The balance sheet is conservatively leveraged with equity/assets at 11% and equity up 43.7% YoY to $959.9M, but investment securities now represent over 95% of total assets, exposing the bank to significant interest rate risk.
Tompkins Financial Corporation (TMP) balance sheet — 30-year assets, liabilities & shareholders' equity history
| Metric | TTM | Dec'25 | Dec'24 | Dec'23 | Dec'22 | Dec'21 | Dec'20 | Dec'19 | Dec'18 | Dec'17 | Dec'16 | Dec'15 | Dec'14 | Dec'13 | Dec'12 | Dec'11 | Dec'10 | Dec'09 | Dec'08 | Dec'07 | Dec'06 | Dec'05 | Dec'04 | Dec'03 | Dec'02 | Dec'01 | Dec'00 | Dec'99 | Dec'98 | Dec'97 | Dec'96 |
|---|
| Cash & Short Term Investments | 2.3B | 1.11B | 1.37B | 1.5B | 1.67B | 2.11B | 2.02B | 1.44B | 73.79M | 1.48B | 1.49B | 1.44B | 1.46B | 71.08M | 1.51B | 1.19B | 1.09B | 972.46M | 812.33M | 49.86M | 49.97M | 63.3M | 40.93M | 65.76M | 63.9M | 43.97M | 45.94M | 35.94M | 26.8M | 25.1M | 25.3M |
| Cash & Due from Banks | 71.69M | 132.82M | 134.4M | 79.54M | 77.84M | 63.11M | 388.46M | 137.98M | 73.79M | 77.69M | 63.95M | 58.26M | 56.07M | 71.08M | 117.45M | 47.3M | 47.34M | 43.69M | 48.13M | 49.86M | 49.97M | 63.3M | 40.93M | 65.76M | 63.9M | 43.97M | 45.94M | 35.94M | 27.82M | 25.1M | 25.3M |
| Short Term Investments | 0 | 975.24M | 1.23B | 1.42B | 1.59B | 2.04B | 1.63B | 1.3B | 0 | 1.39B | 1.43B | 1.39B | 1.4B | 0 | 1.39B | 1.14B | 1.04B | 928.77M | 764.19M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | -1.02M | 0 | 0 |
| Total Investments | 8.35B | 8.12B | 2.78B | 7.27B | 7.12B | 7.35B | 6.82B | 6.16B | 1.47B | 2.92B | 3B | 2.92B | 2.9B | 1.38B | 2.83B | 2.33B | 1.12B | 965.66M | 809.91M | 748.88M | 714.36M | 658.9M | 660.32M | 641.66M | 532.5M | 413.21M | 330.22M | 325.17M | 216.8M | 213.6M | 205.7M |
| Investments Growth % | 215.23% | 192.37% | -61.81% | 2.16% | -3.17% | 7.7% | 10.76% | 317.86% | -49.58% | -2.58% | 2.61% | 0.8% | 109.54% | -51.02% | 21.16% | 108.82% | 15.72% | 19.23% | 8.15% | 4.83% | 8.42% | -0.22% | 2.91% | 20.5% | 28.87% | 25.13% | 1.55% | 49.99% | 1.5% | 3.84% | 11.79% |
| Long-Term Investments | 30.71B | 7.14B | 1.54B | 5.85B | 5.52B | 5.3B | 5.2B | 4.86B | 1.47B | 1.53B | 1.57B | 1.54B | 1.5B | 1.38B | 1.43B | 1.19B | 1.12B | 36.89M | 45.72M | 748.88M | 714.36M | 658.9M | 660.32M | 641.66M | 532.5M | 413.21M | 330.22M | 325.17M | 216.8M | 213.6M | 205.7M |
| Accounts Receivables | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 82.09M | 80.56M | 83.84M | 82.09M | 86.22M | 105.52M | 100.04M | 51.79M | 56.77M | 62.92M | 31.67M | 34.19M | 38.15M | 45.95M | 37.32M | 33.4M | 27.16M | 24.67M | 21.07M | 21.88M | 13.98M | 9.2M | 7.8M |
| Goodwill & Intangibles | 72.74M | 74.42M | 94.81M | 94.93M | 95.31M | 96.09M | 97.35M | 98.67M | 99.91M | 101.55M | 103.97M | 104.24M | 106.89M | 108.44M | 110.95M | 47.99M | 45.86M | 46.45M | 46.78M | 26.39M | 25.29M | 14.45M | 15.06M | 33.4M | 27.16M | 24.67M | 21.07M | 21.88M | 13.98M | 0 | 0 |
