2.35B | 4.84B | 1.32B | 1.23B | 912.58M | 1.99B | 2.58B | 2.38B | 833.6M | 345.69M | 170.02M | 121.42M | 101.62M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Total Investments | 29.6B | 29.96B | 28.69B | 30.6B | 36.04B | 8.5B | 7.08B | 6.86B | 9.69B | 9.34B | 10.07B | 7.61B | 5.46B | 3.32B | 1.47B | 878.79M | 742.97M | 800.61M | 810.61M | 714.46M | 754.03M | 702.51M | 638.74M | 593.67M | 422.46M | 270.88M |
| Investments Growth % | 29.8% | 4.41% | -6.23% | -15.11% | 324.03% | 20.09% | 3.2% | -29.2% | 3.72% | -7.21% | 32.21% | 39.36% | 64.57% | 125.09% | 67.82% | 18.28% | -7.2% | -1.23% | 13.46% | -5.25% | 7.33% | 9.98% | 7.59% | 40.53% | 55.96% | - |
| Long-Term Investments | 106.19B | 25.03B | 26.44B | 28.25B | 31.2B | 7.18B | 5.85B | 5.95B | 7.7B | 6.76B | 7.68B | 6.78B | 5.12B | 3.15B | 1.35B | 777.17M | 742.97M | 800.61M | 810.61M | 714.46M | 754.03M | 702.51M | 638.74M | 593.67M | 422.46M | 270.88M |
| Accounts Receivables | 0 | 0 | 125.47M | 138.52M | 157.11M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 15.11M | 10.87M | 5M | 3.57M | 3.53M | 3.94M | 4.01M | 3.85M | 3.96M | 2.97M | 2.25M | 2.12M | 1.81M | 13.15M |
| Goodwill & Intangibles | 301.04M | 319.81M | 347.46M | 364.1M | 1.41B | 100.71M | 39.78M | 41.3M | 43.49M | 80.2M | 90.7M | 109.13M | 70.46M | 56.18M | 14.8M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Goodwill | 214.52M | 214.52M | 214.52M | 198.63M | 1.38B | 94.3M | 37.14M | 37.14M | 37.14M | 37.14M | 37.14M | 39.24M | 31.59M | 30.14M | 7.05M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Intangible Assets | 86.52M | 105.29M | 132.94M | 165.48M | 31.38M | 6.41M | 2.63M | 4.15M | 6.35M | 43.06M | 53.55M | 69.89M | 38.87M | 26.04M | 7.75M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| PP&E (Net) | 147.34M | 146.7M | 549.83M | 624.25M | 584.82M | 112.87M | 141.15M | 150.56M | 129.39M | 135.7M | 140.92M | 111.54M | 78.69M | 66.26M | 16.15M | 10.59M | 6.34M | 4.29M | 4.45M | 4.75M | 4.91M | 5.18M | 5.28M | 5.37M | 5.16M | 3.86M |
| Other Assets | 1.51B | 1.41B | 548.25M | 615.83M | 395.94M | 392.83M | 350.33M | 355.19M | 325.72M | 344.1M | 265.55M | 231.82M | 94.45M | 60.07M | 45.17M | 46.23M | 46.16M | 69.06M | 47.05M | 37.5M | 30.7M | 30.42M | 14.05M | 11.84M | 6.1M | 4.19M |
| Total Current Assets | 7.73B | 7.23B | 4.93B | 7.94B | 7.36B | 1.55B | 1.45B | 1.29B | 2.39B | 2.97B | 2.84B | 991.82M | 593.91M | 295.85M | 245.64M | 157.42M | 66.15M | 19.96M | 14.41M | 18.01M | 18.7M | 17.08M | 16.39M | 13.09M | 26.19M | 31.15M |
| Total Non-Current Assets | 27.23B | 27.57B | 28.61B | 30.59B | 33.87B | 7.84B | 6.42B | 6.54B | 8.24B | 7.36B | 8.19B | 7.24B | 5.38B | 3.33B | 1.44B | 841.62M | 795.47M | 873.96M | 862.11M | 756.71M | 789.64M | 738.11M | 658.07M | 610.88M | 433.73M | 278.93M |