| Goodwill | 72.74M | 72.74M | 92.6M | 92.6M | 92.6M | 92.45M | 92.45M | 92.45M | 92.28M | 92.29M | 92.62M | 91.79M | 92.24M | 92.14M | 92.31M | 43.9M | 41.65M | 41.59M | 41.48M | 22.89M | 21.23M | 12.29M | 12.28M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Intangible Assets | 0 | 1.69M | 2.2M | 2.33M | 2.71M | 3.64M | 4.91M | 6.22M | 7.63M | 9.26M | 11.35M | 12.45M | 14.65M | 16.3M | 18.64M | 4.1M | 4.21M | 4.86M | 5.3M | 3.5M | 4.05M | 2.16M | 2.78M | 33.4M | 27.16M | 24.67M | 21.07M | 21.88M | 13.98M | 0 | 0 |
| PP&E (Net) | 71.24M | 72.42M | 76.63M | 79.69M | 82.14M | 85.42M | 88.71M | 94.36M | 97.2M | 87M | 70.02M | 60.33M | 59.8M | 55.93M | 54.58M | 44.71M | 46.1M | 46.65M | 46.61M | 44.81M | 43.27M | 36.94M | 33.12M | 28.47M | 27.11M | 25.03M | 23.86M | 21.15M | 7.4M | 6.8M | 6.9M |
| Other Assets | 232.5M | 271.55M | -1.54B | 281.4M | 284.33M | 213.32M | 210.87M | 217.46M | 3.67B | 3.45B | 3B | 2.54B | 2.13B | 2.02B | -1.6B | -1.23B | -1.16B | -83.54M | -118.48M | -820.08M | -782.92M | -710.28M | -708.5M | -626.8M | -518.4M | 14.07M | 9.86M | 6.27M | -224.2M | -220.4M | -212.6M |
| Total Current Assets | 71.69M | 1.11B | 1.29B | 1.51B | 1.69B | 2.12B | 2.03B | 1.45B | 78.52M | 77.69M | 62.07M | 56.26M | 53.92M | 82.16M | 117.45M | 47.3M | 47.34M | 1.04B | 844M | 2.29B | 2.14B | 2.06B | 1.92B | 1.82B | 1.63B | 1.38B | 1.27B | 1.16B | 40.78M | 34.3M | 33.1M |
| Total Non-Current Assets | 8.73B | 7.56B | 171.43M | 6.31B | 5.98B | 5.7B | 5.59B | 5.27B | 5.35B | 5.17B | 4.74B | 4.25B | 3.79B | 3.57B | 1.6B | 47.99M | 45.86M | 46.45M | 20.63M | 2.96B | 2.83B | 2.65B | 2.55B | 43.33M | 41.22M | 39.11M | 33.72M | 27.42M | 224.2M | 220.4M | 212.6M |
| Total Assets | 8.8B | 8.67B | 8.11B | 7.82B | 7.67B | 7.82B | 7.62B | 6.73B | 6.76B | 6.65B | 6.24B | 5.69B | 5.27B | 5B | 4.84B | 3.4B | 3.26B | 3.15B | 2.87B | 2.36B | 2.21B | 2.11B | 1.97B | 1.86B | 1.67B | 1.42B | 1.3B | 1.19B | 954.71M | 626.9M | 591.3M |
| Asset Growth % | 23.83% | 6.9% | 3.7% | 1.94% | -1.91% | 2.6% | 13.33% | -0.49% | 1.66% | 6.6% | 9.61% | 7.98% | 5.33% | 3.43% | 42.26% | 4.29% | 3.4% | 9.96% | 21.54% | 6.72% | 4.93% | 6.93% | 5.68% | 11.63% | 17.56% | 8.87% | 9.78% | 24.51% | 52.29% | 6.02% | 10.11% |
| Return on Assets (ROA) | 2.02% | 1.92% | 0.89% | 0.12% | 1.1% | 1.16% | 1.08% | 1.21% | 1.23% | 0.81% | 1% | 1.07% | 1.01% | 1.03% | 0.76% | 1.06% | 1.05% | 1.06% | 1.14% | 1.15% | 1.29% | 1.36% | 1.34% | 1.37% | 1.48% | 1.44% | 1.4% | 1.42% | 1.83% | 2.13% | 1.63% |
| Accounts Payable | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Total Debt | 728.07M | 660.01M | 790.25M | 653.1M | 347.58M | 190.79M | 344.06M | 735.48M | 1.09B | 1.09B | 922.5M | 573.79M | 393.88M | 368.7M | 155.52M | 211.14M | 244.19M | 208.97M | 274.79M | 210.86M | 85.94M | 63.67M | 63.3M | 87.11M | 81.93M | 75.58M | 67.26M | 42.01M | 48.97M | 27M | 15M |