| Total Assets | 34.97B | 34.8B | 33.54B | 38.53B | 41.23B | 9.43B | 7.88B | 7.83B | 10.63B | 10.33B | 11.03B | 8.24B | 5.97B | 3.63B | 1.69B | 999.04M | 861.62M | 893.92M | 876.52M | 774.72M | 808.34M | 755.18M | 674.46M | 623.96M | 459.92M | 310.08M |
| Asset Growth % | 10.98% | 3.74% | -12.95% | -6.54% | 337.33% | 19.68% | 0.63% | -26.36% | 2.93% | -6.36% | 33.93% | 37.91% | 64.6% | 114.96% | 68.94% | 15.95% | -3.61% | 1.99% | 13.14% | -4.16% | 7.04% | 11.97% | 8.09% | 35.67% | 48.32% | - |
| Return on Assets (ROA) | -0.02% | 0.67% | 0.35% | -4.76% | 1.67% | 7.02% | 0.16% | 0.26% | 0.43% | 0.54% | 1.2% | 0.87% | 0.63% | -0% | 0.45% | -0.29% | 0.32% | -0.11% | -0.06% | 0.37% | 0.6% | 0.67% | 0.78% | 0.76% | 0.68% | 0.68% |
| Accounts Payable | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Total Debt | 2.98B | 3.02B | 2.33B | 3.85B | 2.63B | 816.12M | 816.76M | 1.39B | 1.69B | 1.87B | 733.3M | 1.19B | 726.57M | 332.32M | 156.94M | 20M | 75M | 135M | 175M | 111.7M | 151.2M | 164.2M | 135.5M | 200M | 90.1M | 28M |
| Net Debt | 814.94M | 708.59M | -168.47M | -1.53B | 390.89M | 588M | 595.94M | 1.02B | 1.3B | 1.48B | 292.79M | 1.03B | 493.47M | 220.36M | 43.27M | -24.48M | 15.9M | 123.98M | 163.71M | 97.55M | 136.46M | 150.09M | 121.36M | 189.03M | 79.45M | 10M |
| Long-Term Debt | 575.02M | 3.02B | 2.33B | 1.23B | 2.63B | 750.45M | 796.11M | 1.37B | 1.69B | 1.87B | 733.3M | 1.19B | 726.57M | 332.32M | 156.94M | 20M | 75M | 135M | 175M | 111.7M | 151.2M | 164.2M | 135.5M | 147M | 54M | 28M |
| Short-Term Debt | 2.41B | 0 | 0 | 2.62B | 0 | 25M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 53M | 36.1M | 0 |
| Other Liabilities | 372.71M | 0 | 517.27M | 893.61M | 596.73M | -40.67M | 5.51M | 0 | 0 | 14.13M | 92.69M | 10.94M | 8.36M | 5.43M | 3.48M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 4.79M | 4.86M | 5.05M | 5.99M | -50.5M | 1.22M | 0 |
| Total Current Liabilities | 30.67B | 28.24B | 27.19B | 33.02B | 34.05B | 7.58B | 6.16B | 5.52B | 7.99B | 7.43B | 9.22B | 6.38B | 4.73B | 2.97B | 1.33B | 794.55M | 650.61M | 661.44M | 602.8M | 574.15M | 570.54M | 508.17M | 453.58M | 442.93M | 315.81M | 253.35M |
| Total Non-Current Liabilities | 947.73M | 3.02B | 2.85B | 2.12B | 3.23B | 750.45M | 822.27M | 1.39B | 1.7B | 1.88B | 826M | 1.2B | 734.93M | 337.75M | 160.42M | 20M | 75M | 135M | 175M | 116.49M | 156.06M | 169.25M | 141.49M | 96.5M | 55.22M | 28M |
| Total Liabilities | 31.62B | 31.26B | 30.04B | 35.14B | 37.28B | 8.36B | 6.98B | 6.92B | 9.68B | 9.32B | 10.05B | 7.58B | 5.47B | 3.3B | 1.5B | 814.55M | 725.61M | 796.44M | 777.8M | 690.64M | 726.6M | 677.41M | 595.07M | 539.42M | 371.04M | 281.36M |
| Total Equity | 3.35B | 3.54B | 3.5B | 3.39B | 3.95B | 1.07B | 897.21M | 907.25M | 945.53M | 1.01B | 980.24M | 652.4M | 503.59M | 324.87M | 188.76M | 184.5M | 136.01M | 97.48M | 98.72M | 84.08M | 81.74M | 77.77M | 79.39M | 84.54M | 88.88M | 28.72M |