| Net Debt | 656.38M | 527.2M | 655.85M | 573.55M | 269.74M | 127.68M | -44.4M | 597.5M | 1.01B | 1B | 858.54M | 515.54M | 337.81M | 285.82M | 36.59M | 161.57M | 194.63M | 163.6M | 222.54M | 161M | 35.97M | 376K | 22.37M | 21.36M | 18.03M | 31.61M | 21.32M | 6.07M | 21.16M | 1.9M | -10.3M |
| Long-Term Debt | 0 | 169.45M | 543.25M | 125M | 50M | 110M | 278.22M | 436.04M | 527.71M | 500.69M | 922.5M | 573.79M | 393.88M | 368.7M | 155.52M | 211.14M | 244.19M | 208.97M | 274.79M | 210.86M | 85.94M | 63.42M | 63.3M | 87.11M | 81.93M | 75.58M | 67.26M | 42.01M | 48.97M | 27M | 15M |
| Short-Term Debt | 728.07M | 490.57M | 247M | 528.1M | 297.58M | 80.79M | 65.84M | 299.45M | 0 | 587.74M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Other Liabilities | 84.41M | 132.11M | 96.55M | 96.87M | 103.42M | 108.82M | 122.67M | 114.17M | 5.61B | 5.57B | 4.76B | 4.6B | 4.38B | 2.9B | 3.18B | -40K | 25.11M | 25.04M | -250.69M | 618.82M | 702.14M | 659.47M | 475.88M | -87.11M | -81.93M | -75.58M | -67.26M | -42.01M | -48.97M | -27M | -15M |
| Total Current Liabilities | 7.76B | 7.43B | 6.76B | 6.93B | 6.9B | 6.87B | 6.5B | 5.51B | 1.5M | 2.67B | 4.77B | 4.6B | 4.39B | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 2.68B | 2.63B | 1.1B | 1.04B | 1.05B | 1.1B | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Total Non-Current Liabilities | 84.41M | 301.56M | 639.79M | 221.87M | 153.42M | 218.82M | 400.88M | 550.2M | 6.14B | 6.07B | 5.69B | 5.17B | 4.78B | 3.27B | 3.34B | 211.1M | 269.3M | 234M | 24.1M | 829.68M | 788.08M | 722.89M | 539.18M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Total Liabilities | 7.84B | 7.73B | 7.4B | 7.15B | 7.05B | 7.09B | 6.9B | 6.06B | 6.14B | 6.07B | 5.69B | 5.17B | 4.78B | 4.55B | 4.4B | 3.1B | 2.99B | 2.91B | 2.65B | 2.16B | 2.02B | 1.92B | 1.8B | 1.7B | 1.52B | 1.29B | 1.19B | 1.09B | 855.68M | 570M | 538.7M |
| Total Equity | 959.93M | 938.38M | 713.44M | 669.93M | 617.39M | 728.94M | 717.69M | 663.05M | 620.87M | 576.2M | 549.4M | 516.47M | 489.58M | 457.94M | 441.36M | 299.14M | 273.41M | 245.01M | 219.36M | 198.65M | 191.07M | 182.67M | 172.47M | 160.46M | 152.09M | 132.56M | 116.48M | 102.82M | 97.65M | 56.9M | 52.6M |
| Equity Growth % | 94.59% | 31.53% | 6.49% | 8.51% | -15.3% | 1.57% | 8.24% | 6.79% | 7.75% | 4.88% | 6.38% | 5.49% | 6.91% | 3.76% | 47.54% | 9.41% | 11.59% | 11.69% | 10.43% | 3.96% | 4.6% | 5.92% | 7.48% | 5.51% | 14.73% | 13.8% | 13.29% | 5.29% | 71.62% | 8.17% | -4.54% |
| Equity / Assets (Capital Ratio) | 10.91% | 10.83% | 8.8% | 8.57% | 8.05% | 9.32% | 9.42% | 9.86% | 9.19% | 8.67% | 8.81% | 9.08% | 9.29% | 9.15% | 9.12% | 8.8% | 8.39% | 7.77% | 7.65% | 8.42% | 8.64% | 8.67% | 8.75% | 8.61% | 9.11% | 9.33% | 8.93% | 8.65% | 10.23% | 9.08% | 8.9% |