| Equity Growth % | -8.18% | 1.18% | 3.22% | -14.17% | 270.84% | 18.73% | -1.11% | -4.05% | -6.6% | 3.27% | 50.25% | 29.55% | 55.01% | 72.11% | 2.31% | 35.65% | 39.52% | -1.25% | 17.42% | 2.86% | 5.11% | -2.04% | -6.09% | -4.89% | 209.46% | - |
| Equity / Assets (Capital Ratio) | 9.58% | 10.18% | 10.43% | 8.8% | 9.58% | 11.3% | 11.39% | 11.59% | 8.89% | 9.8% | 8.89% | 7.92% | 8.43% | 8.95% | 11.18% | 18.47% | 15.79% | 10.91% | 11.26% | 10.85% | 10.11% | 10.3% | 11.77% | 13.55% | 19.33% | 9.26% |
| Return on Equity (ROE) | -0.23% | 6.5% | 3.68% | -51.74% | 16.89% | 61.86% | 1.39% | 2.56% | 4.65% | 5.79% | 14.14% | 10.74% | 7.32% | -0.03% | 3.21% | -1.7% | 2.42% | -1.02% | -0.58% | 3.57% | 5.91% | 6.12% | 6.19% | 4.73% | 4.48% | 7.3% |
| Book Value per Share | 20.89 | 22.12 | 20.75 | 23.72 | 27.63 | 9.08 | 7.68 | 7.63 | 7.65 | 8.32 | 8.15 | 6.14 | 5.80 | 7.96 | 5.43 | 5.30 | 8.88 | 7.82 | 7.91 | 6.63 | 6.47 | 6.09 | 6.05 | 5.84 | 5.60 | 1.81 |
| Tangible BV per Share | 19.01 | 20.12 | 18.69 | 21.17 | 17.78 | 8.22 | 7.34 | 7.28 | 7.30 | 7.66 | 7.40 | 5.11 | 4.99 | 6.58 | 5.00 | 5.30 | 8.88 | 7.82 | 7.91 | 6.63 | 6.47 | 6.09 | 6.05 | 5.84 | 5.60 | 1.81 |
| Common Stock | 1.58M | 1.5M | 1.69M | 1.69M | 1.23M | 651K | 527K | 525K | 523K | 522K | 539K | 396K | 364K | 216K | 131K | 128K | 109K | 54K | 54K | 54K | 54K | 54K | 54K | 55K | 53K | 0 |
| Additional Paid-in Capital | 3.47B | 3.55B | 3.79B | 3.84B | 2.82B | 854.87M | 634.7M | 629.85M | 625.83M | 621.43M | 614.23M | 429.79M | 422.91M | 256.31M | 154.56M | 150.79M | 120M | 67.96M | 68.16M | 67.54M | 65.94M | 66.13M | 65.28M | 64.97M | 61.83M | 0 |
| Retained Earnings | -358.19M | -242.02M | -431.2M | -518.3M | 1.42B | 147.89M | 110.18M | 127.73M | 140.95M | 144.84M | 134.51M | 63.53M | 29.86M | 16.98M | 26.55M | 27.62M | 35.77M | 35.52M | 38.5M | 42.19M | 41.99M | 39.96M | 37.38M | 34.14M | 31.3M | 28.67M |
| Accumulated OCI | -265.04M | -269.26M | -354.78M | -432.11M | -790.9M | 7.74M | 7.75M | -11.9M | -24.12M | 5.23M | -9.04M | -3M | 373K | -600K | 1.4M | -939K | 2.6M | 1.67M | 209K | -2.02M | -2.73M | -5.08M | -6.15M | -6.6M | -4.31M | 52K |
| Treasury Stock | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | -115.91M | -40.83M | -40.83M | -28.79M | -28.79M | -28.79M | -29.07M | -29.07M | -29.8M | -27.91M | -25.82M | -25.04M | -25.14M | -25.79M | -25.74M | -23.68M | -23.52M | -23.29M | -17.18M | -8.02M | 0 | 0 |
| Preferred Stock | 498.52M | 498.52M | 498.52M | 498.52M | 498.52M | 94.96M | 184.88M | 189.82M | 231.13M | 269.07M | 269.07M | 190.75M | 79.88M | 79.88M | 31.93M | 31.93M | 0 | 19.09M | 19.07M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
Quick answers to the most common questions about buying BANC stock.
As of 2025, Banc of California, Inc. (BANC) had total assets of $34.80B including $7.23B in current assets.
Banc of California, Inc. (BANC) carries total debt of $3.02B. Comparing total debt to cash helps evaluate the company's debt burden and net leverage.