| Return on Equity (ROE) | 19.3% | 19.5% | 10.24% | 1.48% | 12.63% | 12.34% | 11.24% | 12.73% | 13.75% | 9.33% | 11.13% | 11.61% | 10.98% | 11.31% | 8.45% | 12.37% | 13.05% | 13.71% | 14.27% | 13.53% | 14.86% | 15.59% | 15.39% | 15.49% | 16.1% | 15.76% | 15.97% | 15.16% | 18.77% | 23.73% | 17.08% |
| Book Value per Share | 67.01 | 65.46 | 50.00 | 46.84 | 42.86 | 49.76 | 48.68 | 44.28 | 41.03 | 38.23 | 36.78 | 34.75 | 33.10 | 31.42 | 34.38 | 27.11 | 25.17 | 20.71 | 20.46 | 18.46 | 17.39 | 15.11 | 14.21 | 14.54 | 13.74 | 12.09 | 11.13 | 9.79 | 13.71 | 8.02 | 7.18 |
| Tangible BV per Share | 61.93 | 60.27 | 43.36 | 40.21 | 36.24 | 43.20 | 42.08 | 37.69 | 34.43 | 31.49 | 29.82 | 27.73 | 25.88 | 23.98 | 25.74 | 22.76 | 20.94 | 16.79 | 16.10 | 16.01 | 15.09 | 13.91 | 12.97 | 11.52 | 11.28 | 9.84 | 9.12 | 7.71 | 11.75 | 8.02 | 7.18 |
| Common Stock | 1.44M | 1.45M | 1.45M | 1.44M | 1.46M | 1.47M | 1.5M | 1.5M | 1.53M | 1.53M | 1.52M | 1.5M | 1.49M | 1.48M | 1.44M | 1.12M | 1.09M | 978K | 973K | 962K | 989K | 900K | 816K | 819K | 747K | 744K | 734K | 710K | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Additional Paid-in Capital | 296.83M | 299.21M | 300.07M | 297.18M | 302.76M | 312.54M | 333.98M | 338.51M | 366.6M | 364.03M | 357.41M | 350.82M | 348.89M | 346.1M | 334.65M | 206.4M | 198.11M | 155.59M | 152.84M | 147.66M | 158.2M | 118.66M | 75.84M | 76.93M | 46M | 45.46M | 44.18M | 40.55M | 43.77M | 0 | 0 |
| Retained Earnings | 698.24M | 662.16M | 537.16M | 501.51M | 526.73M | 475.26M | 418.41M | 370.48M | 319.4M | 265.01M | 230.18M | 197.44M | 165.16M | 137.1M | 108.71M | 96.44M | 76.45M | 92.4M | 73.78M | 57.26M | 44.43M | 69.23M | 94.52M | 78.68M | 96.72M | 82.39M | 70.89M | 61.08M | 33.4M | 26.8M | 20.9M |
| Accumulated OCI | -32.06M | -19.05M | -118.49M | -125M | -208.69M | -55.95M | -32.07M | -43.56M | -63.16M | -51.3M | -37.11M | -31M | -24.01M | -25.12M | -2.11M | -3.68M | -1.26M | -3.09M | -7.6M | -6.9M | -12.49M | -6.31M | 871K | 3.02M | 7.6M | 2.95M | -342K | -5.19M | 1.1M | 1.1M | 100K |
| Treasury Stock | -4.53M | -5.38M | -6.74M | -6.61M | -6.28M | -5.79M | -5.53M | -5.28M | -4.9M | -4.49M | -4.05M | -3.75M | -3.4M | -3.07M | -2.79M | -2.59M | -2.44M | -2.33M | -2.08M | -1.78M | -1.51M | -1.26M | -1.04M | -466K | -466K | -466K | -473K | -525K | -548K | 0 | 0 |
| Preferred Stock | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
Quick answers to the most common questions about buying TMP stock.
As of 2025, Tompkins Financial Corporation (TMP) had total assets of $8.67B including $1.11B in current assets.
Tompkins Financial Corporation (TMP) carries total debt of $660.0M. Comparing total debt to cash helps evaluate the company's debt burden and net leverage.