Banc of California, Inc. (BANC) has total shareholders' equity (book value) of $3.54B ($22.12 book value per share). Book value represents the net worth of the company belonging to common stock holders.
Banc of California, Inc. (BANC) reported a current ratio of 0.26x. A current ratio above 1.0x indicates that the company has more current assets than current liabilities, suggesting sufficient short-term liquidity.
Key Metrics
Top Statement Risk
California CRE concentration risk
Metrics are mathematically derived from official filings.
Asset Growth Stalls Amid Repositioning
Total assets remained flat near $34.8B in Q2 2026, per company filings, as securities sales and loan runoff offset new originations, signaling a deliberate pause in expansion.
The balance sheet has been essentially stagnant over the past year, with total assets oscillating between $33.4B and $36.1B. The Q2 2026 repositioning, which involved selling $2.1B in securities and a targeted loan sale, appears to have prioritized efficiency over growth. This suggests management is focusing on optimizing the existing portfolio rather than pursuing inorganic expansion, a shift that may limit near-term asset growth but could improve capital deployment.
Deposit Base Stability Under Scrutiny
Loan-to-deposit ratio data is unavailable, but the bank's reliance on non-interest-bearing deposits, a key low-cost funding source, appears critical to maintaining its reported 0.7% NIM.
While specific deposit composition figures are not disclosed in the provided data, the stability of the deposit franchise is inferred from the flat NIM and consistent funding costs. The strategic repositioning included retiring higher-cost subordinated debt, which may indicate an effort to reduce funding costs. However, the lack of granular deposit data warrants monitoring, as any shift toward more expensive funding could pressure margins.
Provision Spike Signals CRE Stress
Loan loss provisions surged to $161.8M in Q2 2026 from $9.8M in Q1, as reported in financial statements, reflecting heightened credit risk, likely tied to Southern California commercial real estate.
The dramatic increase in provisions, coupled with a net loss of $240.2M, suggests that management is proactively building reserves against potential losses in its CRE portfolio. The prior quarters showed minimal provisions, which may have understated credit risk. This provision spike appears to be a recognition of deteriorating conditions in the California office and multifamily sectors, and investors should monitor whether further provisions are needed as the market evolves.
Equity Cushion Thins on Losses
Equity fell to $3.2B in Q2 2026 from $3.6B in Q1, per company data, as the net loss eroded capital, though the equity-to-assets ratio remains near 9%.
The $240.2M net loss in Q2 2026 directly reduced equity, but the bank's capital position appears adequate with an equity-to-assets ratio of 9.2%. However, the loss and the securities repositioning may have impacted regulatory capital ratios, which are not disclosed. The bank's ability to maintain dividends despite the loss suggests a commitment to capital return, but future capital deployment for buybacks or M&A may be constrained until earnings recover.
Liquidity Profile Shifts to Cash
Cash and bank balances jumped to $2.8B in Q2 2026 from $253.9M in Q1, as per reported figures, following the securities sale, boosting liquidity buffers.
The significant increase in cash holdings indicates that the repositioning generated substantial liquidity, which could be used to fund loan growth or meet deposit outflows. However, the reduction in investment securities from $32.5B to $28.6B suggests a shift from interest-earning assets to cash, which may temporarily dilute yield. This liquidity cushion appears prudent given the uncertain CRE environment, but it may also signal a defensive posture.
NIM Flat Despite Rate Shifts
Net interest margin remained at 0.7% for ten consecutive quarters, according to financial statements, indicating limited sensitivity to rate changes and potential pressure on future spread expansion.
The persistent flat NIM suggests that the bank's asset yields and funding costs are moving in tandem, possibly due to a high proportion of floating-rate loans and deposits. The repositioning may aim to improve this by extending duration or altering the mix, but the benefits are not yet visible. Given the current rate environment, NIM expansion appears limited unless the bank can successfully transition to lower-cost deposits or higher-yielding loans.
Unrealized Losses May Lurk
The securities repositioning in Q2 2026, per company filings, may have crystallized losses, but the extent of remaining unrealized losses in the investment portfolio is not disclosed, posing a potential risk.
While the bank sold $2.1B in securities, the remaining $28.6B in investment securities could still carry significant unrealized losses if interest rates have risen since purchase. These losses, while not impacting regulatory capital directly, could affect tangible book value and investor sentiment. Additionally, the loan sale may have been at a discount, and the full impact on credit quality is not yet clear. Investors should monitor the AOCI and any future marks on the securities portfolio.