Tompkins Financial Corporation (TMP) has total shareholders' equity (book value) of $938.4M ($65.46 book value per share). Book value represents the net worth of the company belonging to common stock holders.
Tompkins Financial Corporation (TMP) reported a current ratio of 0.15x. A current ratio above 1.0x indicates that the company has more current assets than current liabilities, suggesting sufficient short-term liquidity.
Key Metrics
Top Statement Risk
Geographic concentration in NY/PA
Metrics are mathematically derived from official filings.
Asset Growth Accelerates on Securities
Total assets grew 12.8% YoY to $8.8B in 2026Q2, driven primarily by a surge in investment securities, which expanded from $7.3B to $8.4B, as per TMP's balance sheet.
The balance sheet expansion is heavily weighted toward the securities portfolio, which now constitutes over 95% of total assets, while cash balances have been drawn down from $212.6M in 2025Q2 to $71.7M. This suggests a deliberate repositioning into higher-yielding assets, but it also concentrates interest rate risk. Loan growth appears modest, as the loan-to-deposit ratio is not disclosed, but the asset mix shift implies a strategic pivot away from traditional lending.
Deposit Base Stability Underpins Funding
Deposits remain the primary funding source, with a loan-to-deposit ratio not disclosed but implied stable, while the bank's low leverage (equity/assets at 11%) indicates a conservative funding structure, based on reported figures.
The absence of a disclosed loan-to-deposit ratio limits direct assessment, but the consistent equity-to-assets ratio around 9-11% suggests a stable deposit franchise. The bank's ability to grow assets without increasing leverage points to organic deposit generation, though the recent securities-heavy growth may indicate that deposits are being channeled into investments rather than loans. This could reflect soft loan demand in its New York and Pennsylvania markets.
Credit Quality Remains Contained
Loan loss provisions averaged $1.9M per quarter over the past year, with a peak of $5.3M in 2025Q1, indicating manageable credit costs, as reported in TMP's quarterly disclosures.
The provision for loan losses has been relatively stable, with no significant deterioration in asset quality. The 2025Q1 spike to $5.3M may reflect a one-time adjustment or early CECL implementation, but subsequent quarters have normalized. This suggests that the loan book, though not the primary growth driver, is not exhibiting stress. However, the geographic concentration in New York and Pennsylvania warrants monitoring, as regional economic downturns could pressure commercial real estate and small business loans.
Capital Ratios Strengthen Steadily
Equity/assets improved from 9% in 2024Q1 to 11% in 2026Q2, with equity growing 43.7% YoY to $959.9M, reflecting strong retained earnings and conservative leverage, per TMP's balance sheet.
The bank's capital position is robust, with equity growing faster than assets, indicating a fortress-like buffer. The low debt-to-equity ratio of 0.70% further underscores a conservative capital structure. This provides ample room for organic growth, potential buybacks, or strategic acquisitions, though management has historically prioritized stability over aggressive expansion. The improving capital ratios also suggest that the bank is well-positioned to absorb any credit or market shocks.
Liquidity Shift Toward Securities
Cash and bank balances fell from $212.6M in 2025Q2 to $71.7M in 2026Q2, while investment securities rose to $8.4B, indicating a liquidity repositioning, as per TMP's balance sheet.
The dramatic reduction in cash holdings, coupled with the increase in securities, suggests that TMP is deploying excess liquidity into higher-yielding assets. While this may enhance net interest income, it also reduces the bank's immediate liquidity buffer. The securities portfolio, likely comprising government and agency bonds, provides some liquidity via sales, but the concentration in securities exposes the bank to mark-to-market volatility, especially in a rising rate environment. This shift warrants close monitoring of the bank's ability to meet deposit outflows or loan funding demands.
Securities Concentration Amplifies Rate Risk
Investment securities now represent over 95% of total assets, up from 93% a year ago, exposing TMP to significant interest rate risk, as reported in its balance sheet.
The heavy reliance on securities, rather than loans, means that TMP's balance sheet is more sensitive to interest rate movements. In a rising rate environment, the market value of these securities could decline, potentially impacting capital through accumulated other comprehensive income (AOCI). The negative net interest income of -$134.6M in 2026Q2, though likely a one-time anomaly, highlights the potential for earnings volatility. Investors should monitor the duration and composition of the securities portfolio, as well as any unrealized losses, which could erode the bank's capital buffer if rates continue to climb.